Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post pics of your watches Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,122 ✭✭✭micks_address

id say its more that 2mm on that nato...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭893bet

unkel wrote: »
    I said skinny, not narrow. Didn't even spot that the strap didn't fill the full lug width, I'm the opposite of OCD :D
    .jpg[/IMG]

Ah. Got mixed up in my adjectives! No it’s not too skinny. Watch is the opposite of hefty! Only 9mm thick so needs a slender strap!

And dear got that NATO should be burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,443 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Blasphemy! :p

I do agree though that an undersized NATO looks pretty rotten. If anything I'd oversize by maybe a mm (or more, but then you'd have to cut the strap) with a heavy watch, for better balance and wearing comfort. If I were to get a big heavy yoke like a deepsea, I'd give that a go, particularly if it was the earlier 21mm lug width model, maybe not so much the current 22mm model

Edit - just checked and my own Bond zulu (single pass) is 22mm, would be a good match to 21mm deepsea. I'll go ring the guy selling one right now...

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,822 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I said skinny, not narrow. Didn't even spot that the strap didn't fill the full lug width, I'm the opposite of OCD :D

Anyway, men of style and substance wear straps that are well narrow on purpose. Like our friend commander Bond. Is that even an 18mm strap on a 20mm lug width sub 6538 Or just 16mm? :eek:
    snip

Now that is just plain weird:

Tudor-strap.jpg

That is one of my late father's watches and would be 50's vintage (I think). He just happened to be a Lieutenant Commander in the Royal Navy, whereas Bond was a Commander - however he didn't fly Spitfires or was an acting Squadron Leader, so :P Mr Bond. There is also a strong Scottish ancestry thing going on, a significant appreciation of wines and something else, I won't go into.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

id say its more that 2mm on that nato...
    Only it wasn't a NATO. The watch belonged to either the director or producer and he gave it to Connery for the shoot, but Connery had he man sized wrists so the original bracelet didn't fit, so they sent a production runner to a local jeweller's shop and they grabbed a cheap and cheerful 1960's nylon strap(very similar to cnocbui's design) and the rest is history. Well the rest is interwebs watch nerds spreading the idea it was a NATO(sorry, G-10) strap, even claiming it contained regimental colours. Until the higher res DVD prints came out and they found more colours and more theories ran away with themselves. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

That's pretty much what I thought. It should arrive tomorrow so will post pics in the flesh.

How much do you want for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

New baby.. didn't think it would arrive for Christmas. I ordered it from Germany back in November with the fine link bracelet but they were having difficulty sourcing one from the factory. They had promised me up until Wednesday of last week it would be with me in time but then pulled the plug and said late January. So with that order refunded I had pretty much given up. Had a scout about Friday and spotted one on firstclass watches. For some reason they wouldn't ship to Ireland for Sinn but they price matched and I used parcel motel for the order. Of course I had no sooner placed the order but got an email from parcel motel saying they were no longer accepting deliveries from the UK after the 28th. First class said they were using Royal mail next day 1pm service but i was dubious it would make it in time. In fairness to them it was delivered Saturday at 7am in Antrim to parcel motel and it was in the Parcel motel locker by 7pm Saturday evening.

I went with the red second version for something a little different. I have an Erika's original nato on the way - black with red stripe which should match nicely. The classic H bracelet that goes with this looks quite heavy and the clasp awkward so i will leave it for a while. The fine link bracelet does look nice so i might get that next year. One nice thing about Sinn is that they seem to price their bracelets for sale pretty keenly.
    SNIP

She's a beauty. I had a Sinn 657s years ago which I bought and sold here. The 556i or 556a is prob my next watch post covid salary reduction.
    Well wear Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,822 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Last edited by Wibbs; Today at 15:58.

Seriously, without the quoted pic, the post makes no sense whatsoever as it was the simmilarity in the straps that was the main point, so you might as well delete the post entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Been trying to justify this for a year, decided to go for it before Brexit potentially made it too expensive :D

20201221-135458.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Cassius99

wLtFSfJ.jpg

The Citizen Promaster BN0118 showed up last week, and I have to admit I'm delighted with it. My first Citizen in about 10 years, and my first Titanium watch.

It's not an automatic or a mechanical, but theres something about its simplicity and style that I love. I thought the proportions on the dial were off when I first saw this watch, and I had absolutely no interest. But the more I looked, the more it grew on me. Funny thing is, I see a lot of people have said the same on other forums. The Kevlar strap looks great, glad I went for it over the bracelet.

Very easy to read the time on that Citizen. Would you have a link to where you purchased?

Very easy to read the time on that Citizen.

Are your eyes getting a bit older, like mine? :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Wait.

People use a watch for telling the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

Are your eyes getting a bit older, like mine? :D
    Ha - I had the very same thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Fitz II

893bet wrote: »
    Wait.

People use a watch for telling the time?

What you set the time on your watch?

Ha - I had the very same thought.

well i was thinking of it for my dad but didnt want to insinuate the buyer needed it for poor sight :)

All my Christmases came at once this morning with the arrival of a Timex Milano XL and a Speedmaster.

Well-boxed up Speedy for safe transit.

0m7kfke.jpg

The box and contents is quite impressive. The springbar tool is particularly good.

JAofWz2.jpg

On the bracelet as it came...

hIrn9BB.jpg

...but I stuck it on the Omega nato. The Speedy is a watch that looks great on almost any black strap.

6Uf2JOv.jpg

Heading out for milk after all that excitement.

wphRKte.jpg

Finally, the Timex Milano XL. I stuck it on a leather strap. Only issue here is the second hands don't land on the stick indices. Any advice on how to correct that?

9pbAVQY.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Health to wear. Speedy is new? Where did you source from? Annual bonus has been approved for January payment so I think that’s where I’m heading next.

Thanks. I got it from Jordi in WatchesNorte in Spain (www.watchesnorte.es). I've bought a few watches from him and have been to this office a couple of times as well. It took a while though as there seems to be a dearth of Speedies from Omega these days. He got some in last Friday though and this one was earmarked for me.

If you want to DM me I can give you details of him and the price.
    C0N0R wrote: »
    Health to wear. Speedy is new? Where did you source from? Annual bonus has been approved for January payment so I think that’s where I’m heading next.

Well wear fulladapipes! Such an iconic watch and the big box completes the experience. Hesalite version and all? Only had the good of a few days of mine.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Thank you. Yes, the hesalite version. I sold my previous one to BirneyBau, and then saw it on him and had immediate seller's regret..!

I often wonder why more watches don't come with some alternative straps - it's hardly very costly for manufacturers and adds greatly to the sense of getting some value for money.
    Well wear fulladapipes! Such an iconic watch and the big box completes the experience. Hesalite version and all? Only had the good of a few days of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Thank you. Yes, the hesalite version. I sold my previous one to BirneyBau, and then saw it on him and had immediate seller's regret..!

I often wonder why more watches don't come with some alternative straps - it's hardly very costly for manufacturers and adds greatly to the sense of getting some value for money.

Delighted for ye pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Lorddrakul

Indeed, well wear on the Speedie!

Having recently acquired, I can appreciate the warm glow. ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Cracking watch, I'm not really a fan of the Nato but that looks the best I've seen a watch with one on. Obviously a quality watch will help!

I like the natos for changing it up occasionally. A more sustainable solution is the leather strap. (I am getting bugger all done today thanks to this watch..!)

yePn7jd.jpg
    Cracking watch, I'm not really a fan of the Nato but that looks the best I've seen a watch with one on. Obviously a quality watch will help!

Let’s not pretend you bought it coz you liked it. You bought it as it was below market value and then you traded it off forum for the Rolex explorer from Thomaskutty as he wouldn’t take 2600 euro cash from you but would take the speedmaster as it had a higher value.

Nice watch fulladapipes, and it takes a straps well. Hessalite is the classic. I had an issue with the watch cutting my wrist bone, seems to be a thing happen some people and not others. Yes the spring bar tool is excellent, I ordered a spare one and use it still.

Saw your old datejust last night....was in very good nick.....

Let’s not pretend you bought it coz you liked it. You bought it as it was below market value and then you traded it off forum for the Rolex explorer from Thomaskutty as he wouldn’t take 2600 euro cash from you but would take the speedmaster as it had a higher value.

Of course I liked it :rolleyes:

Why else would I have bothered doing research into it, taking pictures, posting them here and talking about it? An iconic watch and I am glad I had the pleasure of owning it, albeit for just a few days.

Indeed buying the watch facilitated buying my first Rolex. I hoped it would when I bought it, it was in the back of my mind, but no deal was done beforehand. A lot of speedies change hands very quickly and the seller of the Rolex must have had a buyer for my speedy lined up as all of a sudden we could do a deal we were both happy with.

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭njburke

I'ld always assumed a bit of trading was an integral part of the hobby. Like kissing a few frogs to find a prince. There's a few frogs croaking in my watchbox, moving them on is a reasonable thing to do.

On the speedy and timex, opposite ends of the value spectrum, will the Milano get any wrist time?. It's a nice watch, try to get over the second hand alignment. I have a citizen with the same issue, I think it's acceptable for the price paid.

Of course I liked it :rolleyes:

Why else would I have bothered doing research into it, taking pictures, posting them here and talking about it? An iconic watch and I am glad I had the pleasure of owning it, albeit for just a few days.

Indeed buying the watch facilitated buying my first Rolex. I hoped it would when I bought it, it was in the back of my mind, but no deal was done beforehand. A lot of speedies change hands very quickly and the seller of the Rolex must have had a buyer for my speedy lined up as all of a sudden we could do a deal we were both happy with.

You bought it as it was below market value. With the intention to trade. You only had it a day before moving it on.

If you had any other intention for it you would have offered it back here for the same money so any of the lads here could have had a spin on it.

I am just here pointing out the facts while you are reminisce thinking you were a speedy owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Dev1234

All my Christmases came at once this morning with the arrival of a Timex Milano XL and a Speedmaster.

Great photos!!

When I saw the photo of you going out for milk in a matter of seconds I went from he's:

1. Going golfing
    2. The Milk Tray Man
    3. An assassin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Cassius99

Very easy to read the time on that Citizen. Would you have a link to where you purchased?

Got it from Hilliers but their prices have gone up again. Cheapest I see it now is for £239 from https://www.dcleake.com/Watches/Citizen/Citizen-Mens-Eco-Drive-Promaster-Tough-Sapphire-Titanium-Case-Kevlar-Strap-Watch-BN0118-04E.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭mad m

@ fulladapipes

Love the watch eyeglass that came with Omega. Reminds me of my grandad using it to fix watches back in the day. He used to pop them open, quick eye spy with eyeglass. Drop the whole watch movement into 3-1 oil, let it soak take out and hey presto it started working.

If you had any other intention for it you would have offered it back here for the same money so any of the lads here could have had a spin on it.

What a load of bollox. A big part of the pleasure of owning watches for me is the hunt to get one. And get one at a good price. So when I eventually (after 1 hour or 10 years) end up selling it, the aim is not to lose money on it, or better, for it to help finance my next watch. Any gobsh1te can contact watchfinder, tell them what watch you want and just pay whatever they tell you the price is.

If that works for you and you are happy to then give away the watch for free to a fellow watch enthusiast, then power to you :p

In other news, I've gone sale agreed on a watch that could very well turn out to be the one :cool:

My ads on adverts.ie:

What a load of bollox. A big part of the pleasure of owning watches for me is the hunt to get one. And get one at a good price. So when I eventually (after 1 hour or 10 years) end up selling it, the aim is not to lose money on it, or better, for it to help finance my next watch. Any gobsh1te can contact watchfinder, tell them what watch you want and just pay whatever they tell you the price is.

If that works for you and you are happy to then give away the watch for free to a fellow watch enthusiast, then power to you :p

In other news, I've gone sale agreed on a watch that could very well turn out to be the one :cool:

I have no idea what you are blathering on about. The fact that you can’t see my point just shows the type of person you are.

Glad you are so open about profiting at the forums expensive. Deepthought was a gent and passed to me at what he paid from an epic deal through Ryan on Tz, I passed to FT as the same price, FT passed to you at the same price. Sadly that’s where it ended. The only reason you bought was to profit off of all our good naturedness. We could all have taken the small profit but we all choose not to, a good turn on the forum and that...

I just thought it was hilarious that you were on this forum earlier, one of lads, lovely speedy, I only had mine a few days haha. You would step on top of any member of this lovely watch corner for a 5er profit. I can see it. It’s not very nice.

And I will remind people every chance I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭furiousox

CPL 593H

Dev1234 wrote: »
    Great photos!!

When I saw the photo of you going out for milk in a matter of seconds I went from he's:

1. Going golfing
    2. The Milk Tray Man
    3. An assassin

Ha..! Well, it's definitely not no. 1... That's all I can say.

tenor.gif?itemid=4961268

I have no idea what you are blathering on about. The fact that you can’t see my point just shows the type of person you are.

Glad you are so open about profiting at the forums expensive. Deepthought was a gent and passed to me at what he paid from an epic deal through Ryan on Tz, I passed to FT as the same price, FT passed to you at the same price. Sadly that’s where it ended. The only reason you bought was to profit off of all our good naturedness. We could all have taken the small profit but we all choose not to, a good turn on the forum and that...

I just thought it was hilarious that you were on this forum earlier, one of lads, lovely speedy, I only had mine a few days haha. You would step on top of any member of this lovely watch corner for a 5er profit. I can see it. It’s not very nice.

And I will remind people every chance I get.

So if you owned a watch and your choice was to either sell it to someone on here for a few hundred quid under market value or it enabling you to buy the watch you really wanted (and couldn't afford without this trade), then you would pick option 1?

If you select yes then you're either hypocrite or a communist :p

I am neither...

My ads on adverts.ie:

Fitz II wrote: »
    tenor.gif?itemid=4961268

I don't believe it yet myself. But the big daddy is coming home :D

Will keep you posted. Haven't been this excited about a Christmas present for about 40 odd years :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

So if you owned a watch and your choice was to either sell it to someone on here for a few hundred quid under market value or it enabling you to buy the watch you really wanted (and couldn't afford without this trade), then you would pick option 1?

If you select yes then you're either hypocrite or a communist :p

I am neither...

I am neither. Just believe in a little community spirit, as DT extended it to me. If that makes me a communist.......

The above fictitious scenario for me .....It would depend on the watch in question and where I got it......I have no issue with a lad making profit. Pick something up on an adverts or eBay at a good price and sell on for a profit, fair dues.

However you choose to profit at the forums expense and profit at the good naturedness of me, FG and DT who had passed the “good turn” on to the next forum member. You were only interested in feathering your own nest.

And don’t pretend you couldn’t afford the explorer without using the Omega. If you are that stuck for the 300 quid then I suggest down grading the Tesla and stop bidding on the 10k plus Rolex on adverts (not stalking but I follow 90 percent of high end adds on adverts).

You didn’t need the Omega. It was a choice. And the fact that you think it was ok gives a great insight into your thought process.

I don't believe it yet myself. But the big daddy is coming home :D

Will keep you posted. Haven't been this excited about a Christmas present for about 40 odd years :D

Maybe this is the one....you might keep it more than a month :pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

[insert that escalated quickly meme here]. 893bet and Unkel let's dial it back, maybe take it to PM. It's Christmas an' that.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭CarProblem

oknepop wrote: »
    The caseback isn't original to that watch, and there seems to be a bit of corrosion on the edge of the dial. No pics of the movement either so I'd personally pass, but as with everything on ebay it's a bit of a gamble (got my KS on ebay though). Has the original buckle which is a nice touch, as these tend to go for 50-100 on their own.

I actually hastily pulled the trigger on this before reading this very helpful reply :o

536970.jpg

It actually arrive today via Fedex (ridiculously fast) and no customs. So according to my curve card statement I paid a grand total of €366 for it including postage. Will probably get it serviced in the new year. Very light on the arm vs my other watches (unsurprising I suppose)

Edit: there is discolouration around the edge as you state - it's more obvious in the photos than with the naked eye

Double edit: any recommendations on servicing please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭somebody_else

And now something different.

536976.jpg

And I know it is Nomos Orion homage but still nice.

Just arrived in time for Xmas

Erikas original strap to go with Sinn

76-A8-C539-0-D85-42-CB-BD8-B-405-F5-FDF03-B2.jpg
    07-AC8578-8856-41-FF-A5-F9-584-F2-A9-B8943.jpg

Fitz II wrote: »
    Maybe this is the one....you might keep it more than a month :pac::pac::pac:

I do have (some) form. Had my Tissot as my only watch from 1995 until 2011. Had my Seamaster as my only watch or at least the one I wore 99% of the time from 2017 until sometime in 2020 I think?

I think this one is a keeper, but only time will tell :p

My ads on adverts.ie:

I do have (some) form. Had my Tissot as my only watch from 1995 until 2011. Had my Seamaster as my only watch or at least the one I wore 99% of the time from 2017 until sometime in 2020 I think?

I think this one is a keeper, but only time will tell :p
    Fecin watches...I was wearing a smart watch up to 2 years ago when a friend showed me his Seamaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭furiousox

My wishlist for early 2021.

Jorg Gray 6500 (Obama watch) & Bulova Lunar Pilot.

I already have an Omega speedy so someone please talk me out of the Bulova!
    Or not. :D

536985.jpg

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭scwazrh

furiousox wrote: »
    My Pilot.

I already have the Omega speedy so someone please talk me out of the Bulova!
    Or not. :D

I sold my lunar pilot when I finally got my speedmaster as thought what’s the point of a cheap moonwatch when you’ve got the real one.. bought another lunar pilot within a couple of months after that and wear it more than my speedmaster .

I should have thought about it more though and bought that black pvd lunar pilot.