Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Is anyone else starting to go f**king insane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

On top of everything something happened between a friend of mine and I and now she's not talking to me. The only thing that got me through the day was the thought of her coming over for a bit of food and some TV and now I fear i've lost that as well and it's my fault.

I think this is the worst despair I've ever felt

Write her a letter. These are trying times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    This lockdown feels completely different to the March lockdown. Back then we had the novelty of working from home, the days were getting longer, spending time outdoors, getting more quality time. It was weird, but weirdness was a change.

This last week has been completely different though, especially with the clocks changing. Dark when I start work, dark when I finish. Went for a walk around town and its crazy to see everywhere shut by 7pm. Went to meet a friend for coffee and ended up sitting in the car with the heater on. I'd usually go for a run straight after work, but now I'm running at night in the cold. We're 6 months into this now with no end in sight. I'm actually going insane looking at the same four walls every day, counting the end of every day when I closing my bedroom curtains.

How are the rest of ye coping with this?

Thread title: Is anyone else starting to go f**king insane?

In the context of Kanturk/Lucan/Rathfarnham........

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Candie wrote: »
    I'm WFH and have a small baby, a child who has come into close contact with not very many people in his short life and I wonder how that will affect his development. It's been a combination of our new little family being in it's own bubble, and gnawing isolation. I just try to accept it all, it is what it is and I don't exactly have the option to live any other way. I would be lost if I couldn't get out for a run or a walk with the dogs and the OH, it seems to be my personal key to staying sane.

2020 can F right off though, should have been our happiest and has been our most stressed.

Hadnt heard - congrats Candie :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ikozma

I'm going nuts tbh, the wkend gone seemed the longest in history, having the kids home and not being able to do anything bar go for a walk doesn't help matters, can't be good for mental health at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Thread title: Is anyone else starting to go f**king insane?

In the context of Kanturk/Lucan/Rathfarnham........

Mod

Leave it out - the OP is very clearly not linked, so the jump there is your own; this is AH so this kind of discussion is fine; that jump is a bit of a stretch and also speculative on the last one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭zf0wqv9oemuasj

How can you watch a match that's played in an empty stadium? I can't.

Being honest with the fake noise I have stopped noticing there is no crowd at matches and enjoy them just the same. I thought the fake noise would be stupid but it makes a massive difference and really you don't notice the crowd at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Meditation is a really excellent way of taking some time out of each day for self-care and being able to identify negative thoughts and emotions. It's particularly useful for dealing with anxiety issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭Dr.MickKiller

Candie wrote: »
    I'm WFH and have a small baby, a child who has come into close contact with not very many people in his short life and I wonder how that will affect his development. It's been a combination of our new little family being in it's own bubble, and gnawing isolation. I just try to accept it all, it is what it is and I don't exactly have the option to live any other way. I would be lost if I couldn't get out for a run or a walk with the dogs and the OH, it seems to be my personal key to staying sane.

2020 can F right off though, should have been our happiest and has been our most stressed.

That's just teething, they'll get over that. They'll gnaw on anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

I’m starting to feel it this time. It’s maybe the winter coming in but, I’m missing all the social stuff really badly. I can handle it, but I’m just feeling very lacking in contact & I’ve dropped a lot of things I would have normally been involved in that keep me plugged into the world.

I have a couple of things on Zoom, but it’s not the same. Find the whole thing very starchy & people are turning up and mostly talking about the lockdown... it’s no craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I'm coping about asd well as can be expected. Bored out of my b**locks and sick of the constant stream of bad news. Also had to postpone my wedding which was to happen next year and kick it back into 2022 this week (and shell out 2 grand for the privilege - along with any deposits paid to suppliers who cant do the new date) which was a bit of a downer.

Redescovered a love of video games and good books though, which has been keeping me sane.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Being honest with the fake noise I have stopped noticing there is no crowd at matches and enjoy them just the same. I thought the fake noise would be stupid but it makes a massive difference and really you don't notice the crowd at all.

Similar here, must say having the games back is tremendous, already looking forward to this weekend's GAA and rugby.

On top of everything something happened between a friend of mine and I and now she's not talking to me. The only thing that got me through the day was the thought of her coming over for a bit of food and some TV and now I fear i've lost that as well and it's my fault.

I think this is the worst despair I've ever felt

I'm sorry that happened. Is there any hope of a reconciliation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Or some exotic place like Vietnam that has barely been affected.

Thanks to measures which some posters would be up in arms whining and crying about their civil rights.
    Gemtrails and her cohorts would be fined between something like 3-6 months of a basic salary for spreading sh1t.

The thing with a situation like this is that perspective is extremely important.

It could be a lot lot worse than it already is; in all honesty we have it pretty good.

No doubt people will appreciate things more when this pandemic comes to a close which of course it eventually will.

I might get some heat for this but if it hardens up some people who have never had a hard day in their life and then stop taking health, family and a good quality of life for total granted, then all the better, the only way out is through.

Keep busy, stick to a routine and don't fall into bad habits. Check in with the people you care about.

I agree with you. Perspective has long been a great tool of mine. I've even said those words of yours "the only way out is through" others who were suffering.
    Lately my perspective is having a hard time coming to the rescue. Rationally I get it but I'm just not feeling it. No matter how many times I remind myself how lucky I am, I can't shake the fear that this is it and a kind of sadness for everyone.

This thread is very interesting. There are so many different experiences. It's really nice to read them all and get an insight in to how other people are managing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

I'm sorry that happened. Is there any hope of a reconciliation?

I don't know. And I'm really unsure and I'd do anything to turn the clock back a few weeks and rectify my clumsiness....and the fact that we can't talk leaves me with nothing but hollowness.

I don't know the ins and outs of your falling out but it has obviously left you very upset. That to me says this person meant a lot to you and I think it's worth trying to hold on to those who matter. Reach out to her Alan.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Personally, I am OK myself but I do know that there are a lot of people really, really struggling out there at the moment. Look at the events of the past week - three suspected murder-suicide cases. Kanturk in Cork, South Dublin and Lucan. :(

However, I am in a new Zoom group of eight friends who have had various mental health/addiction issues (mine is crippling anxiety and alcohol - coming up on 2 years fully sober now :)) and we check in for a chat/vent/ask for advice or just a friendly ear every Wed evening. It’s a lifeline to some of us. :)l

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

I agree with you. Perspective has long been a great tool of mine. I've even said those words of yours "the only way out is through" others who were suffering.
    Lately my perspective is having a hard time coming to the rescue. Rationally I get it but I'm just not feeling it. No matter how many times I remind myself how lucky I am, I can't shake the fear that this is it and a kind of sadness for everyone.

This thread is very interesting. There are so many different experiences. It's really nice to read them all and get an insight in to how other people are managing.

Well fear is a powerful thing and once people let it in, you suffer.

The reality is that this is really not "it". This is the current normal as opposed to the "new" normal. So 6 months from now people should expect and plan things to be much better because, inevitably, they must be.

It's best to think long term and think of all the great things we will be able to do once this passes because if you solely dwell on the present it will affect you.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Parsnips

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Started a 1000 piece jigsaw and it's surprisingly addictive and rewarding.

This is something I would never have done previously. It passes the time quick enough.

You really cant go wrong with a good Jigsaw.
    the brain only focuses on the pieces in the box and abolutely nothin else.
    Very calming and relaxing.

NB. during Lockdown #1 every Jigsaw on amazon was sold out. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ì've said it in other threads, but I'm loving this. Not as much as the first one, but only because the shopping isn't as quiet as it was in March. Being a gamer helps massively, and getting confirmation of my launch PS5 has made me a very happy camper. Having read the entire thread and thinking back, I suppose I was subconsciously preparing for this for the last few years, when I changed from the societally expected extrovert with a big job and mortgage to the "outcast weirdo" who doesn't socialise all the much anymore. Because I realised how empty and pointless that previous life was. Also have a terrible view of humanity created through working as a Garda for 9 years, and the internet/social media giving a platform for idiots.

I will happily continue to be the outcase weirdo who does nothing but play games, smoke weed and not partake in gossip. Still lucky to have a job I can WFH I suppose, and I live with the parents so able to help them out around the house and with shopping as they're over 70. I'm not saying long may it last, but I dread when it goes back to "normal", with herds of selfish humans packing places again.

I do miss the cinema though. But I have a solution to that, it's just gonna cost a few grand (decent projector and screen, home cinema seats, popcorn machine).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭gussieg

Parsnips wrote: »
    Speaking od Netflix.
    Dont watch that new Adam Sandler halloween film on Netflix.
    Worst Ive ever seen of his. Pure ****e
    I love him but this is pure lazyness

Nah, I think he's done worse. At least this one had costumes and make up.

Keep the faith... And find others to talk to, even if it's just in the shops, hopefully you feel better sharing here. Still shattered over losing friends during the last lockdown, not to covid but to the isolation. Please remember You Are Loved, even if it's just us lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Stopped watching RTE few years back so I am spared of judgement day drivel. Stopped reading indo for the same reason. You literally need to skip first 5-6 pages to get away from craziness.

I used to fight with daughter in a car as she wanted music stations but I insisted on Newstalk. Interesting topics and podcasts where you could get something interesting here and there. They went mental RTE style and there is covid mentioned every minute there too.
    We listen to music now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

I used to listen to a lot of science podcasts and now most of them are heavily COVID-19 focused.

paw patrol wrote: »
    its a load of pox this time. there was an excitement or buzz in the air last time. the weather was decent too.

I love training but training outdoors is poxy now compared to the last lockdown.

I'm off for the week and tbh not much to do bar the park/beach and call of duty.

Beach?!! I'd love a beach!

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭Scot_in_Dublin

Little bit. I'm sure it would be a bigger bit, but Mr Fibble says I cant say any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Just when I was getting over the depression and anxiety brought on by the last lockdown, they go ahead and give us another one and reel me back in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

Look, nevermind your mental health or our economy - we need to protect our 83 year olds who have already exceeded life expectancy anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

It’s quite noticeable how levels of aggression are increasing. Not sure if this is linked to general anxiety, probably. This whole thing must be an invaluable case study for sociologists and shrinks alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭patnor1011

Jequ0n wrote: »
    It’s quite noticeable how levels of aggression are increasing. Not sure if this is linked to general anxiety, probably. This whole thing must be an invaluable case study for sociologists and shrinks alike.

One does not need to think that this is something new. Take caged animals. At some point they obey whither and die or they attack. We are no different.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

patnor1011 wrote: »
    One does not need to think that this is something new. Take caged animals. At some point they obey whither and die or they attack. We are no different.

Yes but when do you actually get to witness this first hand on this scale. Amazing

The summer of 2020 will be marked as the final nail in the coffin of community in this country anyway. The Celtic tiger started the process and when all this is over we’ll have completed the transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

The summer of 2020 will be marked as the final nail in the coffin of community in this country anyway. The Celtic tiger started the process and when all this is over we’ll have completed the transition.

You're being very pessimistic, you should be giving all of us a bit more credit.

As a people, we've been through a lot worse than an economic boom and a pandemic, this will just be another chapter in history and it will be a short one at that.

I think because we're in it, we like to think of things being unprecedented and the thing that changed it all but just look back in time and see the world our ancestors lived in, along with the events they've been through.

This will be a memory soon and we'll get very used to our new world very fast. Community is the backbone to the human race, it's how we got where we are today and a few seconds on the historical clock won't change that.

Beverly Hills, California

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

We all need some level of acceptance that things won't be back to normal for a good while.

With that in mind we need to relax and take some sort of comfort about a slower pace of life etc. Easier said than done, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,559 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Speak for yourself. You behave as you want and you might intend to end your pro-community behaviours. Others will continue with community-spirited behaviours.

‘Others’ stopped continuing with it months ago.

Is that so? And what have you done to counteract it?

Not a single thing as I don’t really care. I just find it fascinating to witness everyone turning on each other, there’s going to be a divide between people that will remain long after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

Rikand wrote: »
    Just when I was getting over the depression and anxiety brought on by the last lockdown, they go ahead and give us another one and reel me back in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Parsnips wrote: »
    You really cant go wrong with a good Jigsaw.
    the brain only focuses on the pieces in the box and abolutely nothin else.
    Very calming and relaxing.

NB. during Lockdown #1 every Jigsaw on amazon was sold out. :)

Spot on. Serious dopamine hits aswell when you find a piece and see a tricky part come together.

Who needs a holiday to Ibiza or Rio when you have jig saws to fill the void. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭Tommybojangles

How can you watch a match that's played in an empty stadium? I can't.

The fake noise mate, as much as I know im lying to myself it makes a difference and helps with the escapism.

Probably as my bread and butter most weeks would be junior hurling I'm used to there be no crowds at 'important' games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Saw an ad for this yesterday. My phone is definitely listening to my whinging. https://barbadoswelcomestamp.bb/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

gussieg wrote: »
    Keep the faith... And find others to talk to, even if it's just in the shops, hopefully you feel better sharing here. Still shattered over losing friends during the last lockdown, not to covid but to the isolation. Please remember You Are Loved, even if it's just us lot.

Thanks gus. It's worse because I'm in love with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Hooked

Great thread! Stumbled in, while dossing at work.

Despite having no kids, 2 wages still coming in (wife working from home and me in the office) and zero "family/financial" stresses... I'm finding myself going slowly insane!

Partly because of the complete overreaction to a flu-like illness that is really only deadly to 0.05% of those who contract it.

But mainly because I'd a camper van sitting in my drive most of the summer, 2 holidays cancelled, a brother who had no 30th birthday and another who had to cancel his 40th this weekend! Nothing to look forward to. No meet ups with mates. And worse of all - no soccer (playing not watching)!

I really miss the exercise, the banter, the chat with the lads... and getting out of the house and letting off steam! I'm in my 40's now - and this stuff is important.

On the plus - I'm fierce handy with the DIY... so have kept busy repairing the decking, painting the gaff, doing small jobs in the van... I even made a basketball ring/stand during the sunnier months. I've gotten back into art. Drawing, framing a few bits and am just finishing a large project for a mate's football themed "man cave". So the creativity is keeping me busy - for now!

But man do I miss playing ball & the craic with the lads...

Still. I've my wife, my health... family nearby and this too, will pass... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Having read the entire thread and thinking back, I suppose I was subconsciously preparing for this for the last few years, when I changed from the societally expected extrovert with a big job and mortgage to the "outcast weirdo" who doesn't socialise all the much anymore.
    Sounds like me 20 years ago. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Post-covid people are going to be rebuilding their lives, and a large part of that will be their social lives. I have pretty much already decided I will start afresh in a new city/country.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

Absolutely struggling. Cant cope with another month of it I'm going off my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Not a single thing as I don’t really care. I just find it fascinating to witness everyone turning on each other, there’s going to be a divide between people that will remain long after this.

in my considerable experience? I am seeing and experiencing very gratefully far more support and cooperation than there was before covid; so many have risen to the situation and meet the needs of others. There is more kindness and practical help then before. Real community spirit at work and thriving.

If you are basing your opinion on internet forums? They are not real life and people always attack each other anonymously! For entertainment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

PommieBast wrote: »
    Post-covid people are going to be rebuilding their lives, and a large part of that will be their social lives. I have pretty much already decided I will start afresh in a new city/country.

Well, if you weren’t involved in being community minded before COVID , and you’re not involved in it now, then you’re probably not going to be involved in the future either. So you’re probably not a good judge of community business.