Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2020: Round 13: Emilia Romagma GP.

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭tipp_tipp_tipp

Albon surely out of an F1 drive completely next year now. In any top end racing team his performance is unacceptable, let alone Red Bull

Yeah it looks game set and match now for him. So will it be Perez or Hulk in that seat next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,018 ✭✭✭✭klose

Whole load of talking points after that, ferraris dealing of vettel, his and kimis tyre management, max and Russells crashes, Danny ric another podium, stroll disaster, perez boxing that late.

Edit: Albon, jesus what a disaster too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Wasn't the worst race and certainly better than the Spanish Grand Prix. The late safety car definitely livened up the end. Overtaking was difficult though and the DRS zone could have done with been longer, sort of the opposite of the last race where the DRS zone was too long. Pleased for Kvyat to finish fourth, I'm not sure why you'd drop him for a Japanese rookie particularly when Honda are pulling out at the end of next season. Albon is surely gone now, that spin was disastrous.

Hamilton deserved to win, the VSC timing was lucky and the need for it questionable imo but he probably had pulled out enough time before the pitstop in any case and he'd been on better tyres than the comprised Bottas so would have gotten past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Russell is clearly quick in qualy but has he got the goods on a Sunday. Not the first time he's bottled it when in a position to nick a point.

Albon had a shocker, again. Agree with those saying he's done for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Without the safety cars it’d have been an incredibly boring race.

Wouldn’t be sad if it was the last time I saw that track tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭This is it

Ric :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Aw yeah, here comes the Shoey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Could Lewis not let him have that 1 thing

He gave it to Lewis...

Poor Perez, really disappointed for him

Poor from Vettel, LeClerc pulling it out of the bag again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Indestructable

This is it wrote: »
    Poor from Vettel, LeClerc pulling it out of the bag again

Tbf he wasn't helped by his team with the 14 second pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,018 ✭✭✭✭klose

Tbf he wasn't helped by his team with the 14 second pit

Didn't they pit him again under the safety car too?

Oh bless, Albon thought someone hit him. Clueless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

skipper_G wrote: »
    Oh bless, Albon thought someone hit him. Clueless

I’m genuinely surprised he was given the opportunity in the red bull seat in general. I’d go as far as saying he wouldn’t be missed on the grid. There’s F2 drivers that look a lot hungrier.

Now for the evening entertainment, I'm off to read the twitter responses to Racing Point celebrating P6 like an achievement and not the missed opportunity it actually is. Bunch of clowns, strategy call straight out of 'Ferrari's guide to F1 strategy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Ferrari 6th in the Championship. Talk about under performing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

The end of the race was good. Pity the VSC pit stop is such a killer. Would have been way more interesting if VSC pit was not allowed or the pit lane speed was reduced more to minimise it more.

Ferrari f-up Vettel and a possible double points finish. He had driven very well up to that.

Big bonus for Renault over McLaren today with that podium. That third place battle in the constructors is really hoting up

I don't think Racing point pit at the safety car was a mistake. Perez just got it wrong , given how well Kyvatt executed it (excellent by the way from him )

While Albon clearly doesn't have what Redbull need , and I have criticized him I cannot help but think most of this is Redbulls own fault. Promoted Gasly too quickly and needing immediate results. Demoted , Albon promted also too quickly need immediate results but no time to develop as a racing driver at this level.

Now they are looking at an outside driver , Perez on pace would be the best option I think, but I have seen him put his team mate into he wall . (Ocon). He is not going to sit back in a potential race winning car to satisfy Redbulls need to make max a world champion. I don't think he is better than max but cannot see him yeilding so easily.

Sorry long post from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

astrofluff wrote: »
    Really looking forward to watching them try get the right setup in one practice session. Renault or McLaren to surprise.

Maybe I got some of that right on Friday, which is unusual for me.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Joeface wrote: »

Now they are looking at an outside driver , Perez on pace would be the best option I think, but I have seen him put his team mate into he wall . (Ocon). He is not going to sit back in a potential race winning car to satisfy Redbulls need to make max a world champion. I don't think he is better than max but cannot see him yeilding so easily.

Sorry long post from me.

Could be a good thing.

Could go terribly arseways too, but I reckon it could make for some good racing

FB-IMG-1604251139926.jpg

Look at that face :pac:

Cool_CM wrote: »
    FB-IMG-1604251139926.jpg

Look at that face :pac:

Yeah just checking off boxes before he retires at the end of season .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

So that explains where Bottas's pace went.
    Suprised they didnt notice it during the race or during the pitstops.
    The fastest a Ferrari has went all year.
    https://twitter.com/MercedesAMGF1/status/1322894826644426753

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,847 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

TheFarrier wrote: »
    Could be a good thing.

Could go terribly arseways too, but I reckon it could make for some good racing

Was just thinking that too. Not that Max needs anyone to push him but it would keep him on his feet and not let him get complacent.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

Montreal screwjob performed on checo by racing point.

Who decided that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Hijpo

This is it wrote: »
    He gave it to Lewis...

Lewis asked for the shoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Cracking track, but awful for racing.

Hijpo wrote: »
    Lewis asked for the shoe

Fair enough, didn't see that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

I would go with Perez myself if I were Horner, he is a better option than the Hulk imho. Albon is definitely gone unless he really does something special in the next few races, dropping it all on his own after the SC, and ending up last was just about the worst thing he could have done this week.

If Perez doesn't get the Red Bull seat, he may be without a drive next year which would be sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

If you were to ask yourself who is more of a team player, and someone more likely to support Max, it would be Hulk rather than Perez.

This is the most interesting seat for next year left unanswered.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

lolie wrote: »
    So that explains where Bottas's pace went.
    Suprised they didnt notice it during the race or during the pitstops.
    The fastest a Ferrari has went all year.
    https://twitter.com/MercedesAMGF1/status/1322894826644426753

They did notice it, they knew something was up from the telemetry. They also saw it during his pitstop but they decided against trying to remove it as it would have compromised the race given the time they thought it would take to remove it.
    They told Bottas this and told him where it came from, he knew when himself anyways as he made a choice to drive straight over it rather than risk a puncture either side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

astrofluff wrote: »
    If you were to ask yourself who is more of a team player, and someone more likely to support Max, it would be Hulk rather than Perez.

This is the most interesting seat for next year left unanswered.

Perez bringing $20m a year from Carlos Slim and Telmex might sway/help get him the seat. I think Perez might be more likely to have contact with Max a few times a season But he is more likely to screw up the Mercs strategy too. Hulkenburg has a whiff of nice guy Bottas about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭Harika

Based on the "if Perez gets the seat he might hit Max" theory. Red Bull should hire anyone who could hit Max and lock them away in a basement.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    Perez bringing $20m a year from Carlos Slim and Telmex might sway/help get him the seat. I think Perez might be more likely to have contact with Max a few times a season But he is more likely to screw up the Mercs strategy too. Hulkenburg has a whiff of nice guy Bottas about him.

Which is why it would make more sense for him to partner Max

I actually forgot about this ,Ferrari may not be "Sabotaging" Vettel , they just don't care .

He asked after he hit with KMag if there was damage on "The out board Front Wing" and the reply he got was "No From Television and Data looks Fine" ...the size of the piece left in Bottas car ... HA HA .

good drive from him with that much missing , right up till the 13s pit stop .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

I actually forgot about this ,Ferrari may not be "Sabotaging" Vettel , they just don't care .

He asked after he hit with KMag if there was damage on "The out board Front Wing" and the reply he got was "No From Television and Data looks Fine" ...the size of the piece left in Bottas car ... HA HA .

good drive from him with that much missing , right up till the 13s pit stop .

thats crazy. we often hear the comentators talking about how small damage can have a big impact. that piece is huge, how could they not know.
    its more likely that they didnt care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Perez is a funny one for me. He has the talent sure, and it would be by all accounts a shame if he was without a drive next year over some of the others.

...but i find myself not caring really about him. I dont know what it is, I cant put my finger on it, but he is very meh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

Tzardine wrote: »
    Perez is a funny one for me. He has the talent sure, and it would be by all accounts a shame if he was without a drive next year over some of the others.

...but i find myself not caring really about him. I dont know what it is, I cant put my finger on it, but he is very meh ?

He is the mexican Tom Cruise and F1 wouldnt be the same without him.