Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best HeadTorch

• 30-10-2020 12:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭

What would be opinions on what the best headtorch is? Just looking for the brightest one - lightweight doesn't matter as much.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,810 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I got a 'Petzl tikka+' as a present. It takes 3 AAA batteries. They'd last most of the winter. Great light for its weight. Not very bright though.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I have a Ledlenser SEO7R
    Rechargeable, the main beam is excellent. There's a dim beam too that's much easier on the battery.
    The only thing that annoys me is that you've to open up the back case of it to charge it, it's easily done all the same. I suppose I'd be complaining more if the charging point was exposed to the elements and failed as a result!

Great torch all things considered.

https://www.ledlenser.com/ie/products/headlamps/seo-series/seo7r/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I have a Ledlenser SEO7R
    Rechargeable, the main beam is excellent. There's a dim beam too that's much easier on the battery.
    The only thing that annoys me is that you've to open up the back case of it to charge it, it's easily done all the same. I suppose I'd be complaining more if the charging point was exposed to the elements and failed as a result!

Great torch all things considered.

https://www.ledlenser.com/ie/products/headlamps/seo-series/seo7r/

Got a led lenser here last year for my birthday and has most of the features as above. Very happy with it and there is a port to charge it using a mobile phone charger.

https://www.caulfieldindustrial.com/p/led-lenser-ih6r-rechargeable-headlamp/p-e09390

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

I have a led lenser here and thought it was great until I was in field with a friend with a cheta one. Mine is better for my work up close and probably ok out to 30 40m. The cheta was a concentrated spot and would go much further but not a good close up.

Saying that mine is a workhorse and can't be broken with throwing about. It was €99 at the time over couple of years ago and I couldn't keep the cheaper ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭grange mac

I get mine in Aldi for 10, during the cycling promotions. Does job grand think 150lm rechargeable USB2 and works when I want it to.

Can't be spending big money as more than likely will be dropped or lost some time over winter.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭huntsman77

Led lenser also its a mh6 find it good and light .battery rechargeable . There's a time limit on full beam switches to lower beam then something bout over heating . Think I gave bout 60 euro for it

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

Cheetah have a great headlight. About 40-50e. Very popular around here

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Earnshaw wrote: »
    What would be opinions on what the best headtorch is? Just looking for the brightest one - lightweight doesn't matter as much.

https://www.knivesandtools.ie/

Has everything you need. Anything fenix is good. Will have Something to suit your budget. Don't waste your money on anything in the coop etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Second the cheetah, rechargeable and good light out of it

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Most of the Silva head torches are pretty good. Athletics and Running forum is a good bet for information on head torches.

• Registered Users Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Aravo

I got a 'Petzl tikka+' as a present. It takes 3 AAA batteries. They'd last most of the winter. Great light for its weight. Not very bright though.

I have a petzl 450. Mine has a battery that is charged by USB type connection. If buying a Petzl keep an eye out for hybrid it will take aaa batteries or the battery like mine. Think mine was e60. Got it last year. Good battery life and good light. Am thinking of getting one for herself for xmas

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭kk.man

Mooooo wrote: »
    Second the cheetah, rechargeable and good light out of it

Plus 1 and great for seeing stock in fields at night from a distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭older by the day

djmc wrote: »

You would want to reinforce your neck to hold up some of them headlamps

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

kk.man wrote: »
    Plus 1 and great for seeing stock in fields at night from a distance.

Have a cheetah here and happy enough, bought it when one morning I had 2 cows instead of 3 in last row..... great for looking around a field etc, as said it’s a concentrated spot so not as broad a light up close

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

You would want to reinforce your neck to hold up some of them headlamps

Lol you wouldn't be running a marathon with them but the XHP led puts out serious light. The problem is waiting for delivery from China winter would be half over

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭minerleague

Got a led lenser here last year for my birthday and has most of the features as above. Very happy with it and there is a port to charge it using a mobile phone charger.

https://www.caulfieldindustrial.com/p/led-lenser-ih6r-rechargeable-headlamp/p-e09390

Led lenser here too, have it years, still going strong, had to buy charger a couple of years ago. haven't used any other to compare but for light weight, good light output and longevity very happy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Got one a couple of weeks ago for replacing lights in a shed, cheap €10 one from the co-op, good light out of it i think as i have'nt had one before so it's hard to compare, eats batteries though.

Edit: There's actually no name brand on it, it just has "LED Headlamp" printed on the headband.
    €10 for the headlamp and €4 for a 12pack of batteries for it, thought it was good value anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭bally2009

Anyone have experience with the Olight brand?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07QZR7GBV/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_j4WNFbHM701Y6?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Used this one on a night calving job in the spring, 10 hours a night, 6 nights a week for 12 weeks and it never put a foot wrong. Have bought another as a back up as nights get longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 817 ✭✭✭ABlur

bally2009 wrote: »
    Anyone have experience with the Olight brand?

I have an Olight H2R torch which becomes a head torch with the supplied straps. The straps hold it very tight so it's hard to move the torch. I find it a bit finicky to switch on and move to the highest lumens. It is bright though and once charged seems to last quite a while. I also have an LED Lender SEO7R and prefer it as the light us tiltable, however battery doesn't last too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭50HX

mythos110 wrote: »

Got one delivered last week

Early days but so far v happy with it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

https://www.thedandys.ie/product/head-lite-hl---10
    Have two of these myself. Excellent headlight.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Led lender. The seo5 or seo7 are great torches.
    The seo3 is a bit weak

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭thefareast

I prefer a right angle light, it's more versatile than a dedicated head torch. I have a sofirn sp40, I think it was about €16 delivered from China, cheap and very cheerful. If I was going to buy something a bit more upmarket I would look at something from skilhunt or zebralight. For a dedicated headtorch acebeam are impressive especially if your not too worried about weight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Just to say I was in the market for one of these lately and wanted to buy through an Irish supplier. Anyways, I got onto one if the outdoors shops sites and picked a Petzl IKO Core head torch and by jaynees it's the dog's b*****
    Light as a feather and has three modes, a glow for walking around, a right good light, and then the equivalent of a halogen that would light up an acre or two! I have it a month and haven't had to recharge it yet. It was replacing a Led Lenser SKEO 5 and it's in a different league.
    Just thought I'd let ye know.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,267 ✭✭✭tanko

Some info about head torches here

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭pauly58

We bought a Ledlenser H8R, fantastic light output, adjustment to change from spot to flood, early days but impressive.