Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2020 All Ireland Senior Football Championship MOD NOTE POST #1

22 points conceeded and several goal chances squandered. Lots of work needed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Game is over, wouldn't read into it

True, there's that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Clarke is the worst keeper of all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭formerlyET

Great heart from Tipp in the second half - actual goals and ambition going forward. 3-13 is decent

Soft goals killed Tipp, obvs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,627 ✭✭✭giveitholly

The amount of goal chances Mayo have conceded is unreal

We hopefully will get a half decent competitive All Ireland Final.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,758 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Cavan_King wrote: »
    It’s disrespectful to Cavan. People are quick to label Cavan a Division 3 team but in 2017 & 2019 we were in Division 1. We also made the Ulster Final last year beating Monaghan & Armagh on the way.

We also have a panel of players who were very successful when underage between 2011 and 2014, backed up by younger lads who made an All Ireland minor semi final in 2017.

And it was 23 years by the way, not 13,

23 is even worse I can't add.

Yes it may seem disrespectful but is the reality of it.

How did Cavan do in 2017 and 2019 in div 1?

They were relegated in 2017 and relegated in 2019.

There is gap between the top 7 consistent teams and the rest

Dublin
    Kerry
    Mayo
    Donegal
    Tyrone
    Monaghan

This is shown over a 2/3 period in the league.

Cavan/Roscommon/Meath/Kildare might get there on and on off but they are not consistent enough to stay there for any extended period.

League over a 2/3 year period is normally a good indicator of where teams are at and it generally shows in the championship.

But the championship has way more lop sided games because teams are not playing teams of their same level.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,944 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

koutoubia wrote: »
    A psis poor Tipp have got through Mayo's defence easily enough on many occasions. They just couldnt finish it and actually make a game of it.

Wouldnt have gotten through that easy if there was still a game in the balance

• Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

After that you can’t look past this Mayo team. It’s theirs to lose now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭redarmy

ArielAtom wrote: »

1/10

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Have to be, serious scoring power and been through real games

Dublin likely to win the final by over 20 points if we put in a defensive display like that.

I expect the Dublin promotion part of the organization are already printing the 6 in a row shirts for Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

It must be the first time in a long time Dublin will be going into a game as underdogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭RogerThis

That was Mayos final.
    Dublin are too strong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

A 28 point winning margin between both semi finals.

What a load of sh1te.

It's not Dublin or Mayo's fault of course.

Hopefully they give us a good final. Two excellent teams.

Well done to Cavan & Tipp this year, ye done yerselves proud & it will be a year ye will never forget.

Ye are not the first team to be on the end of a Dublin/Mayo hammering.

Bambi wrote: »
    Munster football is dead. Something must be done and so on and so forth.

You know the answer they give? Munster is a hurling province...

Which makes zero sense similar breakdown of standard of League teams with Leinster!

Plus no one questions why the most successful football team in the country (Kerry) play in Munster and if it is fair?

The mind boggles, but sure that is the GAA it has never made sense.

statesaver wrote: »
    We hopefully will get a half decent competitive All Ireland Final.

Hopefully Dublin will be up to the challenge. That was some display from Mayo.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Bret Hart wrote:
    It must be the first time in a long time Dublin will be going into a game as underdogs.

Tongue in cheek I presume.

If Mayo defence plays as today Dublin will demolish them.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,944 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The straight knockout no backdoor peddlers are pretty quiet this weekend

Cora must have lashed the Daz on that hat. Was watching RTE NEWS NOW before. Wasn't prepared for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,125 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Mayo just about got by Galway and didn't defend for basically the whole match today they better tighten things up against Dublin or won't even be close.

They looked good going forward but again Tipp allowed that. Sure we taught Meath had goals in them as well look how that went once they played a real team.

I hope it's a good final but if Mayo play like that on the day Dublin will win comfortably without a game all season.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Hope its not as foggy for the All Ireland finals

5pm throw in for the football, same kind of weather as today could cause havoc

Congrats Ariel, ye have it in the bag. If ye beat us by less than 20 I'll take it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Ciaran Whelan might need a covid test, his breathing very heavy

Coras voice would cut you in two.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭dobman88

Haha. You're good craic Ariel, fair play. I'd have Dublin slight favs, they won by 15, mayo could only manage to win by 12 and both played division 3 sides.

Actually I'll set the line at that, -3 and say Dubs by 4.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭formerlyET

Pat Spillane is purple

Is that Cora Staunton ?

Dublin likely to win the final by over 20 points if we put in a defensive display like that.

I expect the Dublin promotion part of the organization are already printing the 6 in a row shirts for Christmas.

If Mayo win we might never see you on boards.ie again - you will have nothing to give out about!

statesaver wrote: »
    Is that Cora Staunton ?

Yep