Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭1st dalkey dalkey

That’s speculation, dude. It probably confirms all your conscious and unconscious biases, but it’s still just speculation. No ‘smoking gun’ so to speak. The loved ones thing at the end is a bit twee as well to be honest.

It may be speculation in respect of the NPHET letter, it certainly isn't in respect of the IMO agreement leak.

That having happened prior to the NPHET incident, we can see that he has previous for this leaking lark.

He was wrong in both cases, but has refused to apologise for his abuse of Holohan and NPHET.

The more we learn about him the more creepy he becomes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

McMurphy wrote: »
    Leo the leak has a better ring to it than Leo the squealer tbh, he'll have to be kept at arms length from any sensitive documents forever more.

He’s the Tánaiste and a senior minister, dude. He deals with sensitive and confidential documents on a daily basis as part of his work. That won’t change. More lurid fantasy stuff tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,513 ✭✭✭✭walshb

McMurphy wrote: »
    Leo the leak has a better ring to it than Leo the squealer tbh, he'll have to be kept at arms length from any sensitive documents forever more.

Yeh, he will..

Never live this down..kind of sad.

He’s a decent enough man..

A lot of politicians on all sides are. They are just people, and they have a hell of a lot of pressure and responsibilities. Very tough, demanding and precarious jobs..

And jobs that we joe soaps take for granted, and don’t fully appreciate at times..

It’s kind of pathetic that as a people and species, as we have evolved and progressed and developed, we seem to be more hostile, aggressive, bickering and combative..

I just wish at times, politicians on all sides worked together, with each other for the good of all..

• Registered Users Posts: 68,716 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He’s the Tánaiste and a senior minister, dude. He deals with sensitive and confidential documents on a daily basis as part of his work. That won’t change. More lurid fantasy stuff tbh.

Holed below the water line never to be taken seriously or trusted again. Even Michael Healy Rae had a go at him texting the press from inside meetings yesterday. Jaysus the embarrassment!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

And as I said (third time now I'll have said it) he was a shocking unlucky fella, first time and only time in his entire puff* that he leaked a confidential document while a senior member of cabinet and he got caught.

The odds on that John eh?

*May not be true.

Holed below the water line never to be taken seriously or trusted again. Even Michael Healy Rae had a go at him texting the press from inside meetings yesterday. Jaysus the embarrassment!

He’ll be the next Taoiseach, dude. Not what you want to hear, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

Even better if Fine Gael are that foolish.

I knew the coalition would be bad for one of them...but the two parties...brilliant!

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭1st dalkey dalkey

He might well be.

And Trump might be the next POTUS.

That doesn't make either of them right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

Can I ask you again if you are happy with Leo's conduct. Your man will survive, but have you lost a bit of respect for the man as a professional, or is everything OK? You speak as if its all a big game, we are talking about our national representation, don't you want, and demand, better?

Everybody on this island are 'connected to violent groups' Harvey. And thankfully almost all of them bar dissidents are in the past. Stop being a hypocrite about it, you own your freedom because of violent groups. And those people you look down at will tell you the exact same thing.

I love this stock answer, everyone else was killing people so we (as in SF) were fine to do it too. It's not true though, is it? How many people did Hume kill?

Anyhow, will you condemn Adams for shielding his child raping brother at least? or do you care less about raped children than medical contracts?

Smacruairi wrote: »
    Can I ask you again if you are happy with Leo's conduct. Your man will survive, but have you lost a bit of respect for the man as a professional, or is everything OK? You speak as if its all a big game, we are talking about our national representation, don't you want, and demand, better?

Complete non-issue, and have lost no respect for him. Leaks, tip-offs, second guessing, throwing colleagues under a bus are all part of national politics. Every single senior politician will have done something similar at least once in their career. It's sometimes how stuff gets done.

This isn't the scouts, dude, it's the dark art of politics. We now have a deal with the doctors. That's what mattered.

Lot of naivety in this forum. Lot of lads got overly excited and rushed head long into this without thinking it through. Now they are angry because their fantasy of Leo resigning didn't come to pass. They had it all pictured out in their head. One or two thought he would even end up in prison!!! :D

There's more Mattie McGrath's than Machiavelli's around here tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I love this stock answer, everyone else was killing people so we (as in SF) were fine to do it too. It's not true though, is it? How many people did Hume kill?

Anyhow, will you condemn Adams for shielding his child raping brother at least? or do you care less about raped children than medical contracts?

Adams was wrong, if true.
    How about FF/FG shielding child rapists and selling babies for generations? Letter of recommendation for one and shielding one?

The point was, and it stands, is FG'ers raising issues regarding people dying or being killed or raped to divert from their latest shame.

The facts are the IRA stood down and signed the GFA. FG/Lab gave a dissident a senate seat. FG have no shame in using the dead to try get a dig in.

FF/FG have low to no ethics it seems. Certainly no accountability. Bring on their demise. Can't come quick enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭ooter

What are the chances, LV does something that every single senior politician has done at least once, yet he's the only one who gets caught and has to answer questions in the dail?

Bowie wrote: »
    Adams was wrong, if true.
    How about FF/FG shielding child rapists and selling babies for generations? Letter of recommendation for one and shielding one?

The point was, and it stands, is FG'ers raising issues regarding people dying or being killed or raped to divert from their latest shame.

The facts are the IRA stood down and signed the GFA. FG/Lab gave a dissident a senate seat. FG have no shame in using the dead to try get a dig in.

FF/FG have low to no ethics it seems. Certainly no accountability. Bring on their demise. Can't come quick enough.

I want Varadkar to go, I just don't buy into this outrage from people who are fine with bomb-makers being in the Dail.

Complete non-issue, and have lost no respect for him. Leaks, tip-offs, second guessing, throwing colleagues under a bus are all part of national politics. Every single senior politician will have done something similar at least once in their career. It's sometimes how stuff gets done.

This isn't the scouts, dude, it's the dark art of politics. We now have a deal with the doctors. That's what mattered.

Lot of naivety in this forum. Lot of lads got overly excited and rushed head long into this without thinking it through. Now they are angry because their fantasy of Leo resigning didn't come to pass. They had it all pictured out in their head. One or two thought he would even end up in prison!!! :D

There's more Mattie McGrath's than Machiavelli's around here tbh.

Made up guff off you JF. Beats engaging in discussion, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

ooter wrote: »
    What are the chances, LV does something that every single senior politician has done at least once, yet he's the only one who gets caught and has to answer questions in the dail?

What are the chances that he gets nabbed the one time he does it.:D dude was like he seen a ghost yesterday. Splutterin' and stumbling. He was like a fella coming down off a massive hang over. I thought he was going to have a panic attack. The actions of a man with alot of skeletons I think.

I want Varadkar to go, I just don't buy into this outrage from people who are fine with bomb-makers being in the Dail.

Context. People are complex. The British have a remembrance day for their killers and bomb makers. Each to their own.
    I'm fine with SF having former IRA in their membership. I'd prefer the SD's but SF are our best chance.

We need standards in office. Separate issue. We've Leo leaking confidential documents and nothing to be done. Imagine, now imagine, we had a self serving politician in a high up position making bad deals for self interest at a loss to the tax payer using and breaking the system. Should we not have checks and balances in place? FF/FG/Greens say yes, but just for optics it seems. The faith of the tax payer and the country, in all things, only has the word of these people from questionable parties to safeguard them. That good enough?

Well you wouldnt have been comfortable looking at the Dail in to the 1970's as reps of violent groups who gave you a sovereign state to live in were there..
    Remember that when you are looking down your nose at people who didn't even have equality.

You don't need to condone violence not to be hypocritical.

That part in O'Tuathail's messages about Lieo and the National Broadband plan was interesting.

:D:D:D:D

What's the world coming to eh? You can't even leak confidential contracts in peace anymore.
    Varadkar warns party members to be careful who they think their friends are,

https://www.thejournal.ie/leo-varadkar-pp-meeting-2-5255393-Nov2020/?utm_source=twitter_short

What's the world coming to eh? You can't even leak confidential contracts in peace anymore.

https://www.thejournal.ie/leo-varadkar-pp-meeting-2-5255393-Nov2020/?utm_source=twitter_short

Heard that on the news earlier. He's basically saying if you leak confidential documents make sure you can trust who you are leaking to.

He really really reminds me of trump in so many ways. Zero integrity all self interest and a narcissist to the core.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

smurgen wrote: »
    That part in O'Tuathail's messages about Lieo and the National Broadband plan was interesting.

"And a wage for you" gives a handy insight into the mindset of what we are putting up with.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭TheChizler

"And a wage for you" gives a handy insight into the mindset of what we are putting up with.
    Was that screenshot supposed to have been taken from Leo's own phone? How did that happen?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Hubertj

Will there be a proper investigation as to what exactly happened and if there was a negative outcome to the actions taken? Or was it only the other dishonest politicians that got to do a bit of grandstanding yesterday? And then On boards.ie a trial with bitter socialists Prosecuting and “admirably” loyal FGers defending?
    It’s clear he shouldn’t have shared the document but what is more important is knowing if that somehow influenced decisions or led to an negative outcome for the Irish people.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,977 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

O Leo, just can't leave it alone

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/varadkar-warns-tds-to-be-careful-who-they-chose-as-friends-after-leak-row-39708203.html

He's one lucky chap with the US election being a major journalistic distraction.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Open squabbling in FF over it. Deadly altogether. Government of Chaos.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1324086207769358337

Hubertj wrote: »
    Will there be a proper investigation as to what exactly happened and if there was a negative outcome to the actions taken? Or was it only the other dishonest politicians that got to do a bit of grandstanding yesterday? And then On boards.ie a trial with bitter socialists Prosecuting and “admirably” loyal FGers defending?
    It’s clear he shouldn’t have shared the document but what is more important is knowing if that somehow influenced decisions or led to an negative outcome for the Irish people.

It's a crime regardless of outcome, positive or negative. When he leaked it he wasn't to know and couldn't know, what the outcome would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,977 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Open squabbling in FF over it. Deadly altogether. Government of Chaos.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1324086207769358337

O Dear, this is Hillarious, it would be almost Ironic if FF imploded because of its leaderships support of leaky Leo

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Well you wouldnt have been comfortable looking at the Dail in to the 1970's as reps of violent groups who gave you a sovereign state to live in were there..
    Remember that when you are looking down your nose at people who didn't even have equality.

You don't need to condone violence not to be hypocritical.

So you aren't going to condemn Adams for protecting a child rapist then?

It will be always be part of his legacy, "Gerry Adams protected a child rapist", fairly sure that's worse than leaking a medical contract.