Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

All the Fianna Failers defending Leo. It must be sticking in their craw, and yet they do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Mr.S wrote: »
    Tbf, it's only staying in the limelight because Village have been saying there is "more to come" which so far, hasn't really materialised.

Let's see what comes on Monday, but if it's still just wishy washy texts between MOT and Bowes and nothing else - I can't see this going on much longer.

It's staying in the limelight because we have only recently discovered the then leader of our country disclosed confidential information to a union that was in direct opposition to the union that were in negotiations with representatives of our government.

That's why it's staying in the limelight and it is going to stay in the limelight for a long time. This disgusting act of betrayal is going in to our history books, and is a long way from over yet.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It's staying in the limelight because we have only recently discovered the then leader of our country disclosed confidential information to a union that was in direct opposition to the union that were in negotiations with representatives of our government.

That's why it's staying in the limelight and it is going to stay in the limelight for a long time. This disgusting act of betrayal is going in to our history books, and is a long way from over yet.

I said it only a few weeks ago. Leo Varadkar loves the limelight and attention. Some day he'll slip up and the attention and limelight he once craved he won't be able to switch off. This time appears to be now.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Mary Lou and Paschal coming up on Radio 1 whenever they're finished with the American stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,743 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Fann Linn wrote: »
    All the Fianna Failers defending Leo. It must be sticking in their craw, and yet they do it.

Well they don't want the government to fall.

If what the Village publishes tomorrow is damaging for Leo, the response of board's FG loyalists will continue to be:

frank-drebin-nothing-to-see.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 26,977 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Well they don't want the government to fall.

If what the Village publishes tomorrow is damaging for Leo, the response of board's FG loyalists will continue to be:

frank-drebin-nothing-to-see.gif

Government doesn't need to fall, just needs Leo to do the decent thing and resign, really quite simple, from what I hear he's as equally despised within FG as he is in FF

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Fann Linn wrote: »

What is the option? Pull the plug and let the murder gang in.
    All across the Dail there is a determination that McDonald and her cronies will never get power unless they have a majority and they are a long way from that.

ooter wrote: »
    What's the story with Alan Kelly, where is the geezer?

Funny you should ask. Speak of the divil. He's now trying to overthrow a democratic decision of the Irish people :rolleyes:

EmEXQTQW0AAXi98?format=jpg&name=large

• Registered Users Posts: 16,743 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Government doesn't need to fall, just needs Leo to do the decent thing and resign, really quite simple, from what I hear he's as equally despised within FG as he is in FF

If there was a threat of the government falling, then FG would ditch Leo fairly quickly. Leo, as you say, would likely resign before that happens, though.

Funny you should ask. Speak of the divil. He's now trying to overthrow a democratic decision of the Irish people :rolleyes:

EmEXQTQW0AAXi98?format=jpg&name=large

The usual lefty "we know better" middle class pushing an agenda that has no support among working class. And they wonder why they are getting wiped out by S.F.

Alan Kelly is not a lefty.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I feel.many in FG are happy for this to play out and.collaspe the government

Which really beggers belief,they want to go to country,with corruption allegations hanging over their leader

and be absolutely toxic in relation to aquiring coalition parthners after election,given the way,they have been carrying on

They could change leader and unless anything else crops up about Leo I'd say FG wouldn't lose seats in another election

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Paddy Cosgrave said he met with MOT on Friday and that Bowes contacted Cosgrave in March of this year.

Cosgrave put him in touch with Whistleblowers Aid who in turn put him in Touch with Village in May.

He said there are other Whistleblowers that have come forward including one from St Mary's Nursing Home in the Phoenix Park.

I think there is an inquiry ongoing atm into St Mary's.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1325397027262488576?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Paddy Cosgrave said he met with MOT on Friday and that Bowes contacted Cosgrave in March of this year.

Cosgrave put him in touch with Whistleblowers Aid who in turn put him in Touch with Village in May.

He said there are other Whistleblowers that have come forward including one from St Mary's Nursing Home in the Phoenix Park.

I think there is an inquiry ongoing atm into St Mary's.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1325397027262488576?s=19

Sounds like we might be in for quite a sh1tstorm.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1325397032874500097?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

McMurphy wrote: »
    Sounds like we might be in for quite a sh1tstorm.

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1325397032874500097?s=19

Tom Lyons has an article in SBP.
    https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/tom-lyons-leo-has-leaky-defence-on-confidential-release-2bmknw55q

The gist of which from the headline is that
    Leo has leaky defence on confidential release. Varadkar is the loser with legal threat over article that exposed his actions

Lyons is no friend of Denis O Brien and successfully stood up to him when O Brien sued the SBP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Acosta

The green geansaì brigade will be spitting acid at the thought of Cosgrave being involved in this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

I wonder what PC and MOT were chatting was about. With the news that village magazine are planning more disclosures tomorrow this one is staying in the limelight. If it continues like this eventually the pressure will be for FF to stop supporting Leo. I think at this stage Leo looks in severe trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Mr.S wrote: »
    Haha, of course Cosgrave is involved!

Your man Bowes contacted him, and he told him where to go with it (whistleblower aid) but so far as I can make out that's about it.

Paddy Cosgrave is pretty much irrelevant to the veracity of the claims being made.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

This story is the obituary of not only Leo but the other two party leaders in government as well.

The times they are a changing.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭RickDeckard

This story is the obituary of not only Leo but the other two party leaders in government as well.

Please God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 WicklaWolf

Worth listening back to Pascal on This Week today.

Didn't answer the question what would happen another politician if they made the same error of judgment, instead said Leo's standing and past must be considered when responding to the leak. He wasn't really pushed on this which is unfortunate.

So is it special treatment for Leo or is a new precedent being set?

We need clarity on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

WicklaWolf wrote: »

Didn't answer the question what would happen another politician if they made the same error of judgment, instead said Leo's standing and past must be considered when responding to the leak. He wasn't really pushed on this which is unfortunate.

We need clarity on this.

Heard that one before;
    ... 'For Brutus is an honourable man..... '

• Registered Users Posts: 68,751 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

We need clarity on this.

Trying to push the idea too that coming into answer to the Dáil was 'a sanction' in itself.

:) It might feel like a 'sanction' to the arrogant FG boys to have to demean themselves to be accountable, but a 'sanction' it is not.

Wishful thinking if you think this will finish Martin and Ryan. Martin will do his term as Taoiseach and retire as leader. Ryan will last a few years and face a challenge from Catherine Martin who will then lead the Greens to a repeat of Custers Last Stand. If Leo survives this he could still face a challenge from Coveney before the handover from Martin especially if the polls go against him

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭costacorta

https://fb.watch/1DT5FkVyLu/. Michael Martin replies to shimmers

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭costacorta

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

costacorta wrote: »

I see a friend of mine commented on that one:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Does anyone else find it funny that Varadkar was speaking to police regarding smoothie girl but doesn't want to pursue the Village or Paddy Cosgrave for defamation? It's almost like the allocations of him being a law breaker are completely true.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

smurgen wrote: »
    Does anyone else find it funny that Varadkar was speaking to police regarding smoothie girl but doesn't want to pursue the Village or Paddy Cosgrave for defamation? It's almost like the allocations of him being a law breaker are completely true.

Almost? Yes, probably almost.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,651 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Very interesting article -

Michael Noonan says that leaks from the Cabinet are breach of the Official State Secrets Act.

Flanagan discussed leaks with senior gardai and there is not doubt they are a 'criminal offence' .

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/ministers-warned-cabinet-leaks-are-a-criminal-offence-36891174.html?__twitter_impression=true

A very interesting article indeed
    The leak was raised at a private meeting of Fine Gael TDs and senators tonight where the Taoiseach said he was “very disappointed” to face public questions on a discussion that took place at Cabinet. A source said Mr Varadkar described it as a “very serious matter”.

Former Finance Minister Michael Noonan went even further, saying leaks from Cabinet were a breach of the constitution and the Officials Secrets Act.

He also criticised the level leaking from the weekly Fine Gael meeting which takes place behind closed doors in Leinster House.

“He said people talking to journalists about private meetings were showing disloyalty to colleagues,” said one TD.

Mr Flanagan then told the attendance that he had recently discussed Cabinet leaks with a senior garda and there is no doubt that they are a “criminal offence”.

The hypocrisy is strong in this one, Leo sees cabinet leaks as "a very serious matter" yet during his answers to the Dail last Tuesday Varadkar admitted that he has previously leaked information from cabinet meetings.

Noonan says doing so is a breach of the Official Secrets act which means we now have Varadkar himself on the Dail record admitting he that broke the law. Village have no fear of any defamation action being launched because they were telling the truth, Leo is indeed a lawbreaker and has admitted as much.