Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    They investigated Gerry Adams for membership of the IRA, for protecting child abusers and for directing terrorism. Would you agree that there is a possibility of something untoward in that regard?

Ha :)
    Brilliant :)

Totally, yes.
    I think he was in the IRA. I'd say he had some sway yeah.

FYI: this is you deflecting and hiding behind shinners.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,482 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

So how are we getting along today?
    Any ground breaking revelations?
    Or is it still along the lines of Leo = Bad?

Not good Cee, lot of anger swilling around the bottom of the drip tray since Meehawl swung the hammer and in one fell swoop scuttled a months worth of bile release and hyperbole.

Even the new lads recruited in were taken by surprise when the orders came through from Connolly House.

The faux anger and pseudo concern could damage your device.

I’d stay clear till the anger dies down

• Registered Users Posts: 68,842 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They investigated Gerry Adams for membership of the IRA, for protecting child abusers and for directing terrorism. Would you agree that there is a possibility of something untoward in that regard?

Did you 'exonerate' Gerry when they didn't find anything as you pleaded to be done for Leo?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

So how are we getting along today?
    Any ground breaking revelations?
    Or is it still along the lines of Leo = Bad?

Mod: Try again tomorrow. 24 hours off.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Not good Cee, lot of anger swilling around the bottom of the drip tray since Meehawl swung the hammer and in one fell swoop scuttled a months worth of bile release and hyperbole.

Even the new lads recruited in were taken by surprise when the orders came through from Connolly House.

The faux anger and pseudo concern could damage your device.

I’d stay clear till the anger dies down

Mod
    Tone down your own faux outrage or you will be forced to stay clear of here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Caught in the act of trying to undermine the unionised gravy train.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

TBF, it might be the babysitter.

Or one of Miriam's many baby's.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Did you 'exonerate' Gerry when they didn't find anything as you pleaded to be done for Leo?

We all know he covered for and helped out his brother.
    "He ain't heavy he's my brother" comes to mind.
    There's a difference in lawful exoneration and political exoneration.
    Gerry is guilty as hell of misleading the voting public, like most of the rest of them Tbf, but apparently that's not illegal!

We all know he covered for and helped out his brother.
    "He ain't heavy he's my brother" comes to mind.
    There's a difference in lawful exoneration and political exoneration.
    Gerry is guilty as hell of misleading the voting public, like most of the rest of them Tbf, but apparently that's not illegal!

blanch asked would Varadkar be exonerated after the Garda investigation.

So why would Varadkar be treated any different?
    Adams didn't 'confess' to IRA membership or any of the other allegations remember...Varadkar has confessed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

I hope people aren't trying to make this a Shinner topic, as opposed to a Leo The Leak topic (as the title suggests). Is that the edict from Mount St, deflect to the Shinners

• Registered Users Posts: 7,649 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Cute Hoor wrote: »
    I hope people aren't trying to make this a Shinner topic, as opposed to a Leo The Leak topic (as the title suggests). Is that the edict from Mount St, deflect to the Shinners

Just standard operating procedure unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I hope people aren't trying to make this a Shinner topic, as opposed to a Leo The Leak topic (as the title suggests).
    It's a bit of both tbf, as the noise on this seems to be almost fully driven by Sinn Féin supporters online.

It's been clear since November, that there's very little to this. If there was a strong case to answer, Leo would have already been interviewed under caution and a file sent to the DPP.
    The fact that all we have at this stage is Varadkar offering to have a chat with the Gardai says that it's unlikely to go anywhere.

That's always been the M.O, nothing out of the ordinary there Cute, we even went through the looking glass the other day in here where the narrative changed from "the Shinners only oppose everything the government proposes" - "Sinn Fein supported FFG ref reopening things at Christmas, therefore, they're to blame!".

seamus wrote: »
    It's a bit of both tbf, as the noise on this seems to be almost fully driven by Sinn Féin supporters online.

It's been clear since November, that there's very little to this. If there was a strong case to answer, Leo would have already been interviewed under caution and a file sent to the DPP.
    The fact that all we have at this stage is Varadkar offering to have a chat with the Gardai says that it's unlikely to go anywhere.

Chas Bowes made the complaint and the Gardai are pursuing it. Neither have anything to do with SF to my knowledge.

Neither is the senior health official, who have turned whistleblower on Leo.

Seamus, all this is the backlash when MM cut the ground from under the Shinners on the White House visit.

They were all set to get the month out of it but were trumped.

As you alluded to they had to pull something out of the bag to occupy them for the month.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

McMurphy wrote: »
    Neither is the senior health official, who have turned whistleblower on Leo.
    Neither Chas Bowes, the Gardai, nor this HSE person are filling threads online going on and on about it, or creating hashtags and desperately trying to make them "trend" like that means something.

Seamus, all this is the backlash when MM cut the ground from under the Shinners on the White House visit.

They were all set to get the month out of it but were trumped.

As you alluded to they had to pull something out of the bag to occupy them for the month.

So they made the complaint to the Gardai LAST NOVEMBER? Smart cookies!

Brendi your attempts on several threads with this were funny to begin with. Now just sad tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

Neither Chas Bowes, the Gardai, nor this HSE person are filling threads online going on and on about it, or creating hashtags and desperately trying to make them "trend" like that means something.

The ones justifying his actions are the worst sort tbf #Hashtag

How do you make boards.ie threads 'trend'?

I see journalists covering this online...they Shinners too?

A former Taoiseach and Tanaiste being investigated by Gardai is major news and a discussion point, whether you are overly sensitive or not.

This forum is for "current affairs" the Leo Varadkar topic is a "current affair, currently being discussed on a current affairs forum, and indeed several prime time current affairs programs due to Varadkar passing confidential documents his pal Zero Craic, and Chay Bowes exposing it, the whistle blower coming forward, and according to several media reports a NCBI criminal investigation getting under way on the back of that.

It's a current affairs topic.

Sinn Fein as opposition party are highlighting it, as is their right, and proper role.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

I think the issue here is that anyone being openly critical of Leo is automatically dismissed as a Shinner. You're going to end up thinking there are more Shinners out there than there actually are if that's your thinking.

The reality is that most people capable of being objective on this will come to the conclusion that this was a serious breach by Leo that warrants investigation. People defending him at all costs are either incapable of thinking logically or just being dishonest.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,901 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The Gardai are considering whether a criminal offence may have been committed. There is no investigation or pursuit yet. That is the minimum they have to do in respect of any complaint.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

The Gardai are considering whether a criminal offence may have been committed. There is no investigation or pursuit yet. That is the minimum they have to do in respect of any complaint.

The fact that Harris ran to the cops to make a statement and another whistleblower came forward would suggest there is indeed an investigation as highlighted by the media at the weekend. You'll just have to come to terms that the Leak isn't going to just laugh this one off.

And?

That is why the story is in the news and under discussion.

Unless you think it is normal for the Gardai to be investigating a former Taoiseach and sitting Tanaiste's confession of wrongdoing, this is an unusual situation and fully warranted subject for discussion.

And?

That is why the story is in the news and under discussion.

Unless you think it is normal for the Gardai to be investigating a former Taoiseach and sitting Tanaiste's confession of wrongdoing, this is an unusual situation and fully warranted subject for discussion.

When is the result of the investigation into Bobby’s funeral being concluded.

Wasn’t Michelle O’Neill sitting deputy leader of NI interviewed?

Not so unusual maybe???

The Shinners should have all couriered themselves to the Storey funeral, and declared the event as a private and confidential funeral.

Would have taken the wind out of Brenner's sails. :)

When is the result of the investigation into Bobby’s funeral being concluded.

Wasn’t Michelle O’Neill sitting deputy leader of NI interviewed?

Not so unusual maybe???

And look at the attention that received Brendi. Do you get the point now?