Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

]

Yes,the leo the liar tag,I don't think you've missed it

How is a #LeoTheLiar a character assassination on OTuathail:confused: wouldn't it need to be #OTuathaillTheLiar or something to be targeting his character? I said people in this thread have been trying to character assassinate him - OTuathail, because he seems to be the man who let the cat out of the bag, and has landed Leo in the crap.
    The one on top was pre hair cut
    If I took a photo of you ,months without a haircut whilst frowning,you'd probably ask for deletion

I'm referring to the wrinkles and the aged appearance, I don't think the lack of a haircut is the issue myself, he's just a bit more weather-beaten, he's aged.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

blanch152 wrote: »
    The complainant in this case would be able to complain to GSOC that the gardai didn't take his complaint seriously or deal with it appropriately.

Wasn't Ian Bailey able to make a complaint? I would expect Bowes and Cosgrave to make a complaint about the handling to GSOC.

So nothing to do with Doherty or Murphy as per your initial post. Quite standard behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 254 ✭✭nialler1978

McMurphy wrote: »
    Not seen much of (if any at all) that myself, can you provide any examples?

Yes,the leo the liar tag,I don't think you've missed it

The one on top was pre hair cut
    If I took a photo of you ,months without a haircut whilst frowning,you'd probably ask for deletion

You'll have to admit, he is looking somewhat aged, jaded and plump in comparison to the other picture no matter what. The haircut thing is a moot point, that hairline is clinging on for dear life. It must be taking its toll, can't say I blame him if he's let himself go, any of us would if we were under criminal investigation, which is widening, for such a lengthy period.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

This thread has really reached the dregs at this stage. Commenting on Varadkar's wrinkles and waistline to try find something negative to say about him

Larbre34 wrote: »

(waffle)

This is now a farce.
    Absolutely right.

(waffle)

Poor auld Bowes is just along for the ride.

Farce.

(waffle)

Very childish, very tenuous, still a farce.

You need to get the thesaurus out lad, or if you have Word type 'farce' highlight it and press shift+f7. BINGO! You've got loads of new words to make whatever argument you are making even more convincing. Thank me later ;)

tobsey wrote: »
    This thread has really reached the dregs at this stage. Commenting on Varadkar's wrinkles and waistline to try find something negative to say about him

Amazingly enough he is not the first politician to have his appearance criticised. I think it's happened, once or..... maybe to almost every single one of them, it is mocked as showbusiness for ugly people for a reason. For some reason now Leo's appearance is totally off the cards? Is it because it is homophobic? Racist?

His appearance was commented upon primarily because he seems to be under a lot of pressure and it is showing, he is under criminal investigation, it must be taking its toll.

blanch152 wrote: »
    The complainant in this case would be able to complain to GSOC that the gardai didn't take his complaint seriously or deal with it appropriately.
    Would you like to provide a source for this? Because it directly contradicts both GSOC's own public guidance as well as the legislation it's based on.

Wasn't Ian Bailey able to make a complaint? I would expect Bowes and Cosgrave to make a complaint about the handling to GSOC.
    Ian Bailey was able to make a complaint because the Garda investigation he was complaining about was of him.

Please don't write authoritatively about topics you demonstrably know nothing about.

tobsey wrote: »

Couldn't give a dam about his waistline which is why you'll not see me mention it not anyone else's, however commenting on a politician looking aged due to possibly being under stress is completely acceptable and to be expected.

I don't think anyone batted an eyelid or raised an eyebrow when folk commented on Tony Holohan looking gaunt and exhausted after the first few waves of covid, Theresa Mays appearance after Brexit negotiations, Donald Tusk too (and for the same reasons)

The man has aged abnormally over the last year. Seems like like looking to be outraged about something/anything to be getting upset about people pointing that out.

McMurphy wrote: »
    How is a #LeoTheLiar a character assassination on OTuathail:confused: wouldn't it need to be #OTuathaillTheLiar or something to be targeting his character?
    yes its an example of the kind of online abuse politicians get,similar to MLM being called a fishwife by someone on here
    Quite disgracefull in my opinion
    The abuse that I've seen of o'Tuathail regarding him and Leo being more than friends another
    people in this thread have been trying to character assassinate him - OTuathail, because he seems to be the man who let the cat out of the bag, and has landed Leo in the crap.
    I'd disagree,I think theres nothing wrong with commenting on the process of MoT's texts ,his failings as a human being eg boasting or bigging up his influence
    Thats opinion and fair comment on the texts
    I'm disappointed in that aspect of his persona thats been drawn to light
    I don't dislike him
    I'm referring to the wrinkles and the aged appearance, I don't think the lack of a haircut is the issue myself, he's just a bit more weather-beaten, he's aged.

Yerrah,its easy enough have a bad photo I think he was looking very well on VM news the other day and said so
    I do not think this investgation is high on his list of concerns

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

Amazingly enough he is not the first politician to have his appearance criticised. I think it's happened, once or..... maybe to almost every single one of them, it is mocked as showbusiness for ugly people for a reason. For some reason now Leo's appearance is totally off the cards? Is it because it is homophobic? Racist?
    I never said it's off the cards. I'd disagree with criticising any politician's appearance though, regardless of their party. It smacks of desperation from some on here who've run out of points to make on this thread, yet they're determined to keep it going.
    His appearance was commented upon primarily because he seems to be under a lot of pressure and it is showing, he is under criminal investigation, it must be taking its toll.
    I doubt it is. Two selective photos, at two very different situations with very different expressions on his face doesn't really show anything. He's said from the start he believes he's committed no crime. Nothing has come out to indicate he should change his mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,973 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You need to get the thesaurus out lad, or if you have Word type 'farce' highlight it and press shift+f7. BINGO! You've got loads of new words to make whatever argument you are making even more convincing. Thank me later ;)

You went to so much trouble, looks like I'll be withholding the rent for your head again this month.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

If the likes of Paddy Cosgrave (tweeted yesterday about screwing Ireland over re hundreds of thousands of multinational jobs and corporate taxes, while he himself has his money in US tax havens) and Paul Murphy (who was involved in harassing Joan Burton previously), are being entertained by the Gardaí, I fear for the future of the Irish state. What a farce.

What’s this got to do with the title of the thread and Leo Varadkar being criminally investigated for leaking confidential documents?

It's called deflection. Normally used in FFG threads and comes with the response, 'but Bobby Storey funeral, but SF, but.....

Fann Linn wrote: »
    It's called deflection. Normally used in FFG threads and comes with the response, 'but Bobby Storey funeral, but SF, but.....

Is it? That’s poor form, doesn’t someone usually step in at this point and dish out a warning? Speaking from experience here when I have gone against the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

LOL, that this has nothing to do with Paddy Cosgrave, who it is reported introduced Bowes to the village and was interviewed by the team
    LOL, that the noise is coming from the media, they are reporting the facts of the investigation as told to them by their sources
    LOL at the notion the bulk of the noise isn't coming from the pirate flag set who think they're relevant, but like me and you, they aren't, they're niche's on the Internet, seen too much by you and me as we hang around in the same space
    Apologies in advance for my use of the Lol there, it's just, I hold a polar opposite opinion to you here and ain't offended by your opinions, disagreement is healthy

LOL all you want. It doesn't change the facts. Leo brought this upon himself. It is a criminal investigation and an ongoing one because they have discovered things upon the initial investigation that they deemed worthy of upgrading to a more serious one. It may have started as an investigation to Leo, but now it sounds like there may be a few others that they are also looking at.
    I am not saying that the pirates aren't making any noise, I am saying that it is largely irrelevant that they are, and that the main and relevant 'noise' is coming from the media, realistically the only noise worth listening to.
    Unless you think the pirate noise is disrupting or influencing any outcome of this investigation?
    Leo has done wrong. Leo has acknowledged that he has done wrong. Leo's wrongdoing has resulted in (so far) a criminal investigation into him and his wrongdoing, causing all of the noise that you are complaining about.

Are you trying to deflect from the fact that Paddy Cosgrave and Paul Murphy are behind this whole charade? Why do you not want this discussed when it DIRECTLY relates to how this investigation came about. Paddy was also interviewed by Gardai this week. You can’t pick and choose what parts of this investigation you want discussed.
    - Paddy Cosgrave, US tax haven specialist, Portuguese employer is behind this getting published in The Village magazine. He introduced Chay Bowes to the Village crowd and has been instrumental in keeping this whole charade going, all the while naming calling elected TD’s ‘Castle Catholic’s, slagging people who buy houses in areas of Dublin considered not upmarket enough for him, and generally spouting hyoiciracy and lies from his Twitter account daily - including that two nurses had died from covid in March 2020 which was incorrect.
    - Paul Murphy had been involved in a number of questionable protest activities during his time, including harassing elected officials and other such actions. He has a Communist ideology, and will do anything he can to ‘take down’ anyone who doesn’t share his view. Let’s not forget Jobstown.

Are you trying to deflect from the fact that Paddy Cosgrave and Paul Murphy are behind this whole charade? Why do you not want this discussed when it DIRECTLY relates to how this investigation came about. Paddy was also interviewed by Gardai this week. You can’t pick and choose what parts of this investigation you want discussed.
    - Paddy Cosgrave, US tax haven specialist, Portuguese employer is behind this getting published in The Village magazine. He introduced Chay Bowes to the Village crowd and has been instrumental in keeping this whole charade going, all the while naming calling elected TD’s ‘Castle Catholic’s, slagging people who buy houses in areas of Dublin considered not upmarket enough for him, and generally spouting hyoiciracy and lies from his Twitter account daily - including that two nurses had died from covid in March 2020 which was incorrect.
    - Paul Murphy had been involved in a number of questionable protest activities during his time, including harassing elected officials and other such actions. He has a Communist ideology, and will do anything he can to ‘take down’ anyone who doesn’t share his view. Let’s not forget Jobstown.

It's Varadkars fault. No one else's.

What’s this got to do with the title of the thread and Leo Varadkar being criminally investigated for leaking confidential documents to his friend/not friend?

Anyone here moderating going to step in and remind us of this?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Get your head out of the sand and face facts and the bigger picture. It's Leo own fault that he is in this mess, not Paddy Cosgrave or Paul Murphy. As each day goes by your precious Leo is slipping into deeper and deeper ****. Let that sink in but I bet you won't because in your eyes Leo can do no wrong.

What’s this got to do with the title of the thread and Leo Varadkar being criminally investigated for leaking confidential documents to his friend/not friend?

Anyone here moderating going to step in and remind us of this?

Are you trying to silence a poster highlighting who is responsible for this investigation? What gives you the right to decide who posts what in relation to this story in the Village magazine which is the thread title.
    Are you trying to mod this forum through posts despite not being a moderator? Paddy Cosgrave was interviewed by Gardai in relation to this investigation this week. It was printed in all mainstream media that it was also Cosgrave who introduced Chay Bowes to The Village magazine, to print the article in which the title of this thread is based.
    Does Chay Bowes regularly tweet ticking clocks emojis towards Varadkar and engage in online harassment / hate campaign / trolling using a variety of hashtags? The answers to all of the above is yes. As I already stated, you can’t pick and choose what part of this investigation you want to discuss or post about. The facts matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,912 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Are you trying to silence a poster highlighting who is responsible for this investigation? What gives you the right to decide who posts what in relation to this story in the Village magazine which is the thread title.
    Are you trying to mod this forum through posts despite not being a moderator? Paddy Cosgrave was interviewed by Gardai in relation to this investigation this week. It was printed in all mainstream media that it was also Cosgrave who introduced Chay Bowes to The Village magazine, to print the article in which the title of this thread is based.
    Does Chay Bowes regularly tweet ticking clocks emojis towards Varadkar and engage in online harassment / hate campaign / trolling using a variety of hashtags? The answers to all of the above is yes. As I already stated, you can’t pick and choose what part of this investigation you want to discuss or post about. The facts matter.
    What's this got to do with Paul Murphy?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,624 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

What Leo confessed to is responsible for the investigation. Had he not engaged in wrongdoing we wouldn't be here.

Who invited Paul Murphy to the party?

What's he got to do with Leo leaking confidential documents to his friend?

You’re talking mad stuff, incoherent ranting, Cosgraves tax affairs and Paul Murphy’s antics at a water protest? Again, what’s this got to do with anything, and I couldn’t give a rats arse about either of them. I’m not on Twitter, and thankful for it judging by how upset people get by it and how it influences their opinions, Few deep breaths maybe? And a hiatus from it? Wow. Very odd.

I’m talking about the fact that Paddy Cosgrave introduced Chay Bowes to The Village Magazine, and seems privy to information that they may or may not publish ahead of time. I’m talking about the fact Cosgrave was interviewed by Gardaí this week in relation to this investigation.
    Cosgraves tax affairs and Murphy’s water antics are relevant pieces of information as to the characters of the two individuals who are the prime instigators in this whole investigation, as well as Chay Bowes.

Bowes anti vradakar tweets and his endorsement of the pirate flag set on twitter reduce his credibility a lot,not that there is anything in my opinion credible about the allegations at all anyway to my eyes
    Other opinions may vary

Why does it?

Weird. Have seen many mentions of 'pirate flags' here and elsewhere lately

What's it all about... and why is it being used as a stick by those wanting to dismiss criticism of government?

I don't think so, dude. Criticism of the government is fine and healthy. It's just that the whole pirate flag thing is associated with every sort of malcontent, ne'er do well, and loser that you tend to find on Twitter. A lot of them seem to believe Wifi Paddy is some sort of Messiah.

Just the latest itineration of the Call For a Revolution in Ireland crew that were around circa 2010-2012. Shower of cranks, conspiracy theorists, and oddballs.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,670 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Would you like to provide a source for this? Because it directly contradicts both GSOC's own public guidance as well as the legislation it's based on.

Ian Bailey was able to make a complaint because the Garda investigation he was complaining about was of him.

Please don't write authoritatively about topics you demonstrably know nothing about.

There is no need for you to be the subject of the complaint.

https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/make-a-complaint/before-you-complain/

"Did the incident you are complaining about happen to you? If not, were you there in person and did you see it happen, or are you complaining on behalf of someone that this happened to, with their permission?"

So Cosgrave or Chad Bowes can complain to GSOC that their complaint wasn't properly investigated. Furthermore, they, and others can claim that in the public interest that an investigation into Varadkar's "escape" should happen. This would be under Section 104.

"The Ombudsman Commission may, if it appears to it desirable in the public interest to do so and without
    receiving a complaint, investigate any matter that appears to it to indicate that a member of the Garda
    Síochána may have—
    (a) committed an offence, or
    (b) behaved in a manner that would justify disciplinary proceedings."

You can disagree with my reading of the legislation if you want, but you can't claim that I know nothing about it.

I see the person you asked this question of hasn't responded to you yet. Wouldn't hold my breath tbh

What a pointless post. Some of us have lives and aren't here to answer any question 24/7. Furthermore, there is no requirement to respond to any point.