Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Paschal Donohoe being sent out to defend Varadkar today demonstrates how damaging this is for him. Things are ominous for Varadkar. The lack of public support for him today by some significant players in both Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael is notable. However the Green Party are the real weakness here for the Government. Labour, Social Democrats and smaller parties are going to put them under serious pressure. Varadkar could be gone as Tánaiste by the end of the week.

I would say Paschal is one of the most respected Ministers in the government, I struggle to get your point on that one?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I would say Paschal is one of the most respected Ministers in the government, I struggle to get your point on that one?

Doesn't seem that respected by the electorate in his constituency, he got in (on the ninth count) by the skin of his teeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

So he (possibly) gave a friend a contract document of a deal that was already done?

Yes, but it wasn't just any friend. It was the President of NAGP, the body that represented 40% of GPs at the time. The agreement was to cover all of those GPs also, so logically it makes sense that they were provided it.

4 hours ago you said this was just a smear despite Varadkar basically admitting to it yesterday. Now you're saying Paschal is one of the most respected Ministers in the government? Is losing credibility like a game you're playing here or are we actually supposed to take you seriously at this point?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,482 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Exactly, the fact he has been set out today to shore up support is significant. He is not sent out to do media on a whim. This is serious for Varadkar and FG handlers know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

boombang wrote: »
    Grand, but that doesn't take away from the issue that this is a big issue and does merit making the news. Those listening to the radio news might not be reading the website.

I have so little faith in RTE.
    They did spend a lot of money to tell us that "Trust Matters". But I would not trust RTE that they will be forthcoming in all aspects of this story.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    What Finance act does it come under ?

Simple question to answer by the way.

I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the Dept of Finance or the relevent Acts. My point was that security classification does exist in the CS/PS.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Doesn't seem that respected in the electorate in his constituency, he got in (on the ninth count) by the skin of his teeth.

Dublin Central would not be a FG stronghold. Pascal is the only FG TD to have been elected there this century. Between 2002-2011 there was no FG TD in Dublin Central.

Interestingly enough, in 2007 both Pascal and Mary Lou ran and neither were close to winning seats. Funny how things change over time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Basically Leo gave a finalised GP agreement to a body representing 40% of the countries GPs. People and government opposition are trying to make the next Watergate out of it, and are growing annoyed that there it isn't the number 1 news item on RTE. Some on the interwebs are even exclaiming that he should be raided by the guards.

In reality he will answer a few questions in the Dail next week and that will be that.

Don't mind me, just quoting this so it will be easier to find in a weeks time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Yes, but it wasn't just any friend. It was the President of NAGP, the body that represented 40% of GPs at the time. The agreement was to cover all of those GPs also, so logically it makes sense that they were provided it.

But they weren’t supposed to have it.
    But as the deal was already done before they got the document I fail to see how he can be done for criminal charges. Even making anything stick will be hard.
    Imagine trying to nail CJH or Bertie with something like this

Don't mind me, just quoting this so it will be easier to find in a weeks time.

Very good. Will you be back to quote it if my opinion is accurate too, or will only return to try and bait me (or whatever your goal is) if it turns out that my opinion is wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

But they weren’t supposed to have it.
    But as the deal was already done before they got the document I fail to see how he can be done for criminal charges. Even making anything stick will be hard.
    Imagine trying to nail CJH or Bertie with something like this

Different times for CJH and Bertie, you think the two former Argri ministers would have faced the sack in Charlie's or Berties time?

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

Different times for CJH and Bertie, you think the two former Argri ministers would have faced the sack in Charlie's or Berties time?

Exactly, completely different motivation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

I heard on RTE this morning he hasn’t the authority to get rid of him even if he wanted to. Party expulsion is the only option, which is unlikely apparently. They didn’t go into detail. Anyone know the nuts and bolts of this due to the ridiculous Taoiseach sharing role?

Without knowing specifics, at a bare minimum, any person in the PS/CS regardless of position is required to uphold particular values, codes of standards and behaviour.

This includes those in Section 10 (3) of the Standards in Public Office Act 2001.

Honesty and integrity, impartiality, respect for the law, respect for persons, dilligence, accountability, responsivness. Not to mention to..."Work within the law, including avoiding improper disclosure of information gained in the course of their work in accordance with the Official Secrets Act 1963...".

The rotation of the holder of an Taoiseach should not occur.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,728 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Phishnet wrote: »
    Why has the "Journal" closed all comments about this incident regarding Leo Varadkar?

Is the Journal a propaganda machine for FG?

Just find it all very unusual!

ANOTHER ARTICLE FROM THEJOURNAL PUSHING THE OFFICIAL NARRATIVE, WHEN ARE YOU FINALLY GOING TO INVESTIGATE HOW THE SOCIALIST CABAL INSTALLED 5G AND DESTROYED THE LEAGUE OF IRELAND?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

I meant trying to stick something to them.
    I’ll be very surprised if he goes

ANOTHER ARTICLE FROM THEJOURNAL PUSHING THE OFFICIAL NARRATIVE, WHEN ARE YOU FINALLY GOING TO INVESTIGATE HOW THE SOCIALIST CABAL INSTALLED 5G AND DESTROYED THE LEAGUE OF IRELAND?

Careful, the Lizard people in charge are listening. The Journal owns boards.ie :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭joemurt

Varadkar to ditch Ministers who leak to the media (months ago)

redfm - varadkar to ditch ministers who leak to the media/

''Once again I have to apologise for some of my leaky ministers, I'll try and make sure that I have less leaky ministers the next time if I have the opportunity to appoint ministers again''

Lets see if the owners of Fine Gael stand by a fraud.

I meant trying to stick something to them.
    I’ll be very surprised if he goes

I don't expect him to go either , but he's damaged goods . Personally I don't believe he will be Taoiseach when the role becomes available I'd say the next FG Taoiseach will also be a Corkman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

It goes beyond this single document though-from the language used it seems apparent that not only was this not the first time something like this happened, but that there was a system of improper collusion in place. The cops should be swarming through Varadkar's gaff but with FG's agent Drew Harris in place we probably won't see that happen.

I don't expect him to go either , but he's damaged goods . Personally I don't believe he will be Taoiseach when the role becomes available I'd say the next FG Taoiseach will also be a Corkman.

I think that would be no harm. I think he would a lot better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Without knowing specifics, at a bare minimum, any person in the PS/CS regardless of position is required to uphold particular values, codes of standards and behaviour.

This includes those in Section 10 (3) of the Standards in Public Office Act 2001.

Honesty and integrity, impartiality, respect for the law, respect for persons, dilligence, accountability, responsivness. Not to mention to..."Work within the law, including avoiding improper disclosure of information gained in the course of their work in accordance with the Official Secrets Act 1963...".

The rotation of the holder of an Taoiseach should not occur.

That's a rap. Take a bow for surmising it.

Barry Cowen defending Leo in the Indo. lol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I have no knowledge of the inner workings of the Dept of Finance or the relevent Acts. My point was that security classification does exist in the CS/PS.

I thought as much, thanks for clarifying.

I didn't really need you to clarify however, it is common enough when people are spoofing to put an attachment beside their caic tarbh, it makes it look more realistic? I thought attaching an internal memorandum from 2007 and declaring it as part of the Finance Act was laughable, you are a joke to me now.

Remember that please.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Barry Cowen defending Leo in the Indo. lol.

'Birds of a feather... '

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I thought as much, thanks for clarifying.

I didn't really need you to clarify however, it is common enough when people are spoofing to put an attachment beside their caic tarbh, it makes it look more realistic? I thought attaching an internal memorandum from 2007 and declaring it as part of the Finance Act was laughable, you are a joke to me now.

Remember that please.

The poster provided evidence that there is security classification in the Civil service something which was denied by another poster. You're right about a joke , just wrong about whom it applies too.

This is the twitter account of the NAGP director who enjoys casinos and nightclubs and thought the best place for their HQ was a garage in Kilkenny at a rate of 7,000 p/m.

https://twitter.com/chrisgoodey43?lang=en - CEO NAGP is his handle.

May 22 2019

''We are hopeful that a deal with one of the largest Trade Unions in Ireland could be completed within weeks - ensuring a strong voice for GPs will continue into the future''

Hopeful of a deal in May apparently..........

josip wrote: »
    Regardless of what happens to Varadkar, I can only see one answer to the "Why is this being reported now?" question.

It's payback time for criticising NPHET's leaking of the original Level 5 recommendation to the media.

Fair play to Tony, he's managed to outspin and outmaneuver Varadkar who has considerable experience of and resources for the dark arts.
    And all the while guiding the country safely through the Covid crisis.

Just on Holohan, he did a great job with guiding the Nursing homes back in March and April. Don't restrict visitors I believe was his recommendation.

joemurt wrote: »
    This is the twitter account of the NAGP director who enjoys casinos and nightclubs and thought the best place for their HQ was a garage in Kilkenny at a rate of 7,000 p/m.

https://twitter.com/chrisgoodey43?lang=en - CEO NAGP is his handle.

May 22 2019

''We are hopeful that a deal with one of the largest Trade Unions in Ireland could be completed within weeks - ensuring a strong voice for GPs will continue into the future''

Hopeful of a deal in May apparently..........

He is referring to a completely different deal there, not the one this thread is about.

Really. What deal was that?