Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 55,511 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Not sure if you intended it or not, but Coveney has battled a pretty significant stutter all his life. Don't think it's fair to mock him over it, regardless of your opinions of the man or what he was saying.

I didn’t know that.

I think he is a great speaker..

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Marty1983

Definitely have a feeling another bomb is going to land at Leo's feet by this time tomorrow, you can see why Pascal and Simon are leaping to his defense, he who yields the first knife in the back rarely wins.

joemurt wrote: »
    I think the fact the party heavy weights are out in force today, badly attempting to defend the indefensible (none of them want to defend this really), is a significant indicator they know this is about to bring down the government.

A couple of Fine Gael reps earlier in the day even had the audacity to warn both FF and the greens that they would suffer more damages in a GE out of this than Fine Gael.

Threats from Fine Gael similar to when they negotiating a program for gov and Varadkar gave his ''ministers are bad for leaking'' performance.

Its some bubble the FG parlimentry party are living in,wanting to collaspe government and go to the country,with corruption allegations hanging over their leader.....this isnt 2007 and bertie ahearn

• Registered Users Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭jackboy

walshb wrote: »

He is but it was clear tonight he didn’t believe what he was saying. He was just talking nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,704 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Of all of the FGers pushed put today Coveney seems to be getting the worst roasting online.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,511 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Leo made a poor poor call, but FFS, there was no malice or personal gain.

Have to laugh at these politicians and their quest for integrity and standards n all that...

The whole game is about stabbing each other in the back. Fight for, arguing, belittling, hampering, obfuscating and hatchet jobbing each other.

Bit like society as a whole..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I think the fact the party heavy weights are out in force today, badly attempting to defend the indefensible (none of them want to defend this really), is a significant indicator they know this is about to bring down the government.

A couple of Fine Gael reps earlier in the day even had the audacity to warn both FF and the greens that they would suffer more damages in a GE out of this than Fine Gael.

Threats from Fine Gael similar to when they negotiating a program for gov and Varadkar gave his ''ministers are bad for leaking'' performance.

Are the lads and lasses in FG actually brain-dead? Whoever collapses this government in the middle of a pandemic is going to get their ass handed to them by the electorate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

walshb wrote: »
    I didn’t know that.

Yes I agree. I understand he deliberately avoids certain words in speeches that he can get 'stuck' on.

Wouldnt be surprised if they were sleeping together, why can that elephant in the room not be approached??. If it was a young girl we'd all be saying the older man is giving her presents to impress..power can be a funny aphrodisiac . Has yer man o toole got a partner of the female variety? Google doesnt seem to think so..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,892 ✭✭✭✭josip

123 pages of mostly the same posters repeating that Varadkar is finished, over and over.
    It's starting to sound a little desperate lads, as if ye feel if ye slacken off the intensity any bit at all, he'll wriggle free?

I asked the resident Fáiler in work today what he thought about it and he said he was bored of it now. He said he thinks it's overblown.

rusty cole wrote: »
    If nobody can come up with motivation could it be good old fashioned ego???.. trying to look powerful to impress a younger man??? Were they sleeping together?? Very chummy pictures..the doc seems very close as to be a link in the chain.
    Wouldnt be surprised if they were sleeping together, why can that elephant in the room not be approached??. If it was a young girl we'd all be saying the older man is giving her presents to impress..power can be a funny aphrodisiac . Has yer man o toole got a partner of the female variety? Google doesnt seem to think so..

Jesus lad, you're not doing yourself any favours with these trail of posts.

I saw a photo of O'Toole taking part in a Pride parade. I'm guessing he's gay although I could be wrong.

josip wrote: »
    123 pages of mostly the same posters repeating that Varadkar is finished, over and over.
    It's starting to sound a little desperate lads, as if ye feel if ye slacken off the intensity any bit at all, he'll wriggle free?

I asked the resident Fáiler in work today what he thought about it and he said he was bored of it now. He said he thinks it's overblown.

Tried catching up on the posts a bit this evening when I finished worked. It certainly was an echo chamber in here for most of the day.

Jesus lad, you're not doing yourself any favours with these trail of posts.

how so?? what's the motivation then? if not gain of the financial?
    it's only two questions hardly a trail now calm down..its outside the realms of possibility that
    the great Leo was simtten by the young lads star on the rise and was maybe so stupid as to
    do this in order to impress? and the the good doctor was stupid enough to stick it all on watsap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭joemurt

Not sure if you intended it or not, but Coveney has battled a pretty significant stutter all his life. Don't think it's fair to mock him over it, regardless of your opinions of the man or what he was saying.

Didn't know that. He has managed it well. Never picked it up myself.

You being from Cork would you know him or the family?

Coveney would be one of the very few Fine Gael reps that comes across as a very capable operator. Genuine and intelligent. A deal maker.

Seems to be the actually shot caller/decision maker in Fine Gael over the past 10 years standing in the shadows whilst Varadkar has been performing for the cameras.

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Sorolla

The question has to be asked if it is the right of the media to report on issues that are of no importance.

The country is in the midst of a global pandemic.

Everyone should be wearing the green jersey.

These reports may very well destabilize a very successful government with one of the best Tainiste ever seen in this state.

Leo has potential to one day be commission President of the EU

Why are we a nation of begrudgers??

The big story should be the success of the lockdown and the millions of Irish lives that are daily being saved due to the bravery and courage of the greatest government this country has ever seen

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Where did the rape of Lucretia ever go?

Sorolla wrote: »
    The question has to be asked if it is the right of the media to report on issues that are of no importance.

These reports may very well destabilize a very successful government with one of the best Tainiste ever seen in this state.

The big story should be the success of the lockdown and the millions of Irish lives that are daily being saved due to the bravery and courage of the greatest government this country has ever seen

good evening Maitiú...good weekend yea?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I pity the fish you catch:)

Didn't know that. He has managed it well. Never picked it up myself.

You being from Cork would you know him or the family?

Coveney would be one of the very few Fine Gael reps that comes across as a very capable operator. Genuine and intelligent. A deal maker.

Seems to be the actually shot caller/decision maker in Fine Gael over the past 10 years standing in the shadows whilst Varadkar has been performing for the cameras.

Haha, no. Cork is a pretty big place.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

So FG want to control the media now Herr Goebbels?

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing

Re your successful government....this is a statement from the INMO this time last year when they were literally begging (again) for help in the hospitals.
    2019 has seen the highest number of patients on trolleys in any year since records began – despite it still being November.

As of today, 108,364 people have gone without beds in 2019 so far – breaking 2018’s record high of 108,227, with a full month left to go in the year.

The figures count patients who are admitted to hospitals but do not have a bed. They are typically on trolleys in corridors or on chairs.

The INMO is calling for extra staffing and an increase in hospital, homecare, and community capacity to deal with the problem.

Winter has only just begun and the record is already broken. These statistics are the hallmark of a wildly bureaucratic health service, which is failing staff and patients alike.

We take no pleasure in having to record these figures for a decade and a half. We know the problem, but we also know the solutions: extra beds in hospitals, safe staffing levels, and more step-down and community care outside of the hospital.

“No other developed country faces anything close to this trolley problem. It can be solved, but a strong political agenda to drive change is needed.

https://inmo.ie/Home/Index/217/13549

That was November 2019. So give up your oul sins and stop playing the ostrich. Successive FF and FG governments have failed this country and its health system. This winter we will suffer even more for their mismanagement.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Simon's biggest clanger of the evening was when he tried to interrupt/correct CB when she said MOT and Leo were friends.

"Leo knows him" said Simon, in a "they're hardly friends now Clare" kind of way.

20201102-223314.jpg

20201102-223547.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,458 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Millions of Irish lives daily. Even trump wouldn't claim that in a country of less than 5 million people. Even worst case scenario wouldn't see anywhere close to a million dead never mind millions daily.

good evening Maitiú...good weekend yea?

Reads more like Sarah Carey, Ciara Kelly or SaraJane Murphy on twitter tbf.

The total disregard for accountability by some in Ireland, from a position of good fortune of never really being impacted by these critical decisions and deals such as the GP contracts, is more than a little nauseating in 2020.

They all thinks its nothing more than a drama, a game, an episode of the west wing or house of cards or sh+t like that.

Its disgusting to come across sometimes, particularly when the precious/next tweet is a story about a dead homeless person or worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

McMurphy wrote: »
    Simon's biggest clanger of the evening was when he tried to interrupt/correct CB when she said MOT and Leo were friends.

"Leo knows him" said Simon, in a "they're hardly friends now Clare" kind of way.

20201102-223314.jpg

20201102-223547.jpg

I'm not sure if this was deliberate but Simon called him Mat O Toole and not Maitiu O Tuaithail.

He might have tried to disrespect him and therefore Leo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

20201102-223314.jpg

20201102-223547.jpg

It says a lot about Leo that he thinks it's appropriate as taoiseach to be out and about yoked off his tits...

Apparently there is a HSBC bank Exec cut out of the right side of that picture in the bar.

Wonder why that is?

Apparently there is a HSBC bank Exec cut out of the right side of that picture in the bar.

Wonder why that is?

Maybe he is that owner of Fine Gael that you refuse to tell us about? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

The usual lads are as quiet as Leo's twitter over past few days

His days are numbered, A great day for Ireland

Possible motive for Leo leaking the document to his buddy.https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40075016.html