Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The Benny Hill era jokers are out now. Only they aren't laughing.

Neither are we.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭ooter

Was it not her spat with Callinan?

Didn't she knock on his front door?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,716 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

ooter wrote: »
    Didn't she knock on his front door?

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Was it not her spat with Callinan?

Yes thats it. She blamed O Brien for the sacking. She seemed to be right on Callinan though

I used to read her from time to time in the Indo years ago. Then I noticed about 2-3 years ago she started making headlines on Twitter and a lot of Journalists started to disown her.

I couldn't understand it at first but I do now .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Here we go again.

Nice.

You are reading absolutely everything that can be taken the wrong way as a homophobic slur. When the exact same phrases are used, and they are, against people who aren't gay, you wouldn't bat an eyelid.

You seem hypersensitive to homosexual innuendo.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

thomas 123 wrote: »
    He’s saying it as others have labeled both Pearse O’D and Mattie McGrath as homophobic earlier in the thread without reason.

Not sure about pearse Doherty, but Mattie McGrath was walking a thin line at best. He basically said that he had a picture on his phone of the two of them at a "certain parade" and to clarify the nature of the relationship. Now you could say that was an innocent question, but considering the innuendo and accusations that Leo was somehow in a relationship with this guy (which is a mild way of putting some of the comments that have been made) then you can see how Leo was miffed at that line of questioning. Don't know if it's strictly "homophobic" but it's a sinister and unnecessary without any shred of evidence they were in a relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    O'Callaghan is about as subtle as a brick in what he is at all the time.

Clearly pitching himself for a leadership battle against Martin and has been for a while.

Yep O'Callaghan is the old style "whats in it for me" Haughey/ Aherne Fianna Fail. Still raging that he didn't get a "big job". Public servant my arse

Not sure about pearse Doherty, but Mattie McGrath was walking a thin line at best. He basically said that he had a picture on his phone of the two of them at a "certain parade" and to clarify the nature of the relationship. Now you could say that was an innocent question, but considering the innuendo and accusations that Leo was somehow in a relationship with this guy (which is a mild way of putting some of the comments that have been made) then you can see how Leo was miffed at that line of questioning. Don't know if it's strictly "homophobic" but it's a sinister and unnecessary without any shred of evidence they were in a relationship.

I don't agree McGrath was alluding to his sexuality, but if a man was closely questioned about his relationship with a woman, it was suspected he was doing political favours for, would an eye be batted if he was asked if the relationship was intimate?

The hang ups here are owned by the people who won't even allow mention of his sexuality without shouting homophobe.
    He's gay, others are hetrosexual, so what?

Truthvader wrote: »
    Yep O'Callaghan is the old style "whats in it for me" Haughey/ Aherne Fianna Fail. Still raging that he didn't get a "big job". Public servant my arse

O'Callaghan is positioning himself to be next leader of FF. Simple as. He has taken the polar opposite position to Martin a number of times now, because FF is a divided party.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Connolly should stick to being a pretty good TD - she ain't cut out for LCC deputy chair to be honest.

Agree with this. An excellent TD and a superb/intelligent speaker.

We have some shockers in Galway West but at least we have Connolly.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Youre talking about mattie mcgrath ffs, he's an ape..he looked like a twat asking where holoahan was the last six months only to recall he was attending to his sick wife.doherty is out on his own and was a cut above today, he rocked the feck out of leo in the opening rounds as a heavyweight and then luckily the featherweights were in the wings which gave leo room for composure. Another 5 mins and he would have prompted leo off script and into an ad hoc panic response. Shame really.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

O'Callaghan is positioning himself to be next leader of FF. Simple as. He has taken the polar opposite position to Martin a number of times now, because FF is a divided party.

He will be the next FF leader. I just hope he is a leading a team of less than 5.
    An arrogant old schooler FF man who takes care of No. 1

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Whoever in FG HQ thought Peter Burke was a formidable opponent to debate Pearse Doherty on VMTV must be soft in the head.

Doherty wiping the floor with him, you would actually almost feel sorry for some of these lickspittle fg lackeys, they know Leo did wrong but get sent out to bat for him regardless.

Edit. He's literally about to cry on TV now, while Doherty is laughing at him. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Doherty looking very good on the 9pm news. Leo well shook.

Mattie LOL, the less said the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

McMurphy wrote: »
    Whoever in FG HQ thought Peter Burke was a formidable opponent to debate Pearse Doherty on VMTV must be soft in the head.

Doherty wiping the floor with him, you would actually almost feel sorry for some of these lickspittle fg lackeys, they know Leo did wrong but get sent out to bat for him regardless.

Edit. He's literally about to cry on TV now, while Doherty is laughing at him. :D

Sorry Pearse looks lost now.

That's true. Not too sure Jim is the natural successor he thinks he is though. He's in danger of coming across as a sort of O'Cuiv figure if he isn't careful. Barry Cowen played a blinder for the career of Barry Cowen over the weekend.

Oh dear Pearse.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

What’s happened?

McMurphy wrote: »

Gas craic. Your man Peter is the worst kinda of guttersnipe...just shouting across people. Same carry on all of FG did during the campaign - disrupt and abuse.

Jim Root wrote: »
    What’s happened?

Nobody can get a word in. FG guy losing it.

That's true. Not too sure Jim is the natural successor he thinks he is though. He's in danger of coming across as a sort of O'Cuiv figure if he isn't careful. Barry Cowen played a blinder for the career of Barry Cowen over the weekend.

Agree. Dont like Cowan but has a bit of bottle.

O'Callaghan is a whinging school sneak while O'Cuiv is a zombie from a time before electricity came to Ireland. If either end up leading FF , they're finished

Peter Burke - 'Making Varadkar Great Again' should be his slogan.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

rusty cole wrote: »
    Youre talking about mattie mcgrath ffs, he's an ape..he looked like a twat asking where holoahan was the last six months only to recall he was attending to his sick wife.doherty is out on his own and was a cut above today, he rocked the feck out of leo in the opening rounds as a heavyweight and then luckily the featherweights were in the wings which gave leo room for composure. Another 5 mins and he would have prompted leo off script and into an ad hoc panic response. Shame really.

It's a shame that he had to be first up. Poor Leo would have had a breakdown if he thought Doherty was last and was sitting there waiting for him.

I still reckon that Leo is dead in the water and will be gone by Friday. Will remain in Government rotting away in the background but will be gone as Tánaiste and member of the cabinet.

Gas craic. Your man Peter is the worst kinda of guttersnipe...just shouting across people. Same carry on all of FG did during the campaign - disrupt and abuse.

Shouting??? Loud mouth spoofer Doherty has cornered the market in that. Still obviously sulking after Leo called him out as the thug he is a few years ago when his balaclava slipped

• Registered Users Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭CorkRed93

what did cowen do?

Nobody can get a word in. FG guy losing it.

Pearse pointing his finger and shouting.

Come on Francie, it's aggression and not a way to argue a point.

He was caught out many times and his smirk gave it away.

He's usually better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

It's a shame that he had to be first up. Poor Leo would have had a breakdown if he thought Doherty was last and was sitting there waiting for him.

I still reckon that Leo is dead in the water and will be gone by Friday. Will remain in Government rotting away in the background but will be gone as Tánaiste and member of the cabinet.

Will return to this very silly prediction on Friday.

Truthvader wrote: »
    Shouting??? Loud mouth spoofer Doherty has cornered the market in that. Still obviously sulking after Leo called him out as the thug he is a few years ago when his balaclava slipped

Burke never shut up there. Nobody got a full sentence out with his ranting.

Peter Burke - 'Making Varadkar Great Again' should be his slogan.

Pearse lost his temper. It's grand the odd time, but if he's going off on one all the time then he starts to come across as a Willie O'Dea sort. Peadar Tóibín would have done a far better job there this evening if he was still a member of SF.