Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users Posts: 68,716 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

THE_SHEEP wrote: »

Secondly , the only reason " Leo the Lion " , remains in his position , is that the other shower of buffoon's , can't afford a general election as they'll be wiped out !!

You got it in one. Well worth saying too. Suddenly realised why today's grilling felt so unprecedented, if this happened at any other time he'd have been gone as soon as it was revealed or shortly after.
    The wagons were circled - power is all consuming. Nobody else is getting it but the power swap.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I don't agree McGrath was alluding to his sexuality, but if a man was closely questioned about his relationship with a woman, it was suspected he was doing political favours for, would an eye be batted if he was asked if the relationship was intimate?

The hang ups here are owned by the people who won't even allow mention of his sexuality without shouting homophobe.
    He's gay, others are hetrosexual, so what?

I agree on your first point, think Mattie could have phrased it better but he has a habit of putting his foot in it (like the Tony holohan comment he made) and varadkar was right to nip it in the bud. Disagree on the second point - for example if Simon Harris passed the document to a female, it would be unusual and unfair if people started jumped to a conclusion that he was doing it for some sexual benefit.

Some of the stuff that's been said on facebook and even on this thread basically insinuates that Leo leaked the document because he was riding your man - it's a weird angle to introduce based on nothing at all and should be put to one side as it takes away from the central issue

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Eh....

Because they aren't in opposition.

That's what I mean They will bring this Gov down. When this gets worse during the week they will have to for their own survival.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Genuine question - what do you think will prompt this? As it currently stands the Taoiseach is backing him, the greens are satisfied, he has given his side of the story and been questioned directly by the opposition for over an hour without any real knockout blow. It would need a huge turn around to see him step down at this stage without further revelations coming out

To deconstruct and summarise Varadkar's account in the Dáil today:

Having weighed up all the different factors of the negotiations with GPs and the two representative groups, he concluded that the optimum strategy for the public good was to secretly furnish the NAGP with a confidential provisional agreement. However, he didn't actually do anything to realise this plan until an acquaintance of his from the NAGP just so happened to have had the exact same idea-completely independently- and asked Varadkar to do it.

I agree on your first point, think Mattie could have phrased it better but he has a habit of putting his foot in it (like the Tony holohan comment he made) and varadkar was right to nip it in the bud. Disagree on the second point - for example if Simon Harris passed the document to a female, it would be unusual and unfair if people started jumped to a conclusion that he was doing it for some sexual benefit.

Some of the stuff that's been said on facebook and even on this thread basically insinuates that Leo leaked the document because he was riding your man - it's a weird angle to introduce based on nothing at all and should be put to one side as it takes away from the central issue

I didn't say it was a 'conclusion' I was saying it is a legitimate thing to ask a question about, 'how close was the relationship'? without being accused of being homophobic. The phobia belongs to people who think same sex relationships are not to be mentioned or asked about.
    Same sex relationships are normal. Doing favours for people because you are in a relationship...been happening since time began.

And NO, I am not suggesting for a minute that happened here.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Some of the stuff that's been said on facebook and even on this thread

That's your issue right there. Anger and outrage.

It's the most pressing outcome of all this issue - why are so very many men so angry about life?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Eh....

Because they aren't in opposition.

They aren't in opposition to anything it seems...

Just like the last time. ..

Along for the ride once the parents agree to stop off at Mother Earth's policy sweet shop on the way home...

An Ri rua wrote: »
    They aren't in opposition to anything it seems...

Just like the last time. ..

Along for the ride once the parents agree to stop off at Mother Earth's policy sweet shop on the way home...

The comfy seats - hard to stay awake in them to notice anything untoward, even your members leaving n droves apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

sabat wrote: »
    To deconstruct and summarise Varadkar's account in the Dáil today:

Having weighed up all the different factors of the negotiations with GPs and the two representative groups, he concluded that the optimum strategy for the public good was to secretly furnish the NAGP with a confidential provisional agreement. However, he didn't actually do anything to realise this plan until an acquaintance of his from the NAGP just so happened to have had the exact same idea-completely independently- and asked Varadkar to do it.

Hard to disagree with any of that, but I think for a realistic chance of him having to step down there would need to be some pressure from FF, Greens or within his own party and it just doesn't seem to be there

• Registered Users Posts: 27,689 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I don't agree McGrath was alluding to his sexuality, but if a man was closely questioned about his relationship with a woman, it was suspected he was doing political favours for, would an eye be batted if he was asked if the relationship was intimate?

The hang ups here are owned by the people who won't even allow mention of his sexuality without shouting homophobe.
    He's gay, others are hetrosexual, so what?

Oh the Monaghan valley of the squinting windows is at it again.

What does it matter who a politician is shagging?

Hiding homophobia underneath a misogynistic hood is the ultimate excuse. It is a sign of your low standards that you would ask a heterosexual politician if he was shagging somebody.

Questions like yours are off limits because everyone deserves privacy. So long as it isn’t illegal, what’s the problem?

Excusing homophobia by saying you would ask the same irrelevant questions of a heterosexual is just cowardice,

That's what I mean They will bring this Giv down. When this gets worse during the week they will have to for their own survival.

They shouldn’t be that stupid, there will never be another government as open to Green ideas.

blanch152 wrote: »

Hiding homophobia underneath a misogynistic hood is the ultimate excuse. It is a sign of your low standards that you would ask a heterosexual politician if he was shagging somebody.

Questions like yours are off limits because everyone deserves privacy. So long as it isn’t illegal, what’s the problem?

Excusing homophobia by saying you would ask the same irrelevant questions of a heterosexual is just cowardice,

What's irrelevant about it? If he is giving confidential information to somebody because he is in a relationship, then that is relevant.

You are displaying your belief here, hinted at again and again that same sex relationships are abnormal in some way.

It's 2020 blanch, not the 50's.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Genuine question - what do you think will prompt this? As it currently stands the Taoiseach is backing him, the greens are satisfied, he has given his side of the story and been questioned directly by the opposition for over an hour without any real knockout blow. It would need a huge turn around to see him step down at this stage without further revelations coming out

I think MM is being cute. He 'backed' him but I thought it was in a very non-committal way. His own backbenchers will be on to him now for backing him whilst dropping his own fellas. Because of pressure from backbenchers and the fear of losing Government Leo will be politely asked to relinquish his position as Tánaiste and Minister and to sit up the back and keep his head down. He'll agree to this "on reflection and in the interest of Government and respect for the Irish people/electorate"

FG won't have a problem either. I thought from Simon Harris demeanour today that he was absolutely fuming at being dragged into this.

Wouldn't surprise me in the least if this is a done deal already. Varadkars position as Minister For Enterprise, Trade & Employment is completely untenable now IMO.

I think MM is being cute. He 'backed' him but I thought it was in a very non-committal way. His own backbenchers will be on to him now for backing him whilst dropping his own fellas. Because of pressure from backbenchers and the fear of losing Government Leo will be politely asked to relinquish his position as Tánaiste and Minister and to sit up the back and keep his head down. He'll agree to this "on reflection and in the interest of Government and respect for the Irish people/electorate"

FG won't have a problem either. I thought from Simon Harris demeanour today that he was absolutely fuming at being dragged into this.

Wouldn't surprise me in the least if this is a done deal already. Varadkars position as Minister For Enterprise, Trade & Employment is completely untenable now IMO.

No doubt Harris's unprompted and not planned interjection at the end was to protect himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭kerry_man15

For supposedly not being good friends there are several photos going around like this one where they are cuddling up to each other....Leo is a bare faced liar as well as completely untrustworthy

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

That's your issue right there. Anger and outrage.

It's the most pressing outcome of all this issue - why are so very many men so angry about life?

I dunno Johnny, why do you camp out on a message board slagging everybody off with a bulging vein in your forehead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Holy Mary

For supposedly not being good friends there are several photos going around like this one where they are cuddling up to each other....Leo is a bare faced liar as well as completely untrustworthy

Tut tut. Sour grapes much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

MOT holds the key to all this.

He knows all the info.

Leo could regret throwing him under the bus.

I’m fairly confident they discussed all this over the weekend. Leo will look after Matt once this has all calmed down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Holy Mary

I’m fairly confident they discussed all this over the weekend. Leo will look after Matt once this has all calmed down.

Aye. You can't put an old head on young shoulders.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

blanch152 wrote: »

Your take is more homophobic if anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭kerry_man15

None whatsoever, just stating something really obvious, not sure how you can get "sour grapes' from that?
    So are you suggesting they don't look cosy and friendly in the pictures? MoT was even in LV's group of 6 to socialise with during lockdown, how do you explain the 'not really friends' then? It's BS

What's irrelevant about it? If he is giving confidential information to somebody because he is in a relationship, then that is relevant.

You are displaying your belief here, hinted at again and again that same sex relationships are abnormal in some way.

It's 2020 blanch, not the 50's.

Whats homophobic is Blanch et al treating homosexual relationships differently to heterosexual relationships.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I hope amongst all this non-story as FGers have being telling us that nobody missed Richard Bruton showing the nation on how to bake scones?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/baking-bad-richard-bruton-goes-viral-again-with-wholesome-scone-tutorial-39701407.html

Imagine thinking you could distract from Leaky Leo by posting a video about making scones. Fine Gael have been entirely lacking with the senior hurling we keep getting promised, instead all we get is Leo on the ropes and Tricky Dicky in his kitchen licking his sticky fingers.

Meanwhile the Paddy Power odds are in- Will Varadkar be Tanaiste on 1st December 2020?

Yes 1/3
    No 2/1

https://www.paddypower.com/politics?tab=ireland

You do realise how odds work?

That's a ringing endorsement for Varadkar. Shows how this issue is a nothing burger.

2015/16 Season Odds to win Premier League

Leicester 5000/1

How did that work out for the bookies??

• Registered Users Posts: 19,219 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I wouldn't be surprised to hear the phrase "distracting from the important work this government is..."

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Really? Like Brexit?

Money is not votes. Betting sentiment is not votes. No matter how hard the thugs in each party try. The bookies cover €$£ positions, not a voting rump .....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

2015/16 Season Odds to win Premier League

Leicester 5000/1

How did that work out for the bookies??

The dude quoted the odds as if it was bad news.

Bookies rarely get it wrong. I'd say there's lots of cranks (SF heads) lumping on money on the Leo not to be tánaiste. A total waste of their money. I doubt they mind. Same demographic that buys the sun, does the lotto every week, smokes 20 a day and buys their dinner from the frozen food isle - so unlikely to be too financially savvy, to be fair.

It's why Pearse Doherty's angry shouty politics goes down so well with that demographic.

The dude quoted the odds as if it was bad news.

Bookies rarely get it wrong. I'd say there's lots of cranks (SF heads) lumping on money on the Leo not to be tánaiste. A total waste of their money. I doubt they mind. Same demographic that buys the sun, does the lotto every week, smokes 20 a day and buys their dinner from the frozen food isle - so unlikely to be too financially savvy, to be fair.

It's why Pearse Doherty's angry shouty politics goes down so well with that demographic.

2/1 are not great odds to make it only 4 weeks. We'll have to see if The Village really have a second chapter today.

Whats homophobic is Blanch et al treating homosexual relationships differently to heterosexual relationships.

Not a bit of it, doesn't bother me who a politician is shagging, so long as it is legal.

It has been a recurrent theme on this thread, I was being nice in calling it valley of the squinting windows, it is actually more of an unhealthy prurient interest being displayed by some posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The opposition do not want Leo to go and they definitely don't want a general election now. They are getting way too much mileage out of this coalition of chaos. FFGG only been in government 5 months! But the opposition are happy to see the FG poster boy tarnished.

FF and FG are fast merging in people's minds now - they are showing that they are 2 sides of the same coin. The FF TDs were ok to let Martin defend Leo as long as Leo promised to stop undermining them and leaking. Time will tell.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?