Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What would you most like to see banned ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Well, lead by example then.

If you can't get Socialism banned at least man up and don't participate.

Forego your state pension when the time comes.
    Boycott public parks, libraries, beaches, etc.
    Pull your kids out of state funded schools and get them private tutors.
    If your house goes on fire put it out yourself or have your own privately funded fire crew on standby.
    Likewise if you are a crime victim.
    Give back all the children's allowance you've ever received.
    If you or a family member has a medical card then get rid and go private.

I'm sure there are other perks you ought to be relinquishing but you can start with the above.

Gladly if I can stop paying taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Religion in education/politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Duplicate accounts

Someone had their wish come true?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭landofthetree

If your house goes on fire put it out yourself or have your own privately funded fire crew on standby.

I'm sure there are other perks you ought to be relinquishing but you can start with the above.

The above is not exclusive to socialism.

Even classical liberialism want all of the above bar maybe pensions.

Classical liberals argued for what they called a minimal state, limited to the following functions:

A government to protect individual rights and to provide services that cannot be provided in a free market.
    A common national defense to provide protection against foreign invaders.
    Laws to provide protection for citizens from wrongs committed against them by other citizens, which included protection of private property, enforcement of contracts and common law.
    Building and maintaining public institutions.
    Public works that included a stable currency, standard weights and measures and building and upkeep of roads, canals, harbors, railways, communications and postal services.

Any classical liberal worth his salt would get rid of the farce of a pension system we have and bring in negative income taxes.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

It's a classic argument isn't it?

"well if you use basic amenities or social programs xy or z you must be fully in support of socialism"

All the things you mentioned are really bare bones essential (for the most part) to a functioning society and a prosperous economy.

I think the socialism the poster was talking about is the one where the state owns and runs your life and you are shoehorned into some dead end worthless existence just to suit the megalomaniac tendencies of a cohort of absolute eejits. Also known as the one that never worked anywhere......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

people in prestige cars over 5 years old thinking they're better than anyone.

you may certainly rev at me and drive up my hole as long as you paid a good 25,000+ to be a bigshot. thats allowed. fair game.

however, to do this in an 08 longford bmw is an affront to social justice (because im better than you) it must be banned.

How would you live without water and leaving your house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Valresnick

Plastics
    Tracksuits - Black and Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Reality TV shows, like the Essex thing & Love Island & the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

Why not stick to the existing ban of banning tobacco sales to anyone born on or after the year 2002?
    That's a rolling ban of under 18s. I think the poster is suggesting that 2010 stays fixed so the ban would eventually include all the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

Use of adjectives instead of adverbs e.g: "Live life simple".

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭COVID

The Angelus and Gogglebox Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭4Ad

Foie Gras..cruel and inhumane..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Neames

Cancel Culture

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

You have that choice.

Exercise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Duplicate accounts

Duplicate would suggest only two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Apostrophe's in plural's

The above is not exclusive to socialism.

Even classical liberialism want all of the above bar maybe pensions.

Any classical liberal worth his salt would get rid of the farce of a pension system we have and bring in negative income taxes.

Perhaps you should send these definitions to the expert who claims to know what socialism is, and not I.

And what would you say?

Would you remove all social protections? I don't give a tinker's cuss what liberals, classic or otherwise advocate. I don't care what economic "thinkers" THINK.

You can bark all you want about sharing the wealth, and Rodders is no exception but you will both still want a social program paid by all and enjoyed by all.

Don't pay taxes if you are so adamant that everything you do ought to be what you made and paid for. Do it. Just don't avail of anything that others like to share amongst one another.

Pay no taxes....but I don't want to see you near the parks or libraries. The rest of us commies can enjoy them on our tax dime.

Oh...and you're not allowed on public transport either to go by the park. You have to get your own horse and carriage to your estate. And if the horse fills the street with dung, I hope you have money to rattle along that publicly funded road and then have a crew to clean up after the horse(s).

"Mummy......why can't I play and go climbing those trees with everyone else. There's a stream and trees and people are having picnics"

"Son.....they're socialists. They pay for that park. They're scum. Do you think I want to share my money for others to have a good time. Come along. We have a tree at home and only YOU can climb it, by-GOD!"

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

The word 'stakeholders' (when used in business speak):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭con747

In the night that's in it Orange Presidents.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

gary550 wrote: »

"well if you use basic amenities or social programs xy or z you must be fully in support of socialism"

All the things you mentioned are really bare bones essential (for the most part) to a functioning society and a prosperous economy.

I think the socialism the poster was talking about is the one where the state owns and runs your life and you are shoehorned into some dead end worthless existence just to suit the megalomaniac tendencies of a cohort of absolute eejits. Also known as the one that never worked anywhere......

Is that so?

So then why don't you...or better still...our friend who wants "socialism" banned come out and say as much. Or is it a cherry-picking exercise?

Social programs exist for the common good. That's SOCIALISM.

If you are completely against any form of common social programs, i.e. SOCIALISM, then cease and desist.

OR...perhaps rectify your argument. Learn before you open your mouth, attempt to understand what you want banned and THEN stop sounding like a fool.

Go into any kindergarten school or even a school up to the age of 12. The credo is to share. Many times my teacher, Mrs Maher had to ask us all at the tender age of 7 if we could share lunch biscuits or a scone or an apple with a classmate who forgot their lunch.

Amazing how kids are so good at socialism and adults are so bad at it. I suppose helping a classmate is easy when you're a child, a character trait, but when you're a grown-up it's a weakness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Gambling ads in the tele can fcuk right off.

gary550 wrote: »

That being the case then, can you elaborate on what is meant by "banning" socialism?

that was after all Rodney's recommendaton.

SO.....dictionary definition of socialism:

"A political and economic theory of social organization which advocates that the means of production, distribution, and exchange should be owned or regulated by the community as a whole."

Sounds fair to me.

But yeah...ban the concept.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Regis779

Tabacco, stupid folk, antivaxxers, Capitalism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Unlimited welfare for the work shy.

Unlimited sick days for PS "workers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Regis779 wrote:
    Tabacco, stupid folk, antivaxxers, Capitalism

Capitalism has been one of the most incredible creations of mankind, it's one of the main reasons why we enjoy such an incredible life, compared to our ancestors, our current form of it though, is a complete train wreck
    Pkiernan wrote:
    Unlimited welfare for the work shy.
    Pkiernan wrote:
    Unlimited sick days for PS "workers"

What should we do about this?

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

arrogant drivers
    cars parking on paths
    burning of wood, coal, smokeless coal in houses
    alcohol - yeah i know prohibition didnt work, but thats cause it wasnt enforced properly.
    covid lockdowns
    Fianna Fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

alcohol - yeah i know prohibition didnt work, but thats cause it wasnt enforced properly.

How would you enforce it?

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

Is that so?

So then why don't you...or better still...our friend who wants "socialism" banned come out and say as much. Or is it a cherry-picking exercise?

Social programs exist for the common good. That's SOCIALISM.

If you are completely against any form of common social programs, i.e. SOCIALISM, then cease and desist.

OR...perhaps rectify your argument. Learn before you open your mouth, attempt to understand what you want banned and THEN stop sounding like a fool.

Go into any kindergarten school or even a school up to the age of 12. The credo is to share. Many times my teacher, Mrs Maher had to ask us all at the tender age of 7 if we could share lunch biscuits or a scone or an apple with a classmate who forgot their lunch.

Amazing how kids are so good at socialism and adults are so bad at it. I suppose helping a classmate is easy when you're a child, a character trait, but when you're a grown-up it's a weakness.

I want to ban thinly veiled arguments that make no sense :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 253 ✭✭Xtrail14

Excessive riding needs curtailment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Dublin

Nah it’s handy to leave the country and get away!!

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

Why not stick to the existing ban of banning tobacco sales to anyone born on or after the year 2002?

As far as I know, people aged 18 or over can buy tobacco. So next year for example, some of the people you're talking about will be allowed to purchase tobacco.

I'm talking about a permanent ban. So they will never ever be allowed to purchase tobacco. So in 2028, when those born in 2010 turn 18, they will still not be allowed to purchase cigarettes legally. I'm saying 2010 because they are only 10 years old at the moment so very very few of them, if any, are addicted to cigarettes. In my view, it's the only way to phase out smoking cigarettes from society.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

TP_CM wrote: »
    As far as I know, people aged 18 or over can buy tobacco. So next year for example, some of the people you're talking about will be allowed to purchase tobacco.

I'm talking about a permanent ban. So they will never ever be allowed to purchase tobacco. So in 2028, when those born in 2010 turn 18, they will still not be allowed to purchase cigarettes legally. I'm saying 2010 because they are only 10 years old at the moment so very very few of them, if any, are addicted to cigarettes. In my view, it's the only way to phase out smoking cigarettes from society.

As if the Gardai haven't enough to be doing

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

statesaver wrote: »
    As if the Gardai haven't enough to be doing

As if I would prioritise the enforcement of this ban over the more important things Gardaí have to be doing.

Banning things isn't supposed to achieve perfect adherence. It's supposed to stop the 80 or 90 per cent of us and tobacco sellers who want to abide by the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

JimToken wrote: »
    I'll tell your mom you said that

Ban Irish people who have never set foot in the US trying to sound American by using any of the following words in conversations:

MOM
    Mall
    Soda
    Sneakers
    Sweater
    Drug store
    Triggered
    Faucet
    Bangs
    Sidewalk

Please stop. Just be yourself. Its ok I promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭DilD

Cancel culture. Cancel that sh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Pissing, moaning, kuntish teachers

Fuking leave if it's so hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,258 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

anyone that professes equity.

as a thought experiment, run that through. let me know how you get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Eduard Khil

Yeah let's get all the equitable lock them in cold cells and redistribute their wealth it worked way out to the east didn't it, DIDN'T IT!!!

Idiots thanking posts by their favourite posters it seems to happen where the kids all hang out together damn collectives. Ban em or burn em all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,258 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Yeah let's get all the equitable lock them in cold cells and redistribute their wealth it worked way out to the east didn't it, DIDN'T IT!!!

what's troubling you?

You reminded me of the old country with your Bolshevism the old ways are dead what they paved the way for is a palace for the new Czar I need to stop as the goons are coming to take me to Сибирь.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Ban Irish people who have never set foot in the US trying to sound American by using any of the following words in conversations:

MOM
    Mall
    Soda
    Sneakers
    Sweater
    Drug store
    Triggered
    Faucet
    Bangs
    Sidewalk

that really pisses me off aswell.
    its a ****in spanner not a wrench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Being allowed to sue for banging your knee on a table in a restaurant etc etc etc.....

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

No win no fee law practices. Frivolous claims would happen less frequently

Mules wrote:
    No win no fee law practices. Frivolous claims would happen less frequently

Probably not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Malcomex

Chicken chow mein

Indians

Planes

Malcomex wrote:
    Chicken chow mein

Make your own, far nicer and healthier
    Malcomex wrote:
    Indians

See above
    Malcomex wrote:
    Planes

You 'll have issues making the above without these

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Qwertyminger

MOM
    Mall
    Soda
    Sneakers
    Sweater
    Drug store
    Triggered
    Faucet
    Bangs
    Sidewalk

I don't use any of the other words but my mom is my mom because its what she's called. Nothing whatsoever to do with America. She herself is from the depths of ballygonowhere and also called her mom as such. My dad is from the city and also called his mom that.

I think it's probably more common than you or your mum realise

It's probably already been said but the term wet pub should be a murderable offence

Ban the bra, lots more titties about since home became the primary location and it's lovely

Ready meals the supermarket makes should be illegal for a multitude of reasons

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

km991148 wrote: »
    Idiots are brilliant.. you get to have a sense of superiority, get promoted/succeed etc..

Without idiots.. you would the idiot!

You would the idiot lol