Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Presidential Election 2020 Thread II - Judgement Day(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,763 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Brian? wrote: »
    5 hours of sleep and I’m back baby! That’s the longest sleep I’ve had since Monday. Feel great.

No President elect yet, but everything looks good for Biden still.

I suggest we shut this thread down and move to the Biden presidency thread ;)

Might as well its all over. Biden has it in the bag just look at the bookies lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,517 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

seamus wrote: »
    A 268/270 split at this stage would need AZ, PA & GA to go Trump's way.

That would leave Nevada as the faithless elector to target. It's not possible in Nevada.

His only hope really would be that he keeps PA *and* gets NV and AZ back on his side. Then he could get faithless electors in GA to flip.

As it stands, if it's a 268/270 split where Trum has PA & GA, there are no practical states where a faithless elector would/can support him. The only other blue states it's legal are deep blue states like NY or IL.

Unless there are some major odd shifts in states such as PA & GA going to Biden and NV & AZ going to Trump, the faithless electors thing is a non-runner.
    The question was what happens IF its a draw or close results. Nobody said it was likely.

IF it's a close result, ANY faithless electors could be critical. The claim that every state has to have faithless electors for it to be significant is plainly wrong. That's not related to how likely it is to happen.

Any elector can be faithless, it's nothing to do with how close a state was.
    Graham wrote: »
    Haven't many states since legislated to prevent that happening again?

Some do. Not all. Some of the ones that do have no way of enforcing the law.
    Some laws fine the elector, or void the vote, but don't prevent it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

MJohnston wrote: »
    It has yet to be seen, but I have a vague feeling that Trumpism only really works for Trump.

I’m a bit disappointed people are even using the term “Trumpism”. It’s not a philosophy or an ethos of any kind. It’s an empty vessel people pour their own hatred and fear into. Trump doesn’t actually stand for anything.

To steal a quote. Dude, say what you want about National Socialism, but at least it was an ethos. Can anyone tell me the core values of Trumpism?

It’s a personality cult. That’s it. It dies with Trump.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I’m a bit disappointed people are even using the term “Trumpism”. It’s not a philosophy or an ethos of any kind. It’s an empty vessel people pour their own hatred and fear into. Trump doesn’t actually stand for anything.

To steal a quote. Dude, say what you want about National Socialism, but at least it was an ethos. Can anyone tell me the core values of Trumpism?

I'd say that "Trumpism" is just bare rage and prejudice and nothing more than that. It won't die with Trump, it'll simply find a new avatar now that the genie's out of the lamp. The GOP no longer need to pretend to condemn racism or aim for some facade of respectability. That's the big change Trump made to US politics.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Gbear wrote: »
    It was perhaps a blessing in disguise that she didn't win (or, had stolen from her), the governorship of Georgia. She should keep doing what she's been doing.

They should make a cabinet position for election engagement and put her in it.

I’d love to see her take HUD or Education secretary. She’s exactly what the Democrats should be about. Strong community activity for the marginalised. I’ve enormous respect for her.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

CNN must be paying Rick Santorum a fortune to sit there and soak it up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

And it's not like what Trump is doing is new, we just haven't seen it at this level in about 70 or 80 years, at least not in the "Western" world anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,763 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I'd say that "Trumpism" is just bare rage and prejudice and nothing more than that. It won't die with Trump, it'll simply find a new avatar now that the genie's out of the lamp. The GOP no longer need to pretend to condemn racism or aim for some facade of respectability. That's the big change Trump made to US politics.

All this great replacement stuff and white insecurity isnt going anywhere any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,014 ✭✭✭circadian

So what happens when the fanatics inevitably kick off? Are the cops going to come down hard on them now that the tide has turned?

Biden could feasibly take all the remaining states and NC is like a week away from finishing their count.

Let's not forget the huge popular vote, that's a middle finger to Trump. 4 million surplus for Biden in california alone. Once all the counts are finished I wouldn't be surprised to see the popular vote at over 5 million.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I think "trumpism" is simply American Populism by way of a gimmick name, it won't die with Trump because it floats about in one way or another across the western world ATM. This anti establishment rage, manifest in various, sometimes self destructive actions such as Brexit - or 2016 brand Trump. Trump has been a symptom, not the disease and all that Flyover State, conservative pushback against the post 2008 world won't go away.

The feelings won’t die, true. I think you’re right, the biggest change Trump made is that you no longer have to fear being a bigot. That’s worrying.

I do believe that over half of Trumps support is in spite of him being a bigot, not because of it. His propaganda was good enough that a lot of people were willing to over look his bigotry because of the economy pre Covid.

The exit polls showed again the economy was by far the biggest issue for voters.

they/them/theirs

signostic wrote: »
    CNN must be paying Rick Santorum a fortune to sit there and soak it up...

I’ve despised the guy since 2012. But I’ve actually got a new respect for him this year. If only he was kinder to gay people.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭eastie17

CNN stating that DJT has a "stranglehold on the Republican Party." Senior Republican figures were apparently on Fox echoing the sentiments of the president, Republicans you would expect would be front runners for the 2024 nomination.
    There's very little to suggest so far that the Rep party will be dropping the Trump family when all is said and done in this election. The opposite seems more likely.
    Correct, even in areas where they didnt win, they got numbers that Republican candidates have never seen before. Much like TV ratings in that industry that is all they care about, votes. They wont distance themselves from him until he is of no use to them anymore

pixelburp wrote: »
    I think "trumpism" is simply American Populism by way of a gimmick name, it won't die with Trump because it floats about in one way or another across the western world ATM. This anti establishment rage, manifest in various, sometimes self destructive actions such as Brexit - or 2016 brand Trump. Trump has been a symptom, not the disease and all that Flyover State, conservative pushback against the post 2008 world won't go away.

Agreed. The rage will find a new figure head and the GOP will retake the house in 2022. There’s a crushing inevitability to it.

I’m still amazed that conservatives support Trump. He’s a big government authoritarian, except for his tax policy.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

everlast75 wrote: »
    Particular credit needs to go to this lady too

https://twitter.com/TheWomensOrg/status/1324653254450569218?s=20

Inspirational stuff

Good woman, Stacey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,376 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

It was perhaps a blessing in disguise that she didn't win (or, had stolen from her), the governorship of Georgia. She should keep doing what she's been doing.

They should make a cabinet position for election engagement and put her in it.

Yeah she was utterly shafted two years ago. How the hell can someone oversee their own election!! She handled it in the perfect way though.

She resisted calls to run for the Senate this cycle so I suspect she wants another crack off of Kemp in 2022. I would not bet against her after this.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Jo jo the eskimo

If the violence starts wont that give trump more leverage
    to get out of any trouble that awaits him
    He's not gonna say bidan won until he has his own issues sorted, until then he's just gonna keep stirring up trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I’m still amazed that conservatives support Trump. He’s a big government authoritarian, except for his tax policy.

But that's the core of conservatism. Why is that in any way surprising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Agreed. The rage will find a new figure head and the GOP will retake the house in 2022. There’s a crushing inevitability to it.

They dont really care about taxes or big government, it comes down to 2 issues abortion and racism, he is against abortion and is at the very least absolutely fine with racism if not an active racist himself so they like him.

Those who are anti-abortion dont care about the racist people because they will do anything to stop abortions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Sadly, it won't die with Trump's leaving the White House. He and his grifters will harness it and milk it for as long as they can get a buck out of the millions of cult members.. Think Alex Jones and Rush Limbaugh on steroids on a re-badged OANN that will displace Fox News. There's MILLIONS of $$$ to be made while revelling in conspiracy theories, 2A merch and a pity party that will go on for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Republicans are all about small government, fewer regulations.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

breezy1985 wrote: »
    All this great replacement stuff and white insecurity isnt going anywhere any time soon.

Exactly. Biden is a 2016 status quo candidate and the 2016 status quo gifted us Trump.
    The feelings won’t die, true. I think you’re right, the biggest change Trump made is that you no longer have to fear being a bigot. That’s worrying.

I do believe that over half of Trumps support is in spite of him being a bigot, not because of it. His propaganda was good enough that a lot of people were willing to over look his bigotry because of the economy pre Covid.

The exit polls showed again the economy was by far the biggest issue for voters.

I don't know if it'd be over half or how bigoted someone would be before you applied the term. I'm inclined to belive that each party has huge blocks of voters with a small cohort of swing voters who are willing to switch parties.

I think the more bigoted of Trump's voters (as distinct from his fanbase) are just loud and noisy as opposed to being numerous. The US has serious issues relating to race that are much more pronounced than those anywhere in Europe. This won't change when Biden is inaugurated but hopefully the Democrats can try and groom a new leader and a new vision for America. It's the best we can hope for.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Conservatives used to be about small government- in everything.

Maybe I just need to recalibrate to what conservative means now: racial and religious intolerance ad irresponsible fiscal policy that runs up the deficit. Essentially the opposite of what it used to mean.

they/them/theirs

VinLieger wrote: »
    They dont really care about taxes or big government, it comes down to 2 issues abortion and racism, he is against abortion and is at the very least absolutely fine with racism if not an active racist himself so they like him.

Those who are anti-abortion dont care about the racist people because they will do anything to stop abortions.

It’s about more than abortion though. They want to eliminate the separation between church and state.

Religious charter schools - that’s the long game.

they/them/theirs

Conservatives used to be about small government- in everything.

Maybe I just need to recalibrate to what conservative means now: racial and religious intolerance ad irresponsible fiscal policy that runs up the deficit. Essentially the opposite of what it used to mean.

They only care about small government when not in power. Same with the deficit. The Tories in the UK are exactly the same. Conservatism, as in preserving the current status quo and making incremental changes where they can't be avoided died a death a long time ago in both countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭Canice Picklington

Fascism requires a very specific sort of demagogue, which can vary based on the cultural circumstances of where it happens. Trump is a truly gifted demagogue ideally suited to exploiting the white American psyche. His evil "gift" was that to many people he made the deeply threatening and the evil appear almost comical and endearing. He used high camp, and I mean high camp in the over the top, performative sense. There was an almost sexual aspect to his demagoguery too, where deeply unhappy people got to live out a fever dream where their anger at what they see as their own inadequacy was channeled through a seemingly omnipotent, infallible, supernatural leader.

Despite probably never laughing in the real sense in his life, he has elements of a stand up comedian in his public speaking manner.

Creating all this requires a total confidence in your shamelessness. It requires the creation of a dystopian fantasy world of make believe, and the creation of eternal victimhood as the immediate go to outlet when reality intrudes on this fantasy - which is all the time.

If you look at the sort of demagogues who predominate within the English speaking world, most have this high camp, almost comedy element to them - Boris Johnson, Nigel Farage, Ian Paisley, in this country the Healy Raes. It also applies to media demagogues, think of Alex Jones, Sean Hannity, Katie Hopkins.

The likes of say, Tom Cotton, could not do what Trump does. Because they immediately come across as deeply threatening, with no comedy or fake endearment factor to suck the masses in. And he has no entertainment factor whatsoever.

In the English speaking world, fascism has used dumb entertainment as its avenue to power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Mitch speaks

https://twitter.com/senatemajldr/status/1324697471654789120

Still walking the line of "count legal votes" leaving him open to shout about fraud if he needs to but i only think he will go that line if its close or a draw which its looking like it wont be

Exactly. Biden is a 2016 status quo candidate and the 2016 status quo gifted us Trump.

I don't know if it'd be over half or how bigoted someone would be before you applied the term. I'm inclined to belive that each party has huge blocks of voters with a small cohort of swing voters who are willing to switch parties.

I think the more bigoted of Trump's voters (as distinct from his fanbase) are just loud and noisy as opposed to being numerous. The US has serious issues relating to race that are much more pronounced than those anywhere in Europe. This won't change when Biden is inaugurated but hopefully the Democrats can try and groom a new leader and a new vision for America. It's the best we can hope for.

Ironically it was Obama being elected with a new vision that lead to Trump.

Too many Americans don’t want a new vision. They tell themselves it was great in the old
    Days and want that back. They don’t remember that millions of people of colour and the LGBT community lived in every day fear. They see the new liberties that people enjoy as a bad thing. This is the real problem.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

*This certainly is a year like no other*

Absolutely. In years to come students will study this bizarre episode. Sometimes I actually cannot believe what I am seeing/hearing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Good woman, Stacey!

I'm sure somewhere there's a GOP narrative that finds her enthusiastic enfranchisement as anti democratic.