Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Presidential Election 2020 Thread II - Judgement Day(s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,245 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Some questions for later but the most important thing tonight is that Trump did not get a second term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

What a relief. I’m glad to have voted for Biden here in CT, thankfully my town vote 70% in his favor. Just got back from a covid friendly drive by celebration here lots of horn honking etc. People here are just elated. Also my trump supporting neighbor has taken down his Maga flag. Going to booze it up tonight lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭Five Eighth

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Millions of white working class people voted for Biden too so whats your point.If "their priorities include decent jobs, trade union representation, universal health insurance, education and a welfare safety net" and they voted Trump and the Reps. then they are idiots.

Im a white working class man from a poor neighbourhood and I am sick to death of rick fools like Trump and Farage using me to promote racism or paint all white working class people as the "Workington man" who just want closed borders and a plain life down the pub and the mines
    It’s a bit rich to describe millions of people who voted for Trump and GOP as ‘idiots’. My point is that they did, in fact, vote for Trump and they obviously did so for good reason i.e. someone who they believed respected their worldview and articulated their hopes and aspirations. The main point is not whether Trump did or did not actually believe what he was saying but that millions of natural Democrat voters believed him and rejected the Democrats. They shouldn’t be regarded as ‘idiots’ or ‘deplorables’ for doing so. I assume you read the previous posts on this issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

FatherTed wrote: »
    What a relief. I’m glad to have voted for Biden here in CT, thankfully my town vote 70% in his favor. Just got back from a covid friendly drive by celebration here lots of horn honking etc. People here are just elated. Also my trump supporting neighbor has taken down his Maga flag. Going to booze it up tonight lads.

Looking at all the videos I can feel the vibe from all the people over there, wouldn't go anywhere near the states right now with covid riddling the place but even a part of me would love to be over there atm celebrating that Orange Turds downfall.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

The prospect of court challenges is fading. It is probably being set up for a member of the Trump family to come out as a moderating voice and usher in a transition within that group. Ivanka will get the role.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Movementarian

The prospect of court challenges is fading. It is probably being set up for a member of the Trump family to come out as a moderating voice and usher in a transition within that group. Ivanka will get the role.

Who do you reckon will get the job of the conceding phone call to Biden, if there even is one of course. I can't see Don having the grace or dignity to do it.

Infini wrote: »
    Looking at all the videos I can feel the vibe from all the people over there, wouldn't go anywhere near the states right now with covid riddling the place but even a part of me would love to be over there atm celebrating that Orange Turds downfall.

Yes the crowds are won’t for me and I don’t agree with them but I understand. My guess our drive by was about 40 cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

They've filed 10 so far. Self-dismissed nine of them. They seem to be judge fishing to get one that will let them take it on to the SC. Or at least that's what they appear to be doing. Cases are pretty baseless. The 'sharpie' one is the favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,938 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

The dems managed to overcome

1) an incumbent president, which historically is extremely difficult. Add to that trump effectively campaigned for 2020 starting in 2016 and incorporated multiple violations of the Hatch Act

2) a president in the midst of a national crisis. Such a scenario historically creates a patriotic drive to support the President

3) most voters when asked believed they were better off than before (putting aside the fact that Obama created the boom and Trump ballooned the deficit)

These three factors (especially the last - "it's the economy stupid) combined meant that the struggle to overcome Trump was monumental and kudos to the Dems for overcoming them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,770 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

That felt like a long few days.

I have colleagues in the States, the relief from them all today was fantastic to see and hear. Delighted that Trump is gone, 2020 was rough enough, so this has put a little silver lining on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,142 ✭✭✭✭briany

prawnsambo wrote: »
    They've filed 10 so far. Self-dismissed nine of them. They seem to be judge fishing to get one that will let them take it on to the SC. Or at least that's what they appear to be doing. Cases are pretty baseless. The 'sharpie' one is the favourite.

So, if the courts strike down all their allegations of fraud, then does that mean they'll have to include the courts as being complicit in the conspiracy, along with the media, the Democrats and polling station officials, even ones who identify as Republican like that guy who announced a count update in Georgia?

If I was Rudy Giuliani (and this is assuming he has sense somewhere under his current bonkers exterior), I'd pause and consider that undermining faith in virtually every aspect of your country is probably dangerous territory for everyone, including yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Gintonious wrote: »
    That felt like a long few days.

I have colleagues in the States, the relief from them all today was fantastic to see and hear. Delighted that Trump is gone, 2020 was rough enough, so this has put a little silver lining on it.

Yeah, relief seems to be the most common word to describe Trump's defeat. Another four years of the Trump administration would probably have done even more damage to America and its standing on the world stage than the last four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

And because this is still an election thread, latest drop from GA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,723 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

letowski wrote: »
    While its good for the Democrats to enjoy getting their guy in the White House, they cannot over look the fact that they had many losses this week across America.

Leaving aside the presidential race which Biden one relatively narrowly, Trump made gains across many minority groups, especially in Democratic stronghold like Miami-Dade and the Rio Grande Valley. Youngstown in eastern Ohio was one by Trump, only 8 years ago Obama was winning there by +27 points. Biden made gains among the white male vote, but the GOP will back themselves to win that back in 2024 and potentially hold the Trump minority numbers with a less racist president.

In the senate races, the Democrats missed a massive opportunity to take control. Maybe it was the faulty polls again, but losing in Maine, Iowa and North Carolina was most disappointing. Questions must be asked about the decision to pump $200m into long shot senate races in Kentucky and South Carolina.

In the House, the GOP made huge gains leaving the Democrats with its slimmest majority in twenty years. Make no mistake, the House will be up for grabs in 2022, and the Dems will have to pull themselves together. The Dems did not even win one state legislator position this week either.

I think leadership at the top isn't working. The GOP will look to charter a course of holding the senate, winning the House in 2022 and go for the trifecta in 2024 against an 82 year old incumbent president (potentially). Fair enough, the GOP are too in an internal crisis with what direction they need to take in a post Trump era, but leaders at the top will have reason for optimism. As I've said, the Democratic party should enjoy today, but there needs to be a full review of where they are going as a political party in the US.
    The Republicans lost the presidency, but held the senate and made gains in the house. For me, this election was more of a vote against Trump, rather than support for Biden, or the Democrats in general.

Privately, I think the Republicans will feel pretty good about this election. Trump made a balls over COVID, which undoubtedly cost them votes. COVID made a balls of the economy (unemployment went from record lows to 8% right now) which cost them more votes. It's incredible that in spite of everything, Trump came as close as he did to winning.

I think if Republicans get the right candidate next time, they can let the Democrats go down the "democratic socialist" route and they will be in a really good position for 2024. Of course, they may decide to double down on Trump, hopefully they won't be so stupid.

The Republicans lost the presidency, but held the senate and made gains in the house. For me, this election was more of a vote against Trump, rather than support for Biden, or the Democrats in general.

Privately, I think the Republicans will feel pretty good about this election. Trump made a balls over COVID, which undoubtedly cost them votes. COVID made a balls of the economy (unemployment went from record lows to 8% right now) which cost them more votes. It's incredible that in spite of everything, Trump came as close as he did to winning.

I think if Republicans get the right candidate next time, they can let the Democrats go down the "democratic socialist" route and they will be in a really good position for 2024. Of course, they may decide to double down on Trump, hopefully they won't be so stupid.

Explain this “democratic socialist” you talk about and how Biden will implement democratic socialism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

It’s a bit rich to describe millions of people who voted for Trump and GOP as ‘idiots’. My point is that they did, in fact, vote for Trump and they obviously did so for good reason i.e. someone who they believed respected their worldview and articulated their hopes and aspirations. The main point is not whether Trump did or did not actually believe what he was saying but that millions of natural Democrat voters believed him and rejected the Democrats. They shouldn’t be regarded as ‘idiots’ or ‘deplorables’ for doing so. I assume you read the previous posts on this issue.

I just came on here to post something in relation to Trump supporters.
    Firstly delighted Biden and Harris have won, America & the World needs a more unifying message. Biden carried the Democrats over the line through being a centrist politician that shares many of the same views as moderate Republicans. Hope Harris keeps this unifying tone too, this is what the US needs and badly.
    Our own politicians are falling over themselves congratulating Biden, fair enough. But they should be careful not to overplay their affiliations to the Democrats. Every 8 years on average, the power shifts between Democrat & Republican. Biden is in for 4 years. There is absolutely no guarantee they’ll get in for another four, especially with Covid, the economy and other issues to deal with. There are many Irish American Republicans also, they should try & maintain and build bridges with both sides.
    The Democrats need to reflect on their base, strategy and way forward. They didn’t do as well as hoped in the Senate or House. If Sanders had gotten the Presidential nomination, I don’t think he would have defeated Trump. While well meaning, their overly PC brigade can be painful at times. They turned Covid into a political issue and I’ll be interested to see how they proceed from here on out. They need to keep the centre vote that Biden gained in crucial states and also unify moderate Trump supporters, who have genuine issues of discontent.
    From afar in Ireland, it might look like Trump supporters are all right wing lunatics. This is not always the case. Middle America, and particularly in rural areas, have lost their voice & felt Trump was an avenue to get it back. So many towns I stayed in off the beaten track have stories of past booms, manufacturing plants, etc. Now they’re quiet, deserted and forgotten. While so many US jobs are overseas, including in Ireland. (I think in Ireland’s case many are EU headquarters while manufacturing jobs are gone to China mostly) They have a genuine grievance and felt Trump might give them a voice. Unfortunately he just gave himself a voice & used the divide + conquer strategy exceptionally.
    Post Presidency, I think we haven’t seen the last of Trump on our airwaves. But I do hope the Biden / Harris Presidency tries a unifying approach...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

They haven't held the senate yet tbf.

2 races in Georgia will determine that in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,647 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Rjd2 wrote: »
    They haven't held the senate yet tbf.

2 races in Georgia will determine that in January.

That will be some battle

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Probably a scratch golfer after the last 4 years improving his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭sdanseo

If this tweet is to be believed, is there anything to be said for some chance of Biden taking NC -

My maths, and please correct me if wrong, and disregarding 3rd party candidates
    if there are 5% of votes still outsnading, would mean Biden needs 64.4% of the mail ins to win.

If he's winning mail ins in PA by 80% that wouldn't seem too tall an order?

https://twitter.com/DecisionDeskHQ/status/1325160871727869957?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭letowski

Water John wrote: »
    That will be some battle

Imagine being a local news station! $$$

Couple of the hosts on CNN were saying the other night that they should by a local station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,237 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That six one close which had joe Biden reading a Seamus Heaney poem is getting shared a lot on Twitter. I’ve seen Alyssa Milano and Keith olbermann tweet about it. In fairness it’s a well done video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,380 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

sdanseo wrote: »
    If this tweet is to be believed, is there anything to be said for some chance of Biden taking NC -

My maths, and please correct me if wrong, and disregarding 3rd party candidates
    if there are 5% of votes still outsnading, would mean Biden needs 64.4% of the mail ins to win.

According to this site Biden needs 69% of the 188k votes left. It certainly seems possible but everybody in the know seems to think it's a long shot.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    That six one close which had joe Biden reading a Seamus Heaney poem is getting shared a lot on Twitter. I’ve seen Alyssa Milano and Keith olbermann tweet about it. In fairness it’s a well done video.

Any chance of a link, please.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

According to this site Biden needs 69% of the 188k votes left. It certainly seems possible but everybody in the know seems to think it's a long shot.

Holy Jaysus, I’d stopped watching NC 2 days ago. If Biden takes it , that’s a genuine landslide.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,237 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Brian? wrote: »
    Holy Jaysus, I’d stopped watching NC 2 days ago. If Biden takes it , that’s a genuine landslide.

So did I because the way it was being talked about was that Trumps lead was holding steady. Clearly there is room to unsteady that lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

That was a brilliant close by RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,781 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

So if people voted for Trump because they believe that like them he is racist or sexist would that be a good reason. Should I then respect them and not think them idiots?

And if they voted for the billionaire who was against Obamacare from day one because he was the man who would look out for the working man then why not call them fools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,380 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I've just been scrolling through the Quoted Retweets of it for the past 10 minutes. Everyone is blown away:

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1325192497337950208/retweets/with_comments