Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you report a crime, or try to stop a crime talking place

• 05-11-2020 9:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭

If you seen a crime taking place would you reported it to the police?

Or would you be reluctant to get involved?

Or would you report it anonymously?

And given the fact that we pass crimes been committed everday. Would you interfere in a criminal act if you seen one happening in front of you?

And if so which crime would you interfere in, in trying to stop, would it be any crime or would it be certain kind of crime, say like robbery, rape, drug dealing, murder, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Icaras

Kylta wrote: »
    And given the fact that we pass crimes been committed everday.

What crimes do I pass every day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Matt Damon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Rang the Guards about someone driving from my house hammered. Felt kinda bad but had to as he could easily have killed/seriously injured someone.

Didn't have his reg/exact address so Guards not interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Metalrobe

This must be the most scattered and thrown together thread I've ever seen. I rarely ever witness a crime and it ofcourse depends on the crime.

If someones getting beaten up ofcourse you are going to help. If it's just someone running out the door of a shop with a packet of penny sweets that's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Saw a truck backing out of a yard in town one day, take the front off a parked car, I was sitting in a parked car across the road.

Truck driver got out looked at the damage, looked around and drove off.

In the meantime I'd pulled out my phone and snapped a couple of pics of the truck reg and yer man inspecting the damage.

I went to the garda station and reported it, photos were taken. Got a call from the car owner next day to thank me, said it was all being sorted. Car was a write off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Icaras wrote: »

Actually. Iacarus, thanks. The context of passing crime everyday is in regards to people openly selling drugs in dublin. I understand were all not from dublin. But I'm sure there are drugs sold openly in other cities etc. So when I say you pass a crime committed everyday, well if your living in a remote part of the country it might not be true. Thanks for letting me clear that up

Everyday when I go through town, I'm talking about dublin, I see people selling drugs, along the quays, its a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Tried to stop a bunch of our 'cultural' brethren making off with materials in a workplace as in putting myself in harm's way.

Got a fat lot of thanks from the boss for it, they could clean the place out next time.

Ure
    Metalrobe wrote: »
    This must be the most scattered and thrown together thread I've ever seen. I rarely ever witness a crime and it ofcourse depends on the crime.

If someones getting beaten up ofcourse you are going to help. If it's just someone running out the door of a shop with a packet of penny sweets that's a different story.

What im curious to find out is are we selective on what we class as a crime.
    And are people reluctant in the attitude to interfere if they see a criminal act taking place in front of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Stopped some 'mobile' individuals relieving a neighbour's pickup of his tools in the rear two weeks ago. He was less than twenty meters away cutting hedges and hadn't noticed the car stopped with the boot opened ready to bale his tools.

Also ran a drug user off from stealing bikes near the Odeon Harcourt street . Had to jump out of a passenger seat in a car for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

I reported a theft to the Garda and they told me theres nothing they can do. Wifes handbag was taken off the back of her chair eating out at a local bar restaurant. I immediately went home to track her iPhone which was in her bag along with her purse money etc. I watched the phone/handbag travel down the m1 and onto the m50, get off at tallaght and stop in a house in tallaght. I took my laptop to the guards and told them the story and they told me theres nothing they can do with the evidence. I had the address where the handbag was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Actually. Iacarus, thanks. The context of passing crime everyday is in regards to people openly selling drugs in dublin. I understand were all not from dublin. But I'm sure there are drugs sold openly in other cities etc. So when I say you pass a crime committed everyday, well if your living in a remote part of the country it might not be true. Thanks for letting me clear that up

Everyday when I go through town, I'm talking about dublin, I see people selling drugs, along the quays, its a fact.

Maybe if you change your route , you might avoid seeing the guys on the quays and then see no crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

What im curious to find out is are we selective on what we class as a crime.

I don't think so. I think most if not all people would acknowledge if not agree with things like selling or purchasing cannabis as a crime.

What I do think is we react much differently to different crimes. Can't be getting worked up over ever illegal act we witness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Have you ever thought of buying some to help you chill out?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I reported a theft to the Garda and they told me theres nothing they can do. Wifes handbag was taken off the back of her chair eating out at a local bar restaurant. I immediately went home to track her iPhone which was in her bag along with her purse money etc. I watched the phone/handbag travel down the m1 and onto the m50, get off at tallaght and stop in a house in tallaght. I took my laptop to the guards and told them the story and they told me theres nothing they can do with the evidence. I had the address where the handbag was.

It’s not always that accurate. I located my wife’s iPhone in a bank once when she was in the shop next door.

At the same time I feel your pain. To be able to track a phone all the way to Tallaght, probably to the right house, and then being told to let them get away with it? I’d be fit for a rage-induced heart attack.

Maybe if you change your route , you might avoid seeing the guys on the quays and then see no crime.

They don't bother me, I live in an area that has is a lot of anti social activities going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Rang the gardai one night when I heard my neighbour beating the crap out of his wife. I actually at one point thought he was killing her. They didn’t bother to show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Icaras wrote: »

I'm always passing out lads that are speeding:pac:

First they came for the socialists...

begbysback wrote: »
    Have you ever thought of buying some to help you chill out?

Unfortunately I gave up my recreational drugs a long time ago. Chill out. I don't really need

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Generally no, I wouldn’t. None of my business as long as it doesn’t affect me.
    If I saw you deliberately hurting an animal I’d beat the **** out of you there and then though because punishments are never fit for purpose in these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I walk around Dublin 2 daily, except for during the pandemic. Seeing someone selling drugs is something I see every few weeks or months, hardly daily. I do probably see junkies daily though.

Jequ0n wrote: »
    If I saw you deliberately hurting an animal I’d beat the **** out of you there and then though because punishments are never fit for purpose in these cases.

Actually I might be wrong on this, but I think nobody gives actually cares about crime involving other people, I think when the crime is personal to you, your family and friends, then it becomes an issue, I think people in general don't want to get involved.

Of course not, we are selfish creatures by nature but we seem to struggle admitting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭DilD

Depends on the crime, depends on my relationship to the victim and depends on the location.

Someone nicking something in a shop like Tesco etc. I just mind my business.

Someone being attempted to be raped, yes you step in if you can and is safe to do so.

A fight or altercation after a night out, if I don't know the person, sorry to say but I carry on my way. I don't know what the altercation was and who did what so I have no ground to get involved.

A mugging etc. Again if I don't know the victim I carry on my way. I lived in London for years until recently and on a few occasions I walked passed people getting mugged on the street. Felt like a prick for just letting it happen but I'm not involved, too many people getting knifed there every day so I'm sure as hell not putting myself in that situation, good friend of mine had his cousin stabbed during a robbery on the street, he died.

I didn't call the cops either in these instances, no point in a city that size, it happens all the time so the cops literally can't track these guys down anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

DilD wrote: »
    Depends on the crime, depends on my relationship to the victim and depends on the location.

Someone nicking something in a shop like Tesco etc. I just mind my business.

Someone being attempted to be raped, yes you step in if you can and is safe to do so.

A fight after a night out, if I don't know the person, sorry to say but I carry on my way. I don't know what the altercation was and who did what so I have no ground to get involved.

A mugging etc. Again if I don't know the victim I carry on my way. I lived in London for years until recently and on a few occasions I walked passed people getting mugged on the street. Felt like a prick for just letting it happen but I'm not involved, too many people getting knifed there every day so I'm sure as hell not putting myself in that situation, good friend of my had his cousin stabbed during a robbery on the street, he died.

I didn't call the cops either in these instances, no point in a city that size, it happens all the time so the cops literally can't track these guys down anyway.

On the stepping in to stop a fight I got a lesson in Phibsboro.

A man and a woman were kicking a man on the ground across the street from me. Were kicking his head so I decided to intervene. The girlfriend grabbed me and said don't. A few seconds later they were lifting him and off they went carrying the fella they were kicking in the head a minute before , all pally.

If I intervened the 3 of them would definitely have turned on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

There was a bit of a debate about that lately in Cork. Some oul lad was getting a hiding outside a shopping centre with plenty people around but nobody stopped it.

That's different in my eyes, if there are a number of people who can easily and safely intervene then they should do so I feel.

A fight's a fight I think, whatever caused it. But if someone goes to the ground, the fight's over in my eyes. Those who carry on beating someone they've already knocked to the ground is a clown, and those who kick people in the head are straight up muppets. Hit someone a slap all you want if there's an altercation but end it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

what if you saw someone robbing a house, would you call the guards?

I would and have reported crimes, I hate the kind of spineless people who turn a blind eye. me fein attitudes.

Of course not, we are selfish creatures by nature but we seem to struggle admitting it.

I have stopped guys getting kicked on the ground a couple of times, the first time the mob turned on me but I got away and got help from bouncers, the second time I managed to stop the thug.

pgj2015 wrote: »

I would and have reported crimes, I hate the kind of spineless people who turn a blind eye. me fein attitudes.

Definitely yes. When people think they can just come along and take what others worked hard for, they're scum and should get what's coming.

someone told me before that they wouldnt get involved if a house was being robbed, as it wasnt their business, the same person wants their kid to become a guard lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

That's different in my eyes, if there are a number of people who can easily and safely intervene then they should do so I feel.

A fight's a fight I think, whatever caused it. But if someone goes to the ground, the fight's over in my eyes. Those who carry on beating someone they've already knocked to the ground is a clown, and those who kick people in the head are straight up muppets. Hit someone a slap all you want if there's an altercation but end it there.
    I agree 100%. I used to work late nights in pubs and the amount of violence I've seen is horrendous. I've been saying for years where is the aggression coming from? Maybe I'm just getting old but back in the day (I'm 40) a fight was a few punches and it was over now people are dancing on people's heads when they're unconscious. What does that achieve?

maybe it is because of drugs like cocaine? but it has to be in you as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A street fight, not a hope of intervening.
    Maybe get a knife in the gut as a thank you. Too many scumbags carrying knives now.

Maybe, difficult to answer. If I didn’t like the house owner I’d do **** all. If I knew and/ or liked them I might because it’d benefit me in the end.

me me me me me

someone told me before that they wouldnt get involved if a house was being robbed, as it wasnt their business, the same person wants their kid to become a guard lol.

That’s actually hilarious!

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭John Frank Wilson

You're all a bunch of touts!

...Is what I would say if, I was an absolute sc*mb*g.

me me me me me

Exactly

Dunno. In the same boat as yerself, used to work in pubs as well. I could never see the sense in fighting, I was always too busy trying to chase down tail or drinking a hape of pints to be wasting my time fighting.

Feisar wrote: »
    Dunno. In the same boat as yerself, used to work in pubs as well. I could never see the sense in fighting, I was always too busy trying to chase down tail or drinking a hape of pints to be wasting my time fighting.

I am the same, like lads ending up shirt ripped and hanging off them, covered in blood, broken nose, teeth, in a cell. what is the point of that? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Sprog 4

Almost everything is worth reporting. Even if there are not enough resources available to deal with a particular incident directly at the time, having data on which crimes are occurring where and when is of crucial importance for planning the most efficient use of resources in the future.
    No police force in the world can have people everywhere at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

The main "daily crime" I see might be someone doing 53kph in a 50kph zone. I don't report that, as
    a) I'd spend my life on the phone
    b) I don't have calibrated equipment to confirm the exact speed other drivers are doing.

If I saw someone swerving all over the road, obviously not in control of their car? I would, and have, called the gardaí.

Other crimes, like house breaking, assault, I'd probably call the gardaí as well. Unless the criminal was a 5 year old with rickets, I wouldn't be much good in physically preventing something happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

as the stats will show - more & more people not reporting crimes or crimes not being followed up properly because people know nothing will be dine, gaurds under resourced and jaded and revolving door courts system mean that even if they are found, arrested, charged and it gets to court you take the days off work required to be a witness - the bloody judge lets them off.

In this country now even if you report a crime that happened to you the gaurds shrug their shoulders or take vague notes and don’t give a f* - don’t check cctv, say cctv is irrelevant unless the criminal admits its them, take 3+ hours to come 5 minutes down the road to a violent assault, don’t bother following of if you track down and iD the person who did the crime of shrug their shoulders and say they will write a report for insurance but do nothing about the crime themselves, never follow up or take witness statements etc etc etc

I don’t understand how people can stand by but I also see more & more why they do. When the authorities who are paid and sworn in to defend the law couldn’t be arsed and there are no consequences for the criminal what is the point? In the other hand some places have it sewn up where a neighbourhood ‘action group’ will go
    out and sort out the toerags or scum and byepass the ‘justice system’ entirely. Far more effective IMO thou not a good precedent and a sign of an utterly dysfunctional system. Personally the last time I stopped waiting for gaurds when I was set on by a group & total strangers junkie scumbag gang I eventually after 20 minutes of ongoing attack and retreating & trying to be rational & calm totally lost the head I thought I’d be the one going to jail -luckily for me the gaurds knew the scumbag criminals involved and laughed him off - if I’d hadn’t have the red mist of a rage behind me there wouod have been no consequences for him whatsoever. And of the 50+ witnesses who stood by watching only one after about 20
    minutes offered to help - the rest were too busy voyeuring & vidoeing to ring the gaurds - shocking beyond belief. The one day I didn’t have my phone with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,640 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Personally the last time I stopped waiting for gaurds when I was set on by a group & total strangers junkie scumbag gang I eventually after 20 minutes of ongoing attack and retreating & trying to be rational & calm totally lost the head I thought I’d be the one going to jail -luckily for me the gaurds knew the scumbag criminals involved and laughed him off - if I’d hadn’t have the red mist of a rage behind me there wouod have been no consequences for him whatsoever. And of the 50+ witnesses who stood by watching only one after about 20
    minutes offered to help - the rest were too busy voyeuring & vidoeing to ring the gaurds - shocking beyond belief. The one day I didn’t have my phone with me.

Attacked for 20 minutes with 50 witnesses....complete fantasy stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Saw a truck backing out of a yard in town one day, take the front off a parked car, I was sitting in a parked car across the road.

Truck driver got out looked at the damage, looked around and drove off.

In the meantime I'd pulled out my phone and snapped a couple of pics of the truck reg and yer man inspecting the damage.

I went to the garda station and reported it, photos were taken. Got a call from the car owner next day to thank me, said it was all being sorted. Car was a write off
    This story made me happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I actually did report a junkie punching a woman he was with in the head at a Luas stop. Looked like a couple having an argument, he saw me looking back while on the phone and started coming towards me shouting so I walked away. An hour later the guards call, were at the stop now where are they, I said probably got on the Luas, all they said was "ah right yeah" and that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Witcher wrote: »
    You wont say that when it wins an Oscar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Witcher wrote: »

No. But you carry on with your victim denial there.
    Plenty of home grown scobie savages in this country - and plenty of voyeurs too.

spook_cook wrote: »
    "A man like me, I can't let the public see my skills. So I ran. But they followed. Oh why did they follow? This was their chance, their one shot to get away... I ran.

Ended up in an alley. As I had planned. They blocked the escape (their escape) and the leader stepped forward "We just wanted your phone and money but now, well now we want some fun!" and the gang hooted and cheered. I looked at my shoes and smirked "THE RIGHT OR THE LEFT?" They thugs went quiet... they didn't understand.

I quickly lunged at the large guy on the right. A kiss from my fists and he was asleep. Immediately I engaged a swinging reverse round-house kick, taking out two more lackeys.

Things got serious. A knife was pulled. It was all over in flash. The street gang lay at my feet. Again I asked the head punk, "Right or left"... He was so bloodied and out of it that I gave him both. They say broken arms raise no fists...

I exited the alley and drew on my cigarette. "Hey make sure you put that in the bin" said a passerby. "Oh I spent my days cleaning the filth off the streets" I assured her.

Did you create it yourself, or is it from a script? If so what script?

It was actually really good! The only thing I'd change is the reverse roundhouse. As someone who used to dance around in angry white pajamas the only time I'd kick someone in the head in an assault is after I kicked them in the knee and they were on the ground. Nothing sexy required then, soccer kick to the head.