Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expensive quotes - named driving experience and 1 year no claims

• 05-11-2020 12:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11

Hi, my insurance is due to be renewed and I’d like to shop around for a better quote. My problem is that I have 5 years named driving experience but only bought my own car last year and therefore only have 1 year no claims. The problem seems to be that because I can only put one or the other into the online forms I’m getting quotes of €1200. Whereas this year I paid €780. I’m 26 years old.

Is there any way to get around this or do I just have to ring around?

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,286 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd ring around and mention the 5 years named driver no claims experience, the online quotes usually can't take this in to account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,999 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

If you have a policy in your own name, you need to rely on that when getting quotes

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Eireann81

Are you finding it cheaper to use the 5 years' named driving experience or the 1 year in your own name? I'm in a similar situation, and I find that the named driver experience gives cheaper quotes. Insurance company is insisting that I use the 1 year that I've built up in my name. I don't get this because I'm still building up the named experience on the other policy.

Eireann81 wrote: »