Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biden/Harris Presidency Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

President Biden has a big task on his hands:

Managing Covid-19
    The economy (Covid related)
    A dreadfully fractured country
    Domestic terrorism
    Gun violence
    Foreign affairs

He will need to surround himself with strong and capable people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

They should start campaigning in Georgia to try and get those senate seats.

Trump wont be bothered doing anything for the GOP now and the 2 GOP senators both were involved in that insider trading scandal at start of Covid outbreak

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Headshot wrote: »
    Got to get Andrew Yang in there some where

Commerce secretary

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 17,568 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Brian? wrote: »
    Commerce secretary

Exactly what i was thinking, his Universal Basic Income plans make him the perfect choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Of interest to us. from guardian
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/nov/07/joe-biden-most-urgent-economic-plans-key-elements
    Raise the corporate tax rate to 28%, from 21%.
    Impose a minimum tax on all foreign earnings of US companies located overseas in an attempt to stop the use of foreign tax havens.
    Penalize corporations that ship jobs overseas.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,370 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I saw somewhere that he may be eying up the NYC mayoral race.

Yang?

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 22,199 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

This thread title is so comforting!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,897 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Thank god, but I fear we've not heard the last of Trump. Just shocking he got over 70 million votes. Massive celebrations on the streets of cities across America, its daylight and I have an uneasy feeling of uglyness tonight.

I see Trump out playing golf while all this is going on, just extraordinary.

A great result but America remains deeply devided and I hope I'm wrong but the transition is not going to be pretty, particularly if those right wing thugs Trump actively encouraged let loose.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Limpy

We'll see how Joe handles his BLM fan boys sooner rather then later.

Dempo1 wrote: »
    Massive celebrations on the streets of cities across America, its daylight and I have an uneasy feeling of uglyness tonight.

Yeah I'm a bit terrified that some gun toting Trumpist nutjobs will come out and attack one of those crowds. Hopefully they'll surprise us and stay the fuuck away.

Watching the NBC news coverage there for the past half hour. They're no fans of the progressive wing of the Democratic party. Saying they don't want to see Bernie Sanders get any job in the administration and talking about how AOC had cost them votes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,107 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

There will be many on here and elsewhere who argue: Who cares? Why should Biden/Harris Presidency matter to us?

Here's a small slice of why it matters:

https://youtu.be/c2ScxGsB-ks

• Registered Users Posts: 33,382 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Watching the NBC news coverage there for the past half hour. They're no fans of the progressive wing of the Democratic party. Saying they don't want to see Bernie Sanders get any job in the administration and talking about how AOC had cost them votes.

Well they'd be wrong. The need to look closer at what they were against a lying mammoth machine. The only reason trump got the level of votes he did was fear spreading and lies. Full on blatant made up waffle. So if the Dems are going to eat themselves apart trying to understand why some lost senator races. They have to look outside the party.

Progressives had a massive part to play in biden over the line. It has to be awknowledged. Even if some don't like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Do they have any evidence or voting trends that show people like AOC or other progressives lost them votes? The progressive candidates did pretty well overall so wouldn't they have suffered too if that was the case? Been hearing these complaints since as soon as the counts started but as yet no clear insight into how much substance lies behind them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    President Biden has a big task on his hands:

Managing Covid-19
    The economy (Covid related)
    A dreadfully fractured country
    Domestic terrorism
    Gun violence
    Foreign affairs

He will need to surround himself with strong and capable people.

And plenty of Secret Service officers.

listermint wrote: »
    Progressives had a massive part to play in biden over the line. It has to be awknowledged. Even if some don't like it.

This. It was mentioned on CNN earlier that for example, Ilhan Omar was out knocking on doors to get people to vote even though her own seat was safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,931 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Biden did for the Democrats what was needed.
    To win back that narrow demographic of voters that Clinton alienated back in 2016.
    And he did more too, like likely flipping GA and AZ.
    I don't think any other candidate would have been able to do the former, never-mind the latter.

I think this election had a lot of a "single issue" feel about it.
    The single issue was to get Trump out and I think you had a lot of younger and first time voters out to do that and that's what they did.
    Even saying that Trump, the man that everyone is supposed to hate, got the second highest vote of any presidential candidate ever. So there are a hell of a lot of people out there that still support Trump.

And then the GOP did much better at the house and senate races than people expected.
    There was no blue wave, the GOP vote held up in spite of Trump.
    And I think it was that GOP support was a rejection of the Democrats and their support/lack of action on the likes of Antifa and BLM.

• Registered Users Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

Limpy wrote: »
    We'll see how Joe handles his BLM fan boys sooner rather then later.

All the funding that the democrats gave to BLM will be pulled and the media will be told to cease & no longer write about them. So they will seem to disappear and Joe will be lauded as a man of peace.

Eventually the penny will drop that they were used to win the election and they will be fairly pissed off !! Watch the space......

All the funding that the democrats gave to BLM will be pulled and the media will be told to cease & no longer write about them. So they will seem to disappear and Joe will be lauded as a man of peace.

Eventually the penny will drop that they were used to win the election and they will be fairly pissed off !! Watch the space......

Have you any evidence that the Dems funded BLM?

they/them/theirs

BLM was funded via a company called ActBlue which is the fundraising tool used by the Democrats. ActBlue does not allow Republican to fundraise via its platform. Their entire basis is help fund raise for the Democrats and fund raise democrat causes. They are the Democrats but not officially the Democrats but really are the Democrats, if you get me. They need to keep the entities separate for legal reasons,to make sure it doesn't fall back on the Democrats.

Sounds her convoluted. Too convoluted to be true.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

ActBlue is not a part of the Democrat party. But rest assured probably 99% of donations BLM receives are from Democrats like myself. Which reminds me, I’ll have to donate to Ossoff and Warnock for the GA senate runoffs......

• Registered Users Posts: 39,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I personally can’t wait to hear Kamala Harris speak in a bit because yes joe Biden winning is great and the worldwide reaction shows that and maybe American diplomats for the next four years when they speak, the opposite numbers in other countries won’t have to check Twitter to get the official line. But yeah Kamala harris speech will be a good one, because it’ll probably be an emotional one for her, given her parents aren't there and also the historic nature of her elevation to the second highest office in America. Even for a hardened politician that can’t not affect you.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Will ye get off the web. Ye are gobbling up all the bandwidth !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

That's a bit of a bizarre conclusion when you look at the various other measures passed. A bunch of states legalized various drugs, Florida increased their minimum wage to eventually hit $15, Arizona increased income tax for the wealthier, Nebraska added a gambling tax, with some of it going to addiction services, Utah expanded their income tax to allow it to pay for disability services for children etc.

It seems that progressive policies have been pretty popular in this election, even in red states.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Blowfish wrote: »
    That's a bit of a bizarre conclusion when you look at the various other measures passed. A bunch of states legalized various drugs, Florida increased their minimum wage to eventually hit $15, Arizona increased income tax for the wealthier, Nebraska added a gambling tax, with some of it going to addiction services, Utah expanded their income tax to allow it to pay for disability services for children etc.

It seems that progressive policies have been pretty popular in this election, even in red states.

Not sure of the exact figures but something like 30 democratic socialists stood for house or senate election and 24 of them got over the line. That's a pretty whopping 80% success rate and they were far from all safe dem areas. Plus, those running on a M4A platform, which many said was a negative issue, also enjoyed huge success. So i think any proper analysis of the overall dem performance simply has to pay more than lip service to those trends.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

https://www.politico.com/news/2020/11/07/joe-biden-cabinet-picks-possible-choices-433431?aid=app_feed

This is a helpful article that politico have done about the runners and riders to make up the Biden cabinet. Most names I’m aware of and some I’d never heard of. It also goes through the pros and cons of each person in relation to GOP and the left wing of the Democratic Party.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

It is only on International matters that I've taken courses in and given that this is most likely going effect Ireland in world matters I'd comment on.

The previous Democratic admin's foreign affairs, of which Biden played a significant part, had been summarised as by the academic Robert Signh as a major failure for the doctrine of "leading from behind". Between the failled sabilisation in Libya and the lost of prestige during the Syrian Civil war as numerous "red lines" were ignored, US political stock plummeted outside Western European leaders, who ironically were sidelined then by Obama's Pacific pivot.
    Trump on the otherhand, according to acedemics such as Colin Duech in his "Age of Iron Nationalism", has managed to combine an instinctive balancing act between isolation and interventatism to build up US power, re-assuring local allies and avoiding fresh military entaglements.

So given the likely re-installation by Biden of the Obama era policy makers in a world grown more friable and unstable due to the Covid pandemics with the Biden administration yet again engaging in a "pantomine of outrage", it is likely US Global influence again plummets.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,066 ✭✭✭✭Water John

'has managed to combine an instinctive balancing act between isolation and interventatism to build up US power, re-assuring local allies and avoiding fresh military entaglements.' Manach.

I'm sure the Kurds and the Palestinians will be forever grateful.