Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trump vs Biden 2020, Day 64 of the Pennsylvania count (pt 5) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Invidious wrote: »
    Certainly, it would. But unity cuts both ways. It implicitly calls on Trump supporters to stop characterizing their opponents as fake-news promoting, election-stealing libtards. But it also means that Biden's own supporters need to stop characterizing 70+ million of their fellow citizens as ignorant gun-totin' redneck racists. Unity requires both sides to drop the hostility.

Trump had essentially no policy positions at all in his second run. His only appeal was his personality, which is why his rallies were such a big feature of his campaign. That personality is awful. He is an angry, vindictive, spiteful moral chasm of a man, marked by incoherent contrarianism. His followers openly celebrated the fact he was cruel to people they wanted him to be cruel to, and that it easier to be cruel themselves now because of him.

We had to wade through endless swamps of sympathetic "takes" about his followers, but that's what it boils down to. He had nothing else on sale, "I'm hateful and you can be too". He's not religious, he has no economic policy for them, he's been a disaster against Covid, he's got a documented history of dishonesty and conning people. At some point we have to face the reality that he’s a bad guy and people who like him do so for bad reasons.

Those people are welcome to wise up and come along, but the Dems would be insane to bend over to accommodate them. It's not the job of the people Trump's followers delight in hurting to cater to them, or leave them openings to do any more harm than they have already. It would be outright irresponsible to do so, they have made it very clear that when given an inch they'll take a mile, drive to your house, threaten your life, post your license plate and make up some insane conspiracy on a Subreddit about how you're a baby eating pedo.

The Dems have a massive popular vote mandate and a significant electoral college one. Their voters are a diverse spectrum of Americans from various economic backgrounds and geographic areas, and they have quite boringly well thought out and detailed policies geared towards the major issues of the modern US as a whole. They should not waste their time trying to "reconcile" on a personal level with people who were personally completely fine with an authoritarian who encouraged violence against journalists, amplified a pandemic out of spite, wanted innocent men executed, bragged about groping women, etc etc etc. They will never consider themselves "listened to" unless they get their way, which must come at the expense of others, and that way is to make life as miserable as possible for people who aren't them. There's no negotiating with that without opening up the targets of their gibberish rage to harm from them again.

It would be completely irresponsible to coddle people who enjoyed Trump's ****show, they have very clearly shown us who they are and what they enjoy or abide to be inflicted on others. Nothing will bring them around. Time to come to terms with that and get something useful done. They'll find a reason to sulk regardless, the less harm they're given license to do in the meantime the better. They sure wouldn't return the favour.

It's mad that the lesson for Dems, win or lose, is always expected to be "now act how Conservatives would want you to", at some point it's just stupid to humor it anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They haven't gone away you know...
    Looking forward to how Biden and Harris will deal with these groups

https://twitter.com/MrAndyNgo/status/1325289842247299073?s=19
    Same as any other.

These fringe groups are around everywhere. Their manifesto is in far-far-left anarchism. They are in effect left-wing groups with no patience. They're not willing to accept small shifts towards their position, they'd rather everything got fixed all at once.

As a result they tend to be against anything political which is even close to the status quo. In Ireland, Sinn Fein are too centrist for them. Even RBB is too willing to engage in the political process for them. In the context of this election, a Biden win is just more of the same. They would rather the dissolution of the system as a whole.

Key though is that while they want the dissolution of all authoritarian structures, they're not violent groups.

So "dealing with them", involves little more than giving them space to hold megaphones and giving a fair hearing to their issues to identify what can be reasonably fixed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

They haven't gone away you know...
    Looking forward to how Biden and Harris will deal with these groups

https://twitter.com/MrAndyNgo/status/1325289842247299073?s=19

So you're basically confirming that Antifa-BLM was not something the "left" was controlling all along as certain people would have us believe?

I have a feeling they'll be doing more than calling in the National Guard to rough them up and inciting more anger via Twitter/press conferences.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Jaysus I hope there is enough sudocrem for all the sore bottoms.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,314 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

I guess Covid took a day off yesterday ��
    lemonTrees wrote: »
    Was absolutely shocking tbh. I'd hoped we would have seen more sense from the democrats :(

Loving the faux outrage. You Trumpists are the biggest snowflakes and whiners on the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Sitting here this morning, thinking that the absolute pinnacle of Trumps whole run was referring to Jeb Bush as "Low Energy Jeb".

Still gives me a chuckle to this day.

That he was an absolute failure in every other respect kinda ruins it though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I couldn’t help but feel uncomfortable watching the superspreading celebrations last night
    Funny alright how they where all moaning about how unsafe Trump's rallys. But no criticism of 1000's of Bidens fans congragated together yesterday that gets a pass because Biden's supporters are immune to Covid.
    https://twitter.com/kaitlancollins/status/1325153181827911680?s=19

Lads, give it a rest with the disingenuous nonsense.

Your guy lost, get over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The crying on Twitter is a sight to behold. "It's not over yet! The count isn't over! You can't say it's over!", and, "His court cases will get recounts, they'll prove fraud and Trump will win this election!"

Epic levels of denial. This is pseudo-religious stuff. Trump supporters have lost all sense of logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Jin luk wrote: »
    So how many states are going to recount?

I've seen PA are now separating mail in ballots received after 8pm election day,

Could we see another 2000 moment after Al gore thought he won for like 36days after the election only to be overturned and then president Bush won?

Imagine all them leftist faces if that was to happen.

Pennsylvania separated the late arriving postal ballots from the start. They are not included in the current count which has Biden ahead by more than 35,000. The additional postal votes will heavily favour Biden. You can count them, dismiss them, dry your tears with them...doesn't matter. It won't affect the result.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,314 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

seamus wrote: »
    The crying on Twitter is a sight to behold. "It's not over yet! The count isn't over! You can't say it's over!", and, "His court cases will get recounts, they'll prove fraud and Trump will win this election!"

Epic levels of denial. This is pseudo-religious stuff. Trump supporters have lost all sense of logic.

They called Hillary a sore loser in 2016 and she conceded on election night!! The lack of self awareness though is very Trumpian.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,675 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

It's mad that the lesson for Dems, win or lose, is always expected to be "now act how Conservatives would want you to", at some point it's just stupid to humor it anymore.

Yeah, I find that odd too. Almost immediately the musings on Fox etc were all about Biden having to take account of a large number of Trump supporters (70m). Which is perfectly reasonable, the problem being that Trump supporters reveled in ignoring anyone that doesn't agree with them.

Trump himself took the view that anything not praising his was fake news, anybody that disagreed was working against the US.

While the ideal is always to work for everyone, I do agree that many Trump supporters will never accept anything less than everything they want. Even the recent posts about 'Hey, why isn't Biden stopping the super spreader events' shows that they already looking to point score rather than move on from their positions.

In saying all that, Biden has little option but to try to reach out as to do otherwise would on;y split the US further and that, as we can already see from the last 4 years, is not going to go well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,909 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Might as well just throw in the token coloured woman into the mix.

Appears to be the thing to do these days, even though its pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

The tweets from his supporters are hilarious. One said they'd had enough and were leaving this country (USA) and moving to Alaska! Another said they were moving to a place that knows how to run a country; England!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Careful, you are letting your feelings get the better of you

I don't have feelings.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Necro wrote: »
    Lads, give it a rest with the disingenuous nonsense.

Your guy lost, get over it.

Just because those guys are hypocritical whiners doesn't mean the point isn't valid.
    Public health officials warn that jubilant mass celebrations for Biden create a 'high risk' of COVID spread

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

The tweets from his supporters are hilarious. One said they'd had enough and were leaving this country (USA) and moving to Alaska! Another said they were moving to a place that knows how to run a country; England!
    Funnier still some said they were running to wait for it ..MEXICO ...as though they would be welcome with open arms.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

I wonder what Hillary Clinton will get out of the deal. Probably defense, or Secretary of State. Sleepy Joe is little more than sock puppet for the clintons who have been in the White House in some form for 16 out of the last 30 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,675 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

ebbsy wrote: »

What are you talking about? Kamala, the picture of the hug? Some references would help.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Amazing the amount of people using "the left" and "leftist" in the context of American politics. And then, even more amazing, using those terms about Irish posters in a discussion about American politics on an Irish discussion board. Shallow ignorance.

Just because those guys are hypocritical whiners doesn't mean the point isn't valid.
    Public health officials warn that jubilant mass celebrations for Biden create a 'high risk' of COVID spread

Don't disagree at all - but anyone with two eyes in their head can see WHY those posters are suddenly bringing up Covid.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Loving the faux outrage. You Trumpists are the biggest snowflakes and whiners on the planet.
    IiohSSh_d.webp?maxwidth=640&shape=thumb&fidelity=medium

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Halenvaneddie

Thank you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

It's real shame Biden isn't taking the reigns today and not in January as i believe it could play a big part in helping us out with the coming Brexit disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭ollkiller

I had steak and chips last night but had ran out of salt so just poured some of the comments from this thread on the chips. Actually was too salty in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,174 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Amazing the amount of people using "the left" and "leftist" in the context of American politics. And then, even more amazing, using those terms about Irish posters in a discussion about American politics on an Irish discussion board. Shallow ignorance.

It is quite hilarious, an american friend of mine has been calling Kamala a socialist, i pointed out that im more socialist than she is yet i voted for FG, he still hasnt replied.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

ebbsy wrote: »

Did you have a less "pointless" choice in mind? She's actually got a track record as DA in SF, AG of California and a US Senator. She also represents diversity and gender in America. These are all good things. Now, she could turn out to be awful but usually one likes to see people on the job first.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭lemonTrees

namloc1980 wrote: »

Eh i'm not a Trump supporter. I'm delighted Biden has been elected. :confused:

lemonTrees wrote: »
    It's real shame Biden isn't taking the reigns today and not in January as i believe it could play a big part in helping us out with the coming Brexit disaster.

Watch the state governors and officials listen to Biden on Covid though while Donny bangs his fists on the desk of the Oval Office like a bold child ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,070 ✭✭✭✭briany

Some of those comments could be parody.

The point isn't valid in the context of the post. Unlike Trump, Biden did not organise crowds and rallies like this. There are both dumb Democrats and dumb Republicans, the dangerous thing is when the leader himself is dumb and organises such rallies and encourages people to attend such rallies.