Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trump vs Biden 2020, Day 64 of the Pennsylvania count (pt 5) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭drogon.

Interesting, in the press conference he had to bite his tongue from finishing the sentence that "his
    administration will not go into a lock down, but the next administration could go into a lock down". Delusion level certainly has come down

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭Concannon7

Ah here you'd think Trump handmade the vaccine himself according to this guy

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

briany wrote: »
    Eh, Trump's a blowhard who laughably over-exaggerates all that which could possibly make him look good. I don't think we should be taking Trump's definition of anything on board. Trump did not win 2016 by a landslide at all. Losing the popular vote and winning by tight margins in some states does not sound like a landslide. Looked good enough in terms of electoral college votes, which is the main thing, but if 2016 taught anything it was drill down into the numbers.

It was a good and welcome win for Biden, but landslide has connotations that the election represented a strong repudiation of Trump, even though he increased his vote number by 10 million. That base doesn't look to be going anywhere, so the narrative of 'Joe Biden beat Trump by a landslide and Trump was never heard from again' isn't really a goer. Vigilance will be needed to maintain a lead over Trump in 4 years or whoever is running on the Trumpist platform by then.

Using someone own words against them is tried and tested satire.

Its funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,771 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Looks like Trump wants to set up his own half-assed provisional government.

https://twitter.com/msnireland/status/1327359642691805185

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭Sparko

This press conference is quite the ego massage. I hope there are questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,597 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Not sure I like this new cast. Too many new characters being brought in as the series is coming to an end.

It's the build up to the season finale

Don't forget....winter is coming!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭omega man

Looks like Trump wants to set up his own half-assed provisional government.

https://twitter.com/msnireland/status/1327359642691805185

I’d like to think she’s finished but I’m sure she’ll get picked up by the likes of newsmax or oann etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,313 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Pence is such a sycophant. He's constantly wedged up Trump's arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,044 ✭✭✭✭briany

drogon. wrote: »
    Interesting, in the press conference he had to bite his tongue from finishing the sentence that "his
    administration will not go into a lock down, but the next administration could go into a lock down". Delusion level certainly has come down

I read it as him trying to say, "Joe Biden would impose a lockdown if the transition takes place, so maybe let me continue being president?"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Is it just me or does Mike Pence look kinda Russian?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

py2006 wrote: »

Jesus he was so far up Trumps hole there. Was thinking considering everyone outside of Trumps family who has fallen foul of him over his term Pence still is in the good books. Can see why.

Pence is actually Sligo stock of all places.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭drogon.

Pence is such a sycophant. He's constantly wedged up Trump's arse.

Probably needs another vaccine to get his head out of Trump's arse in January !

153k new cases in one day. But it's grand, the vaccine will be available to the general public in April. It was like a presser from about 6 months ago, before 250k Americans died.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,331 ✭✭✭Cody montana

py2006 wrote: »

Think Russia banned that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Sending emails registering your dislike of a companys business practice is undemocratic?

How is this not clicking with people? This is the methodology of the liberal twitter mob injecting itself directly into the political and legal process. If you were suing someone would you like them using social media to drive a wedge between you and your lawyer? Or is it ok here because "Ha ha, Trump's a spa and so are all his supporters so we can do what we want"?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,825 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

sabat wrote: »
    How is this not clicking with people? This is the methodology of the liberal twitter mob injecting itself directly into the political and legal process. If you were suing someone would you like them using social media to drive a wedge between you and your lawyer? Or is it ok here because "Ha ha, Trump's a spa and so are all his supporters so we can do what we want"?

It's a form of protesting.

Rather than getting on a bus and picketing a legal firm, people are doing it online.

At least they won't get tear gassed if Trump happens to be driving by and wants a photo op.

But sure. Trump's megarich firms are launching vexatious law suits which are tantamount to an abuse of process and represent one of the most fundamental attacks on the american system of democracy, but "oh no's, look at the tweets".

• Registered Users Posts: 18,313 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Looks like Trump lost 7 court cases in Pennsylvania alone today. Absolute embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,597 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Looks like Trump lost 7 court cases in Pennsylvania alone today. Absolute embarrassment.

Just a sad continuation of the last four years really.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

briany wrote: »
    Eh, Trump's a blowhard who laughably over-exaggerates all that which could possibly make him look good. I don't think we should be taking Trump's definition of anything on board. Trump did not win 2016 by a landslide at all. Losing the popular vote and winning by tight margins in some states does not sound like a landslide. Looked good enough in terms of electoral college votes, which is the main thing, but if 2016 taught anything it was drill down into the numbers.

It was a good and welcome win for Biden, but landslide has connotations that the election represented a strong repudiation of Trump, even though he increased his vote number by 10 million. That base doesn't look to be going anywhere, so the narrative of 'Joe Biden beat Trump by a landslide and Trump was never heard from again' isn't really a goer. Vigilance will be needed to maintain a lead over Trump in 4 years or whoever is running on the Trumpist platform by then.

Yeah, we know it's not a landslide. That's the point.

sabat wrote: »

Do you actually think that's why they stopped representing him, or was it more likely that like a few of trumps other lawyers they would
    1. Be disbarred.
    OR
    2. Weren't going to get paid.
    OR.
    3.1&2.

Lawyers represent people who are disliked, hated even on a daily basis world wide and get crap from people for doing so. I don't agree with them getting such crap but they follow through with representing their clients despite any crap they received because
    1. They won't lose their licence to practice by doing so. Unless of course they are involved in illegal activities themselves as part of their involvement in the case..
    2. They will be paid. Unless of course they are doing no win no fee and actually lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭vojiwox

Did he except questions after?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,825 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

vojiwox wrote: »

Did he win the election?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

vojiwox wrote: »
    Na the spineless sh1te hid

Wanna support genocide?Cheer on the murder of women and children?The Ruzzians aren't rapey enough for you? Morally bankrupt cockroaches and islamaphobes , Israel needs your help NOW!!

http://tinyurl.com/2ksb4ejk

https://www.btselem.org/

• Registered Users Posts: 38,589 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

lemonTrees wrote:
    They are as much a part of the problem as the Trump's of this world. Only interested in dividing not uniting
    Well said.
    PropJoe10 wrote:
    Biden 306-232 Trump. Not even a close race. Flipping 5 states is a great achievement for Biden and his campaign. Plus a 5.5 million surplus in the popular vote. Regardless of what Trump and his mindless sycophants are saying, this is a solid and clear victory.
    How many people in the history of United States presidential elections have won by less than that?

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Aleece2020

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Lawyers represent people who are disliked, hated even on a daily basis world wide and get crap from people for doing so. I don't agree with them getting such crap but they follow through with representing their clients despite any crap they received because
    1. They won't lose their licence to practice by doing so.
    2. They will be paid. Unless of course they are doing no win no fee and actually lose.

The whole situation has become a total mess. Trump has been getting on twitter and he is losing the plot on an almost daily basis. He's continually posting all CAPS rants about the election being stolen and claiming that millions of votes have been switched to Biden without any form of evidence accompanying it.

Can you imagine the complete and utter nightmare it'd be for a lawyer trying to work with him when he constantly goes off the rails like this? If he just put down his phone, stepped away from the internet and gathered up this "tremendous proof" that he claims that he has, and gave it to his lawyers he would not be losing cases left and right.

He would be a lot better off if he stopped fueling the narrative of "this election was stolen" on Twitter and trying to convince his supporters and instead, focused on convincing the courts.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,090 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Do you actually think that's why they stopped representing him, or was it more likely that like a few of trumps other lawyers they would
    1. Be disbarred.
    OR
    2. Weren't going to get paid.
    OR.
    3.1&2.

1. They won't lose their licence to practice by doing so.

they can be disbarred for perjury, hence this exact line of questioning from the judge that lead to the bizarre response. basically, are you willing to put your licence on the line (all the judge wanted was a straight answer):

“I am asking you as a member of the bar of this court, are people representing the Donald J. Trump for president (campaign) … in that room?” U.S. District Judge Paul S. Diamond asked.

“There’s a nonzero number of people in the room,” campaign lawyer Jerome Marcus replied.

so in this case, the lawyer was alleging there was no one in the room (representing trump), whereas in fact there was a non-zero number. apparently a judge asking a question in the above manner is a big deal, and no lawyer would give a false answer.

Aleece2020 wrote: »
    The whole situation has become a total mess. Trump has been getting on twitter and he is losing the plot on an almost daily basis. He's continually posting all CAPS rants about the election being stolen and claiming that millions of votes have been switched to Biden without any form of evidence accompanying it.

Can you imagine the complete and utter nightmare it'd be for a lawyer trying to work with him when he constantly goes off the rails like this? If he just put down his phone, stepped away from the internet and gathered up this "tremendous proof" that he claims that he has, and gave it to his lawyers he would not be losing cases left and right.

He would be a lot better off if he stopped fueling the narrative of "this election was stolen" on Twitter and trying to convince his supporters and instead, focused on convincing the courts.

It's a bit hard to have evidence of this happening when your own agency charged with confirming the security of the election says it hasn't happened.

Easier to fire the heads of those agency sections for saying so and have a rant on Twitter in an attempt to continue to grift those that support you into paying your legal bills and your upcoming loan repayments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

eagle eye wrote: »
    Well said.

How many people in the history of United States presidential elections have won by less than that?

Bush v Gore, Bush v Kerry, Carter v Ford, Nixon v Kennedy. They were all closer off the top of my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Aleece2020

It's a bit hard to have evidence of this happening when your own agency charged with confirming the security of the election says it hasn't happened.

Easier to fire the heads of those agency sections for saying so and have a rant on Twitter in an attempt to continue to grift those that support you into paying your legal bills and your upcoming loan repayments.

Someone I know over there, who admittedly voted for Trump, has gotten multiple emails from their campaign asking for money. In the fine print, over half of the money is going to pay for his campaign debt and will not be used in any further court cases etc.

Those emails look so spammy and horrendous too. They say things like "donate $5 and increase your impact by 1000%" and "1000% offer: active." They're like bloody pop-up advertisements.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Even his own investigation setup whilst he was president and not at risk of losing another election for nearly 4 more years and tasked with finding evidence of the 2 million fake votes for Hillary Clinton that meant he lost despite winning in 2016 couldn't find any evidence of it having happened. They didn't have the deadline of an impending inauguration to work to either, could take all the time they wanted... Yet nothing was found.

Every vote he is part of, if it's to become a candidate, a president, to win a TV award... Anything at all... Before the voting even happens he'll claim the system is rigged against him and then continue claiming so after he loses. It was such a habit already by 2016 though that he couldn't help claiming he'd been cheated even when he'd won.