Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trump vs Biden 2020, Day 64 of the Pennsylvania count (pt 5) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 23,764 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

duploelabs wrote: »
    Rudy is no more a successful lawyer as trump is a successful businessman, birds of a feather

Wasn't always like that funnily enough. He was good back in the 80's and had a lot of mob bosses locked up in NY.

Then he went crazy around the turn of the millenium.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

PropJoe10 wrote: »
    It's quite unbelievable that he's gone from "America's Mayor" to this.

Not really.

Rudy Giuliani was always a piece of crap and most New Yorkers will tell you so. They remember him as the guy who relinquished rent controls and gave the "market" to the landlords, who subsequently shot up the cost of rent in the city and boroughs to a ridiculous degree, forcing people further and further out of the state they were born in and away from their families. $3000 a month rent for a kip in Brooklyn is his fault.

He rode the bandwagon of 9/11 and for a short time enjoyed a bit of ra-ra, making sure to capitalise on a good crisis. But the Giuliani you're seeing in display, now, is the classic wanker he's always been.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,470 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Wasn't always like that funnily enough. He was good back in the 80's and had a lot of mob bosses locked up in NY.

not crazy just got sloppy. Desperation will do that to you
    https://davidallengreen.com/2020/11/a-bad-day-in-court-for-rudolph-giuliani-the-possible-significance-of-his-inability-to-answer-one-important-question-from-the-judge/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I genuinely am baffled by the adulation that the Trump fans have for Trump. They cheer on every destructive thing he does and says even now up to the point where he is actively trying to undermine the democratic process and trying to literally steal the election.

The man has no positive qualities that you'd expect to see in a leader. In fact if you thought of all the bad leadership qualities Trump would tick the box on them all: no integrity, self-centered, poor communicator, no vision for the future, surrounds themselves with yes-men etc.

What do people see in him? It's bonkers.

Absolutely I cannot understand the support he still commands in the US. The closest we have is the national party, who might get a few hundred votes in an election.

I genuinely am baffled by the adulation that the Trump fans have for Trump. They cheer on every destructive thing he does and says even now up to the point where he is actively trying to undermine the democratic process and trying to literally steal the election.

The man has no positive qualities that you'd expect to see in a leader. In fact if you thought of all the bad leadership qualities Trump would tick the box on them all: no integrity, self-centered, poor communicator, no vision for the future, surrounds themselves with yes-men etc.

Because he's

Big into conspiracy theories.

Big into giving out about foreigners or being not white.

Big into treating people like sh1t because of their gender, sexual orientation, disabilities etc.

Why wouldn't some support him if they are of the same mind even on one of the above or the whole bingo card?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

He's a representation of their latent and explicit problems with modern society. Race equality, LGBTI, abortion, immigration etc. Trump espouses their opinions on these 'problems' so they ignore the fact that he is an appalling human being.

exvq0y04mb061.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

You're talking about a country that has evangelical preachers, who grift off of fools and relieve them of their money every week. A country that produced the likes of Jim Jones and David Koresh. A place where there are folk who are waiting for the end times so they can experience the "Rapture". A religious class of WASP that looks forward to Armageddon in Israel, so it can fulfil some Biblical baloney.

It's a nation that's choc-a-bloc with the most absurd type of moron. Morons who will often drown out the more steady minded majority, but who'll garner a lot more attention than their grounded-in-reality counterpart.

It's also a country where the people know that the system is wrong on so many levels. It's a system that works against it's citizens in a large part. As Chomsky once said, "People know that things need fixing, they just don't know how to proceed."

So, along comes someone like Trump, who promises a lot of guff. A salesman trading in mantas and chants, saying stuff that people want to hear. He has absolutely no intention on following through with his promises, of course and, in reality, he has no real way of doing so either. But that doesn't matter to him. He's in it for the scam. But he'll get a lot of believers on his side from within and without. Even poor deluded fools on Irish internet forums, who ignore the absolute travesty that Trump and his gooftroop have littered the American political system with. A system that was in very poor shape to begin with.

Certain people want to be led to the promised land and they find it extremely difficult to simply admit that they backed a fraud and a charlatan, because being merely "wrong" is, somehow, worse than being a fool to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

He's a representation of their latent and explicit problems with modern society. Race equality, LGBTI, abortion, immigration etc. Trump espouses their opinions on these 'problems' so they ignore the fact that he is an appalling human being.

Do you think they're actually ignoring it or are they honestly not aware of it?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,813 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I am not a fan of rudy but what did he do that is illegal?(maybe he did and I just missed it)

He is just a lawyer, he is paid to represent his client, that is what he is doing in his own ridiculous way.

Rudy is the target of an investigation lead by the SDNY, which he used to lead himself.

He has two accomplices in a particular endevour - Igor Fruman and Les Parnas, both of whom are under indictment.

Rudy is up to his hair-dyed neck in it. If he does get a pardon from Trump, it can only be in relation to federal crimes. It won't cover State crimes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Can't believe this is still rumbling on. What a mess the US has become.

Every single thing they are doing can be put down to three things IMHO;

1) Trump's malignant narcissism - cannot accept defeat and will do whatever he can to avoid it
    2) a desperate attempt to retain the legal protection of the Office due to imminent threats once he is outside
    3) using it as a base to run for 2024

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

How rudy has not been disbarred I don't know. the cases he brings would make the most obnoxious ambulance chaser blush.

Came across youtuber that was summing up the various court actions that have been thrown out and basically compared it to Joe Pesci's character in My Cousin Vinny when asked by judge how did his clients plead.
    The choice was either Guilty or Not Guilty and he couldn't give an answer.

The judges in some of these cases have just asked for proof of the alleged frauds to be greeted with waffle they have dismissed as simply inadmissable hearsay.

EDIT: Feckin hell I didn't know Guilliani had referenced My Cousin Vinny during his sweat out.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

everlast75 wrote: »
    Every single thing they are doing can be put down to three things IMHO;

1) Trump's malignant narcissism - cannot accept defeat and will do whatever he can to avoid it
    2) a desperate attempt to retain the legal protection of the Office due to imminent threats once he is outside
    3) using it as a base to run for 2024

Correction to that.

One of the big reasons apart from realing trying to stay in power and out of jail and keep the Republican party under his influence so they can help bail him out when he faces jail is ... MONEY

The longer he keeps this farce going that he is fighting the result in court the longer he can keep sucking money out of his moronic base.
    And he needs money to pay off debts, including his campaign debts.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Smee_Again wrote: »
    Do you think they're actually ignoring it or are they honestly not aware of it?

Fair point. For some, his behaviour is admirable and is a mirror image of themselves. More turn a blind eye in the interest of promoting their policies. And others, as you say, are simply too stupid to see what he is.

https://twitter.com/joshtpm/status/1329776726726111233?s=20

I think Trump derangement syndrome is really the lengths his supporters go to to placate the big baby that he is...

Geraldo is a piece of **** journalist and I use that word quite loosely.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

I am not a fan of rudy but what did he do that is illegal?(maybe he did and I just missed it)

He is just a lawyer, he is paid to represent his client, that is what he is doing in his own ridiculous way.

For one, he (yes, Rudy himself) is claiming to have stored and held onto child porn on his computer which he "slept with at night."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Dante7

Ed Norton bang on the money with this thread.

https://twitter.com/EdwardNorton/status/1329728889296355328?s=20

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

I think Trump derangement syndrome is really the lengths his supporters go to to placate the big baby that he is...

There is no way they will get the rest of the world to agree with that. Trumps name pissess off half of America and he hated in most rest of the world.

Honestly, Trump needs to go to prison. Justice needs to be served so the US can move on.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,638 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

How rudy has not been disbarred I don't know. the cases he brings would make the most obnoxious ambulance chaser blush.

Well - He did sort of lie in the court case earlier in the week.

He claimed to be a "Lawyer in good standing in D.C." as part of his submission , but it turns out he was struck off the rolls in DC years ago for non payment of fees.

Not sure of the censure for that given that he's not trying to plead before a DC court , but it isn't great...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,638 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Not so sure about that really...

I watched a Documentary on Netflix recently covering the Mafia and there was an episode about that time in New York.

Aside from the Press Conferences it looked to me like Giuliani did next to nothing in those cases.

It was 2 or 3 other attorneys in the NY DA's office that actually did the work and tried the cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

I'm starting to think things really aren't going to turn out well for the Americans, and the consequences could be very destabilizing for Europe too.

Trump is throwing the kitchen sink at overturning the election results, and in the unlikely event that he succeeds - I really don't think the Democrats will be content with just widespread protests. I just don't see them going on with it. I think they might try to physically take Trump down, which will prompt a police crackdown, and very high level of violence...would it lead to actual organised civil war? For sure Biden will not lead it, but perhaps some of the hardened leftists? I don't see them calling for actual violence...maybe...but the alternative of accepting 4 more years of Trump does not seem plausible either.

On the other hand if the process brushes Trump aside and Biden is confirmed...he will obviously forever keep claiming the election was stolen from him, but more importantly I don't think he will actually leave the White House. At this point he has gone so far I don't see him giving it up without physical intervention. And then the few but violent Trump crazies will riot/attack to protect him...could it get organized? Would Trump lead an actual civil war?

99.9% certainty if this situation was developing in a third world country it would have already led to an actual civil war.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,859 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

He was great for NYC all the way until the end of his tenure. Really cleaned it up. New York was quite dangerous and a bit of a kip in large parts.

Hes insane now though yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I think that's most definitely enough internet for today. Do these people even listen to themselves.

The_Brood wrote: »
    I'm starting to think things really aren't going to turn out well for the Americans, and the consequences could be very destabilizing for Europe too.

Trump is throwing the kitchen sink at overturning the election results, and in the unlikely event that he succeeds - I really don't think the Democrats will be content with just widespread protests. I just don't see them going on with it. I think they might try to physically take Trump down, which will prompt a police crackdown, and very high level of violence...would it lead to actual organised civil war? For sure Biden will not lead it, but perhaps some of the hardened leftists? I don't see them calling for actual violence...maybe...but the alternative of accepting 4 more years of Trump does not seem plausible either.

On the other hand if the process brushes Trump aside and Biden is confirmed...he will obviously forever keep claiming the election was stolen from him, but more importantly I don't think he will actually leave the White House. At this point he has gone so far I don't see him giving it up without physical intervention. And then the few but violent Trump crazies will riot/attack to protect him...could it get organized? Would Trump lead an actual civil war?

99.9% certainty if this situation was developing in a third world country it would have already led to an actual civil war.

trump is a physical coward. He would **** himself at the thought of being physically removed from the white house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

trump is a physical coward. He would **** himself at the thought of being physically removed from the white house.

Yes but i think even if Trump actually physically left at the end, his supporters will go to war in the most literal sense. Not just rallies and protests. Maybe it wouldnt reach actual organised war? It is hard to tell. But they are so entrenched and getting wider GOP support that I am not seeing how they will eventually settle down.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,174 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Michael Cohen reckons he will flee to Mar A Lago for christmas and not come back

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

VinLieger wrote: »
    Michael Cohen reckons he will flee to Mar A Lago for christmas and not come back

Wouldn't surprise me, he barely had any interest in the doing the job the past 4 years, he has less than zero now.

I don't think anyone would actually mind if he is a no show on the 20th of Jan.