Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you adhering to the Households rule?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

skimpydoo wrote: »
    My sister was in Grafton St earlier this afternoon and she said it was jammers. Lots of people not wearing masks and lots of families out too. She also noticed people sitting and standing eating ice creams and McDonalds.

To those of you advocating that we get back to normal, do you think what my sister saw is ok?

Your sister was there too

• Registered Users Posts: 30,510 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

How can I alert them when I wasn't there. My sister was there and she is not a happy camper with what she saw.

Did she alert the Gardai tough?
    I take she took herself out of the situation if it wasn’t a necessary reason for her being their.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Your sister was there too

Yet that doesn’t make everyone else right. All it does is give you that little moment of smug. Smug won’t beat this.

Look at the **** quoted below. Surely sitting back like he’s a right winner making all the smart quips and all, looking like a right lad. But they’re the reason some people hadn’t that last time with a loved one or couldn’t even see someone buried. It’s all a big laugh until it’s not someone else I suppose.
    Did she alert the Gardai tough?
    I take she took herself out of the situation if it wasn’t a necessary reason for her being their.

I really hope this is some hyperactive child looking for attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

we know a lot more about this virus 9 months later and one of those things is that it is far less lethal or dangerous than initially believed.

Don't tell me

I've heard this one before

No wait hang on

It's on the tip of my tongue

"It's only the Flu!"

(Nailed it)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭acequion

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Hopefully we outnumber the likes of you

This is a country that gave us Yeats and Trinity college. Yet in 2020 you've entitled adults in it wanting to celebrate Christmas normally during a once in a century pandemic

And, let's be honest, the pathetic fascination the Irish have with alcohol is a big part of this "celebration"

You've grown men on the Pubs thread here going on - legitimately - like 4 year olds because they can't go play with their pals in the local

It would be darkly hilarious if it wasn't so serious

I sincerely hope you don't and I don't think you do. As I've just said in another post most people are essentially good natured.

Your post above is a study in gibberish. And a thinly veiled rant against alcohol which nobody was talking about. If you've got a problem with alcohol, pubs and all that, go rant elsewhere.

Your reference to Yeats and Trinity college is both irrelevant and ridiculous. Completely ridiculous.

In fact I've not seen you post anything of substance. Just angry rants and insults at anyone who dares to disagree with you.

Why don't you just grow up!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭robbiezero

How can I alert them when I wasn't there. My sister was there and she is not a happy camper with what she saw.

Its a disgrace. How dare people think of going to the same place she was going.
    She should have had the street to herself.

Who did those other people think they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

acequion wrote: »

In fact I've not seen you post anything of substance. Just angry rants and insults at anyone who dares to disagree with you.

You're literally describing yourself there

No interest in continuing any exchanges with you

I just pray I don't meet too many more like you in person till my family and I are vaccinated

Hopefully we outnumber the likes of you

This is a country that gave us Yeats and Trinity college. Yet in 2020 you've entitled adults in it wanting to celebrate Christmas normally during a once in a century pandemic

And, let's be honest, the pathetic fascination the Irish have with alcohol is a big part of this "celebration"

You've grown men on the Pubs thread here going on - legitimately - like 4 year olds because they can't go play with their pals in the local

It would be darkly hilarious if it wasn't so serious

You know you personally are not actually forced to come out of Level 5.
    You can stay in Level 5 for the next decade if you like.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,914 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

robbiezero wrote: »
    Its a disgrace. How dare people think of going to the same place she was going.
    She should have had the street to herself.

Who did those other people think they were.

I think the fact that people were congregating and not wearing masks is worrying. Does that not bother you? Or are you from that I'm all right jack brigade?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

I sincerely hope you don't and I don't think you do. As I've just said in another post most people are essentially good natured.

Your post above is a study in gibberish. And a thinly veiled rant against alcohol which nobody was talking about. If you've got a problem with alcohol, pubs and all that, go rant elsewhere.

Your reference to Yeats and Trinity college is both irrelevant and ridiculous. Completely ridiculous.

From looking at your posting history most of your comments on this forum are ironically enough exactly what you accuse others of namely studies in arrogance as demonstrated again in your latest comment. You appear to have various issues and you might consider getting professional help to deal with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Parabellum9

I think the fact that people were congregating and not wearing masks is worrying. Does that not bother you? Or are you from that I'm all right jack brigade?

Do the crowds of school kids every day congregating without masks after school worry you as well? Or is it only the adults? How concerned are you on the Tony Holohan scale?

Doesn't bother me in the slightest.
    Neither I nor my family were there.
    You couldn't pay me to go into Grafton street at this time of the year Corona or no Corona.

• Registered Users Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Thats me

I just pray I don't meet too many more like you in person till my family and I are vaccinated

Even if vaccinated better to wash your hands after meeting such person :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yet that doesn’t make everyone else right. All it does is give you that little moment of smug. Smug won’t beat this.

Look at the **** quoted below. Surely sitting back like he’s a right winner making all the smart quips and all, looking like a right lad. But they’re the reason some people hadn’t that last time with a loved one or couldn’t even see someone buried. It’s all a big laugh until it’s not someone else I suppose.

I find it ironic that the posters sister was giving out about people on Grafton street while she was also there . Nothing more nothing less

Its like people giving out about the prom in Dun Laoire being packed . We realised it was packed and likely to be packed on a sunny day so we quite simply dont go there

I really hope this is some hyperactive child looking for attention.

Aren’t you great with your smart answer.

I do hope the persons sister reported the dangerous situation she saw and she didn’t just tell people about how awful it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,690 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

robbiezero wrote: »
    You know you personally are not actually forced to come out of Level 5.
    You can stay in Level 5 for the next decade if you like.

I think these posts are just a lonely persons cry for help, the pandemic has finally cracked them mentally... and the worst thing is that then you have the likes of Misery latching on to their cry for help and becoming like a cheerleader for them... and all of it has little to do with the Virus and more to do with their hatred for others who dare to behave normally and within the laws....

I feel sorry for them, they really need to go sit down and talk with a professional(over video call of course!)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The scary thing is that there's many like you out there!

there are, we are in the majority.
    nothing scarey about it at all.
    You see your intentions are noble and all but your end game is implausible. You essentially want everyone restricted under the guise that someone in the at risk or elderly category might catch it because they are going about their business. That is an unachievable goal because even with a vaccine, we have a cohort in this country who won’t take it - therefore the country will never be covid free 100% and there will always be a risk to those groups. Do we all stay locked down until all of the elderly/at risk have died from natural/non covid cases???

We’ve reached a point where personal responsibility has to come in to play and society has to reopen - you simply cannot expect 95% of the population to remain in perpetual lockdowns because someone might catch it who it will kill. It’s an idealistic scenario but simply fairy tale stuff. That sounds brutal but it’s the truth at this point.

we do what we need to do until the cohort who refuse to get vaccinated actually do so.
    if that means lock down such that the rest of us getting annoyed force the loons to get the message then so be it.
    a small minority should in no way be allowed to ruin everything for us all when there is a chance of actually getting out of the situation we are in.
    personal responsibility came in at the very start, you will have heard people mention even on this site that they started taking precautions before the government informed the people.
    once again, personal responsibility does absolutely nothing, and will do absolutely nothing, without controlling the virus, we already know this so whining and rants about personal responsibility are meaningless as it is already in existence and is the case, and it is able to work thanks to controlling the virus.
    society will reopen when it is sustainable for it to actually do so, covid is not going to be let go uncontrolled in ireland or most countries and you and others need to come to terms with this reality.
    we aren't and never were going to be in perpetual lock downs, however minimal restrictions with the odd short term lock down were always going to be the approach, and again, people need to come to terms with this reality.
    Wow just wow!! The "decent" no less Has to be in line for virtue signalling comment of the week.

What you consider "decent" is what I would call angry, self righteous, sanctimonious, bullying, narrow minded, incapable of seeing another viewpoint, I could go on.

But I guess you could never comprehend that people can interpret things very differently.

most of us are perfectly capable of seeing another viewpoint, however when a particular viewpoint has been debunked and yet is continuously being expressed dispite everything being against it, it is no longer simply a viewpoint but rather in the realms of fake news/alternative facts or even damn right lie territory.
    not all opinions are equal, some opinions are factually right, some are factually wrong, some are just opinion.
    You’ve also got grown men here who have been brow beaten in to thinking this is normality now and haven’t a backbone between them to believe otherwise. Too many people stuck in the March mindset - we know a lot more about this virus 9 months later and one of those things is that it is far less lethal or dangerous than initially believed. But continue to peddle the same old ****e lads and Mehole or Tony might give ye a pat on the back for it...

far less lethal and all else because it is being controlled.
    we already know how things turn out when it is not controlled.
    i don't need a pat on the back from tony or anyone for dealing with and accepting reality and facts, that sort of thing is just normal to me and the vast majority of people.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Aren’t you great with your smart answer.

I do hope the persons sister reported the dangerous situation she saw and she didn’t just tell people about how awful it was.

From the king of smart answers. Have you run out of quips?

Nope but it’s my opinion if you don’t like something you should change the situation and not just complain about it to family member, friends or online.

I thought your opinion would be to make a laugh of it to try new get a few thanks. I doubt you have it in you to make a serious addition.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I find it ironic that the posters sister was giving out about people on Grafton street while she was also there . Nothing more nothing less

Its like people giving out about the prom in Dun Laoire being packed . We realised it was packed and likely to be packed on a sunny day so we quite simply dont go there
    She was there doing a click and collect for my mothers birthday as I won't be able to go out and get her birthday present and I won't be able to give it to my mother either.

The present I got my mother was click and collect only.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod

Tensions are running a bit high here at the minute. A number of cards have been issued. Can everyone ease up on the aggression or more cards/bans will be issued.

Thanks.

We’ve reached a point where personal responsibility has to come in to play and society has to reopen - you simply cannot expect 95% of the population to remain in perpetual lockdowns because someone might catch it who it will kill. It’s an idealistic scenario but simply fairy tale stuff. That sounds brutal but it’s the truth at this point.

I never once said anything about "expecting to remain in perpetual lockdown" or zero covid.

My issue is with those at the other end of the spectrum, who want ALL restrictions lifted. That is also implausible - especially when the consequences of that would not come at their expense, but at someone else's. Namely, those in the high risk and vulnerable groups.

The irony is, the more people who follow the restrictions, the lower the rate of transmission and the lower the level of restriction that will be required, and the more freedom EVERYONE will have to go about their business.

I actually agree with the poster who said a lot of this is to do with the irish love of alcohol and socialising. I love a good party as much as the next person, but I won't be attending any this christmas, as I want to stay well, so I can enjoy many more christmas' after this one.

This time last year I was resting up after finishing 3 gruelling years of cancer treatment. I was looking forward to this year so much as I was turning 50 and after what I had been through this year was going to be my year.

Sadly my cancer can't be cured just managed and will come back someday but I hoped this year I could focus on still being here and try and live a normal life again. So far this year I have had to spend a large part of it cocooning because I have a greater chance of dying because my blood cancer has compromised my immune system.

I have also had to miss my fathers 80th birthday, I could not celebrate my 50th birthday properly and I will miss my mothers birthday.

So please forgive me for getting pissed off at people who are making it harder for me to try and live a normal life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

This pandemic has seen all reason go out the window from people on both sides of the argument for and against restrictions. Some utter ****wits exist that cannot handle that people have opinions different to them. They are the ones that piss me off the most.

Seen one active ****wit slate people for jogging a few months back. Always remember the idiocy of that particular post.

From looking at your posting history most of your comments on this forum are ironically enough exactly what you accuse others of namely studies in arrogance as demonstrated again in your latest comment. You appear to have various issues and you might consider getting professional help to deal with them.

Wow!! Glad to see that this post has been dealt with appropriately.

There are some seriously disturbed individuals on this thread.

The level of abuse, name calling, hysteria, personal insults at randomers here on the Internet that they don't even know just because said randomers disagree and have another viewpoint!

Interesting but also disturbing to witness such bullying.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I don’t think anyone wants a free for all, and all restrictions lifted.
    I think level 2 with social distancing, masks, controlled numbers in retail/hospitality and increased hand washing is the fairest compromise.
    I don’t believe that after 9 months it’s fair to put thousands of people out of work for weeks on end at a moments notice.
    You simply can’t hold people to ransom like that, people who have families to support and rent/mortgages to pay. They need to be able to work.
    Lockdown was supposed to be a temporary measure to give the government time to prepare the health service but instead the goal posts have moved and it appears we are now going to be in and out of full lockdown until the majority are vaccinated, however long that takes.

For me it has always been less about freedom and more about the financial and mental hardships these lockdowns have been putting on people.
    This level of sacrifice was an acceptable ask back in March when we were in an emergency situation with very little info, but 9 months on we know a lot better now.
    And it isn’t fair to keep expecting this monumental personal sacrifice from people who have already lost so much. They matter too.
    We clearly aren’t all in this together when some are directly benefitting from this lockdown, either financially or because of personal health concerns, and others are on their knees.

It’s also disappointing to see this continuously downplayed as people being too selfish to forego one normal Christmas, as if we haven’t been burdened under the weight of severe restrictions and hardship for the best part of an entire year. We have all endured a lot and that needs to be acknowledged.
    And this was never going to be a normal Christmas regardless, even with the restrictions being lifted Tuesday.

There is very little risk of transmission from people walking outdoors so the high horse pontificating about people drinking coffee while out seeing the Christmas lights in town is frankly pathetic. If that’s the only bit of joy they get out of their weekend then don’t begrudge them it, ffs.

Ironically I think there are ‘I’m alright Jack’ types on both sides of the argument.
    I find it very very hard to believe that anyone advocating for continued restrictions or finger wagging at people for trying to get some bit of normality don’t have an ulterior motive.
    Whether that’s because they are financially better off in lockdown, they are unsociable introverts, or whether it’s out of concern for their own health or that of a loved one, I don’t know.
    But I just wish they could admit it rather that act all holier then thou as if they’re doing this for the greater good of everyone at a great personal cost.

Everyone who has lost jobs, missed loved ones, spent months on end in isolation, who have had hospital appointments cancelled and are suffering with mental health issues from the loneliness and financial burden of the last few months have gone through that for the direct benefit of other people and to protect them.
    So next time you sneer at someone & make sanctimonious judgments about people who are not at risk and are looking for restrictions to be eased a bit, try to remember that.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I think level 2 with social distancing, masks, controlled numbers in retail/hospitality and increased hand washing is the fairest compromise.
    I don’t believe that after 9 months it’s fair to put thousands of people out of work for weeks on end at a moments notice.
    You simply can’t hold people to ransom like that, people who have families to support and rent/mortgages to pay. They need to be able to work.
    Lockdown was supposed to be a temporary measure to give the government time to prepare the health service but instead the goal posts have moved and it appears we are now going to be in and out of full lockdown until the majority are vaccinated, however long that takes.

For me it has always been less about freedom and more about the financial and mental hardships these lockdowns have been putting on people.
    This level of sacrifice was an acceptable ask back in March when we were in an emergency situation with very little info, but 9 months on we know a lot better now.
    And it isn’t fair to keep expecting this monumental personal sacrifice from people who have already lost so much. They matter too.
    We clearly aren’t all in this together when some are directly benefitting from this lockdown, either financially or because of personal health concerns, and others are on their knees.

It’s also disappointing to see this continuously downplayed as people being too selfish to forego one normal Christmas, as if we haven’t been burdened under the weight of severe restrictions and hardship for the best part of an entire year. We have all endured a lot and that needs to be acknowledged.
    And this was never going to be a normal Christmas regardless, even with the restrictions being lifted Tuesday.

There is very little risk of transmission from people walking outdoors so the high horse pontificating about people drinking coffee while out seeing the Christmas lights in town is frankly pathetic. If that’s the only bit of joy they get out of their weekend then don’t begrudge them it, ffs.

Ironically I think there are ‘I’m alright Jack’ types on both sides of the argument.
    I find it very very hard to believe that anyone advocating for continued restrictions or finger wagging at people for trying to get some bit of normality don’t have an ulterior motive.
    Whether that’s because they are financially better off in lockdown, they are unsociable introverts, or whether it’s out of concern for their own health or that of a loved one, I don’t know.
    But I just wish they could admit it rather that act all holier then thou as if they’re doing this for the greater good of everyone at a great personal cost.

Everyone who has lost jobs, missed loved ones, spent months on end in isolation, who have had hospital appointments cancelled and are suffering with mental health issues from the loneliness and financial burden of the last few months have gone through that for the direct benefit of other people and to protect them.
    So next time you sneer at someone & make sanctimonious judgments about people who are not at risk and are looking for restrictions to be eased a bit, try to remember that.

A fair and balanced post Susie but get ready to be attacked by those who just cannot handle another viewpoint. Those who cannot handle that there are people who don't agree with the constant terror of the virus narrative. You're just banging your head off a wall.

They assume that because we disagree with them we must be utter imbeciles. That we must be demanding a free for all this very minute. No point in telling them that they have us completely wrong as that would interfere with their pigeon holing.

SusieBlue wrote: »

Unfortunately, Covid19 can't read your post, Susie, and "acknowledge your sacrifice" and just decide to feck off and give us all a break from it all for the Christmas season.

I don't see how anyone has "benefitted" from this pandemic - I personally may not have lost my job, but I have lost my mother to covid already. I have had my fair share of hospital appointments cancelled which impact on the very conditions that put me at higher risk, and am struggling with my own mental health and loneliness issues. I haven't been able to see my friends or siblings for months (the last time at our mother's socially distanced funeral) or my GP since February, as they are not allowing face to face consultations. Trust me, I'm not sitting here just enjoying the restrictions at all. .

So in turn, please do not sneer at those of us who are genuinely, authentically worried about what could happen if we contracted this virus - or accuse us of having ulterior motives. The virus is still as lethal as it was back in March, the only thing that has kept it in check are the ongoing restrictions.

I dread to see what the numbers will be like in mid january after a couple of weeks of christmas house parties.

But sure, if you're young and not at risk, why should you care?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Unfortunately, Covid19 can't read your post, Susie, and "acknowledge your sacrifice" and just decide to feck off and give us all a break from it all for the Christmas season.

I don't see how anyone has "benefitted" from this pandemic - I personally may not have lost my job, but I have lost my mother to covid already. I have had my fair share of hospital appointments cancelled which impact on the very conditions that put me at higher risk, and am struggling with my own mental health and loneliness issues. I haven't been able to see my friends or siblings for months (the last time at our mother's socially distanced funeral) or my GP since February, as they are not allowing face to face consultations. Trust me, I'm not sitting here just enjoying the restrictions at all. .

So in turn, please do not sneer at those of us who are genuinely, authentically worried about what could happen if we contracted this virus - or accuse us of having ulterior motives. The virus is still as lethal as it was back in March, the only thing that has kept it in check are the ongoing restrictions.

I dread to see what the numbers will be like in mid january after a couple of weeks of christmas house parties.

But sure, if you're young and not at risk, why should you care?

You have completely misinterpreted my post, probably deliberately, but here we are.
    I’m not asking covid to acknowledge it, I’m asking those who are finger wagging at people out enjoying a coffee to acknowledge it instead of begrudging them a harmless walk to see the Christmas lights.

If you are worried for your own health then of course it’s in your best interests for all 5 million of us to remain in lockdown.
    But I’m not high risk and have already lost one job to this pandemic, I was unemployed for six months of this year and I also had several hospital appointments cancelled for over 5 months so remaining in lockdown absolutely isn’t in my best interests.
    You trying to make out that I and others who share my opinions are selfish granny killers is as offensive and tone deaf to me as those who say people like you are friendless hypochondriacs who are enjoying hiding under their beds.
    I don’t appreciate being labelled selfish as I’m sure you don’t appreciate being referred to as a doomsdayer, or whatever word is being bandied about nowadays.

And I completely disagree, if you are terrified of the virus and want a continued lockdown because of that then you are directly benefiting from the lockdown. It’s ok to admit that.
    There was no benefit to me whatsoever. As I said, that was fine back in March, it was a sacrifice I was more than happy to make.
    I voluntarily restricted my movements two weeks before it was mandatory and followed the rules to the letter.
    But is it really fair or acceptable to expect people who are not at risk to pause their lives for an indefinite amount of time and endure that kind of financial hardship for others?

I believe over a million infections and 150k+ deaths were predicted back in March, so no, it’s absolutely not as deadly as first thought.
    We were lead to believe that young healthy people would be dropping like flies in their hundreds of thousands and that simply hasn’t materialised.

There is absolutely no logic in keeping fit healthy people locked in their homes indefinitely.
    I believe you should be supported by whatever means necessary in cocooning as that’s what’s in your best interests, and that’s what you wish to do, but I no longer think it’s acceptable to resign hundreds of thousands of people to financial devastation and mental strain just to do that. There has to be a better way.

I don’t understand why we are locking down 5 million people instead of directing all the time, attention and resources towards protecting those who are actually at risk and that’s why I’ll never agree with these endless lockdowns.

We can’t sacrifice some people for other people. We all matter here. A balance of interests needs to be struck because the current arrangement simply isn’t sustainable.