Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stereotipical Party Member

• 11-11-2020 1:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭

If you had one line to describe the stereotype of a member of each political party what would it be?

FF

FG

SF

Labour

Renua

• Registered Users Posts: 40,462 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

This will end well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Yes let's make a bunch of lazy stereotypes, that will encourage honest debate from those being stereotyped

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I know one person in my entire family and social circle who is a member of a political party and they are a councillor.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,932 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It’s impossible to differentiate between them at this stage tbh, they’re all politicians claiming to represent their constituents interests which, it just so happens, align neatly with their own self-interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭randd1

redmgar wrote: »
    If you had one line to describe the stereotype of a member of each political party what would it be?

FF - We deserve the very best from the public and deserve to be worshipped, simply because we're Fianna Fail and that's how we always have been

FG - We know we're better than everyone else, and everyone else should realise our superiority and not question it

SF - What way is the wind blowing, and how best can we take advantage of that with unrealistic promises?

Labour - We're now the amnesia party as we don't know who we are, or what we stand for

Renua - We're eternal optimists based on total delusion because we can't see we don't matter

National Party - If you're not true Christian and you're not true white, if you're not true Irish and not far-right, then leave this country or suffer our might. Also, please keep paying our benefits.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

FF - a shower of gob****es

FG - a shower of gob****es

SF - a shower of gob****es

Labour - a shower of gob****es

Renua - a shower of gob****es

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

All cheeks of the same arse .

some of them would be the cause of you losing your house some of them will shoot you in the knees

they have greed selfishness profiteering in common just in different ways

• Registered Users Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Acosta

• Registered Users Posts: 1,782 ✭✭✭I see sheep

FF - Cute whore

FG - Rich farmer

SF - Jackeen from the ghetto

Labour - Teacher

Renua - Do they have any members?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

FF - Aul lads, parish pump politicians, closet pro lifers, the party of the working class who actually work up to the lower middle class and poor/comfortable farmers. Also possibly rural property developers itching for the return of the Galway tent and brown envelope taoiseach's

FG - Landlords, Wealthier farmers, land owners, protestants and tech workers who actually make large incomes. Praying and hoping for 'welfare cheats cheat us all Leo' but knowing sadly that its basically just social twitter appeal and we're never getting a tax cut.

SF -
    under 40 : lefty, probably unemployed or earning under 40k, probably in it for a free house, takes a lot of gulping every time theres an article about anyone other than Mary Lou in the papers.

Over 40 : Nationalist, racist, probably unemployed or working rurally for pittance, long for the old days of the IRA, sing ra tunes at every drinking event, knows well Gerry Adams was commander and the party is really controlled by the military council.

Labour -
    Down to really the core support, probably union stalwart or a student with parents who were labour voters. Also has a large enough LGBT following among those in the community who understand economics and don't want to go looney left. Also older academics and almost all civil servants.

Renua - Business owner or rich older person who doesn't care about the abortion thing. Probably only in it for the flat tax. Almost no younger followers due to the Jesus influence.

Greens - Leafy Dublin suburb and city dwellers who already have high incomes and the latest in electric bikes/scooters and access to the Luas. Bonus for virtue signalling college students who love the likes of Hazel Chu or Saoirse Mchugh but know well they're too posh sounding/dressing to fit in among the PbP crowd in trinotehhhy.

PbP - rich kids of dads who actually worked hard who have leftie notions in their heads or thugs from rough areas who have no idea what a job is and just want free everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭endacl

NP members. The product of unholy unions between brothers and mothers.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,504 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I only know two people who are actually a member of a political party no going to say which parties they belong to.

One is a very typical middle class and well off( ish)

The other has issues, has a mixture of republican, pro-Palestine, ant establishment views basically on old hippy

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Yes let's make a bunch of lazy stereotypes,............

Yes, that's what the thread is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,504 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

The OP should have included the green Party.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

mariaalice wrote: »

Cyclists

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭redmgar

mariaalice wrote: »
    Honest omission.

Yes let's make a bunch of lazy stereotypes, that will encourage honest debate from those being stereotyped

Yep, that's what the thread is for

• Registered Users Posts: 7,586 ✭✭✭Tow

FF: I can think of one relation. His one bad point was worshiping the ground CJH stood on. Stereotype: Local gombeen man.

FG: Know one councilor: Upper middle class and went to the right school. Stereotype: Posh

SF: Don't know any. One guy in school parent's were said to be members of the military division. I look at ML, grew up in middle class S Dublin are and went to a private school. No way could one afford her current house on the average industrial wage. Stereotype: Live in their own world of make believe economics etc.

Labour: Knew a leader of the youth division (so he claimed) and a teacher became a TD. Stereotype: Frank Spencer.

Renua: Don't know any. Stereotype: Poor dole/working class with make believe economics.

Social Democrats: Know one, smoked salmon socialist to working class. Stereotype: Good meaning, but there is only soo much of other peoples money to go around.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

When I was in college, I could immediately tell if a fellow student was a member of Young Fine Gael just by looking at them. The political equivalent of full-kit-****, they all dressed like a TD on his/her day off. Obsessed with the aesthetics of political life. Ógra FF members looked the same, but with worse hair and the odd GAA shirt.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Orange Tiny Terror

redmgar wrote: »
    Honest omission.
    That would be an honest emission for the greens

• Registered Users Posts: 19,663 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

.anon. wrote: »
    When I was in college, I could immediately tell if a fellow student was a member of Young Fine Gael just by looking at them. The political equivalent of full-kit-****, they all dressed like a TD on his/her day off. Obsessed with the aesthetics of political life. Ógra FF members looked the same, but with worse hair and the odd GAA shirt.

Reminds me of this lad, YFG through and through and a bang of future politician off them

KFW.jpg

I would say if you put 5 voters from different social/age groups you would probably get at least 3 out of the 5 1st preference parties guessed correctly.