Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England v Republic of Ireland - Match Thread - 8pm 12/11/20 - RTE

I think Doyle is quite good actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,123 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Fromvert wrote: »
    And they're not playing half the players they could be playing. With the talent they have they should be a sharp end of the next few tournaments but they'll likely make a balls of it.

Most of the country are still having fits about the Dublin Gaelic Footballers getting their s*** together. We'd never get over the English winning something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

DrumSteve wrote: »
    2 nil down, missing a heap of players, against one of the best teams in the world.

We are not getting dominated here.

England are strolling around the pitch. They’re barely in first gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    This is like a non league side playing against a professional clubs second team in a cup game, we have not laid a glove on England, it is like a training game to them, we are hopeless because we simply have not got any players of quality, it does not matter who the manager is, the standard of players we have has to be at its lowest since we started out,

I agree with some of this but who the manager is matters since a good coach will maximise the positives and hide the negatives. The problem is when our previous coaches did this, they were derided by a large section of our fanbase who insisted we could do much better on the grounds that we had players featuring in the Premier League. It was assumed that free of tactics that were designed to limit our weaknesses, our players would flourish and it would be mostly positive. It was never considered that the quality just wasn't there, and that under a more expansive style our negative aspects would be ruthlessly exploited by better sides. That is what is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Macedonia have qualified for the euros just in case anyone has any doubts as to our position in European football now. I don't even think we have hit rock bottom yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Duffy performance is a worry...

Macedonia have qualified for the euros just in case anyone has any doubts as to our position in European football now. I don't even think we have hit rock bottom yet!

Scotland, with a team consisting of half their players playing in a league considered below Shane Duffy by some on here, are 1-0 up against Serbia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

We can't even keep possession in our own half Cunningham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

All the attacks are coming down our left hand side. Pretty clear they identified Christie as a weak link and have overloaded him. Kenny really should have spotted this and had a player drop deep to try and help out.

Ye still think you can just stand around and wait for great players to just sprout up every generation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

And i daresay if we were in their NL League we probably would have also

Got there due to there performance in the nation's league division 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Duffy performance is a worry...

He has had a sharp drop in form in the last six to nine months. His place should really be under threat if Egan, Long and O'Shea are getting game time at their clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Hourihane with a lovely pass to Winks there!

And it leads to and England penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Christie concedes a pen.

DCL with an emphatic finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭event

Shane Duffy is not good enough for this style of football

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

O’Shea looking very comfortable here.

I think Hendrick has looked really good on the ball as well. Not giving it away as often as he has done and has controlled it well too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,640 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Got there due to there performance in the nation's league division 3

Fair play to them, we'd have been opened up like a copybook there too no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

event wrote: »

He is not alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

This is reminding me of watching Dundalk vs Arsenal the other week. Worrying gulf in class between the two teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭The White Feather

3 nil down and now Kenny Cunningham says its a massive test now! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Men against boys.
    And the men are barely working up a sweat.

If we can keep it to 4 we will be doing well.

Can see 6 on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,722 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Dropped recently by Celtic too after a string of bad performances

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

he is not the only one.....we have got a coach who wants to play progessive football yet we have no players that can play that style of football comfortable.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Very very little contact in that pen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Stephen kenny, football genius.

weadick wrote: »
    We're two nil down. All the hipster 'football' journos clamouring for Kennys appointment have got what they wanted.

So have all the smug b@stards who said it wouldn't work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Get Christie off for Long and switch O'Shea or Doherty to RB!

I like Stephen Kenny but this is rough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Horgan going off and his half dad coming on ha

Smart move from Southgate taking off Freakish when he sees McClean come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Foden is going to have a field day here unfortunately

Prediction: Brady does nothing and McClean gets booked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Whatever about the result, playing a friendly in the middle of a pandemic against far better opposition is absolute nonsense.

No positives whatsover bar a bit of cash and the negatives are potential injuries (Egan in game) and a knock to the confidence.

Stupid carry on. Completely unnecessary.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Conor Hourihane has literally offered nothing in the games he has played recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

They’re both physically superior in strength and speed, and much better at football. Not fun to watch bar the opening 15 minutes or so.

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    he is not the only one.....we have got a coach who wants to play progessive football yet we have no players that can play that style of football comfortable.:D

Well he managed to get Dundalk to play his style in the Europa League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,824 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Duffy move to Celtic has been an absolute nightmare
    He could never pass the ball amd now he cant defend either

Out tactics have been horrible pass it around the back 4 just waiting be caught in possession

It borders on negligence from the manger to have them just keep doing the same thing

Will Pope and Henderson really get a cap each for this game??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I like Stephen Kenny but this is rough

Ah ya. It's not down to him too much though in fairness. We're missing a lot of players and playing a supremely confident team with a huge amount of in form attacking players in their team. They are also a team at a far higher level than us. I've no issue with us being beaten but it would be no harm to be slightly more competitive in the game. The manager isn't blameless, I think we should have a third midfielder dropped deeper behind a two and the two wide attackers a little less wide but that's just my take on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Has Ireland taken a touch in England’s box or even had a corner?

The England lads laughing and smiling. We seem pretty easy to play against

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Will Pope and Henderson really get a cap each for this game??

Presumably so, whyy wouldn't they?

No different to someone coming on for the last couple minutes I'd have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Faugheen wrote: »
    Conor Hourihane has literally offered nothing in the games he has played recently.

Yet he and Hendrick are undroppable, while Cullen, Knight and Byrne can't seem to get a look in.

Surely the end of the Kenny experiment though? The FAI could put him on the covid payment if they can't afford to sack him, and he can head back to Finn Harps or wherever

Definitely.
    They can hire Sam Allaydyce or Tony Pulis and get us back to the style of football that we have played for the last 12 years. We got to amazing highs like getting to 2 euros, playing 7 games and losing 5 of them. Scoring 4 goals and conceding 15. Players like Conor Sammon and Paul Green getting a game. Getting beat 4-1 by Wales, 5-1 by Denmark and Portugal.

We have such a great and vivid history that losing games is so alien to us, we need to sack him before he ruins our amazing world reputation and chances of qualifying for the next world Cup. Cos we we always certs to get to that

If England don’t up the tempo and get a bit of a sweat on here in the last 20 minutes Southgate might have to keep them back for a training session after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Roy Keane
    Liam Brady
    Steve Highway
    Johnny Giles
    Frank Stapleton
    Ray Houghton
    Paul McGrath
    Dave O'Leary
    Don Givens
    John Aldridge
    Denis Irwin
    Ronnie Whelan

No point in fielding a team at this level if we don't have a SINGLE PLAYER to polish any of their boots.
    Sad.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    <Insert David Bowie - this is not America.mp3 here>

We don't need to be adopting and apologising for America's generational cultural problems though.

England and Ireland alike have more than enough of our own problems to deal with.

Taking a knee isn't about adopting and apologising...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Our squad is in a sad state and has been for a long time. England could field a team of full backs and hammer us

Trippier - Walker - Wan-Bissaka - Targett

Maitland Niles - TAA - James - Chilwell

Lamptey - Saka 

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

the drivel coming from Cunninghams mouth is actually embarrassing, you can not dress up this performance, it was dire from the the start,