Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Peter Sutcliffe.

• Site Banned Posts: 20 Tommy Bin Laden

Hope his death was slow and painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Just reading online the incompetence of the police attempts to catch him was something else
    Apparently in the hoax letters and tapes, the hoaxer referred and addressed the chief of police by name.
    This resulted in the chief believing that the ripper was talking to him directly and that they had some sort of a bond.
    And that is why Sutcliffe we allowed get away, because the chief was convinced the ripper had reached out to him and that the ripper had a north east accent etc.
    He could not be convinced otherwise.

Such a fcukin mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Apparently in the hoax letters and tapes, the hoaxer referred and addressed the chief of police by name.
    This resulted in the chief believing that the ripper was talking to him directly and that they had some sort of a bond.
    And that is why Sutcliffe we allowed get away, because the chief was convinced the ripper had reached out to him and that the ripper had a north east accent etc.

Such a fcukin mess.

It is covered very well in the bbc4 documentary. The ego of the chief resulting in not wanting to accept he was wrong long after he knew.

Also, the misogny displayed towards the victims, some victims described as innocent, ie the ones who were not prostitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,041 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Sardonicat wrote: »
    1880s

Thanks, Sardi. I'm well out of touch.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Westernworld.

If he lived here he'd prob still be at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

seamus wrote: »
    I don't think so. I'm not young and he went to jail before I was born, for murders committed in another country.

He's not exactly a household name, I wouldn't expect most people to have ever heard of him.
    You are a product of the closed Ireland that existed in the 1970s and 80s whether you realise it or not, our telly picked up UTV and BBC better than RTE so would have had more exposure to international news, also breadman who delivered daily sold the British tabloids,

Michael Stone is up for parole, word is a certain Southern politician has put in a good word

The guy who played Les Battersby in Corrie found one of the victim's,

Or he'd have got a 'life' sentence of 17 years.

The guy who played Les Battersby in Corrie found one of the victim's,

Really messed his life up too.

Yes The Yorkshire Ripper name is far more widely known than the name Peter Sutcliffe.

Hell some people even get him mixed up with early Beatles member Stuart Sutcliffe.

Depends where your from and what age you are, Irish media were probably running with Malcolm Mc Arthur when Sutcliffe was being tried,

Edgware wrote: »
    Denis Nillsen and a load of others who killed 2 or 3 or many more not caught for.
    Its not so long since some cabbie in Ipswich killed 5 prostitutes. He was nicknamed the Suffolk Strangler

Steven Wright He had links to Ireland, think his wife was from Letterkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

What does a new school serial killer look like?

Graduate of a red brick university who has murdered all his professors. You could spot them a mile away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

How many times was he interviewed? And one PC brought his concerns about him to the higher is but was dismissed out if hand because Sutcliffe was a Bradford lad and not a Geordie. It resulted in at least three more deaths.

Yeah it was shocking and one of the photo fits was the spit of him as well.

i know that the line between sutcliffe and whomever is clear

but when any other public figure is ill or dead we tend to get a fairly fingerwaggy approach of "speak no ill" or, my own personal least-fave "their family could be reading this", which mods can and do enforce

be interesting to know where that line is and what argument could hold up at all against it being a totally relative judgement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

You are a product of the closed Ireland that existed in the 1970s and 80s whether you realise it or not, our telly picked up UTV and BBC better than RTE so would have had more exposure to international news, also breadman who delivered daily sold the British tabloids,

Clap trap.

People from "closed Ireland" were travelling to and from the U.K. long beforethe 70s and 80s. You didnt have to live in multi channel land to have heard of Sutcliffe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

He was a horrible Nasty human that between 1975 and 1980 murdered and attacked women. The British police around there at the time were not convinced it was him and interviewed him 9 times before finally catching and arresting him. The problem was there was also hoax caller around at the same time and that messed up the investigation. They could have saved at least 3 women maybe more if they had of arrested him earlier. One of his victims a shop worker was only 16 only still a child and this bastard killed that poor girl who should have had her whole life ahead of her and 12 other women. 23 children were left motherless because of him.
    So I hope he died in agony and he does not deserve a burial just dumb his body somewhere who cares where as long as it's out of the way.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

i know that the line between sutcliffe and whomever is clear

but when any other public figure is ill or dead we tend to get a fairly fingerwaggy approach of "speak no ill" or, my own personal least-fave "their family could be reading this", which mods can and do enforce

be interesting to know where that line is and what argument could hold up at all against it being a totally relative judgement

Not sure exactly to the nearest inch where the line is precisely drawn, but pretty sure a masochistic serial killer is across it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Fascinating story how he was caught, he was a suspect at numerous stages but there was little evidence to proceed. These were the days before DNA testing.

Complete chance in the end, he was stopped with a prostitute by the Police in a random check point which led to his arrest and conviction.

RIP to his many victims who died horrifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭trashcan

Ww2 was nearly 80 years ago. It's no excuse and if you don't know the subject, Google it before commenting

Ww2 ?

Just kidding !

Such a fcukin mess.

That tape was broadcast on all news channels- I remember it well- such a horrible thing to do which caused more lives to be lost

AMKC wrote: »
    He was a horrible Nasty human that between 1975 and 1980 murdered and attacked women. The British police around there at the time were not convinced it was him and interviewed him 9 times before finally catching and arresting him. The problem was there was also hoax caller around at the same time and that messed up the investigation. They could have saved at least 3 women maybe more if they had of arrested him earlier. One of his victims a shop worker was only 16 only still a child and this bastard killed that poor girl who should have had her whole life ahead of her and 12 other women. 23 children were left motherless because of him.
    So I hope he died in agony and he does not deserve a burial just dumb his body somewhere who cares where as long as it's out of the way.

Sex abuser Jimmy Saville was buried in Scarborough but when the truth came out about him the cemetery authorities removed the headstone so only a few locals remember where he is buried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

That tape was broadcast on all news channels- I remember it well- such a horrible thing to do which caused more lives to be lost

I remember watching it on the news and how frightening it was at the time. No female from our house would leave it unaccompanied after dark. Mu Dad and brothers would escort my mother, aunts and older sisters to the bus stop or be waiting for them at the stop when they returned or even travel to and from work with them on the bus. It also sparked a wave of 'scare attacks' with guys following women and saying threatening stuff to them for the kicks. My aunt and sister were victims of this more than once and were absolutely petrified.For women it must have felt like being under siege. I was just a child but I distinctly remember the change from my Aunt bringing me the short walk to her flat of an evrning no bother to having to wait for a male relative to escort us. It felt like there was a bogey man round every corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Who?

Have a bit of respect. The man only died today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭bailey99

The curse of 2020 strikes again. What a disaster if a year that fella dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Good riddance to him; I hope he rots and burns in hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Dont remember the Ripper case from the time aside was very young but I do recall in the 80s one of those monthly or weekly murder magazines that dealt with notorious cases ran a tv ad for issue 1 which was about the Ripper. It had this sinister music and close ups of the cover with Sutcliffes face. It was withdrawn after complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I can remember living in Bradford in the late 1970's. Guess where I lived with my partner now my wife for a couple of years? A flat on just off Lumb Lane!

I was at University at the time and the Police questioned every student. A bit later we both worked in Gatsbys night club which was at the bottom end of Lumb Lane. Shortest route to work of a night was across a very large bit of waste ground (where a massive old department store Debenhams had burnt down) one night when I wasn't working my wife was chased by a guy and who was chased off by one of the bouncers when she got to the night club. Probably not yer man but we joke it might have been.

Wake me up when it's all over.

I can remember living in Bradford in the late 1970's. Guess where I lived with my partner now my wife for a couple of years? A flat on just off Lumb Lane!

I was at University at the time and the Police questioned every student. A bit later we both worked in Gatsbys night club which was at the bottom end of Lumb Lane. Shortest route to work of a night was across a very large bit of waste ground (where a massive old department store Debenhams had burnt down) one night when I wasn't working my wife was chased by a guy and who was chased off by one of the bouncers when she got to the night club. Probably not yer man but we joke it might have been.

Jaysus, you lived near Lumb Lane! ? That place was still bad in the 90s. I thought I was bad living in Manningham but actually on Lumb Lane! Has to be one if the most notorious and seediest red light areas anywhere and so grim. Felt so sorry for those women. They just looked beaten down and broken.

I'm glad she can joke about it but she must've been terrified. One of his victims was a University of Bradford Student. She was found on Back Ashgrove, that I used on my routes regular.it became a very bohemian and funky place for a while in the early 90s and the cheapest place to rent but very few were willing to live there because if its associations. Its gone now.

Jaysus, you lived near Lumb Lane! ? That place was still bad in the 90s. I thought I was bad living in Manningham but actually on Lumb Lane! Has to be one if the most notorious and seediest red light areas anywhere and so grim. Felt so sorry for those women. They just looked beaten down and broken.

I'm glad she can joke about it but she must've been terrified. One of his victims was a University of Bradford Student. She was found on Back Ashgrove, that I used on my routes regular.it became a very bohemian and funky place for a while in the early 90s and the cheapest place to rent but very few were willing to live there because if its associations. Its gone now.

It was the other end of Lumb Lane that had the prostitutes up by the cafe called iirc the Blue Parrot.

So you lived closer to Kirkgate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

AMKC wrote: »

****ing wearside jack. Well after the fact but at least they found who it was and charged him. As others have said the fact that the young girl was “an innocent victim” and the rest weren’t considered innocent was something that shocked me. They were all innocent victims. Fair play to the police man who went back and checked where’d he gone for a piss when they brought him in for questioning on an unrelated charge. He had a hunch and acted on it.

So you lived closer to Kirkgate?

The market was where we shopped either there or Morrisons.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

I wonder will the funeral be streamed?

Actually that brings up a question, will there be a service in situations like these ?
    will it be a cremation job, vicar/priest says a few words and then lash the ashes down the jacks or what ?

The market was where we shopped either there or Morrisons.

Gotcha. So was that waste ground at the bottom of Lumb Lane near Morrisons there back then? The circus used go there. I worked in BRI and we were constantly approached by punters at the bus stop! A bunch if women at a bus stop outside s hospital- obviously sex workers. Couldn't be healthcare staff, by any chance?

Gotcha. So was that waste ground at the bottom of Lumb Lane near Morrisons there back then? The circus used go there. I worked in BRI and we were constantly approached by punters tat the bus stop! A bunch if women at a bus stop outside s hospital- obviously sex workers. Couldn't be healthcare staff, by any chance?

Ooooh Matron!

Gotcha. So was that waste ground at the bottom of Lumb Lane near Morrisons there back then? The circus used go there. I worked in BRI and we were constantly approached by punters at the bus stop! A bunch if women at a bus stop outside s hospital- obviously sex workers. Couldn't be healthcare staff, by any chance?

This is 40 years ago :o When we first arrived we got digs on Breaton Street we were told it was opposite Debenhams. When we asked the first person we met where Breaton Street was (its the second st on the right as you go up Manningham Lane out of town) we were told that it had burnt down last week. Then as we walked on the police turned up and hauled the guy off as he was off his head drunk but Debenhams had burnt down but I think it had been burnt down a good while and not just last week. Interestingly the next 2 people we spoke to were drunk. I hope Bradfords Changed :D left in 1985.

The night club Gatsbys was in the old Lockwood and Mawson designed Quaker Friends meeting hall :eek: It burnt down sometime after we left the area possibly around 1990?

https://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/tahistory/3948692.the-great-busbys-of-bradford/ imagine the store area as a waste ground.

I wonder will the funeral be streamed?

Dunno, nothing on rip.ie yet anyway.

This is 40 years ago :o When we first arrived we got digs on Breaton Street we were told it was opposite Debenhams. When we asked the first person we met where Breaton Street was (its the second st on the right as you go up Manningham Lane out of town) we were told that it had burnt down last week. Then as we walked on the police turned up and hauled the guy off as he was off his head drunk but Debenhams had burnt down but I think it had been burnt down a good while and not just last week. Interestingly the next 2 people we spoke to were drunk. I hope Bradfords Changed :D left in 1985.

The night club Gatsbys was in the old Lockwood and Mawson designed Quaker Friends meeting hall :eek: It burnt down sometime after we left the area possibly around 1990?

That waste ground was still there in 95! Doesn't sound like it changed much from when you left to when I got there (92). Dud you ever go to Tumblers? The city centre has been pretty much rebuilt now from what I can glean on Google Earth and the University has all new halls and offices and the School of Nursing and Bradford College are part if it now.The place was an education in itself. It was fukken rough but not without its charms, though. Great music scene. Very cheap place to live. But some very, very dodgy places. Had some near misses myself. Not to mention a race riot outside my front door when I lived in Mannigham and Combat 18 marching down the road towards me one evening when I lived off the Thorton Rd, heading towards the mosque. That was surreal. I shat myself but it's like they couldn't see me and I was the only other person in the street.

Anyway, we digress. Sutcliffe is gone and I'm sure, as someone who remembers what he did and lived in the place he was doing it in at the time, you'll agree there'll be a few corks popping round Bonny Bradford tonight. He cast a very long shadow over the place.

I hope Bradfords Changed :D left in 1985.

It really hasn't!

bubblypop wrote: »
    It really hasn't!

Still a charming sh1t hole, then?

Oh yeah! Well last time I visited was 2017, but cant imagine it transformed since then :)

Is the Debenhams waste ground still there? The city centre was redesigned and Forster Square, am I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

He will have family in Ireland, just like Joe Biden. He wanted to be called Coonan, his mother's maiden name, not Sutcliffe.

Is the Debenhams waste ground still there? The city centre was redesigned and Forster Square, am I right?

Well im more familiar with leeds, but I don't know the Debenhams waste ground at all. The city centre was redesigned a bit, but it's run down neglected, empty shops everywhere. Just not great looking at all.

He will have family in Ireland, just like Joe Biden. He wanted to be called Coonan, his mother's maiden name, not Sutcliffe.

Ah well. Too late to have him on the Late Late Show now.

Well im more familiar with leeds, but I don't know the Debenhams waste ground at all. The city centre was redesigned a bit, but it's run down neglected, empty shops everywhere. Just not great looking at all.

Ah, poor Bradford. It deserves better. It's a very 'real' place. Did a stint in a health centre on the Buttershaw Estate (Rita, Sue and Bob Too fame) and got chased in broad daylight when I got off the bus. They saw the uniform and thought I could get them something 'to take the edge off''. I got used to things like that happening and took it all in my stride. I doubt I'd cope with it now!

Used to really love the place. When you knew people that you shouldn't really know you could party every night of the week till 4 in the morning. We'd finish at the night club at 2 am and either pile into another or go and fill up on free food in the Casino in little Germany.

We moved out from Manningham where we were the only people living on a street full of offices to Bowling where we were one of three white families on our road. Still loved it their though.

Edgware wrote: »
    Clap trap.

People from "closed Ireland" were travelling to and from the U.K. long beforethe 70s and 80s. You didnt have to live in multi channel land to have heard of Sutcliffe.

Poster Seamus said he hadn't, my post is a response