Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

There is a generation that has not grown up with .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

branie2 wrote: »
    A Prayer at Bedtime

A Scare at Bedtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

soot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,337 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Cleaning out back boilers... Rotten job.
    They have to be the worst yoke ever made they were so inefficient it was laughable, those bloody stoves aren't a whole lot better. The flying Scotsman would use less coal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

sneaking downstairs when your supposed to be in bed to watch hammer house of horror and being petrified on your own :pac::D

kids would laugh at this now but frightened the shi*e ot of us at that time

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5MKz8-C1Vc8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Cineclub.

When RTE2 inexplicably showed foreign movies with naughty action unavailable elsewhere on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

A Coal bunker in the back garden. Coal truck going around delivering the coal as well. Scutten on the back of anything that moved, bin trucks, coal trucks and bread vans were common. It was a common site to see 3 of 4 lads hanging on the back of a truck and all hoping off when it came to a stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Floppybits wrote: »
    A Coal bunker in the back garden. Coal truck going around delivering the coal as well. Scutten on the back of anything that moved, bin trucks, coal trucks and bread vans were common. It was a common site to see 3 of 4 lads hanging on the back of a truck and all hoping off when it came to a stop.

those coal sacks held 50KG. their backs must have been broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I'd say they were wrecked after a day of doing that. Lifted in a 40KG bag there are the weekend from the car and I couldn't imagine doing that all day everyday

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭MsStote

I'd say they were wrecked after a day of doing that. Lifted in a 40KG bag there are the weekend from the car and I couldn't imagine doing that all day everyday

Just reminded me as a teen girl having to lift in two the bags on me back. 80kg and it crippled my back every few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Daily bread deliveries. We lived in Sandyford (south Dublin) in the 70's and got our bread delivered daily from a van that traveled all the way from Kelly's bakery in Kilcock, Co Kildare.

Our milk came in a small electric powered milk float van (Father Ted type) that trundled along from Hughes Dairy in Rathfarnham.

Don't get me started on the TV licence detector van that prowled slowly down the road with a rotating detection antenna on it's roof.

It seems there were lots of vans involved to do stuff in the old days.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Cineclub.

When RTE2 inexplicably showed foreign movies with naughty action unavailable elsewhere on RTE.

Channel 4 helpfully put the red triangle on the more relevant movies, though you frequently had to sit through a pile of arty French or Italian sh1te at 2am before it got interesting. Many's the time I snoozed off and missed the action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I done this for years in Sligo in the early nineties and Galway too, there's a knack to getting the coal bag up and balanced on your shoulder, often I would be carrying a bail of briquettes in the other hand too. It was rough work but you'd get used to it.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭monseiur

When visiting my grandfather as kids we used to mess with his radio, looking for foreign channels etc. which really annoyed him.
    He'd yell at us 'Put it back on Athlone' which I later learned was RTE - it seems the actual transmitter was in Athlone !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

monseiur wrote: »
    When visiting my grandfather as kids we used to mess with his radio, looking for foreign channels etc. which really annoyed him.
    He'd yell at us 'Put it back on Athlone' which I later learned was RTE - it seems the actual transmitter was in Athlone !

It was indeed and it was a beast of an installation.

http://homepage.eircom.net/~totalbroadcast/athlone2.html

Ger Roe wrote: »
    It was indeed and it was a beast of an installation.

http://homepage.eircom.net/~totalbroadcast/athlone2.html

Fantastic pics.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

"Air hostesses" bringing around sweets before take off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The national anthem on telly at the end of the night

The Angelus with religious imagery, mainly the Virgin Mary

The Last Picture Show on a Friday night

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Ceirseach

Nuns, priests and christian brothers in their full length costumes. And them everywhere.
    Nothing on Telly on Good Friday.
    Mart and market and the prices of banbhs.
    Harbour Hotel on the radio at 1pm/dinner time to some of us.
    Mike Murphy: yowsa, yowsa, yowsa
    Watching the Eurovision in black and white.
    National anthem played at the end of a disco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Ceirseach wrote: »
    Nuns, priests and christian brothers in their full length costumes. And them everywhere.
    Nothing on Telly on Good Friday.
    Mart and market and the prices of banbhs.
    Harbour Hotel on the radio at 1pm/dinner time to some of us.
    Mike Murphy: yowsa, yowsa, yowsa
    Watching the Eurovision in black and white.
    National anthem played at the end of a disco

Harbour hotel reminds me of days off school with a cold sitting in front of the fire with a hot lemsip and a pack of Hacks!
    Gay Byrne on the radio in the mornings as well.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

For me they they are a generation that has not grown up with nor know.......

"The Smiths

Only Fools and Horses

Abject Unemployment"

Yeah , we suffered so they didn't have to!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Getting the bumps on their birthday.

Poparama on a Sunday Morning on 2FM, with Aunty Poppy's storytime
    The Sunday Press
    Children's section in the Sunday World

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Edgware wrote: »
    Whatever happened to those who signed up for life membership of the video shop? Did they get a refund?

No , apparently all died in mysterious circumstances around 2003...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Jimson

HAIRY BUSHES - Their all shaved or lasered or hair removal cream now.

Soundings poetry book for the Leaving Cert

branie2 wrote: »
    Soundings poetry book for the Leaving Cert

Exploring english 1 2 and 3... The story of the widows son, brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Exploring english 1 2 and 3... The story of the widows son, brilliant.

yes, those short stories (Exploring English 1) were class
    The Green Door
    Up The Bare Stairs
    The Poteen Maker
    The Potato Gatherers
    A Man's World
    The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty
    The Fly

were all on my Inter Cert syllabus

the prose was good too
    Charles Lamb's Dissertation On Roast Pig

King Crisps

No delivery from the take aways.

HMV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

Using a CD case to scrape the ice off car window in the morning :)

Cassette case for me...

Smash...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭magic_murph

sneaking a look at the Page 3 model being the highlight of the week/month/life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

"New Spotlight" Magazine,

the "problem page" was most informative in the pre-internet era!:o

The Dandy comic

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

nice thread to remember this stuff. brings back memories.

But nothing really that great. especially spending £15 on a cd for an indie band from north england was not something i am proud of. page 3 of the sun, air hostess giving you a sweet!!

new generation never had it so good, even with this pandemic that will soon be over.

and im being positive about it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Deodorant ads where theyd show a semi naked girl spraying herself and a tantalising glimpse of side boob.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭TRANQUILLO

There are premier league football players now who weren't alive when 9/11 attacks occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Deodorant ads where theyd show a semi naked girl spraying herself and a tantalising glimpse of side boob.

The Cadburys Caramel sexy bunny.

Suggestive Cadburys Flake ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Manual tv station changing, the amount of exercise gained from this has proven invaluable in my life,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Having to share everything
    1 phone in the house,
    1 TV,
    1 Car
    1 proper radio
    1 Computer

Nowadays everyone has everything personalised to them so people never actually have to engage with each other anymore

Teacher allowed to clatter you for no real reason if they were hungover or in a bad mood.
    Teacher smoking away in the classroom too.

Akrasia wrote: »
    Having to share everything
    1 phone in the house,
    1 TV,
    1 Car
    1 proper radio
    1 Computer

Nowadays everyone has everything personalised to them so people never actually have to engage with each other anymore
    Don't forget the 1 toilet.

• Registered Users Posts: 844 ✭✭✭2lazytogetup

yeah some of those Lynx girls were out of this world. thanks for reminding me.

Fcukin deadly, they were!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

..opening a hard copy dictionary
    ..hand winding the ribbon on a cassette
    ..passive smoking
    ..an all powerful Catholic Church
    ..buying a newspaper