Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

There is a generation that has not grown up with .......

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Conway635 wrote: »
    Remember that well Ger. And on BBC also.

I was a huge Dr. Who fan as a kid, and almost every other episode would be interrupted at some point, the sound would be turned off and a notice put on the screen (with the programme continuing in the background) asking shopkeepers to return to check their premises. I missed a great many crucial Jon pertwee era scenes that way!!

C635

We had Chitty Chitty Bang Bang recorded from a BBC Northern Ireland airing of the film.

During the part when the scary child catcher was introduced, a warning came over the screen with a booming voice asking key holders to return to check their premises in Belfast city centre, while in the background the child catcher continued his rampage through the streets of a Bavarian town.

As a child growing up in Dublin and largely removed from the problems in NI, I had no idea what was going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

101 News
    150 lottery
    220 Football
    221 Latest football scores. Refresh, refresh! This took either 60 seconds or 120 seconds, I forget

240 GAA

170 TV listings
    183 Movies tonight

There was even a jokes page that gave you the beginning and then you push a button to refresh for the punchline.

Good times :pac:

Right up until the end of Aertel my parents checked lottery on Aertel. I did use it for TV listings too, very useful

Ceefax had vastly more content than Aertel but alas we never had those British Channels

smurf492 wrote: »
    Buttered popcorn at the cinema...

Small town cinemas demanding to open your bag and search you for contraband sweets and drinks. In fact sometimes they didn't even offer this option and instead insisted you put their bag in their lockerroom.

When I moved to Dublin my first time in Cineworld I opened my bag to the chap at the escalator ready for inspection. He didn't check at all, just reviewed my ticket and let me go

In Dublin you do not get searched going to the cinema? :confused: This to me was new and bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

mikemac2 wrote: »
    101 News
    150 lottery
    220 Football
    221 Latest football scores. Refresh, refresh! This took either 60 seconds or 120 seconds, I forget

240 GAA

170 TV listings
    183 Movies tonight

There was even a jokes page that gave you the beginning and then you push a button to refresh for the punchline.

Right up until the end of Aertel my parents checked lottery on Aertel. I did use it for TV listings too, very useful

Ceefax had vastly more content than Aertel but alas we never had those British Channels

Was 555 now and next TV listings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Smoking indoors. I was about 15 when this got banned, used to go into the shopping center and go to a corner to have a smoke with my friends at a spot where we wouldnt be seen by any adults that might know us or our parents. Going to a cafe in town, sitting in for chips and then smoking a load of fags. Cant imagine doing anything like that now, looking back its crazy how that was ever legal?

Also, Teletext, it was like an old school internet.

Just remembered head shops! being able to walk into a shop and buy drugs legally because they had ' bath bomb' printed on the back, even though it was well known they wearnt bath bombs but couldnt be sold unless that was printed on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Anyone remember RTE's version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire.
    We were in the audience for the recording, around 2001 or 2002 I think. The young hairdresser lady really shouldn't have been going for a quiz show. I think Gay was very generous in getting her to the €1k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Special K ads with the women in the white swimsuits

One of the contestsants took a very long time near the end of her turn in trying to decide her answer; I was in college at the time, and my three flatmates were shouting at the screen to get her to make up her mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

When we changed from punt to euro the crafty gits kept the prizes at the same amount so you would actually be winning less money, and it saved them a chunk of change.

Every retailer and service in Ireland did the very same or put up the costs, RTE jumped on that bandwagon.
    Shortly after the change over Ireland become known as rip off Ireland.

Every retailer and service in Ireland did the very same or put up the costs, RTE jumped on that bandwagon.
    Shortly after the change over Ireland become known as rip off Ireland.
    You would be fuming if you won the 1 million after the changeover. Somebody who had won it beforehand would be taking home over 200 grand more than you.

A contestant was given an obscure body part and was asked where in the body was located. Their answer wasn’t accepted so they were eliminated

A heart surgeon from a hospital in Dublin went to the newspapers and said the contestants answer was actually correct. The producers claimed they were correct and got opinions from other consultants to back their side

It was a badly worded question and a bit of shambles

https://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0621/16217-millionaire/

Band Aid and Live Aid

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Whestsidestory

Spending hours in the tax office to get your car tax. If you forgot to take your number it meant even longer. They would refuse to issue tax if the form wasn't filled out properly..the nerves heading up to the desk!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Spending hours in the tax office to get your car tax. If you forgot to take your number it meant even longer. They would refuse to issue tax if the form wasn't filled out properly..the nerves heading up to the desk!
    Sent in by your parents back in the days before smartphones or Walkmans

First upset is when you realise that that queue is your queue. Out the door , round the corner and down the street. *hopes it doesn't rain*

Second upset is when eventually you get into the building you can see the queue going up a couple of flights of stairs.

Finally you get up the stairs and along the corridor and into the room, only to realise that there's barriers and the queue snakes back and forth loads of times across a very large room so there's still loads of waiting.

The Commodore 64 computer

Top of the Pops
    Jim'll Fixit (thankfully, because of what we know now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

You would be fuming if you won the 1 million after the changeover. Somebody who had won it beforehand would be taking home over 200 grand more than you.

I'll be fuming if I win the Euro millions on Tuesday, will mean I wasted an extra euro buying the plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,612 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Getting caned, in both national and secondary schools

Collecting tokens from milk cartons to get a gift

branie2 wrote: »
    Top of the Pops
    Jim'll Fixit (thankfully, because of what we know now)

Loved top of the pops! still cant believe it ended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭spring lane jack

Porn magazines or commonly known decades ago as skin mags. They were as rare as hens teeth, normally a few students would bring some back from school tours abroad and they would get passed around amongst pupils. There would always be someone heading home with the mag in his schoolbag smiling away, delighted with himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,165 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

101 News
    150 lottery
    220 Football

240 GAA

170 TV listings
    183 Movies tonight

...and when the signal was bad (say, in bad weather), the text would distort.

The tech was so, so awesome and yet also so, so shoddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Collecting tokens from milk cartons to get a gift

I remember back in the mid 80’s collecting tokens at school and we got a football for the class. Might have been milk cartons. Speaking of milk cartons, making cribs from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

I dont know if this has been mentioned, but rewinding/fast forwarding the video at all, and rewinding before returning it, or get charged a fee, aside from missing out on that, what a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

I'm glad this was posted.

My brother pointed out that Gay Byrne repeatedly stated that contestants were 15 questions away from the Million pound/euro question.
    WRONG
    It's either 15 questions away from WINNING €1m. or 14 questions away from the million euro question.
    How the producers couldn't see this was sloppy in the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Special K ads with the women in the white swimsuits

My kids don't have much experience with ads at all. They were shocked and appalled at the ads in the toy show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,592 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I remember back in the mid 80’s collecting tokens at school and we got a football for the class. Might have been milk cartons. Speaking of milk cartons, making cribs from them.

Its not that long ago that Donegal Creameries did the cutouts for making a crib from the cartons - only worked on the old style shorter/fatter cartons that are still used for juice in some places, the new ones are too long and thin.

A note from your granny to buy 20 Major cigarettes for her in the local shop

These days Aldi would request ID from a 40 year old buying a bottle of wine !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

That was Snocream that was made down in Waterford and is now part of Glanbia.

1874 wrote: »
    I dont know if this has been mentioned, but rewinding/fast forwarding the video at all, and rewinding before returning it, or get charged a fee, aside from missing out on that, what a scam.
    Was the fine a bluff? I never heard of anyone getting the fine for not rewinding. 20p I think it was at one stage!

The Commodore 64 computer

Oh the joys ...... tape decks, reel to reel.
    Remember creatures? Terminator 2, Flimbos Quest Rainbow Islands.......

Band Aid and Live Aid
    Don't forget Self Aid. It sounds a bit wrong nowadays :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Measl... no, it's back, forget I said anything.

Don't forget Self Aid. It sounds a bit wrong nowadays :o

??? you mean a jar of vaseline and some tissues? Who doesnt need a second hand from time to time

I'm glad this was posted.

My brother pointed out that Gay Byrne repeatedly stated that contestants were 15 questions away from the Million pound/euro question.
    WRONG
    It's either 15 questions away from WINNING €1m. or 14 questions away from the million euro question.
    How the producers couldn't see this was sloppy in the extreme

Wouldnt know, too much drama. It was like watching paint dry on the wall. Give me the weakest link any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Loading games from a tape cassete on to a computer , like the spectrum,
    Making up a batch file to run games on an old pc with limited ram.
    buying old pc games in massive boxs in a shop.
    Now every game comes on 1 or 2 dvdroms and fits in a standard disc case.
    Buying a pc game which had to be loaded from 5 or 6 3.5inch floopy discs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 61 ✭✭whysobecause

A note from your granny to buy 20 Major cigarettes for her in the local shop

These days Aldi would request ID from a 40 year old buying a bottle of wine !

I would buy Carroll's for my Grandfather, but it was a small village with two shops, no note required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

Was the fine a bluff? I never heard of anyone getting the fine for not rewinding. 20p I think it was at one stage!

No, was added to your account

Music produced by Stock Aitken and Waterman

1874 wrote: »
    No, was added to your account
    The sly dogs. I suppose if they had asked people for it up front they would have been told to whistle for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,337 ✭✭✭CoBo55

The sly dogs. I suppose if they had asked people for it up front they would have been told to whistle for it.

Ahh, feck that nobody ever paid any of those things, just let the account go dormant and get the brother to open a new one;)

Now and again xtravision would have an amnesty.

The fines would be forgiven if you just returned and started renting again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Queing up to buy Ryanair tickets from their office in Dublin

Racist jokes in the playground.

Yea, Paddy Irishman, Paddy Englishman, Paddy Scotsman, go to heaven, are in a pub, etc.harmless fun really.

CoBo55 wrote: »
    Yea, Paddy Irishman, Paddy Englishman, Paddy Scotsman, go to heaven, are in a pub, etc.harmless fun really.
    Those too but there were also the n*gger and paki jokes.
    A lot of it was from comedians like Bernard Manning and Roy Chubby Brown I reckon. Kids would probably be watching them on TV with their parents and then coming to school to repeat the jokes.

But now that you mention the Paddy jokes, why was Paddy Irishman always the dimwit? Why were we slagging ourselves.. I never understood it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

A lot of it was from comedians like Bernard Manning and Roy Chubby Brown I reckon. Kids would probably be watching them on TV with their parents and then coming to school to repeat the jokes.

But now that you mention the Paddy jokes, why was Paddy Irishman always the dimwit? Why were we slagging ourselves.. I never understood it :confused:

they were kerryman jokes when I was growing up

No I never heard or used words like paki in school, probably after my time, I'd get a deserved clip round the ear from the father or mother anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Never asked how it was spelt but isn't Paki or is it Packy a shortened Irish name. Confused me when I first moved here.

Edit> Google tells me Packy is sort for Patrick, but not heard it used for a long time.

Wake me up when it's all over.