Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nuisance Lampers trespassing - any solution?

• 15-11-2020 3:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭

Long story short, lands at home are preserved. There are 3 pet dogs. We get f*****s lamping and driving the dogs and my parents mad.

Dad has called the Guards to notify them each time but not getting any resolution. He's looking at getting a high powered LED lamp to shine back at the culprits but beyond that is there any advice from this community?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,245 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Thanks. Unfortunately, that would seem to depend on the guards picking up the culprits which doesn't seem to be of interest to them at the moment. Any (legal) ways to disrupt or discourage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Thin wired cattle electric fences along boundary ditches with a couple of live strands, between 4/5 feet high. Properly locked gates that are "difficult ,or smelly" to climb can help.:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭J.R.

Have you put signs up around the boundary that the land is preserved and that thee is no shooting and no lamping allowed.

Many will just move on when they see these.

J.R. wrote: »
    Have you put signs up around the boundary that the land is preserved and that thee is no shooting and no lamping allowed.

Many will just move on when they see these.

Yes. All signposted. Neighbors reporting the same challenges. Boundary gates left open too. Very frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yes. All signposted. Neighbors reporting the same challenges. Boundary gates left open too. Very frustrating.

What sort of tit does that? I'd say a trail camera might b an idea? The link with yer man there, what was he being done for? Trespass isn't a crime as such. Was it the fact he had a gun making it armed trespass? Grizzly was it you that mentioned that in a post a while back?
    If gates are being left open the idiots are telling you their trail, what happened to "leave no trace". So as above a trail camera and a sign saying they are committing a serious criminal offence being on private property with guns.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Report armed trespassto Gardai

If no response registered letter to Super with cc to local newspaper.

Get neighbours to do same.

Thanks all. Yeah, we're setting up a neighbours Whatsapp group to keep track of "visits" and will be reporting each time to the Guards.

I looked at trail cams but they seem to be €200+ which is mad money to have to spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Thanks all. Yeah, we're setting up a neighbours Whatsapp group to keep track of "visits" and will be reporting each time to the Guards.

I looked at trail cams but they seem to be €200+ which is mad money to have to spend.

You can pick them up from £40 on Amazon.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 kjl412

You can actually get a fairly decent trail camera off a website like amazon for about €50 that will do the job you need just fine. You just won't get live updates to your phone or anything fancy like that, you'll need to take out the SD every few days or if you suspect someone was up there and check the footage on a computer. Also most important make sure it's well hidden! You don't want them also stealing your trail cam haha. Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Feisar wrote: »
    What sort of tit does that? I'd say a trail camera might b an idea? The link with yer man there, what was he being done for? Trespass isn't a crime as such. Was it the fact he had a gun making it armed trespass? Grizzly was it you that mentioned that in a post a while back?
    If gates are being left open the idiots are telling you their trail, what happened to "leave no trace". So as above a trail camera and a sign saying they are committing a serious criminal offence being on private property with guns.

Proably in the context of going tooled up to break into someones house?
    A whole thread on armed trespass here. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056091891

The trouble with trail cams is establishing a proper chain of evidence for it to stand in court. It's untested legally here on all aspects ASFIK.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

This is a problem all over the country. The culprits are usually in a group of no less than 3 and can be fairly intimidating.

Last year I put 3 of them off a neighbours land. The neighbour is a pensioner and he knew they were there and asked me to help.
    I photographed their van (and it usually is a van.) and I called them back to the gate. They were trying to throw shapes as they say. I told them that I had the reg of the van and that I had already reported their trespass to the gardai. Which I had.
    More neighbours were arriving and they made a quick exit AFTER plenty of verbal abuse.

I am no shrinking violet but if neighbours had not arrived it could have been messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,694 ✭✭✭Feisar

I would not be approaching anyone in that sort of a situation, they have guns! I know they are there for sport (illegally) however starting a confrontation with an armed individual strikes me as silly at the least.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Been keeping an eye on this thread as it's the fourth such thread in as many weeks.

The first and only advice is to ring An Gardaí. that is it.

This forum, while leniency is given to some extent on certain topics, is for the discussion of hunting and shooting related issues. Trespassing is not a hunting topic, but again leniency is given if the forum can be of help.

However like all other threads it starts to turn into something else which break the forum rules.

To that end i'll repeat my opening comment. Call An Gardaí, and let them deal with the issues. If you have no success with AGS then this forum is not the place to seek "alternatives".

To the OP. You have gotten some good feedback from the forum regulars so i'd work on that. For now, the thread is closed pending review.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo