Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    I’d love to agree- but Holohan, McConkey, Staines etc and all the rest of the Covid junta have made it clear they’re not relinquishing control anytime soon- sadly we’ve no government that’s going to put them back in their place either. Reckon it’ll be public indifference and exhaustion of patience that will end it now
    It’ll be the public ignoring the lockdown that will end it
    They ignored the last one and any future one will be treated the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Micky 32

brisan wrote: »
    It’ll be the public ignoring the lockdown that will end it
    They ignored the last one and any future one will be treated the same

Yep there’s no way people will accept restrictions once vaccinated and the numbers drop.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭paddyirish23

Can't see it anywhere but can someone confirm that the 105 mins sitting down in a pub with food is not an active thing atm?
    Was looking to book a table in a pub today for all ireland final and was told only allowed 105 mins sitting but can't see it anywhere online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Can't see it anywhere but can someone confirm that the 105 mins sitting down in a pub with food is not an active thing atm?
    Was looking to book a table in a pub today for all ireland final and was told only allowed 105 mins sitting but can't see it anywhere online?

Find a pub who's doing the 2 meters between tables they can serve you all day once you spend €9.

Had a rye smile to myself reading this- absolutely confirms what I already knew- the populace are finished with lockdown and are dying....to live again!
    I’m pissed off existing I want to live my life
    I’m 60 and each passing year is more precious
    My mother is 81
    She want to go to daily mass
    Meet the ladies for tea and a scone afterwards
    Ramble around Dunnes stores for her bits and pieces
    Go to the senior citizens club twice a week
    Choir practice on a Thursday and choir on a sat
    That’s her life basically mom to sat and she loves it
    Tony took it all away except for Dunnes
    She’s 81 she wants to live the few years she has left

My mother is 81

She’ll be some of the first people along with her fellow senior citizens to get access to the vaccine. She’ll be able to do these things again in the coming months ;)

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Boards is not at all representative of the public in my opinion
    Everyone I know is making an effort to stay safe
    In my local now
    Tables removed
    You must have food ( cough ) and all tables 2 my apart
    No one wandering around , no large groups and it’s nice to see people smiling and hear them laughing
    Most people are ordering food as they are out for a few hours
    My better half is on the way around as I type

Micky 32 wrote: »
    She’ll be some of the first people along with her fellow senior citizens to get access to the vaccine. She’ll be able to do these things again in the coming months ;)
    She could die of a fcuking heart attack next week
    Her words not mine
    At 81 every day lockdowned is a day wasted

I fully expected Tony to announce 150 deaths and 950 cases today
    Instead it’s only 265 and numbers down in ICU
    I would say he’s raging

I fully expected Tony to announce 150 deaths and 950 cases today
    Instead it’s only 265 and numbers down in ICU
    I would say he’s raging

265? I actually thought it would be more after hearing 100 cases got lost yesterday due to a technical error.

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭vid36

Wait until the January 7 numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,644 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Sadly it isn’t conspiracy- it’s exactly what these zealots are saying- I’m merely repeating it.
    It’s easy say that but when masks etc are compulsory for access to shops and public services then you’re forced to adhere regardless.
    They appear determined to maintain all this crap in tandem with vaccinations

It must be in tandem with vaccinations until enough people are vaccinated.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES(x2), And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭crossman47

My mother is 81

But he did it so she will have a few more years - do people not get that yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

crossman47 wrote: »

Do people actually believe that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

There is worse fate’s than death

One of them is not being alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,535 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

There is worse fate’s than death

One of them is not being alive

8692386.jpg?display=1&htype=0&type=responsive-gallery

Not being alive usually means one is dead.

But anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

What is a 'few more years' worth to a elderly woman who is 81 years of age? when you get that age you live for the moment and you are thankful you are still able to do things. The average life expectancy in Ireland is 82.35 years as of 2020.

This women has probably worked and cared for her family for decades. She hasn't retired to just sit at home all day and live out the last remaining years of her life stuck inside.

When you are 81, every week you are healthy and every week you can still walk and be mobile and meet up with friends and go for tea is a blessing. Meet up with your family, go to choir, go shopping, senior citizens club.

RobitTV wrote: »
    What is a 'few more years' worth to a elderly woman who is 81 years of age? when you get that age you live for the moment and you are thankful you are still able to do things. The average life expectancy in Ireland is 82.35 years as of 2020.

People continuously misunderstand life expectancy.

But anyway she could live until she is a 100.

She'll have experienced worse in her life than only being able to spend 105 minutes in a pub or whatever it is for a restaurant.

She has lived through far tougher times, she'll be grand.

I imagine she is not on the internet snowflaking out about it, she's probably down the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

You have no way of knowing that to be true.

Boggles wrote: »

She'll have experienced worse in her life than only being able to spend 105 minutes in a pub or whatever it is for a restaurant.

I imagine she is not on the internet snowflaking out about it, she's probably down the pub.

How thoughtful of you, you should go and speak to her personally and she what she has got to say for herself. Her son explained that she is missing the social interaction that she originally had before it was stolen from her.

"She'll be grand" is the typical Irish attitude I have come to expect. That seems to be the answer to everything. This is someone's mother we are talking about.

Her son is clearly worried, you should take a look at his post and learn. The fact that you think she is "probably down the pub" says a lot about the way some people just don't give a crap about the lives of some people out there, who have been lonely for months and have had zero social contact. Shameful.

She has no interest to be down "the pub" she wants to meet her friends. What a criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Nonsense, never before has social interaction been suppressed on such a scale in this country.

How thoughtful of you, you should go and speak to her personally and she what she has got to say for herself. Her son explained that she is missing the social interaction that she originally had before it was stolen from her.

"She'll be grand" is the typical Irish attitude I have come to expect. That seems to be the answer to everything. This is someone's mother we are talking about.

Her son is clearly worried, you should take a look at his post and learn. The fact that you think she is "probably down the pub" says a lot about the way some people just don't give a crap about the lives of some people out there, who have been lonely for months and have had zero social contact. Shameful.
    What is a 'few more years' worth to a elderly woman who is 81 years of age?

I, like you was speaking about a generic 81 year old woman.

Because neither of us know that lads mother do we?

Read her sons post for a greater insight. That will tell you something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭BeefeaterHat

I think the point he's making is the older someone gets, the odds of someone dying go up every year. Yes she might live to be 100 but she might not also. It's a cruel fate for many elderly people who've died possibly going months without seeing family. It deserves a bit more than a shrug from you.

Nonsense, never before has social interaction been suppressed on such a scale in this country.

There is nothing stopping you socially interacting, go do it. In fact you are technically doing it right now.

But if your claim is that the worse thing that has happened in this country is you can only have a certain amount of people into your home or can only meet a certain amount outside, you'd be fairly wrong.

Maybe try and muster something a bit more than your usual ****ty attitude for a change.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Great to see lots of OAPs out socialising and having lunch together today. About ****ing time that they are allowed to enjoy living their lives again.

I think the point he's making is the older someone gets, the odds of someone dying go up every year. Yes she might live to be 100 but she might not also. It's a cruel fate for many elderly people who've died possibly going months without seeing family. It deserves a bit more than a shrug from you.

Really, I don't think I'm the one being condescending to people of a certain age?

I imagine many of them are down the pub tonight enjoying themselves with everyone else.

The last thing older people I know want is pity.

Really, I don't think I'm the one being condescending to people of a certain age?

I imagine many of them are down the pub tonight enjoying themselves with everyone else.

The last thing older people I know want is pity.

How is anyone here other than you being condescending? I'm not pitying them I'm talking about how cruel it is that some people have possibly died and will die without seeing family who live abroad or far away.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Thought this thread might be finally quiet tonight aaaand nope. Even pubs open won't shut it.