Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 40,229 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

https://www.thejournal.ie/when-are-hairdresser-and-barbers-reopening-5127214-Jun2020/

I’m done explaining it to you. It was a really simple concept.

Very simple question, is July in the summer?

I'd love to see some effort put into finding out how much compliance fatigue led to people letting down their guard over christmas. I personally feel that if socially distant hospitality had been allowed all year from the summer onwards, yes we would have had more cases at the time, but we could have controlled it.

People would have had enough safe socialisation all year and would not have felt the urge to go mad over the christmas. Restrictions could have stayed the same throughout most of the year and everyone would have known how to behave.

It's my view that those pushing hard restrictions have really had their position come back to bite them hard in the past few weeks.

Obviously have no evidence for this - but would love to see a proper study into it.

There is loads of evidence.

Have a look at the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

I'd love to see some effort put into finding out how much compliance fatigue led to people letting down their guard over christmas. I personally feel that if socially distant hospitality had been allowed all year from the summer onwards, yes we would have had more cases at the time, but we could have controlled it.

People would have had enough safe socialisation all year and would not have felt the urge to go mad over the christmas. Restrictions could have stayed the same throughout most of the year and everyone would have known how to behave.

It's my view that those pushing hard restrictions have really had their position come back to bite them hard in the past few weeks.

Obviously have no evidence for this - but would love to see a proper study into it.
    Agree. I think the moment it really kicked in was when Tony came back early, kicked in the door like John Wayne and completely humiliated the deputy CMO by demanding level 5 immediately. Remember Glynn had already said level 3 was enough what, 2 days before? I think at that point everyone said “no I’ve had enough of this ****e”.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Boggles wrote: »
    There is loads of evidence.

Have a look at the UK.

Did the UK do studies on the most suppressed nation in Europe since last March?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

It used to be about protecting the vulnerable and hospital capacity, but I think that the goalposts have moved with all the chat of ‘new normals’. If what you say were true, we would be looking at normality by the summer, but it is clear we are not

We will need to see a long term ‘living with COVID’ plan soon, or adherence to any restrictions after the vulnerable have been vaccinated will the out of the window

Do you really think the world is going to keep doing lockdowns and restricting travel forever?

The world hasn't spent millions on a vaccine just to keep economies restricted

Did the UK do studies on the most suppressed nation in Europe since last March?

A concurrent real life experiment with actual results.

Way better than a survey, wouldn't you agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Nope

Barbers, shops and the majority of pubs and restaurants were opened during the summer.

If you didn't go that was a personal choice.

Pubs have never reopened in Dublin, they opened briefly in the rest of the country.

All those lads drinking pints in Dublin pubs / restaurants and posting pictures must have been bull****tíng so, were they?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

All those lads drinking pints in Dublin pubs / restaurants and posting pictures must have been bull****tíng so, were they?

this ****ing pedantic sh1te, over and over.

wet pubs didnt open in Dublin.

copeyhagen wrote: »

Calm down lad, I never suggested they did.

The OP I was replying to never actually went for pints without posting about it throughout the summer, which was a lot, fair play to him.

copeyhagen wrote: »

Yes they did, loads on the south side did.

There was one pub that got food from the takeaway as a way around it, right beside a garda station and loads of gardai in there!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Leo on today FM just now. Says he can't ever see things returning to the old normal. Depressing stuff altogether. We "might have a good summer but it won't be a normal summer".....
    I give up.

Well it's hardly going to be a normal summer, is it? Hardly anyone will be flying off to their sun destinations. No concerts planned. Pubs may be opened, but likely restricted in some manner. A lot of people choosing to continue to work from home. Masks / handwashing still prevalent.

Do you believe everything will be back as it was this time last year by June?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Yes they did, loads on the south side did.

There was one pub that got food from the takeaway as a way around it, right beside a garda station and loads of gardai in there!!!

So they served food, so they weren't a wet pub anymore.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So they served food, so they weren't a wet pub anymore.

That is how the wet pubs got to open, by doing take aways and cheese plates. It was a loop hole that any pub could of used.

Then that got banned when we went to level 3 in Dec!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Do you really think the world is going to keep doing lockdowns and restricting travel forever?

These days i don’t pass much heed on these posters, they haven’t a clue. The same posters months ago were like “ there won’t be a vaccine” “ the vaccine is a pipe dream” blah blah blah. So far their predictions are false. Unless the vaccine companies are lying to us ( i highly doubt it)they provide a high percentage protection and if you’re unlucky enough to still get it you won’t be very sick. As for mutations i have read that this particular virus can’t mutate much because it could lose functionality.

My own parents in their 70’s with heart problems have said they’ll be going out shopping again once inoculated. That’s the begining of normality right there.

The main issue is the speed of roll out but hopefully they’ll sort it.

The Tánaiste has said on national radio this morning that normality may not return.

Should you not be asking him that question?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭Micky 32

The Tánaiste has said on national radio this morning that normality may not return.

Should you not be asking him that question?

Was it a one liner or did he have an explanation for his reasoning? I’m guessing it was a one liner with no context.

Maybe he’s having a bad day and feeling sorry for himself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭DraftDodger

We are now the Covid capital of the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,842 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Girl I know, who’s unemployed (through no fault of the pandemic) and still lives at home in her mid 20s posting on Instagram “stay home, it’s really that simple”. Peoples lack of empathy for those who can’t simply sit on their arse all day is unbelievable.

It has always been the case that essential workers have to work and people appreciate them.

What essential work has the facebook post prevented you from doing? Would her post have hurt your feelings less had she included an asterisked footnote explaining that you obviously weren't included because you're special?

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Was it a one liner or did he have an explanation for his reasoning? I’m guessing it was a one liner with no context.

In which case it sounds like scaremongering which of course we are constantly told here that the government does not engage in.

I had a wet drink in a dry pub once. Such inane dribble being regurgitated on this thread. Some dogmatists here like Holohan want to blame hospitality sector for numbers spiralling out of control. How many cases/clusters were identified in pubs compared to private households in the past six weeks? Right. Any focus being given to the 54,000 people who travelled from Britain to Ireland for Christmas, importing the new mutation with them and spreading it like wildfire? Of course not. It's the dhrink father, that's the cause of all our woes. Nobody in the media has the stones to contradict Tony, the false narrative continues unimpeded like a river of toxic sludge.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Penfailed

In which case it sounds like scaremongering which of course we are constantly told here that the government does not engage in.

According to this - https://www.todayfm.com/podcasts/dermot-dave/tanaiste-leo-varadkar-on-covid-19-i-think-its-going-to-be-a-good-summer he thinks it's going to be a good summer.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

They were in restaurants that serve pints. As you well know, wet pubs did not open at all in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Micky 32 wrote: »

I think he was talking about some people will stay wfh, everyone will be more careful about hand sensitisation and hygiene and people will probably wear masks during flu seasons when in crowded areas even after this is all over.

They were in restaurants that serve pints. As you well know, wet pubs did not open at all in Dublin.

I never said otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭hynesie08

I think he was talking about some people will stay wfh, everyone will be more careful about hand sensitisation and hygiene and people will probably wear masks during flu seasons when in crowded areas even after this is all over.

Fantastic, if I never have to feel someone's breath on my neck in the tesco queue again, I'll die a happy man....

I had a wet drink in a dry pub once. Such inane dribble being regurgitated on this thread. Some dogmatists here like Holohan want to blame hospitality sector for numbers spiralling out of control. How many cases/clusters were identified in pubs compared to private households in the past six weeks? Right. Any focus being given to the 54,000 people who travelled from Britain to Ireland for Christmas, importing the new mutation with them and spreading it like wildfire? Of course not. It's the dhrink father, that's the cause of all our woes. Nobody in the media has the stones to contradict Tony, the false narrative continues unimpeded like a river of toxic sludge.

This thread is a disaster for blood pressure.

Common sense posts like above will be ignored at all costs of that I’m sure

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Yes most clusters are in houses, but the case that began the household caught it from a cluster in the community, clusters don't spontaneously arise in homes. I have nothing to add about pubs nor do I feel strongly about them(although I would agree they are unfairly demonised seeing as they've not been open for a year lol) but I see that line trotted out a lot that most clusters are in homes in order to minmise risk of transmission in other locations, well yeh it is technically true but what is causing those household clusters is the important factor.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,842 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

This thread is a disaster for blood pressure.

Common sense posts like above will be ignored at all costs of that I’m sure

that post is a rant that says nothing of any substance, nor is it anyway clear what the poster wants