Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rathgar council tenants in luxury apartments claim discrimination over facilities

• Site Banned Posts: 94 ✭✭Kinetica2019

Kraftwerk wrote: »
    "The Fold spokeswoman said all tenants were made aware of its “no pet policy” prior to moving in. Fold “does not pay for the concierge service and tenants were made aware of this,” she said.

“Feedback from our tenants in Marianella is that they are very happy . . . Our service agreement does not provide for membership of the gym/resident’s club. We are a charitable organisation of limited resources and they are focused on the provision of housing to our tenants.”

So they're getting social housing in luxury apartments, agreed to the terms before moving in and now want all the trimmings with their subsidised dinner paid for by a charitable organisation who got them their nice apartments or its discrimination? Get ****ed.

I wish Ciaran Cuddihy could get ths comment read to him live on air.

He was saying it was disgraceful what was going on

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

How is it I had to move 2 counties to be able to afford a home to live in and yet councils and government are giving out housing worth up to €900k....
    Mind boggling stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Wibbs wrote: »
    A holdover from our poorer past and the foundation of the state where the government handed over responsibility in many areas(health, education) to the church

Well this is the kernel of the issue, however the NGO's only have the power and influence they have because that's the way government wants it.
    NGO's do what they do because that's the business they are in and it is a business. It's about the money and the salaries & political patronage; the cause or issue that they advocate for is secondary.
    They would not have any of this influence were it not for the government/state abdicating their responsibilities.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

You'd want to be some gobsh1t3 if you work and vote SF.

Thankfully not many of those, the crossover between gainful employment and sf support is low

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Actually SF attracted the most right wing voters. People who would refuse to vote for FF FG because "they hand out houses first to foreigners for nothing" completely unaware that compared to SF intentions FF FG are comparatively Trump like.

Low information voters they are called in the US.

While that could be true, it's not correcting the previous post. They could easily have done both. I know 2 people that consider themselves far right.
    I am not sure one of them knows exactly what it means, while the other would be very well versed in Irish, British, German and Russian history and probably a lot more.
    Both have told me that they wouldn't vote SF if they were paid. The person that knows their stuff historically has since admitted that it could be the a way of knocking the main two off their perch, but that they couldn't handle 5 minutes of a left wing Government.
    So, while SF may have attracted the most right wing voters, that figure is likely to be very, very low.

I'm lost with the rest of your post.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,558 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Thankfully not many of those, the crossover between gainful employment and sf support is low

I suspect we 'll continue to see an increase, particularly from some younger voters, in the support for more radical parties such as sf, particularly in relation to ffg's usual response to accommodation and housing, or lack of

• Registered Users Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭jrosen

I think lost of people voted for SF and the likes because they want a home and they figured it’s the only way they can get it. They don’t care particularly about history or care how realistic the policies are.

SF appeal to a demographic that’s had enough.

So I think we will see an increase in their voter base unfortunately

I think lost of people voted for SF and the likes because they want a home and they figured it’s the only way they can get it. They don’t care particularly about history or care how realistic the policies are.

So I think we will see an increase in their voter base unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

jrosen wrote: »

One might alternatively posit that they appeal to a demographic who think that they never have enough and always have their hand out for more more more........

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    I suspect we 'll continue to see an increase, particularly from some younger voters, in the support for more radical parties such as sf, particularly in relation to ffg's usual response to accommodation and housing, or lack of

Its the unfortunate lynchpin that sf have going for them. Young people will vote for who they think will house them , not that SF will but if they can con enough of them...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Its the unfortunate lynchpin that sf have going for them. Young people will vote for who they think will house them , not that SF will but if they can con enough of them...

Conning people in this country must be seen as ok.

As we have seen with the total con job the reporter did on this issue and parties promising people houses and other benefits which they know is not going to happen.

At the end of the day no one is ever really held accountable for wasting money or spreading fake reports.

Conning people in this country must be seen as ok.

As we have seen with the total con job the reporter did on this issue and parties promising people houses and other benefits which they know is not going to happen.

At the end of the day no one is ever really held accountable for wasting money or spreading fake reports.

The native irish worker is always the one who loses out...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Wanderer78 wrote: »

Wonder how they will feel when they start working their arses off to buy a house in Dublin and see the local dole lifer move in next door paying a pittence in rent because thats what SF and the other socialist parties want.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Wonder how they will feel when they start working their arses off to buy a house in Dublin and see the local dole lifer move in next door paying a pittence in rent because thats what SF and the other socialist parties want.

So exactly like now then yeah :rolleyes:

We don't need Sinn Fein in power, it's been going on for as long as I can remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,582 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    So exactly like now then yeah :rolleyes:

We don't need Sinn Fein in power, it's been going on for as long as I can remember.

It has, I'm saying it would be no different with SF so people should realise they would voting for more of the same.

People wanted to give FF/FG a kicking back in Feb so thats why SF got the vote they did.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

It has, I'm saying it would be no different with SF so people should realise they would voting for more of the same.

People wanted to give FF/FG a kicking back in Feb so thats why SF got the vote they did.

Are we a nation of political fools, or a nation with little choice?

Sinn Féin close gap on Fine Gael with highest-ever result in opinion poll

There's no way I'd vote for SF purely as a protest vote like many seem to. It's a very dangerous game to play.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

I think it’s getting worse tbh. Not better and least not fair!

TomTomTim wrote: »

There's no way I'd vote for SF purely as a protest vote like many seem to. It's a very dangerous game to play.

Dangerous surely. The thing that annoys me is that I was always brought up to use my vote as generations before us gave alot to make sure we have a vote and unlike some countries we still have a right to a vote.
    But as a worker in this country it is impossible to find someone who I can really believe has an interest in making it a level plain field for someone who works and someone who has no intention of ever working.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,538 ✭✭✭jmreire

TomTomTim wrote: »

A dangerous game? Yes and even so people were quite prepared tp play it. Continually we are told that we deserve what we get because we elect the same people / party every time, or the musical chairs version of it.
    Question is will we do it again? Bear in mind that next time, Mary Lou won't be caught short by not fielding enough candidates, and the economic landscape will have changed completely. We live in interesting times, and I think that they are about to become much more interesting.( feel free to substitute any word you like for interesting )

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Sagitt

It is often said here that unfair welfare system in this country is against native Irish people. I would say it is against anyone who makes an effort to provide for himself. I came to this country years ago from eastern Europe, never was it my intention to sponge benefits but to just work, just have this chance to provide for my family. That's what I've been doing since. Never single day on welfare for 15 hrs and before someone thinks how lucky I am, no, I worked my way through jobs, paid for my courses, spent yrs learning to get better work, at the beginning literally just 2euro left in the bank before payday. No family to help with kids, private crèche that costed me my job, because it was too expensive to work. Even than I wasn't on welfare, maybe wrongly, but I was thinking that taxpayer shouldn't pay for my choice to stay at home with kids. Not entitled to anything, no housing, no welfare, nothing, just because we cared about educating and increasing our chances. Years of commuting to jobs from private rented houses, many houses later eventually bought our own old, stinky house that needs work and money thrown at it for life, because that's the only thing we could afford in different county from job, so 2hrs round trip commute each day, not now as wfh. What else, yrs of depression as this is sometimes to hard to constantly give everything to gain so little as we're not wealthy at all. It's struggle to provide for our needs with no entitlement whatsoever to anything, because this is an expensive country. We pay taxes but have nothing back, we pay for GP, mortgage, not getting even back to school to help with the cost. By we're not complaining because that is everyone's duty to pay for themselves. My point writing this is people like us, native or not are completely invisible, we're not so called vulnerable, but people who choose to maybe more relaxed approach to life expect to be cared for. And that's so wrong as it ultimately raises the cost of living for everyone, and while welfare picks up this cost for some, the rest is for ever trying to chase the bills. I personally think that this is not a good prospect for young people. Many young and well educated people I know here are thinking or already moved to Europe. We will do the same as soon as we'll be able to. Sorry for long read but I wanted to give another point of view to the problem of, IMO, not in every case but in general, the artificially sustained welfare class, and the paradigm that not everyone needs to struggle in life. People like us are probably deemed privileged, but being privileged to struggle very hard to get by is not something everyone is happy to have. And we don't even envy anyone, we just would like to have some help as taxpayers, to see a future in this country. Not only for us, because after many years we do care about this country more than our home country. And it's just sad that life is so hard for people who make effort here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Actually SF attracted the most right wing voters. People who would refuse to vote for FF FG because "they hand out houses first to foreigners for nothing" completely unaware that compared to SF intentions FF FG are comparatively Trump like.

Low information voters they are called in the US.

A number of points

1) the far right in Ireland hate SF, as SF are left wing and they are Republican/nationalist - nationalist as in that is a term applied to them by the British - before the WofI, Dubliners were “nationalist”
    SF are Irish nationals

The far right are a collection of aped British nationalists and are created and handled by them - many are linked to anti-Irish terrorists and British loyalists/nationalists/neo-imperialists - they are just not rational, racists rarely are

They want Ireland for the Irish, except they think the North should remain occupied, Irish nationalists second class subjects and things were great under British rule

Rowan Croft goes by “Gran Torino” (a pound shop Conor McGregor) who loves Ireland apparently so much, that he is a British soldier who swore an oath of allegiance to Ireland’s historical oppressor - Britain.

(Google his name and “milkshake”)

2) SF have been gradually going up in the polls, it was just downplayed by the media

3) SF did not just win the youth vote, they won several demographics, and they are very popular in Dublin - a tough place for a worker to get a decent property (unless it’s a taxpayer bankrolled luxury apartment of course)

4) My interpretation was that people want to be able to AFFORD houses that are upset with the shortage that voted SF, most probably are aware of the housing scam and aware FFG and Labour are in thrall to the NGOs.
    They are working class not welfare class.
    Welfare class do great under the current regime including the continent’s most useless police force and government appointed lenient judiciary all designed to make big bucks for the legal industry and not offer any protection to most people - Garda commissioner and judges and laws all made by FFG, I.e. not SF

5) Governments use NGOs as cover as someone said earlier, yet it is the government who often get the blame for NGO ideas, for instance Enda Kenny is still associated with the Traveller ethnic group thing, FG is still associated with that Rehab lottery scandal (I appreciate she was linked to their party), so it is rather silly they don’t challenge them and stick the boot in when they are incompetent - after all, the CEOs often get paid the same as the government ministers, minus the scrutiny

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

SF was supposed to be a left wing nationalist party, don't have a clue what they are now, some sort of fudge would be my guess. Their opposition to everything, often even in the face of overwhelming commonsense, is getting very tiresome.

🙈🙉🙊

A number of points

1) the far right in Ireland hate SF, as SF are left wing and they are Republican/nationalist - nationalist as in that is a term applied to them by the British - before the WofI, Dubliners were “nationalist”
    SF are Irish nationals

The far right are a collection of aped British nationalists and are created and handled by them - many are linked to anti-Irish terrorists and British loyalists/nationalists/neo-imperialists - they are just not rational, racists rarely are

They want Ireland for the Irish, except they think the North should remain occupied, Irish nationalists second class subjects and things were great under British rule

Rowan Croft goes by “Gran Torino” (a pound shop Conor McGregor) who loves Ireland apparently so much, that he is a British soldier who swore an oath of allegiance to Ireland’s historical oppressor - Britain.

(Google his name and “milkshake”)

2) SF have been gradually going up in the polls, it was just downplayed by the media

3) SF did not just win the youth vote, they won several demographics, and they are very popular in Dublin - a tough place for a worker to get a decent property (unless it’s a taxpayer bankrolled luxury apartment of course)

4) My interpretation was that people want to be able to AFFORD houses that are upset with the shortage that voted SF, most probably are aware of the housing scam and aware FFG and Labour are in thrall to the NGOs.
    They are working class not welfare class.
    Welfare class do great under the current regime including the continent’s most useless police force and government appointed lenient judiciary all designed to make big bucks for the legal industry and not offer any protection to most people - Garda commissioner and judges and laws all made by FFG, I.e. not SF

5) Governments use NGOs as cover as someone said earlier, yet it is the government who often get the blame for NGO ideas, for instance Enda Kenny is still associated with the Traveller ethnic group thing, FG is still associated with that Rehab lottery scandal (I appreciate she was linked to their party), so it is rather silly they don’t challenge them and stick the boot in when they are incompetent - after all, the CEOs often get paid the same as the government ministers, minus the scrutiny
    Another party policitical broadcast brought to you by the party that dare not speak its name.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭KevRossi

SF are neither left nor right, they are populists. They promise all things to all people and rarely can explain in detail how they will do that; e.g. Mary Lou at the last election debate when asked how they will pay for their promises: "The demographics will take care of that".

What SF are up against is incompetence. Namely two parties who have governed this country in some form for the past 100 years and who believe it is their given right to do so. They run the country for them selves and their backers and that's it. They change the system only when they are dragged kicking and screaming to do so.

Enda Kenny had a huge chance in 2011. There was a mood here for a sea change in how this country is run, but he refused to do this, they lost ground in 2016 and we got Varadkar in instead. The biggest narcissist in Irish politics since Haughey.

People forget that SF did very badly in polls in 2018 (Presidential) and 2019 (Local and EU). They then looked at the biggest issue facing people, namely rent and house prices and decided to tap into this, stoking fear and making hard to keep promises. Nothing new for a political party here.

FG/FF managed to make a mess of things by concentrating on SF's past when they should have been dissecting their policies and improving the way they (FG/FF) behave.

In general the country was doing well 11 months ago; huge employment, good pay etc. but rent was becoming and issue for middle class workers, and SF used this to gain ground. Co-Living may be good for developers and students but people on €50K a year found it a bit much to take when asked to pay €1350 a month to share.

They managed to sweep up disaffected FF voters, the crowd who want 'something for everyone in the audience' but don't feel they should pay for it. They also picked up people who used to vote Labour because they sold out.

SF managed to stir up nationalist resentment at the Black & Tans commemoration, they tapped into the bias of the media, especially RTE's election coverage and the rest is history.

They will be found out when in power, but it will be an expensive lesson for many of us. Either way, FG/FF have had plenty of opportunities (as have Labour), so people feel it's OK to try something new.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Well this is the kernel of the issue, however the NGO's only have the power and influence they have because that's the way government wants it.
    NGO's do what they do because that's the business they are in and it is a business. It's about the money and the salaries & political patronage; the cause or issue that they advocate for is secondary.
    They would not have any of this influence were it not for the government/state abdicating their responsibilities.

This thread is now progressing in the safe way that the main protagonists in it wish.

The central characters are now being pushed aside,as the rush to engage in broader Political debate takes over,as can be shown by the SF leafleting of the area.
    Broaden the focus,don't allow it to be kept tight,as this immediately tends to throw up the Individual "best practices" which allows our many and varied "Systems" to be manipulated by semi-professional shysters.....repeatedly.

Broadening,also switches-off the vast majority of "ordinary" people who are long ago fed up with deep Political debate featuring the usual-suspects of the Irish Right-Left and Centre endlessly regurgating the same oul shytte in the hope of re-igniting their own pet causes Ref: Howlin-Bacik and the Labour Birthright issue.

With that in mind,I'm hoping some mod or other will see the good sense in gently nudging the FF/FG/FFG/SF/Lab/IND debates over into the many pre-existing threads dotted around the Boards empire ?

That then leaves this individual Marienella story,which has raised so many specific and important issues,none of which have been addressed by the participants.

The role of the Mainstream Media in Ireland...Is it to be factual and unbiased,or instead to reflect and propogate individual reporters politicas biases ?

All I would seek is a declaration to whatever effect is being adhered to by whatever Reporter is writing the article.

The functioning of Irelands various migration protocols,as highlighted by this SPECIFIC case and particularly the issues which came to public knowledge AFTER the publicity.

For example,have any enquiries been undertaken by the GNIB or Dept of Foreign Affairs regarding travel documentation,and actual secure identity vefification?
    Have any further enquiries been made of the Canadian immigration authorities and/or the Canadian Local regions where this gentleman apparently lived and worked before deciding to travel onwards to the Irish Republic?

Indeed it may well be of some relevance to go further back to the Kurdish/Turkish region to get to the facts in this unusual set of occurences.

Then,if possible,some further detail relating to FOLD (previously unknown to me) and the nature of it's operational relationship with Government and Local Authorities,to include details of Public Funding,whether by direct grant or otherwise (Lottery funding etc).

If the Boards thread winds it's way over towards the "usual" path,it will surely yet again,become the grazing ground of the few,long-established and highly regarded intelligentsia from the Opposing Factors...whilst the other parties dab a hankie to their brows and slide away into the gloom.........until the next revelation ;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Another party policitical broadcast brought to you by the party that dare not speak its name.

Party political broadcast?

You aren’t curious why SF are on 30% popularity and FG on 33% (FF on 12%)

Maybe a few blueshirt youth Twitter videos might make them go away, some more FFG corruption or maybe actually addressing the issues

FG can’t deal with a proper opposition, nor can they deal with not having the media play the SF bogey card in the era of the internet

AlekSmart wrote: »
    This thread is now progressing in the safe way that the main protagonists in it wish.

The central characters are now being pushed aside,as the rush to engage in broader Political debate takes over,as can be shown by the SF leafleting of the area.
    Broaden the focus,don't allow it to be kept tight,as this immediately tends to throw up the Individual "best practices" which allows our many and varied "Systems" to be manipulated by semi-professional shysters.....repeatedly.

Broadening,also switches-off the vast majority of "ordinary" people who are long ago fed up with deep Political debate featuring the usual-suspects of the Irish Right-Left and Centre endlessly regurgating the same oul shytte in the hope of re-igniting their own pet causes Ref: Howlin-Bacik and the Labour Birthright issue.

With that in mind,I'm hoping some mod or other will see the good sense in gently nudging the FF/FG/FFG/SF/Lab/IND debates over into the many pre-existing threads dotted around the Boards empire ?

That then leaves this individual Marienella story,which has raised so many specific and important issues,none of which have been addressed by the participants.

The role of the Mainstream Media in Ireland...Is it to be factual and unbiased,or instead to reflect and propogate individual reporters politicas biases ?

All I would seek is a declaration to whatever effect is being adhered to by whatever Reporter is writing the article.

The functioning of Irelands various migration protocols,as highlighted by this SPECIFIC case and particularly the issues which came to public knowledge AFTER the publicity.

For example,have any enquiries been undertaken by the GNIB or Dept of Foreign Affairs regarding travel documentation,and actual secure identity vefification?
    Have any further enquiries been made of the Canadian immigration authorities and/or the Canadian Local regions where this gentleman apparently lived and worked before deciding to travel onwards to the Irish Republic?

Indeed it may well be of some relevance to go further back to the Kurdish/Turkish region to get to the facts in this unusual set of occurences.

Then,if possible,some further detail relating to FOLD (previously unknown to me) and the nature of it's operational relationship with Government and Local Authorities,to include details of Public Funding,whether by direct grant or otherwise (Lottery funding etc).

If the Boards thread winds it's way over towards the "usual" path,it will surely yet again,become the grazing ground of the few,long-established and highly regarded intelligentsia from the Opposing Factors...whilst the other parties dab a hankie to their brows and slide away into the gloom.........until the next revelation ;)

Or perhaps people have just conceded to the fact that the marienella fiasco will have the same outcome for all involved as all the rest of the scandals that come to light.
    Which is nothing will be done and no one will be held accountable.

KevRossi wrote: »
    SF are neither left nor right, they are populists. They promise all things to all people and rarely can explain in detail how they will do that; e.g. Mary Lou at the last election debate when asked how they will pay for their promises: "The demographics will take care of that".

What SF are up against is incompetence. Namely two parties who have governed this country in some form for the past 100 years and who believe it is their given right to do so. They run the country for them selves and their backers and that's it. They change the system only when they are dragged kicking and screaming to do so.

Enda Kenny had a huge chance in 2011. There was a mood here for a sea change in how this country is run, but he refused to do this, they lost ground in 2016 and we got Varadkar in instead. The biggest narcissist in Irish politics since Haughey.

If FG were smart, they would have replaced him with Simon Coveney or Paschal Donoghue, much more likeable than both Varadkar and Martin

There are also the recent accusations of corruption in Irish politics on two occasions of this government so far which must be damaging to FFG, especially as SF are seen as the opposition (or leaders of such), remember Labour attacked SF for the vote of confidence in Varadkar which was actually called by an Independent TD

AlekSmart wrote: »

My theory on that is that the ivory tower dwellers in Labour saw the scenes at recent referenda at Dublin castle and all the bandwagoners, and decided what would make Labour popular by association? Rather than actually make Ireland a better place to live in?

An unpopular referendum to be the only country in the EU, possibly the world, to allow this AND to have it led by Ivan Bacik - a several times filthy rich unelected elitist, as anti-socialist as you can get, in the most corrupt, immoral and greedy industry, that of the legal industry -

Bacik, who actually cost the taxpayer millions supporting a scam artist (while real asylum seekers suffered) :

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/1m-legal-bill-after-pamela-and-girls-finally-deported-26753400.html

Great idea Labour!

Shows they really know what the ordinary Joe Soap wants

• Registered Users Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

My theory on that is that the ivory tower dwellers in Labour saw the scenes at recent referenda at Dublin castle and all the bandwagoners, and decided what would make Labour popular by association? Rather than actually make Ireland a better place to live in?

An unpopular referendum to be the only country in the EU, possibly the world, to allow this AND to have it led by Ivan Bacik - a several times filthy rich unelected elitist, as anti-socialist as you can get, in the most corrupt, immoral and greedy industry, that of the legal industry -

Bacik, who actually cost the taxpayer millions supporting a scam artist (while real asylum seekers suffered) :

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/1m-legal-bill-after-pamela-and-girls-finally-deported-26753400.html

Great idea Labour!

Shows they really know what the ordinary Joe Soap wants

Labour don't want a referendum and will usher this new birthright in, without opposition through legislation. They know if it were to go to a referendum it would be soundly rejected, again, by the electorate. They are pretending the public largely support this.
    They have cross party support and a compliant supportive media class.
    A two fingers to democracy.
    This bill proposes to amend the law to enable children who are born in Ireland and who have lived here for three years to be considered for naturalisation as an Irish citizen, irrespective of the status of their parents.

It does not require a second referendum.

The bill was passed through the Second Stage in the Seanad by a majority of Senators, including Fianna Fáil and the Green Party, but not Fine Gael Senators.

Labour is now bringing the Bill back before the Seanad in the first week of December and the party is calling on the current Government to support it.

https://www.thejournal.ie/the-explainer-podcast-17th-amendment-5279567-Nov2020/