Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

England v Ireland Autumn Nations Cup | 21.11.20 KO 15:00 | RTE 1 Read Post #5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

If we had any semblance of an attacking game we could have potentially won this. Defence has been quite good one missed tackle aside

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Lowe with the GAA skills

I suppose Stockdale is back in the good books now?

Good score but the game has been long over.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

For all the zip and verve that JPG offers there is a definite quality of decision making that Murray brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

Maybe next time, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

gifted wrote: »
    Over paid...over hyped....very average players......they could pick any 15 and they're all the same standard.......and most of them will keep their place for the next match.....

Pure sh1te of a post. Andy Farrell has given debuts to to at least 6 players during his tenure as coach and his generally kept them as his starters. There are problems in this side, but willingness to give young blood a shot isn't one of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 108 ✭✭Garda Kenny

Murray’s up and under box kicks are not what we need. We need dinks over the top like JGP did.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭thepogues

Clegg wrote: »
    I mean, Farrell was also partly responsible for May's try in that he missed a pretty standard tackle. I think there was definitely a systems problem throughout the side. Byrne was poor as an individual, but so has Farrell.

In fairness May is a bloody nightmare to tackle

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Niallof9

tackle stats are just an indication Schimdttball still lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

England have done **** all in attack today. We gifted them this game.

Bridge93 wrote: »
    If we had any semblance of an attacking game we could have potentially won this. Defence has been quite good one missed tackle aside

England were never in danger of losing this match.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

Bridge93 wrote: »

If we could even have an average line out we could have won this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭budhabob

Murray’s up and under box kicks are not what we need. We need dinks over the top like JGP did.

Not sure if you watched the first 50 minutes but JGP didn't do much for us, dinks or otherwise....in fact he made some serious brain farts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

glasso wrote: »

I didn’t say they were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,870 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I suppose Stockdale is back in the good books now?

He's a quality attacker still no matter what you think. Defence is suspect but he's already one of the top try scorers for Ireland.

Carbon copy of in Feburary.

The lineout! ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Defence wins game.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

England made 4 times as many tackles as us.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

We must be doing well on territory this half. A bit more ingenuity and we would have made a game of it.

Will Stuart's mullet is revolting.

This from a man who likes a good mullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Presume all those going to town on Kelleher will be doing the same for Herring too.....

Now that England have brought the 1990's back can we at least expect an Oasis reunion tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,225 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

time to be ruthless and give his brother and Frawley more time at Leinster in bigger games to develop them to see what they really have.

Ross just doesn't have it at real test level.

Need to have a 10 with more than a few caps for the next world cup.

Frawley is being developed as a 12 now. Which may be important as Aki, as good as he is, is a pure bosh merchant. And in games like today he offers little when the defence he's facing is so suffocating.

We need someone who can pass and kick his way around a defence rather than running into a brick wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭almostover

Dinks out over the dead ball line is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭Five Eighth

Line-out a disaster.

Time to promote Dan Sheehan to the starting Leinster and Ireland sides.

Better team won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭Kraftwerk

Same as last time. Gift England a couple handy tries. Then struggle to make up the deficit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

If it wasn't for the lineout and Gibson Park we would have won that game easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

The bench was stronger than a few of those starters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Paul Weller

We were out thought...out fought and out coached today... didn't think we would win, but an English team that didn't look too great... absolutely hammered us!

And ofcourse yet another lineout is botched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

****e. Blame lies squarely with Farrell tbh.

Doesn't have the tactical nous to try something different against the rush defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭theVersatile

Line-out a disaster.

Time to promote Dan Sheehan to the starting Leinster and Ireland sides.

Please be satire. Sheehans throwing has been equally dodgy whenever he's come on for the Blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Typical finish
    Struggling lineout and throw to the back.

Beat Geogia next week and watch the false optimism in the media return.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Niallof9

Way too easy. same old story regarding how difficult it looks for us to score. shocking stuff. honeymoon period is over. Farrell, coach in our World Cup disaster is now in a real fight. Catt, no idea what he's adding. he now needs to make real changes. people accepting this ****e yet still harping on about 2018 are an embarrassment. Ferris and Heaslip angling on England being poor, jesus just ridiculous.

Asus X540L wrote: »
    If it wasn't for the lineout and Gibson Park we would have won that game easily.

Easily? You think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Clegg wrote: »
    Frawley is being developed as a 12 now. Which may be important as Aki, as good as he is, is a pure bosh merchant. And in games like today he offers little when the defence he's facing is so suffocating.

We need someone who can pass and kick his way around a defence rather than running into a brick wall.
    Bundee's only a bosh merchant if you dont watch him play much. Bundee is far from the or even a problem.
    He wasnt helped at all from a terrible performance from Byrne at 10 and a pack completely outperformed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

Easily? You think?

We won the second half and had all the possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Ross Byrnes body position taking the ball at 10 is akin to your 9 who's been shoved into 10 for your J3 game due to injury. Absolutely awful

First try = kick on an advantage after we botched a lineout
    Second try = counter attack directly from a botched Irish lineout
    1st pen = high tackle from Roux when we have the ball
    2nd pen = Needless off the feet from Henderson after we got the ball

We had to be at our best to win today but errors line above are unforgivable.

Pros:
    Managed not to get nilled.
    POM shows up
    Got a run-out for a few of the young lads.

Cons:
    Fail to banish the 'softies' tag
    Lineout dreadful.
    Fail to make any meaningful forward progress.
    Toothless attack
    Byrne demonstrates his shortcomings at test level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    England made 4 times as many tackles as us.

They left the ball to us as they knew we could do nothing.

England are fantastic to their credit.

We are looking at an early exit again from the World Cup the way things are going. Long way to go yet of course, but when you keep missing the line out and keep throwing it to the back there is something very wrong.

On the bright side things can only go up right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I fully expect Eddie Jones to rehash his cricket comment about declaring at 18 points up.

Burns has to start the remaining games, I’d let JGP there. Let’s see what they can do with a 10 who can play a bit.

I thought the first 10mins looked promising we tried a few dinks and grubbers. Variety. Wish we had maintained it and made their defence think a bit more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭VANG1

England are the strongest team in the world, were inexperienced and missing our 2 best centres and out half

I expect England to win by 10 or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

The single most frustrating thing is that everyone had been calling for kicks in behind before kick off and we try it a grand total of twice, once leading to a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

UAEguy2020 wrote: »
    First try = kick on an advantage after we botched a lineout
    Second try = counter attack directly from a botched Irish lineout
    1st pen = high tackle from Roux when we have the ball
    2nd pen = Needless off the feet from Henderson after we got the ball

We had to be at our best to win today but errors line above are unforgivable.

Don’t forget the golden try opportunity in the first half
    from the Earls break when Keenan ran in front of the forwards pod and lost possession in the tackle.

Asus X540L wrote: »
    We won the second half and had all the possession.

When the game was never in doubt we were on top without seriously threatening the line. I am sure if we got closer England would have responded with something