Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Forum Games Sheepish Advent Calendar 2020!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

I wonder what the all important median was. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

OK, all answers in. I can tell you the "correct" answer, according to rte, was 1,700,000

I think you guys did pretty well, lots of guesses in that ballpark. I haven't got them all compiled yet though. One or two guesses quite a bit higher than that though :o

Ah bollocks, this does not bode well for me.

Didn't think that many people watch the bloody thing.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,305 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

On the lap Sephi, you were last :p

tenor.gif?itemid=12092804

This wasn't a normal year. More people seemed to be interested this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

FFS. I think I’ll be sitting on Zaph’s lap.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

This wasn't a normal year. More people seemed to be interested this year.

Still way way way more than I thought.

I'm closer to 17 than I am 1,700,000

FFS. I think I’ll be sitting on Zaph’s lap.

Careful now Toto. It'd alright for the lads to joke but I heard he's married to a Boardsie and she's supposed to be a total harda$$. Just warning you! ;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

I thought the opposite.
    - 5 M in the country
    - everyone bleating about it for the fortnight before
    - Herself watched it three times

So a wildly over answer :o. Which makes up for my stingy shopping answer.:o

Tomorrows plan is work what I think it is, and then go to the other extreme. Cant fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,434 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

I probably would of went with a figure similar to that if the question was for TV viewing in Ireland only.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Zaph wrote: »
    tenor.gif?itemid=12092804

wechat-stickers-homer.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭aaronjennings

On the lap Sephi, you were last :p

OK, all answers in. I can tell you the "correct" answer, according to rte, was 1,700,000

I think you guys did pretty well, lots of guesses in that ballpark. I haven't got them all compiled yet though. One or two guesses quite a bit higher than that though :o

Oh dear...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I'm happy with my answer anyway :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,911 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

My number is shameful, totally way over .

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    My number is shameful, totally way over .
    Was it a shortlived stint at the top...?

I actually need to nip out later so the reveal is on the way in a few minutes...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

200w.webp?cid=ecf05e47p1uivb74v60p40uy8qo9jp4hofvb7zjs0q7zpcmq&rid=200w.webp

Your median answer was 1,550,000 - landing between 1.5m and 1.6m. Six people had one of those and score nearly the max. The standard deviation was very high, so anyone within a million or so scores pretty well. If you went over 3m it's bad news I'm afraid... very, very bad news if you went over 6m :o

Q3: How many watched the Late Late Toy Show?

Player | Guess | Score
    Necro | 500,000 | 5.5
    Also Starring LeVar Burton | 500,000 | 5.5
    Declan A Walsh | 775,000 | 6.7
    Homer J. Fong | 900,000 | 7.2
    Mollyb60 | 1,000,000 | 7.7
    TRS30 | 1,000,000 | 7.7
    DvB | 1,000,000 | 7.7
    Neowise | 1,000,000 | 7.7
    Posy | 1,000,000 | 7.7
    Ectoplasm | 1,100,000 | 8.1
    JohnGreenFan | 1,200,000 | 8.5
    kitten_k | 1,200,000 | 8.5
    Loughc | 1,200,000 | 8.5
    duffman13 | 1,200,000 | 8.5
    Kolido | 1,219,000 | 8.6
    khalessi | 1,300,000 | 8.9
    Zaph | 1,350,000 | 9.1
    Collie D | 1,400,000 | 9.4
    bubblypop | 1,500,000 | 9.8
    Green&Red | 1,500,000 | 9.8
    Hyblaeus | 1,500,000 | 9.8
    Irish Aris | 1,500,000 | 9.8
    davetherave | 1,500,000 | 9.8
    mirrorwall14 | 1,600,000 | 9.8
    cee_jay | 1,700,000 | 9.4
    Skyler Scarce Frown | 1,700,000 | 9.4
    Siobh73 | 1,700,000 | 9.4
    Reberetta | 1,700,000 | 9.4
    Ted_YNWA | 1,701,256 | 9.4
    Barney92 | 1,750,000 | 9.1
    rainbowtrout | 1,800,000 | 8.9
    ShaneU | 2,000,000 | 8.1
    tscul32 | 2,000,000 | 8.1
    hurlingman97 | 2,150,000 | 7.4
    HeidiHeidi | 2,167,589 | 7.4
    mustang shelly | 2,500,000 | 5.9
    the purple tin | 2,500,000 | 5.9
    Builebeag | 2,500,000 | 5.9
    Sephiroth_dude | 2,500,000 | 5.9
    Spook_ie | 2,573,642 | 5.6
    Toto Wolfcastle | 3,000,000 | 3.8
    aaronjennings | 3,700,000 | 0.8
    Purgative | 3,800,000 | 0.4
    Mam of 4 | 4,750,000 | -3.7
    Trigger | 5,000,000 | -4.7
    Strawberry Milkshake | 6,200,000 | -9.9

Oooopsy

Mam and Trig were our top two but both had a mare...! Reberetta takes over pole position

Place | Player | Old total | Today's score | Total
    1 | Reberetta | 18.0 | 9.4 | 27.3
    2 | Green&Red | 17.3 | 9.8 | 27.1
    3 | Siobh73 | 15.9 | 9.4 | 25.3
    4 | Hyblaeus | 15.4 | 9.8 | 25.2
    5 | davetherave | 15.0 | 9.8 | 24.8
    6 | kitten_k | 15.9 | 8.5 | 24.4
    7 | Loughc | 15.4 | 8.5 | 23.9
    8 | bubblypop | 13.9 | 9.8 | 23.7
    9 | rainbowtrout | 14.6 | 8.9 | 23.5
    10 | duffman13 | 14.9 | 8.5 | 23.4
    11 | Irish Aris | 13.5 | 9.8 | 23.3
    12 | mustang shelly | 17.3 | 5.9 | 23.2
    13 | khalessi | 14.0 | 8.9 | 23.0
    14 | HeidiHeidi | 15.3 | 7.4 | 22.6
    15 | TRS30 | 14.8 | 7.7 | 22.5
    16 | the purple tin | 16.1 | 5.9 | 22.0
    17 | Collie D | 12.2 | 9.4 | 21.5
    18 | DvB | 13.5 | 7.7 | 21.2
    19 | Neowise | 13.5 | 7.7 | 21.2
    20 | JohnGreenFan | 12.6 | 8.5 | 21.1
    21 | ShaneU | 13.0 | 8.1 | 21.1
    22 | Builebeag | 15.0 | 5.9 | 20.9
    23 | hurlingman97 | 13.3 | 7.4 | 20.7
    24 | Homer J. Fong | 13.4 | 7.2 | 20.7
    25 | Zaph | 10.9 | 9.1 | 20.1
    26 | Ted_YNWA | 10.1 | 9.4 | 19.4
    27 | Ectoplasm | 10.4 | 8.1 | 18.5
    28 | Declan A Walsh | 11.3 | 6.7 | 18.0
    29 | Posy | 10.0 | 7.7 | 17.7
    30 | mirrorwall14 | 7.6 | 9.8 | 17.4
    31 | cee_jay | 7.9 | 9.4 | 17.3
    32 | Necro | 11.7 | 5.5 | 17.2
    33 | Also Starring LeVar Burton | 11.3 | 5.5 | 16.8
    34 | Barney92 | 6.7 | 9.1 | 15.9
    35 | Mam of 4 | 19.3 | -3.7 | 15.7
    36 | Skyler Scarce Frown | 5.5 | 9.4 | 14.8
    37 | Toto Wolfcastle | 10.1 | 3.8 | 13.9
    38 | Spook_ie | 7.8 | 5.6 | 13.4
    39 | Trigger | 18.1 | -4.7 | 13.4
    40 | Kolido | 4.6 | 8.6 | 13.2
    41 | Sephiroth_dude | 6.3 | 5.9 | 12.3
    42 | Mollyb60 | 3.7 | 7.7 | 11.3
    43 | aaronjennings | 10.3 | 0.8 | 11.1
    44 | Purgative | 7.4 | 0.4 | 7.8
    45 | Strawberry Milkshake | 14.5 | -9.9 | 4.6
    46 | tscul32 | -3.7 | 8.1 | 4.3

• Registered Users Posts: 21,911 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I'll take my answer being third from the bottom , as I was sure it was going to be the worst answer !

I'm happy with my answer anyway :D

Scratch that, ugh!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

I knew the actual answer, as The Journal had an article on it the other day. So it was so difficult to think what other people would think, because 1.7 million was just so "right".

cee_jay wrote: »
    I knew the actual answer, as The Journal had an article on it the other day. So it was so difficult to think what other people would think, because 1.7 million was just so "right".
    I'll try to make future days easier by having questions no one will know the answer to :pac:

I saw a headline on one of the news sites that mentioned record-breaking Toy Show audience but I didn't actually read the article, unaware as I was that the information would have proven useful here. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Siobh73

Me too. Thought about going a bit lower as I thought others might but the middle wasn't too far off. This is probably the highest I'll get on the leader board though

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I saw a headline on one of the news sites that mentioned record-breaking Toy Show audience but I didn't actually read the article, unaware as I was that the information would have proven useful here. :o

Same here except when I saw the headline I thought this was likely to come up and still didn’t read the article.

My laziness and lack of dedication amazes me some days.

Oh yeah, you three have reminded me I collected comments. Well, early ones anyway...

I saw the headline for this a couple of days ago ‘highest ever viewing figures for Toy Show’ do you think I clicked on it? Nope.

This was the first news item I came across on Monday morning and I suspected you'd ask it but did I actually click into the article?! :mad:

I actually forget the correct number though I read it so going with the first one in my head....

I did see a headline saying it was the most watched Toy Show ever, but I didn't read the article so I don't know how many it was.

I know this and have decided to be true to myself, feck the messers and eejits.

I think I saw the actual answer a few days ago, I'm hoping that A) I've remembered it right, and B) others will know it as well

Well the RTE Player never works, so I'm ruling that out straight away in my consideration. The actual answer is probably over a million, why the f*ck anyone would want to watch it is beyond me, but its the type of bullsh*t people go mad for... if I had my way the bloody thing would be banned altogether.

I saw the headline for this a couple of days ago ‘highest ever viewing figures for Toy Show’ do you think I clicked on it? Nope.

Well the RTE Player never works, so I'm ruling that out straight away in my consideration. The actual answer is probably over a million, why the f*ck anyone would want to watch it is beyond me, but its the type of bullsh*t people go mad for... if I had my way the bloody thing would be banned altogether.

1st quote- Bubbly?
    2nd quote- Heidi?

I can't believe I gave the third lowest answer. I really thought that there would be a few more giving low answers - so much for my strategy. Still, it worked out better than the really high answers!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭aaronjennings

Oh yeah, you three have reminded me I collected comments. Well, early ones anyway...

I think I saw the actual answer a few days ago, I'm hoping that A) I've remembered it right, and B) others will know it as well

This was mine... I clearly didn't remember it right :D