Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Forum Games Sheepish Advent Calendar 2020!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,344 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    This "other table" is just a Conspiracy. Trigger is just trying to discredit this game.

I should probably cancel my credit card so

2nd? ptchhh you're first in mine :D:D

This is as it should be. :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    This "other table" is just a Conspiracy. Trigger is just trying to discredit this game.

Hmmmmm suspicious...........that's exactly what a conspiracy theory mod would say.........

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

I'll give hurlingman a little while longer. Mostly as I've just made dinner :D

See you all at 8!

I've had a good laugh at all the attempts made to shave a couple of months of yer ages haha

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Hmmmmm suspicious...........that's exactly what a conspiracy theory mod would say.........

Trigger is one too.

Good evening to the cougars in thread.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Trigger wrote: »
    You are 2nd in the alternative table

Where are the rest of us:D

• Registered Users Posts: 28,429 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Given that I am second last, am I doing any better on the Other Table? And what is the other table, I seem to have missed the memo? Thank you so much!

OK, we're all in!

Since 1961, there were 17 Christmas Days when snow actually fell somewhere in the country (that number's actually from 2015 but I think it's still the same...? Doesn't matter anyway!)

Morning EN, nearly there and the abusive PMs can stop for another year. I'd say you will almost miss them.... Almost. Ya big dirty eejit. :pac:

There is more chance of a black & blue Christmas if I find you over this quiz

oooh I was so ready with this one because I know there's been 9 christmases where there's been SNOW. like snow on the ground when you wake up.
    But a day where snow fell anywhere... probably more than 9.

Snow anywhere? Maybe one in four?

So 60 years of potential White Christmas weather. It was a rare enough occurrence in Limerick where I'm from, but we get more snow in the North West where I now live. It's probably less than half in general we tend to get more snow in January and February, December is wet more than anything else. I suppose the definition is quite loose, snow in the Wicklow Mountains might define a White Christmas when most of the country is clear. It's definitely less than half anyway, even a third seems high. I'd like to go lower than a quarter but I have to think of the median and what everyone else will go for

ooh, i know this one... well at least I did last year at a pub quiz. Bizarrely in the quiz it was 1961 too... is that the first year they started officially recording or something!? Anyhoo.... heres the thing, what will the masses say...?? No time to faff aboot today I'll not change it too much.

I remember some vividly... but then how many happened before I was born. The worst one I remember was the Christmas I spent in New York - not a flake to be seen, ringing home and they having a white christmas. Oh the irony.

Haha my father told me the answer to this last night at about 9 o'clock. I didn't actually check to see if he was right or not but that matters little anyway.

Hmmm. Going to try maths this one. I think the bookies usually offer odds of 8/1 on this which is an 11.11% chance. Now bearing in mind the bookies are notoriously stingy on these novelty bets I would say that means the likelihood is actually half of that so 5.56% of 59 years is 3 - which is probably what I would have guessed at without the hassle of maths so that was all a waste of time.

Right well no one is gonna be so foolish to say 59 years? Or is this a trick question and the answer actually is all 59 years? I assume Met Eireann wouldn't just take john-joe's word for it that it snowed down the road from him for 15 minutes some Christmas Day and they'll actually only count snow falling at one of their stations on the big day? There are plenty of stations but I dunno how common it would be for snow. Ireland is pretty wet. But maybe I should just play the numbers and say 30? Will most people go for the median and say 30? Or am I just overthinking this?

After yesterday's unmitigated disaster, I am hoping the low numbers will serve me better and restore some semblance of respect to my score. The only thing is I wonder do Met Eireann count a brief flurry of snowflakes on Christmas Day. :confused: I think I will close my eyes for this one.

I love snow :D Prefer it to frost when driving tbh

I am constantly swimming in mid table mediocrity anyway so no harm if I'm wildly wrong :D

Sigh... I'm a weather nerd... check out the weather forum on boards its great. So I think there's been ALOT of White Christmases but most of them came in 60's,70's & 80's, I know the last one was 2010.

I reckon it's more than you would think, just going by the definition of snow anywhere in the country. But what will the hordes guess?? I'm losing my touch lately so hope to get back on track

Nothing to base it on, no idea whatsoever, hopefully I will be close to the median.

Now I might be totally wrong, but I think this is super-low

I think it is higher than this but hoping people just guess around half of the total years.

Well I was too high yesterday so I’m going low today. I can’t imagine its that often tbh

I only remember 2 in my lifetime

Is every Christmas not a white Christmas if you go high enough up the mountains? If I knew how high up Met Eireann's highest station was.....it would not help me at all because I'd still guess horribly.

This is unfair, seeing as there's a fair few around these parts who've been knocking about longer than that anyway, and won't even have to guesstimate, because they were there for it... Not to mention old people just remember the weather better than they remember actual important facts about their own lives... They'd be in their deathbeds and telling a final story, and be like, "...that all happened on the 26th of June 1953, I remember the date because there was a big storm that night with Thunder and Lighting", and those of us under 50 just sitting there thinking, "bitch how do you remember so much **** about the weather, I can't even remember what I had for breakfast an hour ago..."

I'm confident this is either right, or in the ballpark. I'm sure I'll get fcuked over on the median though. :D

Is that 58 Christmases? Uummm.... One fifth of the time?? What's one fifth of 58?? I'm so thick, I'll have to ask Google.

I should put in some crazy answer to complete my helter skelter to the bottom.
    But I'm too competitive!!

I was going to say 30 but my dad is convinced it would be closer to 3

Oh dear

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,461 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Where's the oh bollocks gif :/

Necro wrote: »

PM it to me when you’re done with it please.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,305 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Oi! Supposing I had feelings?! :mad:

Yeah, and I might get hit by lightning while holding the winning Euromillions ticket.

Collie D wrote: »

And another one when it becomes available lads.

However... the grey network colluded when they heard the young bollix knew the answer, so the median is well off :D

10 gets you the maximum 10pts!
    And there's 8 of you on it

Spook must be answering from Lapland :o

Player | Guess | Score
    aaronjennings | 3 | 6.2
    Collie D | 3 | 6.2
    kitten_k | 3 | 6.2
    mirrorwall14 | 3 | 6.2
    Purgative | 3 | 6.2
    Zaph | 4 | 6.8
    ShaneU | 5 | 7.3
    Toto Wolfcastle | 5 | 7.3
    Strawberry Milkshake | 6.2 | 8.0
    Also Starring LeVar Burton | 7 | 8.4
    hurlingman97 | 7 | 8.4
    looksee | 7 | 8.4
    mustang shelly | 7 | 8.4
    Neowise | 8 | 8.9
    the purple tin | 8 | 8.9
    Posy | 9 | 9.5
    Ted_YNWA | 9 | 9.5
    cee_jay | 10 | 10.0
    davetherave | 10 | 10.0
    duffman13 | 10 | 10.0
    HeidiHeidi | 10 | 10.0
    Irish Aris | 10 | 10.0
    Necro | 10 | 10.0
    Trigger | 10 | 10.0
    TRS30 | 10 | 10.0
    Builebeag | 12 | 8.9
    Kolido | 12 | 8.9
    Mam of 4 | 12 | 8.9
    Sephiroth_dude | 12 | 8.9
    Loughc | 14 | 7.8
    bubblypop | 15 | 7.3
    Green&Red | 15 | 7.3
    Hyblaeus | 15 | 7.3
    JohnGreenFan | 15 | 7.3
    rainbowtrout | 15 | 7.3
    Reberetta | 15 | 7.3
    DvB | 16 | 6.8
    Skyler Scarce Frown | 17 | 6.2
    Homer J. Fong | 20 | 4.6
    khalessi | 20 | 4.6
    Siobh73 | 20 | 4.6
    tscul32 | 20 | 4.6
    Declan A Walsh | 25 | 1.9
    Barney92 | 30 | -0.8
    Mollyb60 | 30 | -0.8
    Ectoplasm | 37 | -4.5
    Spook_ie | 50 | -11.5

tenor.gif?itemid=3625953
    Collie D wrote: »

giphy.gif
    Zaph wrote: »
    And another one when it becomes available lads.

giphy.gif

Sorted for us all :D

Wait... I take it back. I take it all back

WOOOOO

Ha. Sweet. My abysmal answer of 3 scores the same as the actual answer. I’ll take that :)

Wait... I take it back. I take it all back

WOOOOO

jammy-bastard.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Zaph wrote: »
    jammy-bastard.jpg

This is the alternative table.

A result which means I've had to add a decimal place at the top of the table!
    GnR is hanging on... just! Duffman is making a late charge...

Place | Player | Old total | Today's score | Total
    1 (1) | Green&Red | 174.8 | 7.3 | 182.12
    2 (3) | duffman13 | 172.1 | 10.0 | 182.09
    3 (2) | Siobh73 | 172.6 | 4.6 | 177.2
    4 (4) | JohnGreenFan | 169.6 | 7.3 | 176.9
    5 (5) | rainbowtrout | 168.7 | 7.3 | 176.0
    6 (6) | Loughc | 167.8 | 7.8 | 175.6
    7 (7) | DvB | 166.4 | 6.8 | 173.1
    8 (10) | Necro | 162.1 | 10.0 | 172.1
    9 (11) | cee_jay | 162.1 | 10.0 | 172.1
    10 (9) | hurlingman97 | 163.4 | 8.4 | 171.7
    11 (8) | Toto Wolfcastle | 164.0 | 7.3 | 171.3
    12 (12) | Posy | 161.1 | 9.5 | 170.5
    13 (17) | Trigger | 155.1 | 10.0 | 165.1
    14 (14) | Reberetta | 157.5 | 7.3 | 164.8
    15 (15) | Zaph | 157.2 | 6.8 | 164.0
    16 (13) | Homer J. Fong | 158.2 | 4.6 | 162.9
    17 (16) | mirrorwall14 | 156.6 | 6.2 | 162.8
    18 (19) | davetherave | 149.8 | 10.0 | 159.8
    19 (18) | khalessi | 154.4 | 4.6 | 159.0
    20 (21) | TRS30 | 146.0 | 10.0 | 156.0
    21 (24) | ShaneU | 144.9 | 7.3 | 152.2
    22 (23) | Collie D | 145.1 | 6.2 | 151.4
    23 (25) | Builebeag | 142.3 | 8.9 | 151.2
    24 (27) | Irish Aris | 140.0 | 10.0 | 150.0
    25 (29) | HeidiHeidi | 137.7 | 10.0 | 147.7
    26 (28) | Neowise | 138.7 | 8.9 | 147.6
    27 (26) | tscul32 | 140.0 | 4.6 | 144.7
    28 (20) | Ectoplasm | 147.3 | -4.5 | 142.8
    29 (30) | Hyblaeus | 132.0 | 7.3 | 139.3
    30 (31) | Kolido | 128.5 | 8.9 | 137.4
    31 (33) | Mam of 4 | 127.8 | 8.9 | 136.7
    32 (34) | Sephiroth_dude | 127.8 | 8.9 | 136.7
    33 (32) | aaronjennings | 128.2 | 6.2 | 134.4
    34 (22) | Spook_ie | 145.2 | -11.5 | 133.7
    35 (36) | bubblypop | 120.1 | 7.3 | 127.4
    36 (35) | Barney92 | 126.2 | -0.8 | 125.4
    37 (38) | mustang shelly | 109.0 | 8.4 | 117.4
    38 (39) | Ted_YNWA | 107.8 | 9.5 | 117.3
    39 (37) | Mollyb60 | 115.7 | -0.8 | 114.9
    40 (40) | the purple tin | 103.6 | 8.9 | 112.5
    41 (41) | Skyler Scarce Frown | 103.2 | 6.2 | 109.4
    42 (42) | Purgative | 102.4 | 6.2 | 108.6
    43 (43) | Strawberry Milkshake | 99.9 | 8.0 | 107.9
    44 (45) | kitten_k | 91.7 | 6.2 | 97.9
    45 (46) | looksee | 88.6 | 8.4 | 96.9
    46 (44) | Declan A Walsh | 94.4 | 1.9 | 96.3
    47 (47) | Also Starring LeVar Burton | 83.2 | 8.4 | 91.5

• Registered Users Posts: 29,331 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Yeeehawwwwww!!!

(Dunno why I'm getting so excited, as my last two top scores resulted in no move whatsoever on the leaderboard ......)

ETA - OK I take that back, up 4..... I'm waging a campaign now for the median spot at the final tally, is there a special prize for that? And if not, why not???

And I've moved up one!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

looksee wrote: »
    And I've moved up one!!!!!

I demand a recount! :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Purgative

This reminds me of that game of Monopoly (thankfully not this year) where you have one paltry house on Pall Mall but you're about to run the mill of the hotels Trafalgar, Regent and Mayfair.

200.webp?cid=ecf05e47bijywuliokrav1zrdpvgtjm73ofp6gbhv0yuy2di&rid=200.webp

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭JohnGreenFan

I know I should be pleased to have held on to my place... But Jesus what does it take to overtake GnR and Siobh!!!

Answers in a brown envelope please.

I know I should be pleased to have held on to my place... But Jesus what does it take to overtake GnR and Siobh!!!

Move the game to Croke Park?