Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Christmas DEADLINE spells death knell of Covid: Yuletide Liveline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

So this is literally a book about how woman in olden days could get the ride?....for whoy?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Such a patronising bollix he is

28 euro....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

There hasn't been any book described here yet that I would be tempted to buy, nothing close.

I’m going to write a buke next year about a telephonist on €400k a year who doesn’t speak English. I’m going to write it in Dubalinese. Think of a working class Ross O’Carroll Kelly amateur sleuth, artist, intellectual, psychologist, man o de peeple type thing. Might set up a gofundme or a Kickstarter page to fund it.

Anyone for the advance copies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Even she is bored now

Yeahhhh sure joe yeahhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,941 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

gmisk wrote: »
    A constantly failing businessman....

They could get the guy on with the sausages from the other week....

De Internationally Renowned Sausage Designer.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

I’m going to write a buke next year about a telephonist on €400k a year who doesn’t speak English. I’m going to write it in Dubalinese. Think of a working class Ross O’Carroll Kelly amateur sleuth, artist, intellectual, psychologist, man o de peeple type thing. Might set up a gofundme or a Kickstarter page to fund it.

That genuinely sounds more interesting than every book plugged on this show today....

I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT!

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    De Internationally Renowned Sausage Designer.
    Who the people of Kerry cruelly didn't support!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭shearforce

Joe trolling us with that short story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

You'll need a title. How about "So To Speak"?

Eppinhams.
    Would dat be de Cheltenham Eppinhams?

Oh no, de same shyt tomorra.

Flukey wrote: »

"Bad Line for Bad Bad Bstads."

Back tomorrow with hundreds of more self published books....

Ffs

Flukey wrote: »

I was thinking something more along the lines of

“Can you believe I’m getting away this?”

De sequel will be called:

“Can you believe I’m still getting away with this?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ffs

two days of that sh1te:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ffs

Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

If I was given bagatelle concert tickets I would ask for a refund...

Dont like you anymore caller. Bagatelle are a guilty pleasure of mine - seen them a few times.

In the pub I was in on Saturday having my substantial meal and watching the match the butiful, wunderful Summer in Dublin cae on after the match Was just by Grafton Street as well so it was epic. A bit crazy though hearing it Christmas week

Well if theres more bukes tomorrow does than mean no highlights and lowlights of the year for this year, so to speak? If so thank God/Allah or your worship personality of choice

Clon63 wrote: »
    Dont like you anymore caller. Bagatelle are a guilty pleasure of mine - seen them a few times.

In the pub I was in on Saturday having my substantial meal and watching the match the butiful, wunderful Summer in Dublin cae on after the match Was just by Grafton Street as well so it was epic. A bit crazy though hearing it Christmas week

Had many a great night at their shows in the early - mid 80s in Katie Daly's in killaloe, The Ormond Nenagh and somewhere in Limerick I can't remember the name of.

:P
    Ah feck this, I'm out!

Ah here where is your wurking class wurk ethic?

You were doung so well with your bwaudiful well done count and could have got a go rebbbb mot aguuutt not to mention a TYFYS but instead decided to go AWOL wuthout completing the job ...

sligojoek wrote: »
    Had many a great night at their shows in the early - mid 80s in Katie Daly's in killaloe, The Ormond Nenagh and somewhere in Limerick I can't remember the name of.

Was only a chisler back then but grew up with my Dad playing them all the time so git to know the tunes. Still go andvsee them with my Dad. Last time was in Vicar Street at the start of the yeat. Only place Ive seen the outside Dublin was in the Theatre Royal (aka Travellers Friend) in Castlebar. Big crowd there. Good live if a bit repetitive in that I can guess the order of the songs.

They must be a fair age now. I knew they were doing a few gigs around the place. A friend of mine is (was) in the band transport game and had worked with them last year and the year before. Like a lot of bands, big and small, from that era it's just a "Greatest hits" tour. Still, no harm in a bit of nostalgia.

Brings back memories, classic Dublin song now. In the 1970s I was a teen and my mother and her sisters were running a cottage industry supplying mohair accessories to the brand Donegal Design which sold at the airports, hotels etc., especially for the growing American tourist market. Supplied Scotch House in UK at times too. That was my mother's own business idea and she approached the larger company with it, sent families to college on it. They each had a room in their respective homes in the Dublin/Wicklow region where they designed & manufactured, ran the business side etc. Various in-laws got casual employment helping out, and one of them used to cones Dali on the 46A bus during the time "Sumner in Dublin" was out. She & my mother would be singing away to that on the radio, and everything in the lyrics rang so true at that that time. She used to traipse up through Grafton St to catch the 46A, where the young folk were starting to dress fashionably, and the Liffey did indeed stink like hell back then. The 46A had one or two regular well-known drunks who would spend their time on board.

He’s not going to do a second day of self-published bukes is he? I didn’t think he could be any lazier.

He is! :(

Here's my purple mash attached below, at least spent the time making dat and not wasted. Quite de Christmas centrepiece:

Please get thanking (to vote) next thread title. Want to make it as democratic a process as possible, even if I have spliced suggestions and bonded halves together so to speak...

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2058076426/22/#post115677793

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Caller driven show me bollix, their phonelines must have been hammered out of it with people stuck in the UK trying to get home and they instead run with some bellends and their books which could have been slotted in anywhere.

Always struck me as very strange the timing of the self-published bukes shoyte; if he really wanted to promote them he should be doing it in the first week of December. Doing it now in Christmas week means even if you really wanted one of them, you’d struggle to get it in time for Christmas so to speak.

I notice far less stuff in de shops this Christmas, bit at all surprising. They are stocking little in many places compared to previous years. I think people aren't even bothered on commenting on it with the year that's in it.

If it were for the Christmas market, late November/early December would be the prime spot, or else a filler recorded show for the dead space between Christmas and new year. Although this year I imagine it will be anything but dead space with rapid news action just at the time RTÉ goes asleep.

Always struck me as very strange the timing of the self-published bukes shoyte; if he really wanted to promote them he should be doing it in the first week of December. Doing it now in Christmas week means even if you really wanted one of them, you’d struggle to get it in time for Christmas so to speak.

Don't you know it's simply a no/easy research filler, as some RTÉ staff start to take their Christmas holidays and not enough to "person" de lines of callers chaotically calling in about predicaments. You can be sure, pandemic or no pandemic, no flexibility has been exercised at the station in spite of a rapidly emerging national and international crisis like we've not quite seen before.

Jaysus, even de news is being snipped already. All researchers off to de Caribbean or attending their Christmas jollies. Much and all as I like de bit of Christmas cooking an dat on de telly, it's a bit serious to be having news curtailed at de moment.

The National Broadcaster has just gone asleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Please get thanking (to vote) next thread title. Want to make it as democratic a process as possible, even if I have spliced suggestions and bonded halves together so to speak...

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2058076426/22/#post115677793

Butters' 'sponsored by Louis Copeland' is inspired

I must reflect on my own personal rte Highs and Lows of year and report back. Would like to hear those of other posters too!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Jaysus, even de news is being snipped already. All researchers off to de Caribbean or attending their Christmas jollies. Much and all as I like de bit of Christmas cooking an dat on de telly, it's a bit serious to be having news curtailed at de moment.

The National Broadcaster has just gone asleep.
    Sure why wouldn't they, the dail wont be sitting again till mid January

PieOhMy wrote: »
    I must reflect on my own personal rte Highs and Lows of year and report back. Would like to hear those of other posters too!

Highs:-
    Namibia trip
    Buying a great new car
    Painting pictures
    The hope of a vaccine
    Some laughs on Boards
    Hope in general for next year.

Lows:-
    Being sick in Namibia
    Having trips to Greece, Kyiv & Caribbean cancelled
    Not being able to socialise with vulnerable friends & relations much of the time
    Not being able to relax over a simple cup of coffee
    Not being able to browse through shops in a relaxed way; ie retail therapy.
    Sh1te weather on staycations
    Being sick a lot (not realising it was dental)
    Staying in a hospital & witnessing a patient go into septic shock & almost dying in front of my eyes

• Registered Users Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Lothian Ryan staring down a turkey
    4 week old baby cretin her and woke eoin called out cnts nepotism in galway lol worth beating from wifey
    2fm van

Although this year I imagine it will be anything but dead space with rapid news action just at the time RTÉ goes asleep.

Huh; d'ye think for a moment de Xmas holliers will be affected and anyone but those who are rostered in will be in there and the timers will be running the auto-play machines, like they do every Xmas / New Year.
    De staff will take their hard-earned holidays, come hell or high water, and feck the lot of yiz.

Huh; d'ye think for a moment de Xmas holliers will be affected and anyone but those who are rostered in will be in there and the timers will be running the auto-play machines, like they do every Xmas / New Year.
    De staff will take their hard-earned holidays, come hell or high water, and feck the lot of yiz.

Of course of course of course.

Makes little sense though, with a cohort of those staff not being able to benefit in any real or practical way from Christmas holidays this year, some fitting in isolation watching the box or listening to those radios on timers whilst Rome burns so to speak. With a bit of imagination they could be asked to volunteer to come in and prop up the station, enhancing news services, and with interjections of some live festive spirit lending a bit of morale to the nation. Let's face it, Christmas is half lost this year, for adults anyway.

The same staff could be given extra days to travel & enjoy life when things settle. But management are too apathetic to think on their feet and organise this. It should have been a "Plan B" already on the shelf, considering this year has been so volatile.

My favorite “I can’t be arsed” moment in RTÉ history was when Osama Bin Laden was killed. Possibly the biggest news story this century, certainly at the time. The cheek of the US Marines to plan this on a Bank Holiday Weekend however!

Assassination news first broke late Sunday night (before midnight). Sky/BBC/Channel 4 etc all over it with both BBC and Sky in particular devoting pretty much all night to it. Same thing Monday.

The first RTÉ tv comment on it? Six One news - THE FOLLOWING DAY!

Considering it was a Bank Holiday Monday you’d think they’d at least cobble together something for Monday lunchtime as they’d have had 12+ hours to do it by that stage? Not a chance, can’t be calling in newsreaders on a BH Monday! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,005 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

He is! :(

Here's my purple mash attached below, at least spent the time making dat and not wasted. Quite de Christmas centrepiece:

looks like something your cat would have left behind !!

'More books joe?' Asks Ronan, we do says joe.

If you want stories about the life of a piano tuner then you have come to the right place! And wexford history!

Joe hoping for a government announcement during the show to kill some more time.

More books.

Great reaction to yesterday's programme. "Each book was better than the one before". Not very nice to whoever had the first book on.

Confessions of a piano tuner.

Paris , the left bank.

Wexford history.

And updates from the government (The word Government uttered in a nasty tone) as they come in.

Little Liveline tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,005 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

it's a shame nothing else is happening in the country more important than ****e bukes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,800 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Martin the half-Taoiseach missed his vocation, should have been a priest

• Registered Users Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

de rte could have a siege in it and this guff wud still be rolled out.
    joe is so petty. a normal week where he cud get a hiding would shatter his ego so much it wud ruin his Christmas.
    he's happy out in a no danger zone talking guff about timmies fking fiddle..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

2smiggy wrote: »
    it's a shame nothing else is happening in the country more important than ****e bukes

So true. Particularly, as has been stated previously, it's too fecking late to get any of the crap books before Christmas.

Also, as a further example of what ButtersSuki brilliantly coined "can't be arsed", in the past there was a list of the self published books on the Liveline webpage. Not any more, folks. Joe and his "team" can't be arsed even to type up a list.

Lazy programming by a lazy "public service broadcaster", staffed by lazy individuals (mostly).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

How long before we hear "the eve of the eve of Christmas"