Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas DEADLINE spells death knell of Covid: Yuletide Liveline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,020 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I listen to Liveline for the entertainment. I listen to LBC for news.

Entertainment you say? Depression sessions more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

"About 10% but I could be completely wrong"

So she just plucked it out of the air and wasn't checked by Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Who de feck is eatin' a bowl of soup in de background?
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Dis wan droning on and on would give an Aspro a headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Nursing hierarchy is a schitt show. Skilled nurses denied due to selective qualification requirements. A leg is still a leg no matter where you trained.ffs

Anyone who left their job to come back here without a confirmed offer of a job was a fool.

"I'm living it up here in Melbourne working as a nurse but I'm going to return to wet, windy Mayo for less money".

Said no-one, ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Who de feck is eatin' a bowl of soup in de background?

Joe is getting stuck into the coco pops

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

I'm surprised Duffy is calling the Professor by his first name. I thought he would revert to "Prof"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

YEAH

YEAH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Joe is getting stuck into the coco pops

I think he left his top set in the bowl!

Nurses compared to soldiers going over the trench in WW1.

There you are folks - somebody finally did it.

This Professor is getting on my wick!

Know all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    Were nurses ever paid for training like this? If you didn’t agree why sign up to the course from day one? Go do something else if that didn’t suit.
    Country is stone broke now

Student nurses were paid a proper wage when the traiing was hospital based and they worked a full 40 hour week and did night shifts, along with studying to become a nurse.

The constant 'Yeah'! makes him sound like a right so and so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'm surprised Duffy is calling the Professor by his first name. I thought he would revert to "Prof"

That’s only when the professor in question calls Joe out with his Versatis bullsh1t.

YEAH

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Anyone who left their job to come back here without a confirmed offer of a job was a fool.

Based on a gob****e like Simon Harris and his musings on Twitter- my 36 years of life in Ireland has always thought that you never have something until the contract is signed, sealed and in your lap.
    Yo come home without a contract agreed was simply fantasy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Orwellmerchant

This chap says "yeah" the same way Shane MacGowan does

This Professor is getting on my wick!

Know all.

He is coughing and spluttering too:eek:

is he having a heart attack

"Its ranked around the top 50 in the world I think"

I would have thought the Director of Nursing Professor fella would know exactly where they ranked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Only problem with the cabal of nurses, teachers and cops is that they all want money l, and we would be back to the bad old days of benchmarking if the government caved in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,876 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

This chap says "yeah" the same way Shane MacGowan does

He mentioned other times on the show that he spent many years in london (presumably as a nurse)

Its not a war FFS cop on

foot soldiers

war

get off the fcuking stage

The first war in world history where we all have to sit on our arse at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,723 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Does she want holiday pay as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,168 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

' you have a calling, so to speak' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Only problem with the cabal of nurses, teachers and cops is that they all want money l, and we would be back to the bad old days of benchmarking if the government caved in

O boy are we in for some ridin when the covid begins to fade away in the rear view mirror and the bill comes in, Someone will have to pay one way or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,876 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

So from my reckoning this Paul Horan guy has been on liveline at least 3 times the last few years

First time he was talking about his own mental health issues (he was going on about his marriage breakdown triggering it from what I recall)

Second time was last year (almost certain) where he was talking about his sons mental issues (drug addiction etc)

Third time was today - he now is a professor in trinity college nursing school apparently

Dont crash your car

Lucky man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Cracking phone in on LBC now about Brexit. They had Irish people on and all.

Wouldn’t listen to Duffy much, but enjoy the comments here immensely.

Yes, it's a brilliant thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭golondrinas

With the Prof. building them up like this the fuzzy headed wan will have them all out on strike again soon enough.

At last - some real problems!

Thats it

you can get your bride to do your make up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,857 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Stick on a jaysus mix tape, the live band isn't essential.

25 people would make a poor Rock The Boat shindig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,671 ✭✭✭✭zell12

BPKS wrote: »
    At last - some real problems!
    Was he talking about his own hair?

Strangely this fella has lost his balls before he got married

FFs pure scutter now..........

Out of all the fallout from COVID, the group I have least sympathy for is those who are choosing to postpone their "fantasy wedding".

You can still get married, you eejit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Is it now a requirement to have live music to be legally married?

mortified for him:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Once again, follow the rules or f*ck off. It's a global pandemic

Is it Showwaddywaddy you want or a fella playing a flute..........

Roger_007 wrote: »

So you would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,671 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Well, yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

NOBODY GIVES A FUK !. We're all in the same boat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

The government should just interview and hire nurses before they go to college. And pay them for the years of study. But demand say 10 years of service in return as after qualification. And only educate the number of nurses as what we need in this country. Let Australia pay for the education of their own nurses. That would quieten them down I'd say.