Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

DenMan wrote: »
    On this day in 1997 Arsenal signed 17 year old Nicolas Anelka. He was bought for £500,000 and sold two and half years later for £22.3m. Him and Henry would have been great together. I remember when he was at Liverpool on loan and that's 19 years ago now. :eek:

Hi greatest legacy is scoring the peno for City that cost Mourinho's Chelsea an unbeaten season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

Dang Giroud doesn't score normal goals
    They have an away goal now (bicycle kick)

I don't know if it's just the AM kit, but Torreira looks like he's carrying a few extra pounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Guendouzi going through football puberty :)

https://twitter.com/AFTVMedia/status/1364245858397655043?s=19

Honoured to be blocked by AFTV, and now off sharing their tweets :confused::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭DenMan

Neil Lennon has resigned as Celtic's manager. It'll be interesting to see now what'll happen when the new man comes in in relation to the squad. We've been linked with Eduard recently, whether that transfer happens or not.

In fairness their source was good, Dardai has a great way of expressing himself. Most of the AFTV stuff is from fairy land, but if its amusing I'll try to cheer up your day :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Yaya Sanogo has joined Huddersfield :D

Ah here we go... As mentioned Bellerin to PSG look like it could happen... Speculation it could involve a swap deal for....... Drum Roll

Julian Draxler :) will they ever stop linking us

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Yaya Sanogo has joined Huddersfield :D

Was it here I saw him referred to as Yaya Sanonegoal?

Partey has travelled, he was on the plane lads

• Registered Users Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Partey has travelled, he was on the plane lads

Sincerely hope he doesn't rush him back. He's way too important to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Important for what? The Europa League is the only thing left this season that matters in any way. Out of all the cups and headed for a mid table finish, tomorrow night is THE game. It's a long shot, but win the competition and you're in next year's Champion's League. There's nothing else left to play for this season with anything near that kind of prize to offer.

emmetlego wrote: »

Was it here I saw him referred to as Yaya Sanonegoal?

Used to call him that on The Tuesday Club.

Looking forward to tonight now. Like Arteta said in his press conference yesterday every game in Europe now is a final now. Let's hope the lads advance. I've a feeling they will. Benfica drew away at Farense 0-0 on Sunday. COYG

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker's father sadly passed away in Brazil. He drowned in a lake after swimming. Very sad. RIP

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0225/1199230-father-of-liverpool-keeper-alisson-drowns-in-brazil/

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker's father sadly passed away in Brazil. He drowned in a lake after swimming. Very sad. RIP

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2021/0225/1199230-father-of-liverpool-keeper-alisson-drowns-in-brazil/

Jesus, that's terrible.

Looking forward to tonight now. Like Arteta said in his press conference yesterday every game in Europe now is a final now. Let's hope the lads advance. I've a feeling they will. Benfica drew away at Farense 0-0 on Sunday. COYG

I'm working till 9. Hmm. How to approach this. Turn off all media until the highlights, I think.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I'm working till 9. Hmm. How to approach this. Turn off all media until the highlights, I think.

The highlights won't be very long. It's live in Virgin Media 2. You could record the game. 5:55pm KO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

I have a work call from 6:30-7:30, right in the middle of it.
    I'll probably leave the TV on anyway and try to follow the action. Hopefully by that point we will be 3-0 up and I won't have to worry too much about it :pac::D

Where has the day gone to? We'll have the team news in about 70 mins. COYG

Arsenal: Leno, Bellerin, Luiz, Gabriel, Tierney, Ceballos, Xhaka, Odegaard, Smith Rowe, Saka, Aubameyang

Subs: Ryan, Hein, Cedric, Chambers, Mari, Elneny, Partey, Pepe, Willian, Nketiah, Lacazette, Martinelli

Partey on the bench.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Basil3 wrote: »
    Arsenal: Leno, Bellerin, Luiz, Gabriel, Tierney, Ceballos, Xhaka, Odegaard, Smith Rowe, Saka, Aubameyang

Subs: Ryan, Hein, Cedric, Chambers, Mari, Elneny, Partey, Pepe, Willian, Nketiah, Lacazette, Martinelli

Partey on the bench.

Good lineup. If we create similar chances for Aubameyang as there were last week, then you’d have to fancy him to put a couple of them away. Need a few goals tonight and preferably early on. Don’t want this stupid threat of away goals coming into play.

Thierry Henry has stepped down as manager of CF Montreal. It will be interesting to see now will he take the Bournemouth job. He has returned to London.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/56201308

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Is Holding injured?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Thierry Henry has stepped down as manager of CF Montreal. It will be interesting to see now will he take the Bournemouth job. He has returned to London.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/56201308

I think Woodgate was given the Bournemouth permanently this week. So he won’t be getting that job now.

greendom wrote: »
    Is Holding injured?

Still being assessed after the concussion so didn't travel with the squad. So yes he's out injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Might be ignorant of me but does anybody know why some of these europa games kick off at 17:55?

Why not 6?

Is this in the national stadium?

Really impressed with the start. There's plenty of goals for us tonight, just need the first one to go in asap.

Is this in the national stadium?

No, this is the stadium of Olympiacos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Is it my TV or is the picture quality a bit jumpy?

Great finish Auba!

excellent timing on his move to stay onside too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Jmac24128

What a finish. Beauty

• Moderators Posts: 8,725 ✭✭✭x PyRo

YESSSSSSSSSSSSS! What a ball from Saka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Beauty great pass from Saka. And a minute or so before, what a pass from Odegaard to Tierney!

Feck it, amazing free kick, no keeper stopping that.
    Awful time to concede too, under real pressure now

Knew they were scoring that as soon as it was awarded.

Sidwell sums it up typical Arsenal.

Not even the Lord himself could save that. Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

wonga77 wrote: »
    Feck it, amazing free kick, no keeper stopping that.
    Awful time to concede too, under real pressure now

Needless foul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,161 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

It's gonna be "away" goals isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

And now they've a full 45 minutes to get the goal to see them through.

Bullshït away goal rule

Was loving that half up until the free kick now I’ve a bad feeling about this game.

If I see Willian the TV is getting fùcked out the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭FLOOPER

Bit of a cock up alright but it’s very simple we just have to win the second half against this mediocre side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Benefica look rejuvenated. They know one more goal puts them through and they're going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Quazzie wrote: »
    And now they've a full 45 minutes to get the goal to see them through.

Bullshït away goal rule

We had the advantage of away goal before the free kick.

I also don't like it, but it is always called bull**** rule unless you benefit from it. Same rule for all clubs, although makes less sense with covid, if it ever made sense.

If we want to win the competition and get the Champions League, away goal is not what will stop us from getting it.

Think we could do with a bit of Pepe action. Not sure both ESR and Odegaard are needed - too many cooks etc.

Pity we don't have someone better than Bellerin. Feel sorry for him, since the knee injury he's one of the stiffest footballers I've ever seen!

Well that's that.
    As typical an Arsenal a goal to concede as you'll ever see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Was loving that half up until the free kick now I’ve a bad feeling about this game.

If I see Willian the TV is getting fùcked out the back.

I think if he replaced Odegaard maybe he would help.

Ceballos another hero.

What a crap.