Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Signs that you're getting old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I'm 41 now and I'm starting to feel it. I wobble to the bathroom every morning as it seems to take longer for my legs to wake in the morning.

I used to cycle everywhere when I was younger and I really enjoyed it. Nowadays if i cycle up the smallest hill I'm out of breath and my legs turn to jelly.

I also shaved my head during the most recent lockdown. It seems to be taking a VERY long time to grow back properly on the top. 8 weeks later and it's barely grown 1cm at the top :(

I find that I put on weight a lot easier now than I did before so I have to watch my diet like a hawk and go walking every evening. I can't do weights anymore due to two nasty periods of sciatica so my once shapely pecs, butt and quads have become saggy.

I was playing FIFA 21 yesterday eve on the Playstation and I was finding it hard to make out the players on screen due to failing eyesight. The carpal tunnel syndrome in both my hands didn't help either(I still won though)

Anyway I don't mind so much as I'm happier now in work and at home than I've been in a long time and my mental health has improved also. I'll take the aches and pains as long as my mental health remains good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

I'm 41 now and I'm starting to feel it. I wobble to the bathroom every morning as it seems to take longer for my legs to wake in the morning.

I used to cycle everywhere when I was younger and I really enjoyed it. Nowadays if i cycle up the smallest hill I'm out of breath and my legs turn to jelly.

41 :)

You're not getting old, not just just yet.

Wait till you're 61, then you are starting to get old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,461 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I also shaved my head during the most recent lockdown. It seems to be taking a VERY long time to grow back properly on the top. 8 weeks later and it's barely grown 1cm at the top :(

I find that I put on weight a lot easier now than I did before so I have to watch my diet like a hawk and go walking every evening. I can't do weights anymore due to two nasty periods of sciatica so my once shapely pecs, butt and quads have become saggy.

I was playing FIFA 21 yesterday eve on the Playstation and I was finding it hard to make out the players on screen due to failing eyesight. The carpal tunnel syndrome in both my hands didn't help either(I still won though)

Anyway I don't mind so much as I'm happier now in work and at home than I've been in a long time and my mental health has improved also. I'll take the aches and pains as long as my mental health remains good.

You're not old. You're just unfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Tec Diver

41 :)

You're not getting old, not just just yet.

Wait till you're 61, then you are starting to get old.

I think it was some american comedian who said that "old is always 15 years older than you are right now". Pretty much agree with that :D
    I find I'm getting to like gardening and helping in the community - two things that I used to think only "old" people did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

peasant wrote: »
    A good few months ago (in pre-mask wearing times) I noticed more and more young women in shops and behind counters more or less openly flirting with me.
    Being much nicer and more approachable than they should be.

My initial reaction (being male) was: You still got it ...:D

But then the numbers increased over time from just the odd girl flirting with me to quite a lot of them doing it and something didn't seem quite right.

And then it dawned on me ...not only did I not "still got it" ..I most definitely did not have "it" anymore ...at all ...at least not in their eyes.

I had been promoted to safe old man territory.

For those who don't know where that is ...it's even a few years beyond acceptable sugardaddy age...too old to even consider. Even with money (which I quite obviously do not have in abundance)

I'm am now a mirror with a penis. It's safe for them to smile at me and see if they get a reaction. They can do so in the sure knowledge that nothing will happen...other than I might smile back at them and confirm that yes, they are indeed pretty and attractive.

Makes me feel terribly old.

But hey ...I can still make pretty young women happy :D
    (if only for a second or two)

There's quite a few guys like that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Creaking when getting into the car.

Not wanting to get off a bus because of all the hassle involved.

Looking into the mirror and seeing your parents face.

No interest in films esp 'action' films.

Laughing at how stupid horror films are and wondering why people would be scared of them.

Getting very annoyed at adults like Brendan O Connor and Miriam O'Callahan for talking with an 'upturn ' in their speech as if they were American little teenagers?

Being annoyed at lots of things. Young people smoking. Don't they know it's bad?

A sadness with the passing of every season. How many are left?

Comparing how old people look who are the same age as yourself.

Being annoyed at smug politicians who 'earn' huge pensions.

Wishing to God that I made better decisions in my life if I had it to live all again.

Laughing at the latest fashion trends. This time women who wear those tight leggings which show the contours of their backside. Don't they have any taste?

Those stupid footballer haircuts which even 'respectable " rugby players like Johnny Secxon are drawn to. They vook like thugs.

I delight in seeing a young couple out with their young babies and kids and wish them (privately) health snd happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Mimon wrote: »
    Totally agree, cadbury's is sickly sweet muck now. I've literally gone over to the darkside and will eat generally darker good quality chocolate.

This one is a milk chocolate but no sickly sweet taste.

snapshotimagehandler_1509359943.jpeg?h=540&w=540

Nothing less than 90% cocoa for me. I actually found 100% Lindt.

Not a great fan of Green & Black's.

Lads, snap out of it.

Tell yourself your best days are ahead of you and make it happen rather than sit around dreaming of the 'old days'. Challenge yourself to make new and better memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

That little puff of dust you find on your mattress protector after a wet dream about Thelma Mansfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

That little puff of dust you find on your mattress protector after a wet dream about Thelma Mansfield.

Yeugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

bobbyss wrote: »
    Laughing at how stupid horror films are and wondering why people would be scared of them.

This is weirdly on the money! I've started rewatching all the horror films that scared the bejaysus out of me in my youth and they're all borderline comical! The Exorcist, Hellraiser, The Fog, Halloween, the lot! Can't believe I was such a pussy first time around

Lads, snap out of it.

Tell yourself your best days are ahead of you and make it happen rather than sit around dreaming of the 'old days'. Challenge yourself to make new and better memories.

You and I both know our best days are behind us. Let's face it, Andy Farrel aint ever gonna select me to play centre, I'm not going to have a broadway career and Harvard have stopped returning my calls. We're fecked. Too old to compete, to late to the fare. Might as well kill ourselves. But I don't want to die alone so I intend on bringing a few of yis with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

My knees hurt, my son is an ungrateful little bollox and I'm very excited to go pick up my new Miele - it's the pet hair one and getting it in a black Friday deal was the highlight of my month. Maybe year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Mimon wrote: »
    Totally agree, cadbury's is sickly sweet muck now. I've literally gone over to the darkside and will eat generally darker good quality chocolate.

This one is a milk chocolate but no sickly sweet taste.

snapshotimagehandler_1509359943.jpeg?h=540&w=540

Got bad news for you. That's a Cadburys/Mondelez brand.

I think a lot of it is summed up on how you view young people. When you start resenting young people for doing things differently. Seeing young people of today’s acts of youthful rebellion as meaningless but thinking your own generation’s rebellious actions were fierce clever altogether. Small examples are fashion and clothes. See the recent reaction to the WAP song.

Also thinking young people today are inferior to young people of your own generation - weak willed, lack discipline, too concerned with appearance, don’t appreciate how easy they have it etc.

It just means you don’t understand the difficulties young people face today and are disconnected from young people. That’s a real sign of getting old.

Young people are always idiots. I know this when I was a 'young person'. I definitely knew it when I hung onto the spoiler of a car that just took off and I was flailing in the wind at fifty miles an hour :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Nobody could be as unattractive as you just described yourself.. cheer up mate, you put a tear in my eye :(

I'm not unattractive (at least I like to think so), by now I'm just a good bit (and visibly) older than most of these young ones' dads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Spore wrote: »
    This is weirdly on the money! I've started rewatching all the horror films that scared the bejaysus out of me in my youth and they're all borderline comical! The Exorcist, Hellraiser, The Fog, Halloween, the lot! Can't believe I was such a pussy first time around

That's because your mind has become adjusted to more brutal visualities over the years. Those movies were of their day, classics if you want.

Last time I went to a gig the venue had both a seating and a standing section. On buying the tickets I instinctively found myself looking for seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,169 ✭✭✭obi604

bobbyss wrote: »
    Creaking when getting into the car.

Not wanting to get off a bus because of all the hassle involved.

Looking into the mirror and seeing your parents face.

No interest in films esp 'action' films.

Getting very annoyed at adults like Brendan O Connor and Miriam O'Callahan for talking with an 'upturn ' in their speech as if they were American little teenagers?

Being annoyed at lots of things. Young people smoking. Don't they know it's bad?

A sadness with the passing of every season. How many are left?

Comparing how old people look who are the same age as yourself.

Being annoyed at smug politicians who 'earn' huge pensions.

Wishing to God that I made better decisions in my life if I had it to live all again.

Laughing at the latest fashion trends. This time women who wear those tight leggings which show the contours of their backside. Don't they have any taste?

Those stupid footballer haircuts which even 'respectable " rugby players like Johnny Secxon are drawn to. They vook like thugs.

I delight in seeing a young couple out with their young babies and kids and wish them (privately) health snd happiness.

I have to say, on the right woman, they are truly tremendous.
    Shows the beauty of the female form

Am I a dirty old man now :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

obi604 wrote: »
    I have to say, on the right woman, they are truly tremendous.
    Shows the beauty of the female form

Am I a dirty old man now :/

They wear them for a reason
    To show the form and then complain about people noticing the form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭bobbyss

obi604 wrote:
    Also feel old cause 25 years ago today - Faithless released ‘Insomnia’

Who or what is Faithless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Being dismayed, instead if overjoyed, when snow is forecast

Why has Cathy Beale not aged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,798 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Why has Cathy Beale not aged.

if you think that then your eyesight is going. another sign you are getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

walking the dog and afraid you might slip and fall on the frost or ice....and when you do fall needing to call out to someone to give you a hand to get back up

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,179 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

I used to bring two bottles into the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Tea For Two

Buying something online and having to scroll down really far to get your birth year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭PommieBast

obi604 wrote: »
    The only thing I really want to watch on TV is the 9 o’clock news.
    You have a TV? ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Oops!

Patrick Kluivert's son Justin has just come on as a sub for RB Leipzig against Man United.... And scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I used to be annoyed when people mixed me & my brother growing up.

Now I never know which daughter is which for someone I know.

Oops! wrote: »
    Patrick Kluivert's son Justin has just come on as a sub for RB Leipzig against Man United.... And scored.

Alfe Inge Haaland's son has been scoring all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

When you have a special stick for stirring paint.

ha Im laughing hrere as I only painted in the summer and came across a 1m long metal strip with holes in it perfect for stirring paint. So when the job was done I wiped it down and it went into storage with all the other painting gear so I now have my paint stirring stick for life

When I am giving out to my kids I will often call them by the name of my younger sisters and as I have 4 sisters I will often reel all 4 names off before I eventually get to my child's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

When the young wans start calling you an auld perv instead of just perv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

All the young guards on the checkpoints. When did they start letting 16 year olds into templemore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,802 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

My older brother mentioned this on WhatsApp. You know you are getting old when you are pottering about the house and you look at the toilet door and go, might as well do a leak while I'm out here so I don't have to afterwards. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I find my self more and more frequently having to look up the meaning of words being used, particularly online, less so in real life -but that's probably just because in real life i'm usually talking to equally decrepit old farts and they don't know those words exist either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,900 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I find my self more and more frequently having to look up the meaning of words being used, particularly online, less so in real life -but that's probably just because in real life i'm usually talking to equally decrepit old farts and they don't know those words exist either!

I'll bet you've had to look up loads of words when you were young. The sign of gritting old would be if you didn't want to know what the new words mean. Disconnecting from the world as it changes is the real peril of getting old, not the fact that the world changes. Give yourself credit for keeping up with the world as it changes,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 AnotherMe

When the young wans start calling you an auld perv instead of just perv.

Being an old perv is good for you. Never give up - had the good fortune to have a relationship with a woman half my age - I'm in my 50s...It made me feel younger than I have for years - put a spring in my step and lead in my pencil.

My knees still sound like rustling crisp packets, but I care about that a lot less now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

At some point the people doing the things you want to do when you grow up become younger than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

AnotherMe wrote: »
    Being an old perv is good for you. Never give up - had the good fortune to have a relationship with a woman half my age - I'm in my 50s...It made me feel younger than I have for years - put a spring in my step and lead in my pencil.

My knees still sound like rustling crisp packets, but I care about that a lot less now..

Can identify with that. Had a relationship with a guy over 20 years younger than me. Thought it would make me feel sad and pathetic but I felt great. He was fun and lively, very attentive and loving, the sex was great.
    (Damn trying to figure if I shouldn't have finished with him now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

Deliberately getting seated tickets for a gig even though there are standing tickets available.

Not balking at spending €30 on cheese from Avoca.

Daydreaming about walking you're daughter down the aisle (she is 2 ffs).

Deliberately going to a pub you know won't be busy or have music blaring.

Going to the off licence and never buying the cheapest cans they have for sale.

Going to a fancier restaurant and happily spending €200+ on food and wine.

Taking an active interest in how your pension is performing.

people should be doing that in their 20s
    TBF most of those in their 20s have never considered a pension unless its compulsory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭trashcan

My older brother mentioned this on WhatsApp. You know you are getting old when you are pottering about the house and you look at the toilet door and go, might as well do a leak while I'm out here so I don't have to afterwards. :)

The wise man goes when he can, the foolish man waits until he needs to :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Oh God, finished.

Just collected a heated throw from Argos for the sofa. Jaysis it is brilliant. Sad isn't it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

Oh God, finished.

Just collected a heated throw from Argos for the sofa. Jaysis it is brilliant. Sad isn't it.

Yeah how sad am judging .....

Who am I kidding ?? I MUST HAVE ONE!!!

Gervais08 wrote: »

You will not regret it, seriously.

But if I were younger one of those yokes would never have crossed my mind!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Gervais08 wrote: »

They're in Aldi from today... €39.33 :D
    They are cosyyyyy :o

DBB wrote: »
    They're in Aldi from today... €39.33 :D
    They are cosyyyyy :o

That's 20 quid less than I paid in Argos, grrrrrr.

But I don't care, it was worth every cent anyway.

There should be one for everyone in the audience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭PommieBast

brisan wrote: »
    [/B]
    people should be doing that in their 20s
    TBF most of those in their 20s have never considered a pension unless its compulsory
    Given what has happened to pensions in the last 2-3 decades most 20 year olds would be crazy to sign up to one voluntarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

PommieBast wrote: »
    Given what has happened to pensions in the last 2-3 decades most 20 year olds would be crazy to sign up to one voluntarily.

Over a 40 year period a well run pension will always show rises well above inflation once it’s properly funded of course