Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The housing "crisis" is over

• 04-12-2020 8:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭

Great to see huge numbers of new-build council houses being handed out. Top quality, A-rated homes worth anything up to €500k that look fantastic with all the nearly new BMWs and Mercs parked outside.

Fair play to all the lads that worked hard to build them. Those lads are heroes, working long hours, knowing that for every €1 they earn at the higher rate of tax, the Government is taking (approx.) a €1 out of their pocket to fund these free houses, the likes of which they would struggle to get a mortgage for.

I'll get my coat. Should this be posted in Finance?

Tell us what political party you follow? They might just be that wee bit embarrassed.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Must be fúcking exhausting to be constantly outraged.

• Registered Users Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

GazzaL wrote: »
    Great to see huge numbers of new-build council houses being handed out. Top quality, A-rated homes worth anything up to €500k that look fantastic with all the nearly new BMWs and Mercs parked outside.

Fair play to all the lads that worked hard to build them. Those lads are heroes, working long hours, knowing that for every €1 they earn at the higher rate of tax, the Government is taking (approx.) a €1 out of their pocket to fund these free houses, the likes of which they would struggle to get a mortgage for.

Cry harder,might change something!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Dozyart wrote: »
    Cry harder,might change something!

Who's crying m8? This thread is a celebration of both the people getting free houses, and the people who break their balls building them while not having a hope in hell of affording to buy a house of a similar standard on the private market.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

GazzaL wrote:

Eoin Murphy is that you ?

More of a Rave so. Too poor even for AH standards really.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

Another option would be to increase the wages of many mundane jobs so that these people can afford a roof over their heads.

But that would see substantial inflation and even higher taxes.

But I would limit any social housing to 3 beds and 100sqm. A good basic standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,752 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Ooooh another welfare thread.

Original.

Same again next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Who's crying m8? This thread is a celebration of both the people getting free houses, and the people who break their balls building them while not having a hope in hell of affording to buy a house of a similar standard on the private market.

Gone be the days they were put up in D4 luxury apartments wha? :rolleyes:

Darc19 wrote: »
    Another option would be to increase the wages of many mundane jobs so that these people can afford a roof over their heads.

But that would see substantial inflation and even higher taxes.

But I would limit any social housing to 3 beds and 100sqm. A good basic standard.

You're being very stingy. There's some lovely new 4 bed, 160 sq m council houses with walk-in robes, ensuites and underfloor heating being built at the moment.

There'll be significant inflation next year, completely unrelated to wages and social housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

There never was a housing crisis, there was an entitlement crisis pushed to death by the Lefties in the meedja.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

People might take crisis a little more seriously if you didnt get 2 refusals while holing out for a nicer gaff.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,819 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Define 'nearly new BMW or Merc'?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭boardise

You're being very stingy. There's some lovely new 4 bed, 160 sq m council houses with walk-in robes, ensuites and underfloor heating being built at the moment.

There'll be significant inflation next year, completely unrelated to wages and social housing.

What ...no double garage ?

Define 'nearly new BMW or Merc'?

3-5 years old. If they don't have one of them, theres a good chance they have a 201 or 202 hatchback.

boardise wrote: »
    What ...no double garage ?

Unfortunately not, just spaces for 2-3 cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I'm not sure thats how the higher tax bracket works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

There is a crisis insofar as the people who most deserve housing - as in the people who go out and work, are pushed to live huge distances away from their workplace due to lack of availability and high prices. These same people struggle to save for mortgages due to extortionate rent costs, which are propogated by the HAP system and local authorities basically competing in the private rental market.

We know that most social housing applicants are on the dole because of the income limits required to be housed. 2 people on minimum wage 40 hour week jobs have you over the income limit in all (or nearly all bar Dublin, would have to check figures) local authorities.

The answer is absolutely not to build more social housing. We don't need any more scroungers than there already are, or to be encouraging that sort of behaviour. We should be building nice affordable housing as a priority for the people on the border between lower and middle class.

Homelessness has turned into a scam. People present into local authorities as homeless because they believe it will fast track their "free house". People turn up saying that they have moved out of Mammies house and are now homeless. What a laugh. Worst case scenario, if there are no substance abuse issues, they get a hotel for a while and get found a place to rent with the HAP paid.

We have an insane amount of foreign applicants for social housing - to the point where it is close to 40% non Irish applicants in certain areas. You wouldn't see it anywhere but here, been taken for an absolute ride.

Coybig_ wrote: »
    There is a crisis insofar as the people who most deserve housing - as in the people who go out and work, are pushed to live huge distances away from their workplace due to lack of availability and high prices. These same people struggle to save for mortgages due to extortionate rent costs, which are propogated by the HAP system and local authorities basically competing in the private rental market.

We know that most social housing applicants are on the dole because of the income limits required to be housed. 2 people on minimum wage 40 hour week jobs have you over the income limit in all (or nearly all bar Dublin, would have to check figures) local authorities.

The answer is absolutely not to build more social housing. We don't need any more scroungers than there already are, or to be encouraging that sort of behaviour. We should be building nice affordable housing as a priority for the people on the border between lower and middle class.

Homelessness has turned into a scam. People present into local authorities as homeless because they believe it will fast track their "free house". People turn up saying that they have moved out of Mammies house and are now homeless. What a laugh. Worst case scenario, if there are no substance abuse issues, they get a hotel for a while and get found a place to rent with the HAP paid.

We have an insane amount of foreign applicants for social housing - to the point where it is close to 40% non Irish applicants in certain areas. You wouldn't see it anywhere but here, been taken for an absolute ride.

There are young couples where both people are working to pay mortgages on houses which aren't worth as much as nearby council houses that are being given to people who haven't worked a day in their lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Coybig_ wrote: »

Come to Ireland.

Work legit for a while in a minimum wage job.

Go on the housing list.

Bingo!!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,819 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

3-5 years old. If they don't have one of them, theres a good chance they have a 201 or 202 hatchback.

But do they own it outright?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

There are 3 main tiers in Irish society.
    The first one is the elite or the untouchables, who are net gainers from the so-called housing crisis; in fact they help to propagate it.
    The third tier are those who live in free or almost-free housing, which is just one of the many "entitlements" for those who live that lifestyle. Because it is a lifestyle to those who can work, but won't. There are groups of deserving people e.g. carers, those on disability, and pensioners who do not fall into this category and deservedly get State assistance.
    The second tier represents the majority of the people of Ireland. They are the ones who are busting their asses scraping out a living in order to pay the exorbitant rents for sub-standard apartments and houses or pay among the highest mortgage rates in Europe.

We can guess the tier of those who mock the poster of the original post.
    It is an unfair system for the majority, and it is no wonder that they are angry about it. It is such a pity that they have no real voice in this country.

A bit of transparency would be good, like stats regarding those trying to access Social Housing now.

Are stats available does anyone know? You know, age, income, incomers, refugees, those kicked out separated, in violent relationships, overcrowding and all the rest of it. I dunno. Wish there was, as am paying for this along with my own gaff.

Kivaro wrote: »
    There are 3 main tiers in Irish society.
    The first one is the elite or the untouchables, who are net gainers from the so-called housing crisis; in fact they help to propagate it.
    The third tier are those who live in free or almost-free housing, which is just one of the many "entitlements" for those who live that lifestyle. Because it is a lifestyle to those who can work, but won't. There are groups of deserving people e.g. carers, those on disability, and pensioners who do not fall into this category and deservedly get State assistance.
    The second tier represents the majority of the people of Ireland. They are the ones who are busting their asses scraping out a living in order to pay the exorbitant rents for sub-standard apartments and houses or pay among the highest mortgage rates in Europe.

We can guess the tier of those who mock the poster of the original post.
    It is an unfair system for the majority, and it is no wonder that they are angry about it. It is such a pity that they have no real voice in this country.

People who pay for everything are muzzled. That is the reality now.

There never was a housing crisis, there was an entitlement crisis pushed to death by the Lefties in the meedja.

and may I ask if you own a house ?

fergus1001 wrote: »
    and may I ask if you own a house ?

Do you? And did you work to fund your deposit, and pay all the fees and pay a hefty mortgage and so on. Back at ya.

For the record, I am happy that people who need it will be housed, but not in 500k homes. Nope. There are alternatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Dont bring up this issue OP, it shouldn't be discussed.... just live in a kip or commute for hours, to pay for someone else luxury and top location...

Do you? And did you work to fund your deposit, and pay all the fees and pay a hefty mortgage and so on. Back at ya.

I am currently seeking planning permission for a house have a deposit saved ect ect so now I ask you the same

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A roof over your head and an education are the basics of a civilised society

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I think a better system should be in place and this business of having to be living next door to family etc is ridiculous.... If you can't buy and are actually getting looked after then you should be housed where it's the best bang for the buck as they say.....

Ghost estates and apartment blocks etc sold off for buttons which were snapped up, renting out all these for an absolute mint....

Just because you are living in Dublin and are going to be housed, why should you be housed in Dublin?

I've had to move an hour's drive away and commute to work, no choice, it was continue to rent or buy where I could afford, how is someone not working and not contributing at all then housed in a major city with everything on their doorstep.

I don't accept the bleeding hearts etc asthee is nothing stopping them from using public transport which many have for free anyway and they could be put close to anywhere on this small island.