Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Signs you are dealing with a 'Rooter'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭older by the day

Good loser wrote: »
    I met a distant neighbour in the mart about 10 years ago. He was old, very heavy and really slow moving. I suggested it might be a good move to give up the milking. He replied that he couldn't as he drank a lot and needed the money!

Telling old lads to give up milking or farming makes sence in a lot of cases but I have never seen it work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

It’s when you are a rooter in bed you’re in trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Dunedin

I worked in the South of France for a placement after I finished Mountbellew in the mid 90s.

it's 26 years ago, 🇩🇰

I finished in mountbellew in 1995 too. Some craic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Granted. A few weeks later it did all come to a head and I ended up working in Denmark ����

There's a story there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

There's a story there!

There is actually. Quite an amusing one too!

I was working morning and evening- during the afternoon it was a siesta..3 hour break because of the summer Mediterranean heat.

The family had no English and I have very basic French at the time. The mother was a lovely woman l, the father was an asshole and the son a mix of the 2.

I'm there over a month now. They would be gone alot of the day and leave instruction of what they wanted done during the day

Father came home one evening when I was cleaning out the sheep shed. They were up to their ass in manure so I decided to clean it out. He came home and dogs into me because I hadn't other work done that he expected but I hadn't understood needed doing. He wanted straw put under the cows

He's going off one one ****ing and blinding in French and I pretty much snapped, i had put in quite a day and thought they may have been happy with the work I had put in cleaning up the place, I ****ed him out of it in English and I told I'll do it so I stormed into the house to get the knife to cut the strings on the bales (big square bales)
    The mother sees the rage in my eyes and sees me going for the the knife in the drawer. She starts screaming and says non non non (no no no)

Qu'est-ce que tu fais?!?! (What are you doing!!) She's trying to drag the knife off me as I March down to the shed to cut do the straw.

I'm going to cut the ****ing strings of the bales for that ****ing arsehole. She didn't understand a word I was saying but I'm pretty sure she thought I was going to try and butcher her husband

The language barrier, the culture the heat the bit of homesickness and the way they treated the lambs made it a stay that wasn't going to last.

Denmark was great. So good I actually went back 3 years later for 2 weeks to work on the farm while while was on holidays from my then full time job.

I visited the family in France about 10 years later when I was driving around France. We buried the hatchet and I assured them I wasn't trying to stab anyone.. I was just trying to cut the twine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Jb1989

There is actually. Quite an amusing one too!

I was working morning and evening- during the afternoon it was a siesta..3 hour break because of the summer Mediterranean heat.

The family had no English and I have very basic French at the time. The mother was a lovely woman l, the father was an asshole and the son a mix of the 2.

I'm there over a month now. They would be gone alot of the day and leave instruction of what they wanted done during the day

Father came home one evening when I was cleaning out the sheep shed. They were up to their ass in manure so I decided to clean it out. He came home and dogs into me because I hadn't other work done that he expected but I hadn't understood needed doing. He wanted straw put under the cows

He's going off one one ****ing and blinding in French and I pretty much snapped, i had put in quite a day and thought they may have been happy with the work I had put in cleaning up the place, I ****ed him out of it in English and I told I'll do it so I stormed into the house to get the knife to cut the strings on the bales (big square bales)
    The mother sees the rage in my eyes and sees me going for the the knife in the drawer. She starts screaming and says non non non (no no no)

Qu'est-ce que tu fais?!?! (What are you doing!!) She's trying to drag the knife off me as I March down to the shed to cut do the straw.

I'm going to cut the ****ing strings of the bales for that ****ing arsehole. She didn't understand a word I was saying but I'm pretty sure she thought I was going to try and butcher her husband

The language barrier, the culture the heat the bit of homesickness and the way they treated the lambs made it a stay that wasn't going to last.

Denmark was great. So good I actually went back 3 years later for 2 weeks to work on the farm while while was on holidays from my then full time job.

I visited the family in France about 10 years later when I was driving around France. We buried the hatchet and I assured them I wasn't trying to stab anyone.. I was just trying to cut the twine

Brilliant

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Where did you bury the hatchet?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

blue5000 wrote: »

I don't know but I hope he wasn't carrying it when he came to the front door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,045 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Slowly flowing drains are often the first sign of root damage. If you flush your toilet and it drains very slowly or you hear a gurgling noise, there's a good chance roots have entered the pipes. Note: The risk is especially high in older homes or properties with large trees nearby!
    A guy I went to primary school with, woke up one morning went to the toilet in the dark. As he sat down, he got lifted out of it with a stinging pain. He jumped up and looked back, and there it was. A nettle growing right up from the bowl and it had just stung the arse of him on a cold spring morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,784 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

blue5000 wrote: »

The principal in our primary school was a bit of a psycho. He took a dislike to a lad in my class and would ring his mother giving out about him. One day the lads father stopped at the school and the principal came over. He said I hear you're having trouble with my Tom, ah no hes a lovely chap. The boys father only realised after he had his hand on nail bar the whole time he was talking to the principal.........

Dunedin wrote: »
    I finished in mountbellew in 1995 too. Some craic there.

I can't remember if it was 94 or 95 I finished!

Did you do the European tour?

I can't remember if it was 94 or 95 I finished!

Did you do the European tour?

I was in the Agri business class and we didn’t do the tour. Enjoyed the year though and drank some hape of pints there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,459 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I was in the Agri business class and we didn’t do the tour. Enjoyed the year though and drank some hape of pints there.

Henry’s Bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭einn32

A vet was telling me once he was at a place and had finished the testing. He went through his hand held and says there are three animals not accounted for. Farmer says oh ya I have their tags here, they are buried down the back. But they are only half buried so if you want to have a look you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

einn32 wrote: »
    A vet was telling me once he was at a place and had finished the testing. He went through his hand held and says there are three animals not accounted for. Farmer says oh ya I have their tags here, they are buried down the back. But they are only half buried so if you want to have a look you can!

I wonder how that ended up for the farmer! We might say a vet is dear at times but some of the work themselves or someone working in an office has to deal with would all add up pretty quickly.

Henry’s Bar?

Small town with more pubs per square yard than temple bar

Henry’s Bar?

Henry’s, a bit in the Hawthorn and a lot in Kate Mullins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Henry’s, a bit in the Hawthorn and a lot in Kate Mullins.

Kate's on a Sunday evening with a few creamy pints and she'd bring out the toasted sandwiches heaven

Ah jayus the toasted sandwiches....... the memories

Ah, agribusiness. Yes. You lot were a more refined and civilised bunch. Some of the Cert class were dragged backwards down from the hills.

We had one guy from tallaght of all places with us.

I remember thinking he must have felt like he moved to a different planet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Ah, agribusiness. Yes. You lot were a more refined and civilised bunch. Some of the Cert class were dragged backwards down from the hills.

We had one guy from tallaght of all places with us.

I remember thinking he must have felt like he moved to a different planet

I did a two year stint and there were two dubs in my agribusiness year

The lad we had, really nice chap but he was Tallaght true and true, not a north co Dublin farmer.

It was like out of a movie script. He was tp inherit a farm from a relative and went to agri school tp find out which end of a ewe the lamb comes out of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭390kid

The lad we had, really nice chap but he was Tallaght true and true, not a north co Dublin farmer.

It was like out of a movie script. He was tp inherit a farm from a relative and went to agri school tp find out which end of a ewe the lamb comes out of

There was a lad from Pakistan in ballyhaise in my time don’t know if he was set to inherit anything do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Its the way we roll..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

NcdJd wrote: »
    Its the way we roll..

You just posted in the wrong thread, brush side down, and post it into the yard scraper photo section.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭The Rabbi

Its the way we roll..

You're not a real rooter,you cleaned the brush after painting the tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

You just posted in the wrong thread, brush side down, and post it into the yard scraper photo section.

Or the gunthering thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Its the way we roll..

Mr big shot owning a brush and worse using it.😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,784 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Danzy wrote: »
    Mr big shot owning a brush and worse using it.��

I wonder how many actually use a 4 grain fork now? All work done by machinery now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

whelan2 wrote: »
    I wonder how many actually use a 4 grain fork now? All work done by machinery now.

4 prong pike still used here...

I actually cracked the handle the other day and used a bit of duck tape to put it back together...

Got a new handle in the co-op, but not going to bother putting it on til the duck tape leaves me down at the worst possible moment...

I have accepted the rootin lifestyle :)