Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

You're Upper Class When

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

All of your shoes are hand made in Lobbs. When you ask a man if he shoots, it's not about holding up a shop with a sawn-off, rather it's about one's Purdeys. Your tweeds are ancient and smell of wet dog. You own proper dogs, not rug ornaments. You served in a Guards Regiment in the British Army and then went to work in a firm in the City, despite not actually needing an income. You only drive Range Rovers. You have a "small place" in Scotland (a castle on 500 acres,with shooting rights and salmon fishing). Your wife is a delightful snob from Surrey,who has never worked a day in her life, and both of you are happily cheating on each other,she with a stable hand and you with an au pair. You live in a slightly run down cottage in Ireland (only the twelve rooms,ye know)and refer to the UK as "the mainland". Your cottage has a boot room, a scullery and a pantry....you know the type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

When you're worth a lot on paper but have shag all income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

You are upper class when you own a yacht and/or private jet and have a garage of hypercars with a house in excess of 5 or 10 million.

Unfortunately in Ireland people seem to think they are upper class with just a 100k salary.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

When you deny that there is a class problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

a "friend" was it? :pac::pac::pac:

Of course.

I couldn't possibly whip it out in public. I don't want to frighten people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Stovepipe wrote: »
    All of your shoes are hand made in Lobbs. When you ask a man if he shoots, it's not about holding up a shop with a sawn-off, rather it's about one's Purdeys. Your tweeds are ancient and smell of wet dog. You own proper dogs, not rug ornaments. You served in a Guards Regiment in the British Army and then went to work in a firm in the City, despite not actually needing an income. You only drive Range Rovers. You have a "small place" in Scotland (a castle on 500 acres,with shooting rights and salmon fishing). Your wife is a delightful snob from Surrey,who has never worked a day in her life, and both of you are happily cheating on each other,she with a stable hand and you with an au pair. You live in a slightly run down cottage in Ireland (only the twelve rooms,ye know)and refer to the UK as "the mainland". Your cottage has a boot room, a scullery and a pantry....you know the type.

The type where the man gets a mini biography, and the woman gets one sentence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

You're not receiving your package when:

Your house has a name, ancient Greek or Roman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

JayZeus wrote: »
    Upper class? Must have stumbled onto some parody site. No, wait, it’s still boards.ie

You’re only upper class when society around you decide that a bollix with means is somehow better than every other bollix without.

I’ll take ‘classy’ over upper class any day. Good character, strong principles and a work ethic to drive you through tough times would leave many a man standing head and shoulders above the toss-pots the unthinking rabble would recognise as the ‘upper class’.

Sounds like someone got fired from their Dalkey pool cleaning job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Go away now with your notions,

Those with money are usually tight arsed anwyay and don't enjoy it much anyway and are discreet lol.

But who cares anyway. Is is jealousy or envy or what.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

...you have two Louis XIV chandeliers in your hallway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

An ascot is essential.
    Or a golf club.

Like that one I've got down in Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭arctictree

Have a man to post on boards for you.

Bit off topic but when I first started working, the CEO used to dictate emails to his secretary. She in turn would print out the replies and put them in his inbox in little envelopes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Your child buggy is operated as an SUV with a 1k insurance value.

You have a room for your coats

Pantry in the house

Airpods.

Tall hats

Cheese

Member of the sailing club even though you don't know how to swim.

You have a gate.

When you live in Britain. There's no classes in Ireland, except in Dublin haha.

You are very aware, a modern day Sherlock Holmes.

The title of the post should have had a apostrophe and an 'e', unless I'm missing something else. By the way, if you want to start a sentence, you need to capitalise it, but I guess you might have been too involved in your own moaning self-gratification to realize that.

I was using ellipsis to mock your borderline illiterate post, so no, I did not need to use capitals. A lesson you should probably learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

You are upper class when

You have a lifestyle far above average that can be provided simply by investments and assets you have other lines of income besides working that provide a luxury lifestyle for your family and yourself. You don't need to work . You dont need to worry about a pension etc. Its all taken care of.

You were born into this class. Or well MOST people are born into this class.

You are usually of the highest social rank. But this is solely due to wealth.

You went to school outside of Ireland ....usually to an exclusive boarding school.

Your classmates were the sons of Russian oligarchs.

You have a body guard.

You are dripping with louis vuitton.

Your son is going to marry a model and your daughter is going to marry a Saudi prince.

You are somehow related to european royalty.

You probably protestant.

You grew up speaking several languages.

Your 16th was at the opera.

You know you hate the middle class....you THINK you like the working class ...but they think you are mental and annoying....and you don't know.

You tend to like communal living as an adult ..inviting people to spend weeks in your house...this is because 1 you have a HUGE house ..2 ...you went to boarding school and are used to living with your mates.

You have numerous times tried to BUY social status. You attend conferences about IDEAS you want to be influential. This is generally for NEW MONEY tho. Anyone who pretends to be influenced by your ideas you keep around.

Alternatively you do the opposite hiding wealth and not trying to buy people ..this is not to be confused with true humility. Its still just trying to communicate social status. This is called counter signalling.

You are an excessive consumer. People on the outside will say ..'OH OLD MONEY NEVER BUYS ANYTHING' you haven't been in their houses. THEY BUY EVERYTHING. And the best. But they don't want to LOOK like they are excessive consumers. They also buy the best quality of everything. The real upper class doesn't have to worry about money.

One thing i have noticed is ...they know what they don't know. Even if they never admit it. They have the BEST advisors accountants etc. Usually middle class people who are highly intelligent there to advise them.

They use their status to seek political power. They lobby the govt for protection from tariffs etc. Or to change laws to suit their own needs. They refuse to see this as undemocratic they will try to convince themselves the fact that such law changes might benefit others makes it ok even if it is NOT democratic to use wealth in this way.

Cosmopolitanism is a core value EVEN for right wingers. They want to be in the know about other cultures and often want their children to be multilingual.

I was using ellipsis to mock your borderline illiterate post, so no, I did not need to use capitals. A lesson you should probably learn.
    This is such a middle class thing to say.

When you live in Britain. There's no classes in Ireland, except in Dublin haha.
    There is a class system in rural Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

In my opinion you're upper class only if you come from generations of upper class stock. New money accompanied by flashy spending does not equal being upper class.

Mrsmum wrote: »
    In my opinion you're upper class only if you come from generations of upper class stock. New money accompanied by flashy spending does not equal being upper class.
    True....but you can't be broke old money ..like ' old no money' ...:pac: that's just a con! You have to be able to back it up!

There are not too many self made rich families around tho. So not much new money.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

...You only have one set of grandparents.

Paddygreen wrote: »
    ...You only have one set of grandparents.
    How does that work!?

Do they kill off the other set :P ??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

You are very aware, a modern day Sherlock Holmes.

The title of the post should have had a apostrophe and an 'e', unless I'm missing something else. By the way, if you want to start a sentence, you need to capitalise it, but I guess you might have been too involved in your own moaning self-gratification to realize that.

Realise. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

You have a front row seat at Wimbledon. You wear Burbury to the races dahling. You say 'taaaraa now' to the ladies who lunch.
    Your servants shine your brass for you (!).

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

Burbury has been "chavved" down so much , it's unrecognisable. A proper toff gets his suits in Jermyn Street or if he is feeling showy and flash, Milan or Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Pornhub premium account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,630 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

In the Irish context, its anglo Irish peers addressing everyone by their surname even their relatives ( I have seen this ) they do not perceive themselves as an upper class though, other than that its generations attending Clongows or Glenstall, certain professions, etc

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

You have a family tree and portraits of ancestors.
    You can talk about and name your family further back than great-grandparents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

micah537 wrote: »
    You are upper class when you own a yacht and/or private jet and have a garage of hypercars with a house in excess of 5 or 10 million.

Unfortunately in Ireland people seem to think they are upper class with just a 100k salary.

Conor Mcgregor could probably manage that and he's certainly not "upper class "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

There is a class system in rural Ireland.

Definitely the older rural generation who weren't educated beyond primary school tend to have their own idea of 'class'. They seem to put the teaching profession, in particular, on a pedestal. For many of them, no matter how many degrees you possess and however successful you are in your chosen path, you are nobody if you're not teaching. Better still if you are a teacher who marries a farmer's son/ daughter and get a site to build a large house.

(Edit: I'm not a teacher :p)

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    He's nouveau riche. The upper class hate people like him. Probably because it brings back memories of when they were wealthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

How does that work!?

Do they kill off the other set :P ??

They’re the same people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,155 ✭✭✭OldRio

Asset rich. Cash poor. They don't try to show their wealth. Dress poorly. Drive a beat up Land rover. Live quite a frugal existence. Children away in England at private school. This is old money of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Pantry in the house

Airpods.

Tall hats

Cheese

You have a gate.

British, or from another country with a class system.

You have a fully functional cutting edge drone. You have a commercial licence. It's not your main job.

You love to about buying a €600 ticket to a drone "convention"

You're a loyal disciple of Paddy Cosgrave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

When it's a yacht club, not a sailing club.

As someone said in motors; the middle class buy a new Audi every 3 years, the upper class buy a Merc and keep it for ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

ShagNastii wrote: »
    You carry a rubber Jonathan in your wallet.

Just in case you meet a busty duchess on a night out with da boys.

And she doesn't cum, she arrives.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

This thread is utter rubbish. I would have expected better quality from an OP that has been here since 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

Pantry in the house

Airpods.

Tall hats

Cheese

You have a gate.

None of those things qualify someone as upper class really, perhaps slightly higher earning or a massive credit card burden......class is about breeding and the way you behave.

I know plenty of upper class people who have battered cars and shop at Aldi, albeit they would still spend what they have on decent things that last rather than fashionable tat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Pantry in the house

Airpods.

Tall hats

Cheese

You have a gate.

So close and yet so far...

I have a room for coats, i have a gate and i'm fairly sure there's some cheese in the gaf somewhere (I don't partake myself).

They can't get away with it nowadays but years ago the upper-class didn't pay for anything.
    Food, drink, clothes etc. It was always 'just put it on the account'.
    Good luck trying to get them to settle the account, most people didn't like to mention it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Mad_maxx wrote: »

McGregor has no class of any description. No amount of money will ever buy him some either.

Honestly I have read quite a bit of horse manure of this forum but this thread is in a league of its own.

Cheese...! WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

You send your chislers to the Billie Barry and they get to sing or dance on the Toy Show.

The entertainment is barely one step above the help.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

You're upper class when you think it's ok to be a tobaggonist ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Stovepipe wrote: »
    Burbury has been "chavved" down so much , it's unrecognisable. A proper toff gets his suits in Jermyn Street or if he is feeling showy and flash, Milan or Paris.

Chanel, Versace etc are getting the same treatment as well, judging by the silver glittery tacky tables, chairs, rugs and end tables that are popping up on Facebook buy/ sell groups. All fakes and cheapening the brands just like what happened to Burberry!

You call the same radio talk show host several times on the same program on different topics for each call and the host does not get tired of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭micah537

As someone said in motors; the middle class buy a new Audi every 3 years, the upper class buy a Merc and keep it for ten.

I would disagree unless it's an R8. Where do high end 911 and Ferrari go so?

The start of middle class cars would be at a minimum a Range Rover Vogue, and upper class would be hyper cars.

An Audi A6 isn't even three times the price of a focus or golf so its hardly considered middle class.

You tell classmates like myself you can never come into their own house.

You are not allowed to call their classmate friends by their nickname.

micah537 wrote: »
    I would disagree unless it's an R8. Where do high end 911 and Ferrari go so?

The start of middle class cars would be at a minimum a Range Rover Vogue, and upper class would be hyper cars.

An Audi A6 isn't even three times the price of a focus or golf so its hardly considered middle class.

As someone who has lived in England for the past 10 years I know a little about about this. I commute (not live) through an extremely affluent suburb- old money from the 19th century industrialists. I see 2020 Bentleys, Rolls Royce SUVs, Aston Martins on a daily basis. Porsches of every model, BMWs and Mercs are a dim a dozen. Jesus I drive a 2020 BMW myself and that is nothing to write home about.

1. Any self respecting 'upper class' will not be seen dead in a Porsche or Ferrari. Jesus Christ no. That is for footballers and vulgar middle aged 'new money' types or young Asians trying to impress their friends and neighbours,

2. Audi R6- are you having a laugh? Leased out by Asians trying to impress their friends. Guaranteed they still live at home with their mother and work in a warehouse.

3. The 'upper class' are asset rich but cash poor. They have no interest in showing off hence cars and outwardly displays of money are of no relevance.

4. Range Rover Evoque- expecially one that is 7-8 years old. Very much the aspring working class/lower middle class types. Maxed out on credit cards. Trying too hard. Builder with a hair dresser wife.

5. Any self respecting upper class will not drive. They have someone else to drive for them.

Bear in mind that upper middle class invest their money off shore in trusts etc. They are only interested in making money not losing it.

Think about it. Taking £100k and buying a new 911 is an extremely bad investment. You are chucking thousands of pounds down the drain the second you pull off the forecourt and then with a very limited resale market. Not clever.