Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2021 - General Discussion Thread (Read 1st post rules)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,638 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yer man William Storey is constantly shytin-on about getting Rich Energy back into F1 and a “Big Announcement” coming soon. I know he’s only doing it to get the brand name back out there on social media. And I know I’m spreading his news on social media right now. But I also want to add that there is no announcement coming. He’s getting his association with F1 by just creating the speculation.

He’s a complete charlatan and a conman. It’s similar to when Trump was pushed about his healthcare plan, he would say it’s all ready and will be announced in the next couple of week, which went on for about 5 years without ever actually announcing what the plan was. There was no plan but it created the impression that there was an advanced plan.

Likewise Storey is just creating the idea that he’s in talks with teams or Liberty or race tracks. Nobody would bother with him after the Haas situation but he’s getting what he wants by talking about a big announcement being just weeks away. He’s a bad egg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

pjohnson wrote: »
    Stroll & Massa were 18 & 19 in 2017.

Forgot about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,974 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Yer man William Storey is constantly shytin-on about getting Rich Energy back into F1 and a “Big Announcement” coming soon. I know he’s only doing it to get the brand name back out there on social media. And I know I’m spreading his news on social media right now. But I also want to add that there is no announcement coming. He’s getting his association with F1 by just creating the speculation.

He’s a complete charlatan and a conman. It’s similar to when Trump was pushed about his healthcare plan, he would say it’s all ready and will be announced in the next couple of week, which went on for about 5 years without ever actually announcing what the plan was. There was no plan but it created the impression that there was an advanced plan.

Likewise Storey is just creating the idea that he’s in talks with teams or Liberty or race tracks. Nobody would bother with him after the Haas situation but he’s getting what he wants by talking about a big announcement being just weeks away. He’s a bad egg.

Wasn't rich energy shown up as a complete ponzi scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,601 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

He has some neck.
    Still talking about f1 and him shown to be a complete clown.
    Did they ever pay whyte bikes following the court case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Harika

Rich energy is in liquidation, anyone giving them a dime is an idiot. He should team up with Trevor Milton and promise a hydrogen F1 engine

duploelabs wrote: »
    Wasn't rich energy shown up as a complete ponzi scheme?

Yeah pretty much. It did have some products for sale but that wasn’t the main focus of the business. It was about getting investment and profile.

They were selling vodka and Rich Energy in some fancy places like casinos, but they didn’t try to sell it in normal shops like Rev Bull or Monster. I think it’s fair to say that Storey would be more comfortable spending other people’s money than his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭barryribs

AMKC wrote: »
    I seen a Jaguar on display at Goffs. That's going back a bit

They had the 98 Williams parked outside one of the Select garages in Tralee at some stage in early 99. It was really odd, there was nothing announced, it was just up on a plinth parked up at the corner of the garage with a guy looking after it. There was no engine in it apparently. The only thing I can think is that it was a Winfield promo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,510 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I seen a Jaguar on display at Goffs. That's going back a bit

2003 minardi on a seajets ferry "worldchampion jet" from naxos to athens a couple of years ago

These are the aero penalties/rewards based on where teams finished in last year’s championship:

2021 ATR Testing Limits (1 January-30 June)

1. Mercedes: 90%
    2. Red Bull: 92.5%
    3. McLaren: 95%
    4. Aston Martin: 97.5%
    5. Alpine: 100%
    6. Ferrari: 102.5%
    7. AlphaTauri: 105%
    8. Alfa Romeo: 107.5%
    9. Haas: 110%
    10. Williams: 112.5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

These are the aero penalties/rewards based on where teams finished in last year’s championship:

2021 ATR Testing Limits (1 January-30 June)

1. Mercedes: 90%
    2. Red Bull: 92.5%
    3. McLaren: 95%
    4. Aston Martin: 97.5%
    5. Alpine: 100%
    6. Ferrari: 102.5%
    7. AlphaTauri: 105%
    8. Alfa Romeo: 107.5%
    9. Haas: 110%
    10. Williams: 112.5%

How do they work that out and is the higher per percentage worse? I assume it is. If so how come its worse for the smaller teams than the bigger ones?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

How do they work that out and is the higher per percentage worse? I assume it is. If so how come its worse for the smaller teams than the bigger ones?

Alpine get 100% of the allowed wind tunnel time and simulations. Mercedes get capped at 90% of that allowance. Williams get 112.5% of the alpine allowance.

So Williams get an additional 12.5% compared to Alpine because they finished last. It’s to help Williams catch up because they came last

Windtunnel Limit for top six teams (1 January-30 June)

Mercedes: 864 runs/216 wind on hours
    Red Bull: 888 runs/222 wind on hours
    McLaren: 912 runs/228 wind on hours
    Aston Martin: 936 runs/234 wind on hours
    Alpine: 960 runs/240 wind on hours
    Ferrari: 984 runs/246 wind on hours

https://www.autosport.com/f1/news/154925/why-f1-first-success-handicap-could-be-revolutionary

The following year, the difference will be even more dramatic.
    2022-25 ATR Testing Limits based on previous year's championship

1st place: 70%
    2nd place: 75%
    3rd place: 80%
    4th place: 85%
    5th place: 90%
    6th place: 95%
    7th place: 100%
    8th place: 105%
    9th place: 110%
    10th place: 115%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭quokula

They really should do it based on something more representative like percentage difference in world championship points or average qualifying time over the season. There's a bigger gap in wind tunnel time between some very closely matched midfield teams than there is for the massive gulf in performance between Merc and Red Bull, or between Red Bull and McLaren.

quokula wrote: »
    They really should do it based on something more representative like percentage difference in world championship points or average qualifying time over the season. There's a bigger gap in wind tunnel time between some very closely matched midfield teams than there is for the massive gulf in performance between Merc and Red Bull, or between Red Bull and McLaren.

Its a good start anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭flazio

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭racersedge

flazio wrote: »

That’s probably the only ‘surprise’ about it. That in itself will fuel the idea that he’s out to get #8 and ride off into the sunset once he’s top of all the competitive records. Also gives him and easy out ahead of new regulations and (hopefully) a tightening of the field spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,628 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Lewis does the season, and is replaced by Russel next time around. Kinda suprising. a 1 year deal doesn't seem like anyone did well at the table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

Merc to field an all new lineup in 2022 then with Russell as team leader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭klose

https://twitter.com/CroftyF1/status/1358737839933038593?s=19

Lewis to break 100+ wins, go clear with all time championship wins and ride off into the sunset you'd imagine is the thinking here, Russell then to replace him and who knows what the story with bottas will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

racersedge wrote: »
    That’s probably the only ‘surprise’ about it. That in itself will fuel the idea that he’s out to get #8 and ride off into the sunset once he’s top of all the competitive records. Also gives him and easy out ahead of new regulations and (hopefully) a tightening of the field spread.

exactly what I was going to say

2022 line up will be interesting

nothing about a Veto of other drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,623 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Depending on Red Bull outcome this season, it could quite possibly be Max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I could see it being Max, he does have two years still on his red Bull contract - although I think I read that he has a get out clause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,833 ✭✭✭This is it

Max will just replace Hamilton as the villain :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

This is it wrote: »
    Max will just replace Hamilton as the villain :pac:

Max could actually be a proper villain though

He's the sort who could sh1t talk while on top and boast about nobody being on his level, none of this faux oh we just try our best and I'm #blessed from Lewis

Max could actually be a proper villain though

He's the sort who could sh1t talk while on top and boast about nobody being on his level, none of this faux oh we just try our best and I'm #blessed from Lewis

Totally agree with this. Hamilton wants everyone to love him. Max doesn’t give a shyte about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,264 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

The thoughts of Hamilton being around for only one more year are really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

The thoughts of Hamilton being around for only one more year are really nice.

Personally, I'd rather he stayed for longer, but with a competitive team mate.

I suppose if I am to wish for anything it is for a competitive F1 season. We can only dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭jv2000

OSI wrote: »
    Hamilton and Bottas with contracts till the end of 2021, McLaren getting Mercedes engines again, INEOS taking a shareholding in the Brackley team, Toto stepping back from running the team. Must surely all be strong indicators Mercedes are seriously looking at pulling back from being a manufacturer team in F1?

Agree, there are 2 ominous signs here. The first being that Mercedes will exit and that the owners replacing them will have the option to choose their own driver lineup without being crippled with Hamilton's wages.

The other sign... and I do not even want to think about this.... Hamilton is all set to join another team in 2022 that will get the best handle on the new Regs and storm to a 4-in-a-row before retiring.

Ms

jv2000 wrote: »
    Agree, there are 2 ominous signs here. The first being that Mercedes will exit and that the owners replacing them will have the option to choose their own driver lineup without being crippled with Hamilton's wages.

The other sign... and I do not even want to think about this.... Hamilton is all set to join another team in 2022 that will get the best handle on the new Regs and storm to a 4-in-a-row before retiring.

That would have to either be Ferrari, McLaren or Alpine then with Alpine been the least likely and McLaren the most as they are a team he knows, he started there and they have Mercedes engines.
    I suppose none of us will mo for sure untill we here Mercedes announce they are stepping back. Then it will all become more clear.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

That would have to either be Ferrari, McLaren or Alpine then with Alpine been the least likely and McLaren the most as they are a team he knows, he started there and they have Mercedes engines.
    I suppose none of us will mo for sure untill we here Mercedes announce they are stepping back. Then it will all become more clear.

Discussed it with a mate in work, we think McLaren could have one of the best driver line ups right now, and if Norris keeps improving the way he is they might not need a big name, he might become one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

barryribs wrote: »
    They had the 98 Williams parked outside one of the Select garages in Tralee at some stage in early 99. It was really odd, there was nothing announced, it was just up on a plinth parked up at the corner of the garage with a guy looking after it. There was no engine in it apparently. The only thing I can think is that it was a Winfield promo

Think it was a Winfield promo. It travelled around shopping centres too

1996 Williams was in the local Renault dealership here the following year. Got to sit in it and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,176 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Just one week to go to the first car launch of the season* which will be McLaren this day next week.

*Unless someone other team(s) launches earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

1996 Williams was in the local Renault dealership here the following year. Got to sit in it and all.

Proper jealous :eek:

Ms

I see Kevin Magnessim is going to be racing for Peugeot in the WEC. Well done to him. Might have been a good place for Grosjean to go to instead Indy.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

The Missed Apex lads were talking about tyre changes for this year. In response to feedback, they're making more durable tyres for this season. There's a chance that drivers will be able to push for longer on the tyres. There's also a chance that they will all just mind the tyres and do one stop races. The ideal scenario would be that the tyres can be pushed to create enough speed difference to make up for the 20-30 seconds lost for an additional pitstop.

Also, in Haas news: They are building the car i the UK for the first time and the engine is being built by Ferrari Italy. Travel restrictions mean the first time the will fire up the engine will be at testing. It might all go to plan but it's not a great scenario for them.

the first time the will fire up the engine will be at testing. It might all go to plan but it's not a great scenario for them.

Things like this is why I wish Mick Schumacher got the Alfa seat and Giovinazzi got the boot.

Haas are going absolutely nowhere, I would be surprised to see either of the drivers score a point this season bar a race where only 12 or 13 finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,470 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Mick racing alongside Kimi at alfa would be great.
    The son racing alongside the guy who was chosen to replace his father at ferrari

The only saving grace for him at Haas is that if Mazepin is a PR crapshow, it might take some of the attention off Mick's poor performances, should there be any

I don't see a way Mick comes out of this season with his reputation enhanced, we might hear stuff about how he struggles in season one and gets going in season two as he did in F2 & F3 but he's not going to be 1991 Schumacher on entry

Proper jealous :eek:
    8 year old me loved it. :P
    The Missed Apex lads were talking about tyre changes for this year. In response to feedback, they're making more durable tyres for this season. There's a chance that drivers will be able to push for longer on the tyres. There's also a chance that they will all just mind the tyres and do one stop races. The ideal scenario would be that the tyres can be pushed to create enough speed difference to make up for the 20-30 seconds lost for an additional pitstop.

Unless they're completely changing the construction of the tyres it will have little affect tbh. They can make them slightly more durable but that'll just mean drivers going at e.g. 96.5% pace instead of 96%.
    I'll be happy to be wrong but I don't think a slight change of compound or slightly thicker tread is what's going to make the difference.

Ms

This is cool. Amazing to think in these times of CAD and computer the Adrian Newey still using a drawing board,

https://www.facebook.com/568665409957112/posts/2020349951455310/?sfnsn=mo&d=n&vh=e

Also I see there is rumours of Compass racing getting into Formula 1 next year.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Harika

Harika wrote: »

Is that legit or is it simply Storey pulling an old photo of himself and Bernie and making up a story to go with it? Nothing would be beyond him in terms of scamming.
    If Bernie is involved, could he have been there all along with an underhand play to get back in and cause some trouble.

This is cool. Amazing to think in these times of CAD and computer the Adrian Newey still using a drawing board,

https://www.facebook.com/568665409957112/posts/2020349951455310/?sfnsn=mo&d=n&vh=e

Also I see there is rumours of Compass racing getting into Formula 1 next year.

Newey then needs a team of people to digitise his work.
    How much can you realistically do on paper though related to a modern day f1 car.
    Yes, an initial concept and base drawings but surely then the virtual design tools around aero etc will push the design forward and there is just zero room for reintroducing paper drawings in that situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Speaking of Bernie, I'm surprised he hasn't tried dipping his toe back into race promoting. I'm sure there'd be a dozen or so despots who'd be happy to showcase their countries in some sort of throwback series with screaming NA engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭recyclebin

I wish people would stop posting about that fraudster. He uses twitter to go fishing and see who bites.....and the other guy used to own Rich Energy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭recyclebin

mickdw wrote: »
    Newey then needs a team of people to digitise his work.
    How much can you realistically do on paper though related to a modern day f1 car.
    Yes, an initial concept and base drawings but surely then the virtual design tools around aero etc will push the design forward and there is just zero room for reintroducing paper drawings in that situation.

That's what I was thinking too. You can draw concepts on paper but F1 is measured in 1/1000 of a mm which you don't get with a pencil.

Is that legit or is it simply Storey pulling an old photo of himself and Bernie and making up a story to go with it? Nothing would be beyond him in terms of scamming.
    If Bernie is involved, could he have been there all along with an underhand play to get back in and cause some trouble.

When I see Storey, I default to assuming it’s BS. I’ll believe it when I see it.

Ms

The only team I can see this cowboy been on is Aston Martin. Maybe he made his millions from all the razors he never bought because he is to mean to shave or get his beard cut. Who knows. Or maybe just maybe he is a big gangster and liar like the Kinahans.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Harika wrote: »

I believe him as far as I can throw him.

A complete charlatan.