Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2021 - General Discussion Thread (Read 1st post rules)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Jordan 199 wrote: »
    Hopefully there will be more car launch dates announced soon.

Not a date but Aston Martin will be launching in February.

https://twitter.com/F1/status/1346062571053334528?s=19

Im going to guess February 19th but I could be way off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,714 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Have the 'outie' layout again.

I don’t think many would object. Bottas called it a Micky Mouse track, but it was a good spectacle as a specific race.

I think the new tracks had a big advantage by virtue of being new. The teams had less data and there was more scope for teams to make mistakes. Going there a second time would probably mean the teams have much more data and can model all eventualities more accurate.

It might be a bit of a let-down compared to the drama that happened at the first race, but it would definitely be an improvement on Albert Park which is one of the worst tracks of the year. It’s pretty though.

Re the bit in bold: what have you formed the impression from? What’s the evidence that he’s lost some of the fire?
    Hard to put my finger on completely. But put simply he hasn't needed it and stuff like that can be hard to re-capture. Schumacher eventually lost it, I don't think anyone thought they'd see the day he'd come back and be smiling and laughing and enjoying himself while going 50-odd races without even a podium.
    Has Alonso bad great competition in the last few years?
    Well he sauntered over and won Le Mans a couple of times and had an outstanding first run at Indy.
    In his last F1 season he beat Vandoorne 50-12 in points.
    I expect him to at least match what Ricciardo did with Ocon last season.
    Has Vettel also lost the fire or is Hamilton’s fire subject to different rules than the fire of drivers you like more and want to see do well?
    Vettel is probably done as a top-level driver. I don't fully buy the "He can't race wheel-to-wheel" but he's a lead from the front kind of driver and that won't be happening unless Aston Martin fluke into something amazing for 2022.
    I have different views on different drivers because they're different people in different situations. Vettel is young enough to go again but is likely viewed as poor value to take a punt on compared to younger drivers so he probably won't get that shot.
    Hamilton is getting old and has been cruising for quite a while now and lost out the last time he faced a serious challenge.

Also man, it'd be really nice to have a discussion with you that didn't involve asking for evidence when someone's expressing a gut feeling and that you could get through a post without making little digs in the middle of every other sentence. Oh well, I suppose it's only another 355-odd days til I can ask Santa again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,829 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I think this years season is going to surprise a few people. For one McLaren will now have a Mercedes engine so if they can continue to improve from last year and if that engine really is faster than all the others I guess we will know this year. That is hoping they do not make a balls of there aero somewhere. Then there is Red Bulls constant improvement. Hopefully they come out running this time. There is also Alonso at Renault so hopefully he can do at least as good if not better at Renault than Ricciardo did and hopefully Renault continue to improve. Would really love to see Alonso fighting up at the front. Then there is the two dark horses of Aston Martin and Ferrari with it's new engine. Who knows they could surprise us.
    Then there is the new tyres that will last longer but also slow the cars down a bit. Some teams might get used to them better than others and get ahead quicker. So all in all I think we could have a very exciting season ahead.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Hard to put my finger on completely. But put simply he hasn't needed it and stuff like that can be hard to re-capture. Schumacher eventually lost it, I don't think anyone thought they'd see the day he'd come back and be smiling and laughing and enjoying himself while going 50-odd races without even a podium.

Well he sauntered over and won Le Mans a couple of times and had an outstanding first run at Indy.
    In his last F1 season he beat Vandoorne 50-12 in points.
    I expect him to at least match what Ricciardo did with Ocon last season.

Vettel is probably done as a top-level driver. I don't fully buy the "He can't race wheel-to-wheel" but he's a lead from the front kind of driver and that won't be happening unless Aston Martin fluke into something amazing for 2022.
    I have different views on different drivers because they're different people in different situations. Vettel is young enough to go again but is likely viewed as poor value to take a punt on compared to younger drivers so he probably won't get that shot.
    Hamilton is getting old and has been cruising for quite a while now and lost out the last time he faced a serious challenge.

Also man, it'd be really nice to have a discussion with you that didn't involve asking for evidence when someone's expressing a gut feeling and that you could get through a post without making little digs in the middle of every other sentence. Oh well, I suppose it's only another 355-odd days til I can ask Santa again.

If it’s hard to put your finger on, and it’s just a hunch but has no evidence, the it’s usually just a wish. I get those kind of hunches every time I buy a lotto ticket - it’s just a wish.

If I ask for evidence, I don’t expect to break into the Mercedes factory to bring back secured documents. Just a reasoned and consistent argument. For example: the post above had Hamilton hammering his teammate and cruising to a series of championships as evidence that he’s gone off the boil but Alonso hammering Vandoorne and sauntering to wins at Le Mans is evidence that he’s still got it. That’s using the same kind of evidence to reach contradictory conclusions.

A hope or wish is fine. But why not just say you hope Hamilton goes off the boil and Alonso is still fast? Hopes and wishes don’t need evidence or argument as they don’t claim any knowledge.

If it’s hard to put your finger on, and it’s just a hunch but has no evidence, the it’s usually just a wish. I get those kind of hunches every time I buy a lotto ticket - it’s just a wish.
    A hunch and a wish are 2 completely different things. Look them up. I've had plenty of negative hunches over the years, pretty sure I'm not the only one.
    If I ask for evidence, I don’t expect to break into the Mercedes factory to bring back secured documents. Just a reasoned and consistent argument. For example: the post above had Hamilton hammering his teammate and cruising to a series of championships as evidence that he’s gone off the boil but Alonso hammering Vandoorne and sauntering to wins at Le Mans is evidence that he’s still got it. That’s using the same kind of evidence to reach contradictory conclusions.
    Christ above.
    In my opinion, and the impression I get is, Hamilton has been going through the motions somewhat in the last few years. We saw, an albeit excellent, young driver step into an unfamiliar car with a bodged cockpit jump in and do what Hamilton does week-to-week in a familiar set-up with everything tuned to his liking.
    From the way he answers questions, what he talks about, his demeanour, age, activities off the track I don't think he's got 4 years of his peak still left in him. Will likely not need to be near his peak this season to cruise to another title.
    A hope or wish is fine. But why not just say you hope Hamilton goes off the boil and Alonso is still fast? Hopes and wishes don’t need evidence or argument as they don’t claim any knowledge.
    I don't particularly give a ****e how Alonso does unless in 2022 he's in a car that can challenge for the title. That applies to pretty much all of the grid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Found some support for the claim that Oz is delayed.

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    Found some support for the claim that Oz is delayed.

The Race had a video today saying all indications are that it'll be cancelled, the quarantine restrictions they want would be completely unworkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,870 ✭✭✭This is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,634 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I don’t think many would object. Bottas called it a Micky Mouse track, but it was a good spectacle as a specific race.

I think the new tracks had a big advantage by virtue of being new. The teams had less data and there was more scope for teams to make mistakes. Going there a second time would probably mean the teams have much more data and can model all eventualities more accurate.

It might be a bit of a let-down compared to the drama that happened at the first race, but it would definitely be an improvement on Albert Park which is one of the worst tracks of the year. It’s pretty though.
    If bottas doesnt like it then I'm all for it frankly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Alonso had it on his social media yesterday that Bahrain will be tge first race of 2021

I’ll bet at this stage all sides involved in hosting the Australian GP know it won’t go ahead and it’s just a matter of who pulls the trigger. The ideal for everyone would be either the contract just rolls over to next year, or everyone gets someone else to pay for cancelling the contract (city, state and national government, most likely).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I don't know if any of ye are into Lego, but I couldn't turn this down:

s4mygtK.jpg?3

It arrived to me this morning so I must get building! Lego rules!

Not really into Lego but I'd love that! The misses got me this for Christmas, delighted with it :)

This is it wrote: »
    Not really into Lego but I'd love that! The misses got me this for Christmas, delighted with it :)
    Hope it's the one from the start of the season ;)

(and at least she knew not to get you the SF1000!)

Nice model there This is it. Must get more Jordan models to add to my collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I don't know if any of ye are into Lego, but I couldn't turn this down:

s4mygtK.jpg?3

It arrived to me this morning so I must get building! Lego rules!

I saw one of these in the flesh here in Vancouver. Insane looking machine.

*Side note* This is Gintonious, just changed my name for the new year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

AMKC wrote: »
    For one McLaren will now have a Mercedes engine so if they can continue to improve from last year and if that engine really is faster than all the others I guess we will know this year.
    Except that McLaren have had to use a lot of their development tokens making the engine fit, so won't be able to make as many upgrades to the car itself as other teams.

Personally I din't see much changing next season. Merc will be in their own league, Max will challenge the odd time, the mid-field will be extremely competitive.

Nice model there This is it. Must get more Jordan models to add to my collection.

I had one about 20 years ago but it was taken from the box and lost radio antenna, wing mirrors etc :( loved it. This one will be taken care of :D

Except that McLaren have had to use a lot of their development tokens making the engine fit, so won't be able to make as many upgrades to the car itself as other teams.

Personally I din't see much changing next season. Merc will be in their own league, Max will challenge the odd time, the mid-field will be extremely competitive.

Agree with that. Mclaren has a solid base to work from so I hope it will be able to develop a bit and stay competitive in the midfield.

I also think Ferrari will rejoin the midfield this year. New engine and huge kick up the arse and two competitive drivers will hopefully see them improve.

I had one about 20 years ago but it was taken from the box and lost radio antenna, wing mirrors etc :( loved it. This one will be taken care of :D
    Good man :) I keep mine in their original boxes and only take them out for taking photos of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

That reminds me, I've a Tamiya Nissan Skyline sitting on my shelf since May...2019. :o

Is that one of those kits that needs glue? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭Harika

Last Riccardo red Bull, not even sure if that was delivered as the parcel is unopened.
    Final Forsythe champcar model, original in box.
    A 70 model in box, no idea what would need to check
    Had most of the Berger Ferraris but was young and stupid and played with them

Here are the pictures of theMcLaren Senna I saw in Van last year. You see some crazy cars over here in the warmer months.

136404546_10219373216821747_8066366033374770829_o.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=2&_nc_sid=0debeb&_nc_ohc=Kejm7JIorBsAX8DapBb&_nc_ht=scontent-sea1-1.xx&oh=f24d223f21d709597b7ca3b612cd8687&oe=601AFE9E

136371338_10219373216581741_3252965670477509605_o.jpg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=2&_nc_sid=0debeb&_nc_ohc=cpkJCG3AOjgAX_Txk3j&_nc_ht=scontent-sea1-1.xx&oh=b459d1193671016f5ef8909c8578c0fa&oe=601A9BDA

136124341_10219373217021752_5162564624285082200_o.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=2&_nc_sid=0debeb&_nc_ohc=84OBZpNh-HUAX8yFNj5&_nc_ht=scontent-sea1-1.xx&oh=3da7b4802d567b61a95057fd732b42d1&oe=6018C5F6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,034 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Is that one of those kits that needs glue? :D

Yeah. I had to use some of that glue to fix a desk handle and it stank the room out, so that's that on the back burner until it's warm enough to work outside.

F1 races to start on the hour this year.

Why we’re they ever changed? I thought 10 past the hour just added a small confusion that wasn’t needed. Was it for tv or something commercial like that?

I read before that it was for TV with some stations only starting to broadcast on the hour so it gave them 10 minutes until the race started. Hard to believe a broadcast couldn't start earlier so I'm not sure how true it is...

It was done for television.

I read before that it was for TV with some stations only starting to broadcast on the hour so it gave them 10 minutes until the race started. Hard to believe a broadcast couldn't start earlier so I'm not sure how true it is...

It's mentioned on Autosport.

I suppose it makes sense from that perspective. I often listened on BBC radio and they start the show on the hour with a 10 minute build up. They get to end he previous show on the hour so I suppose it makes sense for broadcasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,829 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Here are the pictures of theMcLaren Senna I saw in Van last year. You see some crazy cars over here in the warmer months.

136404546_10219373216821747_8066366033374770829_o.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=2&_nc_sid=0debeb&_nc_ohc=Kejm7JIorBsAX8DapBb&_nc_ht=scontent-sea1-1.xx&oh=f24d223f21d709597b7ca3b612cd8687&oe=601AFE9E

136371338_10219373216581741_3252965670477509605_o.jpg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=2&_nc_sid=0debeb&_nc_ohc=cpkJCG3AOjgAX_Txk3j&_nc_ht=scontent-sea1-1.xx&oh=b459d1193671016f5ef8909c8578c0fa&oe=601A9BDA

136124341_10219373217021752_5162564624285082200_o.jpg?_nc_cat=102&ccb=2&_nc_sid=0debeb&_nc_ohc=84OBZpNh-HUAX8yFNj5&_nc_ht=scontent-sea1-1.xx&oh=3da7b4802d567b61a95057fd732b42d1&oe=6018C5F6

Would not be out place as Batmans or Night Riders car.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Mercedes and Williams have announced increased collaboration for 2022 onwards. Mercedes will now supply gearboxes and some other hits and pieces.

With the budget caps we are going to see a lot of this kind of thing in the years to come. It will allow teams to put resources elsewhere.

Mercedes, Aston Martin and Williams will share a lot resources. McLaren to a lesser extent.

Ferrari and Haas seem to be getting even closer. Sauber still independent up to a point.

Two Red Bulls teams will converge closer like they were in the past.

Renault could be left out in the cold. Which might make it easier for them to bend the rules or come up with ideas outside the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

recyclebin wrote: »
    Mercedes and Williams have announced increased collaboration for 2022 onwards. Mercedes will now supply gearboxes and some other hits and pieces.

With the budget caps we are going to see a lot of this kind of thing in the years to come. It will allow teams to put resources elsewhere.

Mercedes, Aston Martin and Williams will share a lot resources. McLaren to a lesser extent.

Ferrari and Haas seem to be getting even closer. Sauber still independent up to a point.

Two Red Bulls teams will converge closer like they were in the past.

Renault could be left out in the cold. Which might make it easier for them to bend the rules or come up with ideas outside the box.

I view that as a plus for McLaren. the more you rely on a major partner, the greater chance you will never win anything. If we consider mercedes may pull out a few years down the line and become Engine supplier only, mclaren will be in a strong position developing everything par engine themselves whereas williams and Aston Martin will be lost.

https://twitter.com/wbuxtonofficial/status/1347184686578196482

Looks like the pink is almost all gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭elperello

The two lads look like nasty pieces of work in mug shots.

Can I ask you for your thoughts on how many races you would ideally like to see on the F1 calendar? 18 - 20 races for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

20 races.
    With a calendar decided by putting the names of all interested tracks into a bowl 2 years before a season is due and pulling 20 names out.
    Once you have your 20 then F1 management can organise the order they are raced. I know someone would say they should be raced in the order they come out but if one of middle east tracks is drawn in summer then the heat could kill drivers so safety and logistics need to be examined before setting an order for the 20.

This too shall pass.

Can I ask you for your thoughts on how many races you would ideally like to see on the F1 calendar? 18 - 20 races for me.

I’d prefer fewer events and drop the ones that give crap races. Melbourne is a massive anti-climax every year. France can go. Monaco is a snooze-fest. Get rid of those three and have 3 fewer races and it would be improved.

I don’t have an ideal set number of races, but I’d support quality over quantity. I also have no problem with double races , but it wouldn’t be commercially workable.

My main criteria is tracks that tend to produce good races. The main issue is that tracks are chosen for lots of reasons and “tend to produce good races” is wasaaayyyyy down the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

20 per year, with at 10 to 15 of those to be guaranteed every year based on heritage or location. The rest could be every second year.

These would be guaranteed at least 1 race:
    Silverstone
    Spa
    Monaco
    Sao Paolo
    Suzuka
    Montreal
    Middle East
    Australia
    America
    China
    Russia
    Germany
    Italy

Australia is fine as a season opener when reliability is an issue. The last almost decade it's been pretty ****e though.

Australia is boring, as is sochi, most of the middle eastern tracks, COTA, paul ricard etc

If I were designing the series calendar I'd be keeping Monaco, Silverstone, monza, baku, montreal, Zaandvoort, spa from the current lineup.
    Would add in/back Imola and portimao from the new races this year, along with one of the bahrain tracks.
    If more were needed then I'd add in China, Brazil - interlagos,

Then I'd want to add other interesting tracks (including one that doesnt exist any more, hockenheim 2000 layout) to make up about 18-20 races per season. And have Brazil as the season ender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

ELM327 wrote: »
    Australia is boring, as is sochi, most of the middle eastern tracks, COTA, paul ricard etc

If I were designing the series calendar I'd be keeping Monaco, Silverstone, monza, baku, montreal, Zaandvoort, spa from the current lineup.
    Would add in/back Imola and portimao from the new races this year, along with one of the bahrain tracks.
    If more were needed then I'd add in China, Brazil - interlagos,

Then I'd want to add other interesting tracks (including one that doesnt exist any more, hockenheim 2000 layout) to make up about 18-20 races per season. And have Brazil as the season ender.

Hasn't been raced in the modern era by F1 so how do you know it'll be entertaining?

I don't know the statistics but I find Monaco awful, get ahead on the first corner and you're likely to win.

The street tracks are visually great because the camera can get so close to the cars, but a terrible spectacle apart from that. Total joke of an f1 track.

They spend so long talking about the glamour and the parties and the yachts parked in the marina. Anything to distract from the total lack of action in the race. Having traditions and heritage is great, but Monaco is an example of being bound by tradition. It’s an obligation

duploelabs wrote: »
    Hasn't been raced in the modern era by F1 so how do you know it'll be entertaining?
    F1 2020 gameplay :D
    Yes, monaco is 99% about the saturday. But it's an obligation, and I wouldnt be excluding it.

I still maintain I'd love to see an oval race. Cars aren't designed with weight-jackers, mixed fuel strategies, high drag making fuel saving harder. Be great craic :P
    Pretty much impossible while re-fueling is banned though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I enjoy the yachts and partys and the storys.

Where else would Kimi crash and then be seen topless with a beer in hand on a boat.