Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JohnGreenFan & The Walrus - The Reveal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭JohnGreenFan

Which leaves our top and bottom 3 in the form of:

Arghus
    Osh
    Rikand
    ShaneU
    Trigger

...and Also Starring LeVar Burton.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,007 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

In 18th place with 4 points:
    Electric Nitwit

Blur - Parklife

look, you couldn't have known. But I have an unnatural dislike of this song
    But you haven't heard my version! :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Fancy a karaoke mash up of Parklife Sex Machine? :D

e2d9fK.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Necro wrote: »

e2d9fK.gif

That sounds awesome actually

maybe the zoom karaoke would have fared better for you!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Can't remember what I entered for this. Only sang Karaoke once.... In someone's house!

That sounds awesome actually

ALLLLL THE PEOPLE

Get on Up

SO MANY PEOPLE

Get on Up

• Registered Users Posts: 11,007 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

e2d9fK.gif
    I think you vastly overestimate my ability, but let's do it!

In 19th place with 3 points:
    Trigger

Pearl Jam - The End

Have I listened to this artist before? Yes
    Have I listened to this song before? Yes

the whiff of depression of this is pungent. If someone got up and started this on karaoke, it would be a sign for me to leave the pub. Also not a hope that anyone could sing this with any sort of tune after a few drinks and now I will forever be haunted by this idea. Found this one a hard listen, but I liked it overall. Just not for karaoke - might have done better in a different category.

In 3rd place with 19 points:
    Shaneu

Marc Cohn - Walking In Memphis

I adore this song. One of my favourites, top class. Simply beautiful. Not much else to say here.

Although if someone murdered this in karaoke, I would be deeply unhappy.

ALLLLL THE PEOPLE

Get on Up

SO MANY PEOPLE

Get on Up

"I get up when I want, except on Wednesdays when I am rudely awaken by the sex machine"
    "I put my trousers on, have a cup of tea, and think about shaking my money maker"

In 20th place with 2 points:
    Arghus

Elvis - If I Can Dream

I was listening to this on youtube and assumed it was the lotto ad and turned it off!! Only realised on the second play on spotify that it was an entry… oops! Not a bad song but you'd definitely want a decent voice to not totally ruin this in karaoke! Such a beautiful song, it's a shame I never want to hear it again.

On repeated listens... jesus the lotto ad has totally ruined this for me. I am allergic to it i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,541 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

In 3rd place with 19 points:
    Shaneu

Pearl Jam - The End

I adore this song. One of my favourites, top class. Simply beautiful. Not much else to say here.

Although if someone murdered this in karaoke, I would be deeply unhappy.

NO TAKEBACKS!

Oh Arghus that's a class choice, I've done that one a few times too :D

In 2nd place with 20 points:
    Also Starring LeVar Burton

Avril Lavigne - Complicated

God I love this song and it's my go to karaoke song, love a good sassy karaoke song. Also not much actual signing so much as talking so it still works after a few drinks - bonus! What a bop.

TELLLLLL ME WHY'D YOU HAVE TO GO AND MAKE THINGS SO COMPLICAAATED

We sing karaoke at Wakes out this way

*shifts eyes*

Trigger wrote: »
    NO TAKEBACKS!

look what happened!! Traumatised by your song choice and it won't leave me alone!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

In 2nd place with 20 points:
    Also Starring LeVar Burton

Avril Lavigne - Complicated

God I love this song and it's my go to karaoke song, love a good sassy karaoke song. Also not much actual signing so much as talking so it still works after a few drinks - bonus! What a bop.

TELLLLLL ME WHY'D YOU HAVE TO GO AND MAKE THINGS SO COMPLICAAATED

Thank f**k, was getting nervous. Won a karaoke competition doing this one, and its been my go to ever since.

Trigger wrote: »
    We sing karaoke at Wakes out this way

*shifts eyes*

We do too... but they tend to be more The Parting Glass rather than The End :pac:

In 21st place with 1 point:
    Rikand

Korn - Freak on a Leash (acoustic)

Have I listened to this artist before? No
    Have I listened to this song before? No

the only good thing about this song was Amy Lee singing, and by the end, even that wasn't enough. Heavily disliked his voice and the lyrics, just didn't do anything for me unfortunately!

Which means in 1st place with 21 points is:
    osh

The Foundations - Build Me Up Buttercup

top notch bop, works as both solo karaoke and a duet and I do love a section where the crowd can join in with a few ooohs and aaahs. 10/10 on the bop-o-meter!! lots of opportunities for back up dancing also!!

Thanks everyone for joining me for this live karaoke session, I hope to have round 3 up sometime next week depending on other events running.

Welcome to Round 2: Karaoke!

Our first contender this evening...

In 11th place with 11 points is - Spoiler:
    Homer J Fong

Soft Cell – Tainted Love

an absolute BOP of a song, couple of shouty bits, easy lyrics that everyone knows, rocking backing track… excellent.

I should say I've never actually done this song at karaoke before, and if I did I'd probably end up sounding more like the Marilyn Manson version than Soft Cell. :pac:

Here are a few songs that I have actually murdered done at karaoke before (links are to the actual songs, not my renditions!), from a period about 8 years ago when I lived in England while doing a postgrad; karaoke seemed more popular over there than it is here. Wonder if any of these would've scored higher?

T-Rex - 20th Centruy Boy
    Primal Scream - Rocks ("the campest version of that song I've ever heard" according to the MC :o )
    Talking Heads - Burning Down the House

• Registered Users Posts: 30,444 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

In 4th place with 18 points:
    FixXxer

The Wolfe Tones - Come Out Ye Black & Tans

Many a night I spent in a small dark pub roaring this out. Group karaoke at its finest because I've yet to see anyone get through the song without the whole pub joined in! A absolute CHOON.

This would win the round for me. Excellent choice :)

Some great memories of seeing the Wolfe Tones live.

Haha, the comp in Dublin was in the pub across from Griffith College (I forget the name now). First prize was 500 quid, so a sizeable portion of coin to a broke ass college student at the time.

Three Rounds culminating in the Grand Final, you could use the same song if you wanted.

First Round I went with

Second Round then

And the final I went with Sex Machine. Lost out by 6 votes :(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Haha, the comp in Dublin was in the pub across from Griffith College (I forget the name now). First prize was 500 quid, so a sizeable portion of coin to a broke ass college student at the time.

Three Rounds culminating in the Grand Final, you could use the same song if you wanted.

First Round I went with

Second Round then

And the final I went with Sex Machine. Lost out by 6 votes :(

I want video/CCTV footage..... now!

beakerjoe wrote: »
    I want video/CCTV footage..... now!

I think one of the lads filmed the final but I've sadly lost contact with the college crew from Dublin many years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭osh

Jaysus a bye in G&R’s quiz and then first in this walrus round! Nice one, always like singing this one.

I think one of the lads filmed the final but I've sadly lost contact with the college crew from Dublin many years ago

WANTED: PEOPLE WHO WENT TO COLLEGE IN DUBLIN AND ONCE ATTENDED A KARAOKE EVENT NEAR GRIFFITH COLLEGE AND HUNG AROUND WITH A MAN KNOWN ONLY AS...
    NECRO.

I'm sure that narrows it down...

We do too... but they tend to be more The Parting Glass rather than The End :pac:

If I had another thought, I would have submitted this one instead