Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2021

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Quite enjoyed that, gutted for France

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭Vital Transformation

Just tuned in for the end of the results and winning song. That's possibly the most forgettable Eurovision winner I've heard to date.

Fair play to the Dutch getting done more or less on time.

Italians will be surprised waking up tomorrow winning a competition they generally know nothing about.

I likes the song.

I watched a bit with my six year old at the start and she was hooked.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

murpho999 wrote: »
    So you really think even non EU countries (of which there are many) did not vote vote for UK because of Brexit?

Don't forget because of the border, Brexit makes more news in Ireland then the rest of Europe.

The Netflix movie said everyone hates the UK :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Delighted Switzerland didn't win. He was a cocky singer who thought he had it won before the public decided.

His face every time a big public vote came in was hilarious. "Can they do this?"

Italy won because of the performance. Finland rocked up the chart because of the performance. The French came second because of the performance.

The Switzerland song didn’t do as well as the jury vote because of the performance

It's the Rage similarities which I'm drawn to in the song. Yer man doesn't sound like Zack De La Rocha, but the music is highly derivative of RATM. That riff has Tom Morello all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,456 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Lads they have to figure out a weighting system that doesn't stick the knife in like that. Like theres no way in hell the UK and the others got zero phone votes at all from anyone. Brits in Ireland would have phoned, no question.

If you get the lowest volume you should get maybe 20, 30 and up to say 400 for the highest public popularity. Zero is just sadistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

553821.png

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

fvp4 wrote: »
    Germany got 3 points and 0 from the popular vote.
    Still infinity x 2 times what the UK got.

YellowLead wrote: »
    Time for them to bow out given they gave the two fingers to the rest of us (Europe) with their Brexit we are better than you BS

I'd thank this twice if it was possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

They basically ripped off Rage against the machine.

Are ye, and those that agreed, tone deaf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭archfi

They cut the bloody end off

Well, I'm watching Eurovison since 1973 except for most of the 00's (don't ask and no I wasn't sectioned because I saw it since 1973 either) and that is one of the top winning songs in my time.

The voting drama is fantastic - that has to be kept.
    I'm off to look at the insane UK Digitalspy Eurovision forum after the UK's humiliation- and they are totally nuts there ;-)

Thanks for the thread :)

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Italy song had. a Janes Addiction vibe to it but it’s a class rocking song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Ripping off an anti piracy advert... Irony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,578 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

YellowLead wrote: »
    Time for them to bow out given they gave the two fingers to the rest of us (Europe) with their Brexit we are better than you BS

The Eurovision song contest is nothing to do with the EU and there's an awful lot of non EU countries in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭supernova5

Italy,
    glam rock revival in appearance, Rage against The Machine rip off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Linkin Park more like.

No that was finland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

What height is the blonde in the purple?

Or are the other’s pygmys

6ft 2in
    Nikkie de Jager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Has anyone figured if the Italian lads were actually singingðŸ§

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Surely RTE have to get on the phone to Keith Fay now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

What height is the blonde in the purple?

Or are the other’s pygmys

If you read Nikki de Jager's Wikipedia article that might explain why she is so tall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,657 ✭✭✭archfi

Cienciano wrote: »
    It was a good song but the guy was a creep. Well, gave me a creepy vibe. Glad they didn't win. Nazi gold pricks
    :D:D:D:DComment of the night

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Lads they have to figure out a weighting system that doesn't stick the knife in like that. Like theres no way in hell the UK and the others got zero phone votes at all from anyone. Brits in Ireland would have phoned, no question.

If you get the lowest volume you should get maybe 20, 30 and up to say 400 for the highest public popularity. Zero is just sadistic.

I thought the same. Its doesn't add up.

Looks like my 40 votes were all Bulgaria got off the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,417 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I tuned in late so am just hearing the winning song now. Yer man could be singing away there about a door for all I know, but it's a rockin tune.

He actually is singing about a door

"Mo’ li prendo a calci, ‘sti portoni"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭jeoun

Semi Final results are in - Ireland finished last (16th place) with 20 points!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,068 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

E2BuM2cXIAgSGRL?format=jpg&name=small

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭LordBasil

Ireland came last in our Semi final

What am I gonna spend my €15 on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Thought France should have won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Skid X wrote: »
    It's a melting pot now

Good songs have a chance, great variety of genres at or near the top

Neighbourly voting has been diluted by the number of participants

It is a stronger contest now than it ever was

it's all the east europeans voting for each other, which is why eastern european countries have won 1 of the last 12 contests

Red leather pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,573 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

LordBasil wrote: »
    Well deserved

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭rodge123

gmisk wrote: »
    Clueless...

It's zero to do with their population....it's to do with them pumping the most money into the competition.

Should these same countries get free entry to the European and World Cup soccer tournaments also seen as their broadcasters probably generate the most amount of broadcasting rights tv revenue for uefa/fifa also?

jeoun wrote: »

20 more than the UK

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

UK get no points from anywhere yet get automatic entry next year

Germans get 3 points from 'professional' juries and get automatic entry next year

Spain get 6 points and yet get automatic entry next year

There's a simple solution but the countries will hate it

End auto qualification for everyone but the previous winners, make every single country have to earn their place in the final

Domino's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

rodge123 wrote: »
    Should these same countries get free entry to the European and World Cup soccer tournaments also seen as their broadcasters probably generate the most amount of broadcasting rights tv revenue for uefa/fifa also?
    Eurovision isn't exactly related.....what a bizarre question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Thought that was a thoroughly entertaining Eurovision myself.

One of my biggest takeaways is that I need to get the BBC for next year. Marty is the drizzling ****s and seems to do his best to spoil the night with his drivel.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

That was a load of enjoyable bollox :D

See ye again next year

rodge123 wrote: »

They don't actually pay for the World Cup the way they do this.

And all their UEFA/FIFA money got them a ton of perks like seeded qualifiers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

It’s obvious that the UK etc got public votes but statistically when factored back into the scoring they were less than 1. Notable difference between jury and public on many votes, Lithuania got little from juries and jumped way up the board with the public vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

jeoun wrote: »

Thoroughly deserved, it was an atrocious performance on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

deisedude wrote: »
    None of the top 3 songs were in English. I wonder has that happened before

probably not since they got rid of the rule that countries had to use their official languages. In 1991 the top 3 were not in English

• Registered Users Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭RoryMac

LordBasil wrote: »

Probably too high to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Won a €1.50 profit from Switzerland coming 3rd so small victory for me :o

Sickened for UK but fair play to him for being such a good sport about it.

Absolutely love the voting set up. Nail biting to the end.

Was gutted for Switzerland but was really happy for Italy.

My fiance hated Ukraine and was shook when the public vote bumped them up.

Nearly as surprised as Flo Rida was about San Marino

Overall an epic night full of surprises.

Until next year in Rome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭jeoun

Thought that was a thoroughly entertaining Eurovision myself.

One of my biggest takeaways is that I need to get the BBC for next year. Marty is the drizzling ****s and seems to do his best to spoil the night with his drivel.

I watched the whole show on Youtube with no commentary - so much better than having to listen to Marty or even Graham.

A flight to eastern Europe.