Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gambling Culture

• 21-12-2020 3:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

A few friends like to bet. Anyway one who has the highest knowledge of horses, gave me a tip yesterday, so I tipped into paddy power as I dont have an online account. The place was full of middle aged men on a Sunday morning, I play on a gaelic team, where I see the young lads gambling on their phones with no knowledge of greyhounds and horses. I hear very little on problem gambling but know alot of guys who have gambled a high percentage of their wages. Is this industry ignored by our government and the pitfalls

• Registered Users Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭Allinall

kevthegaff wrote: »
    A bunch of my friends like to gamble. Anyway one who has the highest knowledge of horses, gave me a tip yesterday, so I tipped into paddy power as I dont have an online account. The place was full of middle aged men on a Sunday morning, I play on a gaelic team, where I see the young lads gambling on their phones with no knowledge of greyhounds and horses. I hear very little on problem gambling but know alot of guys who have gambled a high percentage of their wages. Is this industry ignored by our government and the pitfalls

Did the horse win?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

I’d say there’s a huge amount of people struggling quietly with gambling addiction, it’s a very insidious and pervasive industry.

Allinall wrote: »
    Did the horse win?

Doesn’t matter.

Today’s big win is next week’s sustained loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

Smee_Again wrote: »
    Doesn’t matter.

Today’s big win is next week’s sustained loss.

Not everyone is addicted to gambling, a nice win doesnt mean its always going back.

But it is a big problem in our country.
    What is your plan to stop it though? Ban all gambling???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Much like anything else in life alcohol, sugar, social media, food. People have to be taught and trusted to do things responsibly and in moderation. If someone finds themselves unable to regulate their indulgences help should be made available. I used to work in a greyhound stadium and I've seen some small changes brought in to help people from getting carried away with their gambling.

I would however be sceptical of this desire for the government to baby proof everything in our lives essentially.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Allinall wrote: »
    Did the horse win?

Lol feckin lost, like any other tip I get!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,528 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The messages that say "Please gamble responsibly" crack me up.

In other words, please gamble right up to the point when it becomes problematic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I know a few horror stories about gambling.
    RTE did a good documentary on it a while back.

When an industry like gambling is self regulating it’s never going to do anything more than token efforts to change.

I have had a bet in a long time and I’ve started to enjoy sport a lot more. InsteD of chasing a handicap, or watching for the first scorer, or a few scores in an accumulator I just sit down now and watch a match.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

buddy of mine from Manchester brought 2 life long MU fans over for a proper immersed weekend with real locals (his dad brother and cousin and their friends made an effort ) for a home game against 1 of their biggest rivals - trill of a lifetime for a die in the wool soccer fan right ?

my friend was shocked how the 2 boys spent 90% of their time - (including at the match) on their phones looking at and betting on other matches. He reckoned they were too busy betting to see almost anything that happened in the game.

other than that they got on great with the locals, but it was so bad his Dad commented that the they wouldnt be bothered rolling out the red carpet again if the boys clearly had so little interest !

Gambling is a huge issue here - and since the advent of the mobile phone, I imagine its literally like what having your coke dealer in your pocket all day every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

It's all about personal responsibility. Same as every thing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Lol feckin lost, like any other tip I get!

The next one will win as that loss has narrowed the odds for losing again.

Can you or your pal please tip me a horse. Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I bet you a tenner that I won't win this bet.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

A bunch of my friends like to gamble. Anyway one who has the highest knowledge of horses, gave me a tip yesterday, so I tipped into paddy power as I dont have an online account. The place was full of middle aged men on a Sunday morning, I play on a gaelic team, where I see the young lads gambling on their phones with no knowledge of greyhounds and horses. I hear very little on problem gambling but know alot of guys who have gambled a high percentage of their wages. Is this industry ignored by our government and the pitfalls

Gambling is a scourge.

If you keep it up you might have to change your name to kevnogaff

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

As someone else said, it is like everything else that is potentially addictive. No one makes you do anything.

If a person develops a dependency on something, that doesn't mean that the majority of people who bet or drink sensibly - or half sensibly! - should be stopped because of a minority who won't control their behaviour.

There's a big review on in Britain that will impact here. Among the proposals are restrictions on size of bets - which already exist as anyone who wins regularly will know.

I don't think sports betting including horses and dogs ought to be penalised on foot of a big problem regarding online betting on all sorts of cr@p. You can bet randomly on horses and sports, but i don't think that is as attractive to the mugs as roulette and card games.

There is obviously bigger margins for the books in that stuff. I only bet horses, dogs, GAA, and occasionally American sports. Yet i am am bombarded with enticements from the bookies, one or two in particular, to get me to bet on crocks of gold, and other bizarre games of chance which i have no idea - nor want to know - how they work.

It is especially cynical on the part of books which will close you down or limit your bets if you are ahead of them - and not even in a spectacular manner - on the horses. And yet same people who within hours of telling me i can't have more than €50 on a horse or a dog will send me an email or a text promoting some leprechaun cr@p!

Fools and their money and all that, but do agree that their constant "responsible gambling" mantra is meaningless when they constantly promote games of chance which i assume have a similar 20% pay out as slots. There is a much lower margin on horses and sports contrary to the myth of those opposed to betting on puritancial grounds. Most track books would make a pretty average income, and are often hit by heavy losing streaks, similar to punters.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,640 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Ireland has done well so far to keep the Fixed Odds Betting Terminals (FOTB) out of Irish bookies. Those things have caused havoc in the UK.

Although we do have those fake computer-generated horse races from 'Paddy Park' and the like (roulette, the in-house lottery) - something, anything at all, to fill in the time between actual races so you will have a chance to place bet.

Online gambling accessible 24-7 on smartphones must elevate the danger of developing an addiction to new levels entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Its a huge problem in this country, Mobile phone a huge temptation with online gambling apps.

Betting Ads during matchs and soccer teams sponsored by betting companies adds petrol to the fire.

One time people had to go to a greyhound track or racecourse for a bet now you can bet on anything .

I'm getting a Spreadex ad on page one of this thread, even with a reload.

Wonder does the algorithm base the adverts on the thread content. Hopefully that doesn't happen in the "Personal Issues" section.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

20 quid on this thread degenerating into anti-dole territory in a page or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The most boring addiction of them all

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

ive lost 2k on stock options this year ( calls and puts ) , now thankfully ive gained 13 k trading Tesla shares alone but trading stock options is something i do too much , put $340 on a stock option a little over an hour ago , il know new years eve if it was worth it or not

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    ive lost 2k on stock options this year ( calls and puts ) , now thankfully ive gained 13 k trading Tesla shares alone but trading stock options is something i do too much , put $340 on a stock option a little over an hour ago , il know new years eve if it was worth it or not

Am I right in saying that it is best practice to buy low and then when the time is right to indeed sell high ?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,368 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Anything is a problem when taken to excess. Dieting or exercise are problematic if taken to an extreme. People can work too hard, abstain too much, etc.

The vast majority of punters are losers. But my experience is the vast majority of the losing category are not gambling more than they can afford. Sure, they may think delude themselves into thinking they are winners or "breaking even" when it isn't the case but if they are betting a small amount of disposable income so what?

There's an element of curtain twitching involved in the conversation around gambling imo. It's seen as an "impure" activity, and being able to do it on one's phone is anathema to those who like their gambling confined to a bookies so everyone knows their place and an element of shaming can be applied.

Scare stories about the man gambling away his house have always peppered Irish conversation. This definitely happens, but in order for it to be a problem it would have to be demonstrated as a problem with a greater prevalence than destructive alcoholism imo. Everything in moderation.

As far as the bookies themselves are concerned, the messaging and advertising about playing within ones means has massively improved. There are genuine efforts to actually try and identify people who need to stop ahead of time too, though it is probably appropriate to question just how committed the industry is on that front. I would be in favour of a legislation imposed maximum monthly deposit limit which can be increased by producing pay slips or proof of means up to certain percentage limits. But let's get real here - a young lad earning ~30k a year should be allowed to throw 50 blips onto PP at the weekend just as a man running multiple businesses and with a significant amount of wealth should be allowed to punt a couple of grand on a horse should he choose.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,680 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Lad i worked with was a huge gambler.

Found out through the grapevine he has debts of over 10k and this lad is in his early 20s.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    ............... i don't think that is as attractive to the mugs as roulette and card games.

There is obviously bigger margins for the books in that stuff. I only bet horses, dogs, GAA, and occasionally American sports.......

Greyhounds are about 25% overround, horses can be as low as 10%.

Roulette is low margin even the bookies version with 0 & 00.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭dublin49

"please gamble unsuccessfully" is the only message the betting industry is interested in.A dreadful industry.I love when a punter professes their love for the horses ,when you query whether they would attend horse racing if there was no betting and invariably the answer is no,

• Registered Users Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭Bambaata

The bookies are criminals. This "responsible gambling" crap is a con to make it look like they care. They only care about lining their own pockets. I come from the other side of it, i follow a group of very professional "tipsters" that has me running at about 12% ROI so far this year, every bet tracked, every bet put on following reivew of the value of odds given. Theres no emotion, you lose you move on, you win you move on. Everything is placed at defined stakes so you dont lose the run of yourself and protect your bank.

This is when it becomes obvious that the bookies are criminals who dont care. Ive been shut down by Sky, Will Hill, BetVictor, Betfair, Paddy, Unibet, Mr Green etc because im winning. They basically restirct those that gamble respobsibly and actually make money off them. Thankfully there are ways to get new accounts but its obvious how little they care. In the group there are lots of stories of lads who had bad affairs with gambling and the bookies kept enticing them to keep losing via offers to keep bleeding them dry.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

WrenBoy wrote: »
    Am I right in saying that it is best practice to buy low and then when the time is right to indeed sell high ?

stock options are a different animal , you might buy when the price is high and hope it drops in the case of a put

• Registered Users Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Bambaata wrote: »
    The bookies are criminals. This "responsible gambling" crap is a con to make it look like they care. They only care about lining their own pockets. I come from the other side of it, i follow a group of very professional "tipsters" that has me running at about 12% ROI so far this year, every bet tracked, every bet put on following reivew of the value of odds given. Theres no emotion, you lose you move on, you win you move on. Everything is placed at defined stakes so you dont lose the run of yourself and protect your bank.

This is when it becomes obvious that the bookies are criminals who dont care. Ive been shut down by Sky, Will Hill, BetVictor, Betfair, Paddy, Unibet, Mr Green etc because im winning. They basically restirct those that gamble respobsibly and actually make money off them. Thankfully there are ways to get new accounts but its obvious how little they care. In the group there are lots of stories of lads who had bad affairs with gambling and the bookies kept enticing them to keep losing via offers to keep bleeding them dry.

I'm curious as to how Betfair shut you down because you are winning ?

Explain please

I'm curious as to how Betfair shut you down because you are winning ?

Explain please

When I worked in paddy power they would just limit the bet size that winners could place, they might be limited to €5 when the requested bet was €500. Or they’d just refuse the bet completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Smee_Again wrote: »
    When I worked in paddy power they would just limit the bet size that winners could place, they might be limited to €5 when the requested bet was €500. Or they’d just refuse the bet completely.

But Betfair is an exchange not a bookie.

It's different from a bookie in the sense that you can "back" a selection at a certain price to the value if what others are willing to "lay" the same selection at that price.

Some times you may only be able to bet a couple of Euro on a selection at a certain price and the rest of your bet remains "unmatched" until there is money in the "lay" market to match it.

So if you win big on Betfair you are winning it from an individual, or individuals, not Betfair themselves.

Now that is the Exchange of course, Betfair also have Sportsbook which works like a regular bookie.

I'm curious as to how the poster may have been shut down from the Betfair Exchange.