Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another full lockdown looming? - mod warning in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

Collie D wrote: »
    Adults shouldn’t need to be told to wear a mask at this stage.

Yeah it’s long been seen what effect masks are having....

No effect what so ever and in reality are probably contributing to some of the cases.

They should be an optional item at this stage as their effectiveness with almost full compliance is nil.

We’re still heading into a second panic lockdown now despite 5 months of mandatory mask wearing.

If that’s not evidence enough of their effectiveness then there is not point talking to some people.

They are a useless placebo and only being used as a means to enter a shop without hassle from the fear filled public thanks to Dr Tony and his cohorts.

If people stepped back from all the media driven hysteria and actually looked and thought logically about what is Actually happening around them and not listening to what they’re been force fed daily this country would be heading on the right road.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,845 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

pjohnson wrote: »
    Aye that about sums up the "anti-restrictions/open up/all hail Sweden" crowd. Its about ten of ye regurgitating the same copy-paste posts :D

You're nothing if not consistent and predictable anyway.

We've gone from lizard people to hail Sweden. Neither of which I mentioned at all.

Keep it up. You're doing more to validate my argument than my own posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

The longer people keep referring to restrictions as "nonsense", the longer restrictions will go on for.

That repeated overuse of the word "Nonsense" gives these people away easily; maybe Santa should have brought them a thesaurus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Choosehowevr.

Darc19 wrote: »
    More hysterical sh1te - you'd wonder if people engaged their brains sometimes, or maybe they take all their news from fakebook and the daily muck.

Majority of population will be vaccinated by end of April.

All vulnerable caregories will be vaccinated by end of February.

But one thing I notice is that those who are the most hysterical about covid seem also to be against getting the vaccine.

Go figure.

70000 Jan/Feb

2.5 million march/April

Numbers don't add up

• Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Simple facts..

Masks were not mandatory or in general use until the late summer during which the numbers of cases continued to fall with zero deaths on many days. This despite the country being almost (pubs aside) fully reopened since late May.

Masks were introduced around August as I recall and since then we've had much concern from the HSE about rising cases in those months with other restrictions on movements and interaction imposed alongside the mask requirements.

Source : HSE figures and statements.
    They weren't mandatory, but they were in general use. The number of cases fell due to the other restrictions, people being cautious etc. People weren't happy with the other restrictions (fair enough in some cases), and masks were supposed to mitigate the damage caused by the inevitable easing and ignoring of the other restrictions. They help, but they can't fix the problem on their own.

People get the flu vaccine in Sepetmber/October. Flu cases and deaths go up thereafter. It doesn't mean the flu vaccine contributes to the cases or deaths. Correlation doesn't imply causation.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,509 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Ficheall wrote: »
    I'd expect one big 5 one in Jan and then hopefully they'll gradually peter out.

I think we will be between 3 and 5 between now and March and things should then start to ease

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭km991148

Every Covid thread ends up the same, same idiots arguing.

You could drop the word COVID and that sentence still works!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

70000 Jan/Feb

2.5 million march/April

Numbers don't add up

I suggest you get the facts from reliable sources and not fakebook.

70,000 by end January. This first list are the most difficult and time consuming as every hospital and care home have to be visited.

The Feb roll out to able bodied people will see multiples of that number as it will be the people traveling to get vaccination rather than the vaccination teams traveling to them

It probably would take a day to set up and provide vaccination in a care home of 30 residents. That same team could easily vaccinate multiples of that number in a medical facility.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,862 ✭✭✭daheff

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Complete nonsense of course. You can go spend hours wandering around Dunnes or Tesco's food aisles if you like, but doom awaits if you venture into the clothing or homeware sections :rolleyes:

This is just a very disingenuous post on your part and others who spout this nonsense.

People need food...but don't need the non essentials. Hence why you can go into the food aisles. This is a necessary risk for people. The thinking is people will be rational and limit their time in food aisles. Health authorities know this won't always be the case though.

Browsing homewares is an unnecessary risk. So not allowed...again cos health authorities know there will always be some who will want to browse anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Choosehowevr.

70,000 by end January. This first list are the most difficult and time consuming as every hospital and care home have to be visited.

The Feb roll out to able bodied people will see multiples of that number as it will be the people traveling to get vaccination rather than the vaccination teams traveling to them

It probably would take a day to set up and provide vaccination in a care home of 30 residents. That same team could easily vaccinate multiples of that number in a medical facility.

Those are your numbers not mine

Major issues with all that is this is Ireland and the HSE and some rollout task force are being tasked with the roll out.

Efficiency and HSE don’t go together.

Guaranteed to be multiple problems along the way. Rest of Europe will be far ahead of us with multiples of our population.

Sad but true.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Whatever about Pubs & Restaurants, large, open shopping centres such as Liffey Valley, Pavillions etc should not be closed. Just enforce proper mask-wearing protocols and boot out anyone that refuses to wear one/won't wear one to begin with.

We need at least some retail to survive this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

daheff wrote: »
    This is just a very disingenuous post on your part and others who spout this nonsense.

People need food...but don't need the non essentials. Hence why you can go into the food aisles. This is a necessary risk for people. The thinking is people will be rational and limit their time in food aisles. Health authorities know this won't always be the case though.

Browsing homewares is an unnecessary risk. So not allowed...again cos health authorities know there will always be some who will want to browse anyways.

People don’t need clothes? Or light bulbs? Or curtains? Or flooring?

Importantly, people need to work and the State cannot continue to hand out money where the public health risk is not providing sufficient evidence to close.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

More hysterical sh1te - you'd wonder if people engaged their brains sometimes, or maybe they take all their news from fakebook and the daily muck.

But one thing I notice is that those who are the most hysterical about covid seem also to be against getting the vaccine.

Go figure.

Sorry, I don't engage with people who use an online hard man act that they wouldn't dare use in the real world. It's possible to debate civilly you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,603 ✭✭✭200motels

Yet they’ve proven time and time again that they should. From day one, staff should have been told not to serve anyone without one.

Absolute hysteria from the string-up-Holohan crowd as usual.

Where are the case studies that masks actually work and what are the long term affects of wearing one for a considerable amount of time? No body can actually force anyone to wear a mask and the sooner people realise that the better.

Whatever about Pubs & Restaurants, large, open shopping centres such as Liffey Valley, Pavillions etc should not be closed. Just enforce proper mask-wearing protocols and boot out anyone that refuses to wear one/won't wear one to begin with.

We need at least some retail to survive this year.

You can make people wear two masks if you like but won’t make any difference.
    Hasn’t made any difference in previous 5 months so ain’t going to be any difference from now on.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭kenmc

cee_jay wrote: »
    The amount of people who wear masks below their nose is quite high in my experience, I don't know why they even both wearing one in the first place if they won't wear it properly.

Simple. They're mouthbreathers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

If anybody thinks the Living With Covid levels are going to be abolished in 2021 they are kidding themselves.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/normality-will-not-return-for-six-months-says-taoiseach-1055717.html

• Subscribers Posts: 41,533 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

If anybody thinks the Living With Covid levels are going to be abolished in 2021 they are kidding themselves.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/normality-will-not-return-for-six-months-says-taoiseach-1055717.html

??

That says the exact opposite of what you think it says

• Registered Users Posts: 12,492 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

When it will be all over, I'm looking forward to some whistle blower type of statements from people at the NPHET meetings and the manner in which things were discussed. It does appear that Dr. Tony gets his way no matter what, especially the radical change on his return from leave.
    Obsessed with level 5. That level of obsession needs a visit to a psychiatrist.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

TheDriver wrote: »
    When it will be all over, I'm looking forward to some whistle blower type of statements from people at the NPHET meetings and the manner in which things were discussed. It does appear that Dr. Tony gets his way no matter what, especially the radical change on his return from leave.
    Obsessed with level 5. That level of obsession needs a visit to a psychiatrist.

He was right though... figures started to rocket upwards within 48hrs.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

It won't all be over this is a virus it will continue to mutate and adapt with new strains only 45 days until nearly 1 billion people are on the move with Chinese new year this is barely wave 2 yet we are looking at another 24 to36 months of this minimum.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭klose

January is typically a quiet month for retail so I assume this is some of the reasoning behind the government not closing it, that and the bulk of the pup payment is going to this sector they're trying to reel in the amount of unsustainable payments they're giving out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

There will be new strains emerging too that the vaccine will be ineffective against. The thing is mutating like feck already and the vaccine will put selective pressure against it. Entirely possible strains already exist that the vaccine won't catch but it won't be obvious until the vaccine rollout gathers pace

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭Nitrogan

This is a bit like the "Smoking Ban Crisis".

Thousands of people lost their jobs because of the smoking ban and a crackdown on drink driving. That was before Facebook so 'tinfoil hat alternative facts, experts and statistics' weren't being shovelled at the general population the way they are now.

These people who are now getting upset about a temporary public health measure would have lost their minds about the smoking ban if FB had been filling their heads full of conspiracy theories back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

There will be new strains emerging too that the vaccine will be ineffective against. The thing is mutating like feck already and the vaccine will put selective pressure against it. Entirely possible strains already exist that the vaccine won't catch but it won't be obvious until the vaccine rollout gathers pace

So you see this for eternity? The new normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

So you see this for eternity? The new normal.

No not eternity. Another few years though

• Registered Users Posts: 18,518 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

70000 Jan/Feb

2.5 million march/April

Numbers don't add up

At present only the Pfizer vaccine is available. We are going to get approx 10k doses/ day. This vaccine needs storage at -70C so requires special storage and will require special logistics to distribute. It will only last 4-5 days in a fridge. In essence it will require specialist to administer and will probably always be usedmin a hospital settings

The Morderna vaccine will come on stream in early January it will double the amount of doses we get per day. Logistically it slightly easier to administer as it will last in a fridge 30 days. Therefore Doctors surgeries and even pharmacy can store and administer.

Finally you have the Oxford vaccine coming on stream end of January. It's not as effective but only needs longer fridge storage. It easier to produce so production can be ramped up fast. As well it really suitable for mass vaccination in outdoor centers. The moderna one is fairly suitable for this as well

When the three are on stream we probably be getting 50k doses + per day. Its not covered that 1-2 more vaccines will come on stream fairly shortly as well. The EU had pre contracted over one billion doses.

Finally logistically at the start with limited doses available the HSE is targeting nursing home, small cohorts of 20-50 older people who will be slower to administer to. Ideally they should do nursing home staff at same time but it may not be possible. All vaccines are two shot of the same vaccine to admin. Then HSE patients facing staff and people in hospital will be next.

Logistically the numbers make sense

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 18,518 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

200motels wrote: »
    Where are the case studies that masks actually work and what are the long term affects of wearing one for a considerable amount of time? No body can actually force anyone to wear a mask and the sooner people realise that the better.

Mask wearing has been shown to work. Just go onto the YouTube and search it. Even simple face coverings have been shown to reduce virus transmission considerably.

You are right nobody can force selfish idiots to wear a mask. The long-term effects are you get two marks behind your ears and a small mark on you nose that can be prevented by using a bit of moisturizer.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Go figure.

What?! Unless I misheard the real push into the majority cohort (ie those who are not old/ill) will not start until June. MAybe that's a case of under-promise/over-deliver but we'll see.