Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barrister wants €250,000 for "freedom" case

xhomelezz wrote: »

Think it's about the time to setup gofundme for myself as well. Looks like it's easy money to make

Work away!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Whats the lizard people angle? She is encouraging people to fake being disabled. She has links to all the far right in the country. Rowan Croft, Dave Cullen, Hermann Kelly, Yellow Vests etc

https://twitter.com/TraceyOMahony81/status/1269298539475218432?s=19

Who are those donkeys with her in the photo?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

So a Galway based barrister wants quarter of a million to take a case against the State.
    My name is Tracey O’ Mahony and I am a Barrister-at-Law

Hmmmmmm, about that...

No person of that name listed as member of the Bar

https://www.lawlibrary.ie/members/results.aspx?fname=tracey&sname=O%e2%80%99+Mahony&DPA=0&language=None&circuit=All+Circuits&areas=All+Areas&status=Either&specialisation=All+Areas

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭Howard Beale

Why put the link up then? Nah you're obviously shilling it here.

WOW you got me Columbo take long?. Believe whatever you want what do I care.

Personally don't agree with any lockdowns but shes swindling these people.

One thing I notice too on the Gofundme there is a lot of large anonymous donations. Usually done by the people running the swindle to encourage others to donate and keep the pretence going that loads of people are donating large amounts. A savvy swindler if you will.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

Love how it was I need €50k to do this case.....oh hold on I've got the €50k how about making it €250k. That's some jump without explaining how the first €50k was spent without little success or progress.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

We need less conmen and chancers, not more.

This has nothing to do whatsoever with a noble civic duty, and everything to do with realising that there are a lot of suckers out there.

I have no issue whatsoever with people challenging the lockdowns and whatever (they'll go nowhere as there are provisions in the Constitution to limit freedoms) but this is the dictionary definition of a swindle.
    As i said it could well be a swindle but restrictions need to be pushed back upon constantly and if con artists want to do it so be it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Thought you couldn't use other people's money to take a case, isn't that how Dinny blocked McGinleys action against him?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

So let's see if I got this straight...

Some solicitor wants 250 grand to make a case to the government about lockdowns going against your rights Yadda Yadda (an idea she probably stole from some other american Lawyer truth be known)
    So she doesn't want to spend a single cent of her own money "paying someone else" or use any of her "own time" (as she stated herself) in such a case.

So she then creates a crowd funding campaign so moronic fu*ktards (yes, it's a word :p ) can give her the money.
    In which she'll probably, I dunno keep 230 grand for herself, use 20 grand (or so) and post updates saying this money went here, this money went there.

All in all... I reckon no such case will ever come about. She'll be talking about "how it's happening any day now" in 5 years time while people will forget about the money they gave her.

In the end she'll come out with a nice new house :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

WOW you got me Columbo take long?. Believe whatever you want what do I care.

Personally don't agree with any lockdowns but shes swindling these people.

One thing I notice too on the Gofundme there is a lot of large anonymous donations. Usually done by the people running the swindle to encourage others to donate and keep the pretence going that loads of people are donating large amounts. A savvy swindler if you will.

Also a handy way to launder money...

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

1f914.png

Screenshot-2020-12-28-143428.jpg
    A barrister does not have to be a member of the law library.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

elperello wrote: »
    Pity you didn't read your own link which contains the following clarification.

"Finally, for completeness, I wish to confirm that I shall not be drawing any funds for any services I undertake, the purpose of this campaign is to allow me to engage and pay others to carry out tasks that I do not have the time, knowledge or expertise to undertake myself.

I also confirm that we will keep you informed throughout the process as to our progress and use of funds."

its' amazing how the good and great here will just vomit down their opinions and ignore the text in front of them

Whats the lizard people angle? She is encouraging people to fake being disabled. She has links to all the far right in the country. Rowan Croft, Dave Cullen, Hermann Kelly, Yellow Vests etc

https://twitter.com/TraceyOMahony81/status/1269298539475218432?s=19

but isn't everybody you don't agree with far right?

paw patrol wrote: »
    its' amazing how the good and great here will just vomit down their opinions and ignore the text in front of them

Yes seen it but I don't belive her. Do you? Shes hardly going to say on it Im keeping it all for myself to hell with ye is she.

Of course theres a disclaimer like that. Keeps them donations flying in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Yes seen it but I don't belive her. Do you? Shes hardly going to say on it Im keeping it all for myself to hell with ye is she.

Of course theres a disclaimer like that. Keeps them donations flying in.

but that's theft that's a different matter - lets wait for that to happen.
    So far there is no evidence she isn't of good character so to baseless besmirch the woman because you don't agree with her stance is unpleasant nasty behaviour.

anyway (not you per se) we get the whole mantra of quotas and all that from the media etc... - we want more women involved in everything - clearly only the right thinking kinda women. anti consensus or non- correct thinking women need not apply....

• Registered Users Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

boombang wrote: »
    Screenshot-20201228-104108.jpg

Those hats scream nutjob to me.

Make Ireland Gullible Again.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

I wonder if there was a lawyer on the Titanic who offered for a fee to threaten proceedings against the shipping company for ordering people on deck and thus disrupting their enjoyment of the voyage,

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

She's probably reading this thread.

.... Hi Tracey :p
    Don't you think 250 is a tad too much lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,062 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

but isn't everybody you don't agree with far right?

Haha not at all

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

but that's theft that's a different matter - lets wait for that to happen.
    So far there is no evidence she isn't of good character so to baseless besmirch the woman because you don't agree with her stance is unpleasant nasty behaviour.

anyway (not you per se) we get the whole mantra of quotas and all that from the media etc... - we want more women involved in everything - clearly only the right thinking kinda women. anti consensus or non- correct thinking women need not apply....

Not besmirching her don't know her from Adam. I agree with her on many things but this money raising malarkey is suspicious to me. Best way for her to shut me up is a huge case against the state winning in jubilance mass media coverage and photographers outside the four courts and bookies next favourite to be Taoiseach but I won't hold my breathe on that. In fact doubt any case will happen.

By the way the raised €86,000 will help with any hurt feelings of so called besmirchings on an annoymous online forum.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just imagining her CV in a couple of years time

"Tried to sue the Government over its attempts to deal with the most serious pandemic in a century"

Not someone I'd want representing me

Maybe she's after Gemma's business