Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Shot by Gardai in Clonee

• Registered Users Posts: 25,410 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s the same old... woke fûckwits gagging to use the mental health angle to excuse any and all terrible behaviors.

No Garda either is qualified to diagnose a mental illness. You need to have gained a degree in psychology or psychiatry to do that.

Even if the individual was mentally ill. Was he to be allowed into a residence with the weapon ?

If a mentally ill person points a gun at me, kills me... does a Garda tell my girlfriend and parents... “I know we were only 10 feet away but the lad was mentally ill, so what could we do ? Your son is dead, sorry about that, but the wokies have won “

I think my parents would prefer.. “ hey, your son is ok, shaken but we shot dead his attacker a second before he got to him, was close “

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I'm sure the Gardaí followed proper protocol throughout, but you'd think they'd have some one or some procedure capable of disarming a man with a knife, before it got to the stage that they had to shoot him, especially given as they were following him at a slow walking pace, from the scene of the crime to his home.

Someone said the pepper spray they use is low grade, and if better stuff was authorised maybe he'd still be alive...

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭PalLimerick

Water cannon from a ford transit. :pac: brilliant

You could have a Social Worker dressed in a pink TuTu operating the water cannon on the Transit. Come in to the real World. The scumbag got what was appropriate.

Edit not for you. Sorry. That was for the poster who suggested a water cannon on a Ford Transit.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I'm sure the Gardaí followed proper protocol throughout, but you'd think they'd have some one or some procedure capable of disarming a man with a knife, before it got to the stage that they had to shoot him, especially given as they were following him at a slow walking pace, from the scene of the crime to his home.

Someone said the pepper spray they use is low grade, and if better stuff was authorised maybe he'd still be alive...

This post, while well intentioned, shows just how far people can be from reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Pkiernan wrote: »
    This post, while well intentioned, shows just how far people can be from reality.

How so? If this happened in the US, the cops would have engaged earlier, and shot him. If this was in the UK for example, I presume the cops are authorised to use more 'non lethal' force, ... I presume you're in the 'the cops did nothing wrong' camp, as I am, but I'm just wondering out loud, if things were different, maybe things would have ended up differently

Edit, when was he pepper sprayed? I read it was twice, but I don't know if that was outside the house, or what happened between the shopping centre and him getting to there?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,608 ✭✭✭obi604

And what value to society would he actually be if he was still alive. Would he brighten up lives and help people, potentially raise a good family, help the community, contribute to society. Think about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Did the guards consider doing a few cartwheels and a few moves from the Matrix

Had the guards not viewed Lethal Weapon II and/or any of the Lethal Weapon movies with Mel Gibson and Danny Glover as part of their training

Did the guards consider shouting "Ah here" a couple of times

These are the questions that need to be asked

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

He's no loss, feel sorry the guard having to deal with the aftermath

• Registered Users Posts: 25,554 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

give over they are trained

No one is trained to shoot for arms/legs. The torso is the largest body mass and that's where you aim for.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,889 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

myshirt wrote: »
    Did the guards consider doing a few cartwheels and a few moves from the Matrix

Had the guards not viewed Lethal Weapon II and/or any of the Lethal Weapon movies with Mel Gibson and Danny Glover as part of their training

Did the guards consider shouting "Ah here" a couple of times

These are the questions that need to be asked

A swift roundhouse kick and knock the knife out of his hand

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

gibgodsman wrote: »
    I swear twitter and Facebook is just a wash with SJW's, and the "Vigil" at his house is just laughable. Yes he was a .... non white man, I honestly don't know what is allowed to even be said anymore, but what has that go to do with anything?

He went into a Eurospar in Hartstown, attacked and beat a security guard, wasn't a manager btw, broke his nose and damaged his teeth, went to stab him but he managed to run away, he had a large knife btw, some people saying a Machete.

He then attempted to flee and was confronted by unarmed Guards who he threatened with a Knife and led a car chase to his estate, eventually the armed response showed up and did deploy a tazer which had 0 effect, which is not unheard of, you see that alot in America and elsewhere, Pepper spray was also used and it had no effect. He can clearly be seen swinging the knife directly at a Guard who was armed, and only after everything else failed, did the guard use the last resort, which was ABSOLUTELY JUSTIFIED.

Now his family is suggesting a Mental illness and he was a nice fellow, which is odd considering the day before that he absolutely battered a man because of his sexual orientation, and just before Christmas he attacked an Elderly woman and also attempted to burgle some houses.

So lets say he was Mentally ill, ok so when he eventually did manage to stab someone to death, and at their funeral, do the Guards just say "Sorry we could do nothing, he suffered from a mental illness and was not white so we couldn't shoot him? Nah, he got what he deserved, Mental illness or not, most serial killers if not all suffer from a mental illness, doesn't mean they shouldnt be brought to Justice by any means

Well said!

I'm so sick of these SJWs. It's just like in America, if a black man is shot by police, they ignore all the evidence that he was armed or violent etc

They make George Flyod out to be some kind of saint. Yet he beat a pregnant women, and held a gun to her stomach ffs

These SJWs also ignore the fact that more white males are shot by police in America. But sure why would they care? That's not gonna get them likes on Twitter...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I nearly pissed my bed and it's been a while since that happened.

Next time you feel the need to do that, could you stand on top of a Ford Transit?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

PsychoPete wrote: »
    A swift roundhouse kick and knock the knife out of his hand

Maybe in a videogame from 1995 - here's some lad giving a demo :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bANlFuNOOyQ

• Registered Users Posts: 33,612 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The vast majority of the population will agree that the Gardai did the right thing yesterday, and that the deceased had every chance to save himself.

But its the vocal (tiny) minority who will make the most noise.

I have no doubt the investigation will exonerate the Gardai.

He's no loss, feel sorry the guard having to deal with the aftermath

100%

No-one wants to take another person's life, even if it in the line of duty and justified.

The guy who fired the fatal shots will no doubt be distraught himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

This is the first “person of colour” shot dead by the ARU, but if you look on Twitter it’s like it happens every week

Btw, he was not armed, he was just brandishing a knife

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Maybe if the knife he was wielding was of a lower grade, akin to toddler cutlery he’d still be alive....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,889 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

There has been over €3k raised so far on that gofundme

• Registered Users Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭Be right back

Any sign of one for the injured man? Maybe the organisers of it could send a few bob his way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Samsonsmasher

Labour leader Alan Kelly is taking up the cause now after Mayor Chu got on her soapbox.
    A total joke.
    You couldn't get a more cut and dried justified Gardaí shooting if you tried.
    This is the same year when the killer of Garda O'Donoghue was finally tried and sentenced and when another Garda was killed after his weapon was taken from him?
    Absolutely pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭Be right back

Labour leader Alan Kelly is taking up the cause now after Mayor Chu got on her soapbox.
    A total joke.
    You couldn't get a more cut and dried justified Gardaí shooting if you tried.
    This is the same year when the killer of Garda O'Donoghue was finally tried and sentenced and when another Garda was killed after his weapon was taken from him?
    Absolutely pathetic.

No mention again of the injured staff. Pathetic, indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Probably too early to be saying whether or not Gardai were justified in their actions, but the lad could be alive today if he didn’t go into the shop wielding a knife and threatening staff and Gardai. His own actions need to be scrutinised just as much as those of the Gardai and going around in the middle of the day wielding a knife needs to be met with a forceful response.

ParkRunner wrote: »
    Probably too early to be saying whether or not Gardai were justified in their actions, but the lad could be alive today if he didn’t go into the shop wielding a knife and threatening staff and Gardai. His own actions need to be scrutinised just as much as those of the Gardai and going around in the middle of the day wielding a knife needs to be met with a forceful response.

Ah but sure why let this get in the way of all the RIP messages this guy is going to get.

As pointed out, when you have top politicians saying "RIP and thoughts to his family" but they fail to even mention the injured shop staff, it says it all.

Hopefully we get the full details of this case.
    If the guy was high or on something, it would be nice to know as it changes the dynamic completely, but I doubt we will hear the full story for fear of upsetting some folk.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭the varg

This is the first “person of colour” shot dead by the ARU, but if you look on Twitter it’s like it happens every week

Btw, he was not armed, he was just brandishing a knife

He was armed with a deadly weapon ie a knife
    Or would you dispute that fact?

gibgodsman wrote: »
    I swear twitter and Facebook is just a wash with SJW's, and the "Vigil" at his house is just laughable. Yes he was a .... non white man, I honestly don't know what is allowed to even be said anymore, but what has that go to do with anything?

He went into a Eurospar in Hartstown, attacked and beat a security guard, wasn't a manager btw, broke his nose and damaged his teeth, went to stab him but he managed to run away, he had a large knife btw, some people saying a Machete.

He then attempted to flee and was confronted by unarmed Guards who he threatened with a Knife and led a car chase to his estate, eventually the armed response showed up and did deploy a tazer which had 0 effect, which is not unheard of, you see that alot in America and elsewhere, Pepper spray was also used and it had no effect. He can clearly be seen swinging the knife directly at a Guard who was armed, and only after everything else failed, did the guard use the last resort, which was ABSOLUTELY JUSTIFIED.

Now his family is suggesting a Mental illness and he was a nice fellow, which is odd considering the day before that he absolutely battered a man because of his sexual orientation, and just before Christmas he attacked an Elderly woman and also attempted to burgle some houses.

So lets say he was Mentally ill, ok so when he eventually did manage to stab someone to death, and at their funeral, do the Guards just say "Sorry we could do nothing, he suffered from a mental illness and was not white so we couldn't shoot him? Nah, he got what he deserved, Mental illness or not, most serial killers if not all suffer from a mental illness, doesn't mean they shouldnt be brought to Justice by any means

The country is better off without a scumbag like that. Well done the Guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭CrazyFather1

NIMAN wrote: »
    Hopefully we get the full details of this case.
    If the guy was high or on something, it would be nice to know as it changes the dynamic completely, but I doubt we will hear the full story for fear of upsetting some folk.

Man take knife to rob shop, in process beats an unarmed person and threats numerous others. Garda spend numerous hours trying to calm down and end up shooting him as last resort.

Cut and dry to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭deathbomber

Whilst a tragic incident, social media should just be ignored if not completely banned, too many stupid people voicing opinions. The guy (rip) went into a shop, assaulted staff, threatened to stab them and then was escorted by gardai for circa 2 hours who pleaded he disarm and give up his crazy antics. He then lunges at them and wildly swinging a knife or even a machete, - tasered, pepper spray, still he continued. Sorry but it was his actions which caused his death, very very sad incident.

Regardless, rip to the guy, clearly he had issues and we could argue should of been supported better - /physchiatric assessments etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭poker--addict

For the Gardai involved presumably.

😎

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I can see this becoming a bigger issue over the next few days.

Lots of bored unemployed and unemployable idealists with plenty of time on their hands already angry that they are going into another lockdown just looking for something to have a march about.
    People with placebo educations who think their idealistic interpretation of reality holds weight.

A few days of rain could be the best thing that happens here.

And RIP to the young Irish man who died, his family are surely going through a horrid time, and thoughts with the Gardai who didnt go into work looking for something like this.